march boutiques-francophones vpcflyout Unlimited cloud storage Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars36
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:$24.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 14, 2015
Great game, if you're looking for something different from the typical mass popular games, this is what you should get. I got interested in this after seeing in IGN's top 25 PS3 games of all times and another Best Unique PS3 games list. If you enjoy great story-telling, you will absolutely love this game. The story of Vincent (protagonist) along with 2 girls (Catherine & Katherine) is highly entertaining, fun, and captivating. There are cut away scenes (so you watch it along like a movie) and you have options to move around and do things in a certain environment (a bar or the bedroom). Basically, Vincent is trapped in a love triangle with these 2 girls and he needs to decide who he needs to go with. Throughout the game, you meet Vincent friends (most of the time is spent at his favorite bar). You also encounter other patrons at the bar, which makes it more interesting. You have the option to decide which messages to send to the girls, which drinks to order, etc. The game has around 8 endings or so, so your choices definitely affect how the game story progresses. I unfortunately got the most boring ending after I youtubed the other endings, but I'll play the game again to see the different story plots.

Throughout the game there are puzzles which revolve around stacking blocks to reach the top, with the difficulty getting harder as you progress. Even though the basics appear simple and something that might become boring, it actually is fun throughout with variations to the game play (exploding boxes, jumping blocks, crazy monsters, etc).

This is a no-brainer, buy this game. I had a lot of fun, and you will certainly as well.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2013
Storyline is awesome. The progression is amazing and the difficulty is just tough enough to piss you off but rewarding when you finally beat it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2014
wonderful game! if you like puzzles and tough moral choices this is the game you need. graphics are nice, gameplay is effective, characters are nice and feel alive
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2011
Catherine is an odd title and quite a departure from Atlus's normal fare, rarely do puzzle games and story come together in such a cohesive and brilliant manner.

At its core Catherine is a puzzle game set in Vincent's (the main characters) dreams, in which you need to maneuver and climb blocks to make it the top of a seemingly endless tower, often chased or pursued by a nightmare of some sort.

It goes much deeper than that however and the story is easily its greatest strength, it follows Vincent in a mid life crisis of sorts and a mistake in a time of weakness that leads him to question his sanity, although its almost all up to you which path he takes and what kind of man he becomes as you influence the story in different and really innovative ways leading towards one of several endings..

A rare gem in todays violence and war driven video game market. If you love addictive puzzle gameplay, a gripping story with twists and turns, or simply a unique experience Catherine is a must play!.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2015
This is a great game for anime fans or puzzle game fans. it blends the two together so well even though it seems really odd at first glance. I absolutely love the story although I haven't completed it yet. I would recommend playing on normal or easy mode for you first run through because this game can get really freaking hard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2014
Anything Atlus makes super gold except game of drones. This game is hilarious, puzzles are superb. You get to make very trobling descions that affect the story and gameplay. Tons of Replayablity. For an Atlus Collector....this should be on the list since right now it 20 dollars or less. Get it while you still can Physically.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2015
It is a pertty awesome game for playing. The puzzle was really nice, and extremely hard. I love those question and conversation stuff, also the CV was great,too. But the story is kind of weird , like I know the things that the producer wants to say, but I think he can choose a better way to describe that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2015
I love this game...it's quite hard, though. Even on easy mode, it's quite hard. Don't get it if you don't plan on wasting hours of trying to finish what should be a short and simple storyline. It's really fun if you like puzzles and aren't bothered by mild horror, though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2015
Love the game. No problem running it and came in mint condition. But the trophies are in japanese and we can't see the choices of men and women players, only an overall. Still, I recommand this game to all. The story is very catching and the puzzles challenging.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2016
Generally a good game but I kind of given up in early. It does take some commitment to do the mazes a few times to get pass the stages. I probably will enjoy it more if I could find more time. Will definitely come back to it at some point.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.