Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comedy classic that still holds up...
My two favorite comedies of all time are "Duck Soup" and "Airplane." Don't agree with "Airplane?" I have a good mind to join a club and beat you over the head with it!
Anyway, few people will dispute that "Duck Soup" is one of the funniest movies ever made. So many classic lines and zany moments; this is the Marx Brothers at...
Published on July 3 2004 by Danny

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars what did I do
What did I do buying this film. Not a funny film just grindingly long. It had its funny moments and scenes though that are very good.
Published 5 months ago by md


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comedy classic that still holds up..., July 3 2004
This review is from: Duck Soup [Import] (DVD)
My two favorite comedies of all time are "Duck Soup" and "Airplane." Don't agree with "Airplane?" I have a good mind to join a club and beat you over the head with it!
Anyway, few people will dispute that "Duck Soup" is one of the funniest movies ever made. So many classic lines and zany moments; this is the Marx Brothers at the peak of their powers. It was made in the 30's, but holds up extremely well. That makes it a timeless movie. Never boring or corny. I swear the whole hat gag has to be one of the funniest things I've ever seen.
So... when can we expect a reissue on DVD, Paramount/Universal?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Waiter! Waiter! There's A Duck In My Soup!, Nov. 12 2003
By 
Alex Udvary (chicago, il United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Duck Soup [Import] (VHS Tape)
Rufus T. Firefly - Not that I care, but where is your husband?
Mrs. Teasdale - Why, he's dead.
Rufus T. Firefly - I bet he's just using that as an excuse.
Mrs. Teasdale - I was with him to the very end.
Rufus T. Firefly - No wonder he passed away.
Mrs. Teasdale - I held him in my arms and kissed him.
Rufus T. Firefly - Oh, I see, then it was murder. Will you marry me? Did he leave you any money? Answer the second question first.
This is an exchange between Groucho and Margaret Dumont. "Duck Soup" is probably one of the "fastest" comedies of all-time. More so than any other Marx Brother movie, and that's saying a lot. Notice how every bit of dialogue Groucho has is a wise-crack.
What I love about watching the Marx Brothers is how just about nothing makes sense. The plots seem to get in the way of their movies. Its as if it's slowing them down. Just give them room and let them do what they want. And that's just about what seems to be going on in this movie. Every scene revolves around one of the four brothers (This is Zeppo's last film). This was also the last time that would happen since "Duck Soup" bombed at the box-office.
"Duck Soup" starts off with Freedonia, a small country on the verge of banruptcy due to it's spending half of Mrs. Teasdale's (Dumont) fortune of 40 million dollars. She agrees the only way she will offer more money to the country is if they agree to Rufus T. Firefly as its new leader. Put in a corner they agree and G-d will they be sorry in the end.
If there is one problem with "Duck Soup" most fans of the Marx Brothers will agree on is the fact Chico and Harpo are not allowed to play the piano and harp. Those two things have become fixures in their films.
"Duck Soup" is a comedy those not familiar with the Marx Brothers will enjoy. It may turn you into a fan. You'll be so impressed with the wise-cracks and crazy antics of the brothers. And than there's the famous "mirror" scene. Which most people seem to think originated here. But, no, it was used in a Charlie Chaplin short from 1916 entitled "The Floorwalker".
Bottom-line: One of the "fastest" comedies of all-time. The Marx brothers are at their zany best. One of their best films!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hail, Hail Freedonia...., Jan. 29 2002
By 
Jeffrey Ellis "bored recluse" (Richardson, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Duck Soup [Import] (VHS Tape)
Duck Soup. Whenever I'm feeling depressed, this is the video I pop in the VCR whenever I'm feeling depressed because I know that as long as I live in a world where I can watch the Marx Brothers, there is no darkness that can't be ridiculed. The Marx Brothers were perhaps the funniest performers to ever appear in American film and Duck Soup, directed by Leo McCarey who had a far greater talent for comedy than their previous director Sam Wood ("You cannot make a directer out of Wood," as one of them -- I always chose to believe it was famously silent Harpo -- once quipped), is their funniest film. Of course, Duck Soup was the only one of their early films to be reviled by critics and ignored by audiences. Perhaps it was the subject matter, which still remains relavent today and can still lead to a few uncomfortable laughs as a result. Duck Soup is the Marx Brothers film that finds Groucho playing Rufus T. Firefly, the happily uncouth man who has -- through the usual hilarious courting of impassive Margaret Dumont -- become the ruler of Freedonia. Freedonia's enemies recruit to spies to undermine Firefly -- Chico and Harpo Marx. While Harpo torments lemonade salesman Egdar Buchanan, steals anything he can get his hands on, and eventually ends up sleeping with a horse, Chico is appointed to the cabinet by Groucho. Meanwhile, fourth Marx Brother Zeppo makes a few fleeting appearances as Groucho's private secretary. As usual, nobody seems to know what to do with Zeppo but they seem happy to have him around. Anyway, this film contains many classic bits that will be familiar to fans of the Marx Brothers and comedy in general. Though all have been endlessly redone by imitators, they all remain hilarious in the hands of the originals. Along with Groucho and Chico's vaudevillian wordplay, this film also contains Harpo at his most wild. Grinning like a demonic child, he steals everything he can find, revels in destroying random objects, and produces almost anything from the depths of his baggy trenchcoat. It is this film that firmly establishes the central Marx Brothers relationship -- Chico hangs out with Harpo while Groucho tolerates Harpo so he can hang out with Chico. In what made this film rather controversial for its time (and probably still would if it weren't now accepted as both a comedy classic and -- quite wrongly in my opinion -- a relic from a previous age), the film ultimately builds up to Groucho declaring war on his enemies. (Capped off by a riotous song in which the four Marx Brothers lead the country in happily singing "We're going to war!") The film ends on the battlefield and, in a rather jarring scene, actual footage of charging World War I soldiers is mixed with the Marx Brothers holed up in one besieged cabin. For a world still haunted by the slaughter of the Great War and on the verge of World War II, this was pretty strong stuff as were comments like Groucho saying the war will end because he's only rented the battlefield for a week. It also shows that the humor of the Marx Brothers was, for all of its seeming elitism and disregard for all other sensibilities, a truly populist expression. Through their ridicule, the Marx Brothers attacked the forces of the pompous and the humorless and never was that attack more potent and subversive than in Duck Soup. A classic film and, most importantly, proof that wild comedy need not be stupid comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars STERLING MARX LUNACY., Oct. 30 2001
This review is from: Duck Soup [Import] (VHS Tape)
Actually considered a flop when it was originally released back in 1933, DUCK SOUP is now generally regarded as the best/most successful Marx Bros. picture. Groucho plays Rufus T. Firefly, the soon-to-be leader of the small country called Freedonia. The thin plot includes the unique Margaret Dumont in her recurring role as the rich matron Groucho unabashedly tries to bilk out of her fortune, and Louis Calhern (he was once married to Natalie "Lovey Howell" Schafer) as the obligatory villian out to trounce Groucho and company. Most notably, DUCK SOUP contains one of the most famous examples of Marx lunacy: the mirror sequence. Years later, this routine would be seen again by millions in 1955 when Harpo and Lucy Ricardo played it excellently on I LOVE LUCY. While the great zanies first two films, THE COCOANUTS (1929) and ANIMAL CRACKERS suffer from staginess and inconsequential plotting, DUCK SOUP transcends its meager plot to give the Brothers the characterisations that would stay with them in other films: Groucho, the master of of zany one-liners and double-entendres, whose shadiness is exceeded only by his humour; Harpo, the silent, looney girl-chaser; Chico, the "Italian" foil for Groucho's complicated conversations; and lastly, Zeppo, the rather wooden "go-fer" (his talents were generally overshadowed by his brothers). After the insane, relentless comedy of the earlier scenes, the films' sudden and abrupt ending is slightly disappointing, but the lunacy of these madcaps gives us 72 minutes of supreme Marx insanity to cherish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hail Freedonia & The Return Of Margaret Dumont, Oct. 9 2001
By 
T. W. Fuller (Wheeling, IL. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Duck Soup [Import] (VHS Tape)
"Duck Soup", the Marx Bros. fifth film, released in 1933, may be their finest piece of work. It is fast paced throughout, with a myriad of gags, jokes, and one-liners; the songs are humorous; there is no hint or presence of opera; it marks Zeppo's last film with his brothers (he later became their agent) - and best of all, Margaret Dumont returns after a two film absence. (She was not in "Monkey Business" or "Horse Feathers")
Groucho plays Rufus T. Firefly, the newly appointed dictator of Freedonia. This small nation is on the brink of bankrupty and is threatened to be taken over by neighboring Sylvania when Mrs. Gloria teasdale, played by Margaret Dumont, the wealthiest freedonian, offers financial assistance only if Rufus becomes dictator.
This does not set well with Trentino, Slvania's ambassador, played by Louis Calhern. He plans to marry Mrs. Teasdale (she is a widow), gain her fortune, and take over Freedonia. Now, with Rufus as the new dictator, and showing his own interest in her, Trentino sees war as the only way to overtake Freedonia.
Groucho picks up with Margaret Dumont right where he left off with her in "Animal Crackers"; that being, rudely. Yet that is what she is in these film for - to play the kind of high society snob the Marx Bros. love to hate, and make fun of, brilliantly so. Zeppo is less than visible in this film, and really doesn't have much a role, except for the songs.
Trentino hires Chico and Harpo to spy on Rufus, which is interesting because Chico is also hired by Rufus as Minister of War, which he only accepts after Rufus declines the offer. Harpo, as in previous films, is fixated on horses. In one scene he is sleeping with a horse, while a beautiful woman sleeps alone in another bed.
Trying to break the relationship and trust Mrs. Teasdale has for Rufus, Trentino uses the voluptious Vera Marcal, played by Racquel Torres, to make love, of sorts, to Rufus. However, Rufus is more interested in making jokes at her expense than anything else.
Great scenes pull this film together; including the mirror scene where Harpo is dressed to look like Groucho, and each tries to expose and one up the other; Chico and Harpo's feud between vendor Edgar Kennedy; and Chico's trial, where he has been arrested for being a spy, and sees it as more of a game than anything else.
War is finally declared, and overall it plays out fantastically. The ending is, to a certain extent, poor; not one of the Marx Bros. best film endings. However, it had to end without seeing anyone actually killed, and in this respect, the ending is justified.
Throughout its history, "Duck Soup" has been banned both in Italy, by Mussolini; and here in the U.S., during part of the Vietnam War. Yet it has stood the test of time, and still stands as one of their best, if not their best, films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Political Satire of All Time, Nov. 16 2000
This review is from: Duck Soup [Import] (VHS Tape)
I mean it. Bar none. I am not a huge fan of the Marx's, but this film is certainly their best (closely followed by "A Night at the Opera"). Basically, dictator of postage-stamp sized Freedonia, Rufus T. Firefly (Groucho) declairs war on neighbouring Sylvania without good reason at all, and havoc ensues. It's perfectly simple, but at the same time is pretty accurate when you think about how most wars start. You may feel uncomfortable the first time. This movie pulls no punches when it comes to nasty insult based humour. However, it grows on you something shocking. The brothers knock off just the right mix of slapstick (Harpo), stupidity (Chico), smart-alec (Groucho) and straight (Zeppo), that you can't help but keep laughing all the way through the film's short 70 or so minutes. My favourite sequence? The Mirror scene of course! But I won't spoil things here. If you're a fan of comedy, that is ANY sort of comedy, you owe it to yourself to own this movie. It features enough gags for six features, but one this good is enough. My only minor quibble is that some of the musical numbers have lost their edge with time, and now seem contrived and out of place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A hilarious movie!, Nov. 1 2000
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (North-Central Illinois, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Duck Soup [Import] (VHS Tape)
To gain financial support from Mrs. Teasdale (Margaret Dumont), the tiny bankrupt country of Freedonia agrees to take Rufus T. Firefly (Groucho Marx) as their new president (the poor saps). Mayhem springs from Firefly's cynical and sarcastic leadership, culminating in war with the neighboring country of Sylvania. Throughout, Pinky (Harpo Marx) and Chicolini (Chico Marx) are scheming among the great and powerful, taking money from Trentino (Louis Calhern) of Sylvania, and directing Firefly's war effort. [Black & white, created in 1933, with a running time of 70 minutes.]
This movie contains some of Groucho's funniest witticisms, his badinage with Margaret Dumont producing some of the funniest lines in theatrical history. The story takes something of a backseat to the Marx brother's comedy, but this movie is first and foremost a satire of politics in general, and war and patriotism in particular. Back to the comedy, this movie is fantastically funny, containing the famous mirror scene, where Chico is dressed as Groucho, who must figure out if he is seeing his reflection or something else!
This is a great movie. The comedy is funny and clean, and can be watched by viewers of any age. I highly recommend this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hail, Hail the Marx Brothers! The Marxist view on war, Oct. 15 2000
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Duck Soup [Import] (VHS Tape)
My favorite Marx Brothers movie is "A Night at the Opera," but this political satire, which was banned in Italy by Mussolini, is a very close second. It is definitely the best (and last) Marx Brothers movie with Zeppo, for what that is worth. As Groucho later pointed out, Zeppo's roles as the group's straight man were thankless. It was not that Zeppo lacked talent, but rather that he had three older brothers.
"In Duck Soup," the mythical nation of Freedonia is in trouble and Mrs. Teasdale (Margaret Dumont) insists that the reigns of power be turned over to Rufus T. Firefly (Groucho). Ambassador Trentino (Louis Calhern) of the neighboring country of Sylvania employs a couple of spies, Chicolini (Chico) and Pinky (Harpo), to shadow Firefly. Oh, and Firefly has a secretary, Bob Rolland (Zeppo). Many of the most famous sequences by the Brothers Marx are found in this film: (1) The mirror sequence between Groucho and Harpo (if it had been Groucho and Chico instead Groucho would have asked "Are you my reflection" and Chico would have answered "Sure"); (2) Harpo's encounter with street vendor Edgar Kennedy, master of the slow-burn (" "); (3) The "We're Going to War" take off on 1930s musicals ("They've got guns, we've got guns, all God's chil'en got guns"); (4) Groucho offering Chico the position of Secretary of War ("Sold!"); (5) Harpo offering Grouch a ride in the sidecar of his motorcyle ("This is the third trip I've taken today and I still haven't gone anywhere"); (6) Zeppo introducing the new leader of Freedonia, Rufus T. Fireflay ("Whatever it is, I'm against it."); and much, much more, including the lovely Rachel Torres as the lovely Vera Marcal!
"Duck Soup" was helped by several factors. With director Leo McCarey the Marx Brothers finally had a first rate director who understood how to stage and shoot the action. The Bert Kalmar and Harry Ruby screenplay does one of the better jobs of integrating the various comic routines into the overall story. After an absence of two films Margaret Dumont was back where she belonged, trying to stay above the insanity with no success whatsoever. Louis Calhern is arguably the ideal villain for the Marx Brothers because in scene after scene he plays it absolutely straight, without losing his dignity or becoming laughable (similar to the marvelous job by Kitty Carlisle in "A Night at the Opera").
Final tidbit: When the town of Fredonia, New York complained about its name being used in the film (the extra "e" did not matter for some reason," Groucho shot back: "Change the name of your town, it's hurting our picture." And, as always, please remember that the correct pronunciation of Leonard's stage name is "Chick-o" not "Cheek-o." The man liked the ladies and was not a young Hispanic male.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Original Anti-War Movie, July 25 2000
By 
J. GENIO (Earth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Duck Soup [Import] (VHS Tape)
Ever wonder where ideas for movies like Dr. Strangelove come from? Well, look no further than Duck Soup.
In this movie the Brothers go through their usual zany antics. However, this film has a moral lesson: War is foolish. War is Dirty Business.
Unfortunately, movie goers of yesteryear couldn't see Duck Soup for what it really was. The original anti-war movie. Rufus T. Firefly (Groucho Marx), President of Freedonia, has strained relations with his neighboring country. The leader of the neighboring country sends intelligence agents (Chico and Harpo) into Freedonia to keep an eye on Firefly. Hum. . . Harpo and Chico are intelligence agents. . . how's that for a spin on "military intelligence?" Then again, Groucho once said that Military intelligence is to intelligence what military music is to music. I think you get the idea!
Anyway, Groucho triggers a war when he slaps the leadder of the neighboring country across the face for calling him an "upstart." As Groucho declares: "Nobody calls a Firefly an Upstart." As you can imagine, the war starts out bad for Freedonia. Groucho shoots his own men (and then covers it up: "Here's $5. . . Keep it under your hat. Better yet, keep it under mine"), Secretary of War Chico "joins the other side because the food is better there," and Harpo is combing the countryside (battlefield) for recruits. Finally, when all looks lost, Freedonia captures the leader of the opposing side and makes him surrender by putting him in stocks and then throwing fruits and vegetables at him.
The jokes and one-liners are fast and furious. The slap stick humor is done with a style that can only be accomplished by the Marx Brothers. For example, the bit where Harpo decides to wash his feet in the vendor's vat of lemonade wouldn't be all that funny if someone like Lou Costello or Stan Laurel decided to do the same thing. The mirror scene is a classic Hal Roach silent movie bit. . . possibly done by Chaplain, I believe.
Without a doubt, Duck Soup will keep you laughing no matter how many times you've seen it. It is a Great comedy classic. As a matter of fact, it was recently voted one of the top ten comedy movies of the 20th century. So, go out a own a piece of history!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Classic Says More About War than Dr. Strangelove, Oct. 13 1999
By 
This review is from: Duck Soup [Import] (VHS Tape)
If I were stranded on a desert island with a working VCR and could only have one film, this would be it! Gaggingly hysterical lampoon has Margaret Dumont offering financial aid to her country, Freedonia, only if Groucho is appointed leader. He takes control and Freedonia grinds to a halt as rival Sylvania plans to overrun it subversely by Ambassador Trentino's love appeals to Dumont! Zeppo gets wind of this, plots with Groucho to goad Trentino, who will strike Groucho and he declares war. Feedonia good, Sylvania bad. Great plan, only Groucho gets Trentino to insult "him" (with the term "upstart" of all things) and Groucho declares war! It's insane tom-foolery unparalleled! Chico and Harpo have several low paying jobs starting as Sylvanian spies against Groucho ("You give us a pixchure of this man and say follow him? Well we lose-a da pixchure!"); peanut vendors outside the Fredonian palace (dueling with the late, great Edgar Kennedy over lemonade, peanuts and hats -- this gets so surreal you'll spit up laughing); and ultimately Harpo is Groucho's driver ("This is the fifth trip I've made today and I haven't been anywhere yet!") and Chico becomes Secretary of War ("I say we have a standing army - that way we save money on chairs."). It is the unabashed visual and verbal commentary on the senselessness of war that just shines in this, however (look for Chico to punch the timeclock as he enters the war and Groucho's brilliant retort to Trentino's stopping the war: "It's too late, I've already paid a month's rent on the battlefield.") Priceless, timeless and always watchable. If there is one sour note, it is the sensitivity of our time colliding with the insensivity of the 30's with the "darkies" comment. Ignore it. I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Duck Soup
Duck Soup (DVD - 2011)
CDN$ 14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews