Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Revenge.With A Bloody Twist.
When i first started reading some of the review's for this movie i didn't know what to
make of the movie.so i went ahead and bought it.even though i don't let most review's influence
me in making my puchase.so when i finished watching it.i was blown away by the sher terror of this
guy.that the killer is not gonna get away with killing his girlfriend.the way...
Published 17 months ago by trek fan

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars special movie with the approach of a different culture.
The movie is coming from a country with different culture. We cannot compare this story with a french or american movie. It permits to understand the views of a different culture on some aspects of the reaction of a person with her own values.
Published 10 months ago by Gilles Brousseau


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Revenge.With A Bloody Twist., Nov. 2 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I Saw the Devil [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
When i first started reading some of the review's for this movie i didn't know what to
make of the movie.so i went ahead and bought it.even though i don't let most review's influence
me in making my puchase.so when i finished watching it.i was blown away by the sher terror of this
guy.that the killer is not gonna get away with killing his girlfriend.the way he beat the crap out
of him then lets him go then beat him again but in the mean time.he the killer is Reeking havoc on
other people. but this is the best revenge movie hands down..I Saw the Devil [Blu-ray]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice and Bloody but Also Intelligent..., Sept. 26 2011
This review is from: I Saw the Devil [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
definatly at the top of my favorite films of 2011 list thus far. Right up there with hobo with a shotgun. This film however takes a more mature, intelligent aproach to making a gory film. Dont take that wrong however there is much more to this movie than blood and guts. Its basically a cat and mouse game between a sadistic serial killer and the widow of one of his victims. The cat however isnt the serial killer. You get to cheer for the good guy the whole time and although his mistakes are apparent you dont really think that the consequences would end up being so ruthless. Lots of emotions are pulled and its a thrill ride the whole way through. This is definatly the work of an experienced director and i'd recommend this movie to almost anyone. Also watch for an awesomely awkward scene between the serial killer and a cannibal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling, brutal, and brilliant, June 23 2011
By 
Michael Naulls (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I Saw the Devil [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
I first saw 'I Saw the Devil' at TIFF '10 and was blown away. As a huge fan of 'A Bittersweet Life', Kim Jee-Woon's previous collaboration with Lee Byung-Hun, and actor Min-sik Choi, I was very excited to see this film. We were warned prior to the screening that this film is brutal and that was no lie. There is some graphic violence in this film. Totally cringe-worthy things are depicted. But unlike modern horror films and torture-porn, all of the violence serves a purpose. It's a revenge tale, an action film, and the story of losing one's self in vengeance. The acting is stupendous, featuring stand-out performances from the two leads. I loved this film so much. I laughed, I squirmed, I lost myself in the story. Definitely pick this Blu-ray up. It may be lacking the wealth of bonus features we're used to but the quality of the filmmaking makes up for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Try not to look away, May 31 2011
By 
A. Buckley - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Saw the Devil [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
North American fans of Korean cinema will no doubt compare this movie to Oldboy for a couple reasons: #1, it's a film about revenge, made in Korea (their directors seem to know what they're doing when it comes to this sub-genre of thrillers) and #2, it stars Min-sik Choi, who was the main protagonist (or antagonist depending on how you want to look at it) of Oldboy. However, that's where the similarities end.

Minor Spoilers ahead: "I Saw the Devil" is about a man (Kim Soo-hyeon) whose fiance is murdered by a serial killer. The next 2 hours are spent with him hunting and attacking (over and over, in very creative and gruesome ways) the man who killed his fiance, Kyung-chul (played by the masterful Min-sik Choi). There's no real twist (like the big one in Oldboy that causes everyone I've ever known that watched it to say "holy ****!"), you're not trying to figure anything out, this is the plot and it's laid out for you very early on, though there are times throughout the film where you wonder who will wind up winning out in end as each man gains and loses the upper hand several times (and there is a clear winner).

Critics of the film feel that the movie is excessive in the violence, and they feel the choices made by the characters are quite questionable (especially at the end), but essentially it delivers a similar message that other Korean revenge films have: Revenge isn't satisfying. If you're a fan of blood and creative violence in cinema however, you'll like this, but it will make even the most hardened of gore fans squirm (the Achilles tendon scene, the knife in the hand scene, the cab fight, etc). This is Korean cinema at its least subtle... violent with a touch of very dark humour, just the way I like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars special movie with the approach of a different culture., June 21 2013
By 
Gilles Brousseau (montreal, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I Saw the Devil [Import] (DVD)
The movie is coming from a country with different culture. We cannot compare this story with a french or american movie. It permits to understand the views of a different culture on some aspects of the reaction of a person with her own values.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, bad blu ray, Oct. 9 2011
This review is from: I Saw the Devil [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
I was very disappointed in this product. I ordered and returned 2 copies of it because it would freeze in the first minute. I tried it on multiple bluray players. I really wanted it to work. Great movie. Unfortunately, bad bluray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaefaff90)

This product

I Saw the Devil [Blu-ray] [Import]
I Saw the Devil [Blu-ray] [Import] by Kim Jee-woon (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 22.45 CDN$ 16.99
Usually ships in 3 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews