Customer Reviews


170 Reviews
5 star:
 (116)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star classic!
Excellent quality! One of the best purchases I made. It only includes the film, no extras other than the language features where it can be watched in English or Japanese. The film holds up well with the series and you should not miss it!
Published 1 month ago by Derek Stepan

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, but not the best release
The film it self is amazing, the image quality is superb; a vast improvement from the DVD version. However, they did not remaster the audio into 5.1, both audio tracks are in 2.0. Other than that the sound quality is great. The subtitles are in white and are perfectly legible on both HD and SD displays.
The CBC news scenes have a strange flickering effect (approx 13...
Published on Dec 6 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, but not the best release, Dec 6 2011
This review is from: Cowboy Bebop: The Movie [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
The film it self is amazing, the image quality is superb; a vast improvement from the DVD version. However, they did not remaster the audio into 5.1, both audio tracks are in 2.0. Other than that the sound quality is great. The subtitles are in white and are perfectly legible on both HD and SD displays.
The CBC news scenes have a strange flickering effect (approx 13 minutes in) that wasn't there on the DVD version.

Unfortunately the Blu-ray is devoid of any extras. Gone are all of the Interviews, commentary track, storyboards, etc that were available on the DVD. There aren't even any trailers on the disc. All that remains is the film itself. On top of that, the French language track is missing, as well as the French subtitles. The subtitle tracks only come in English and Spanish.

Normally I'd give this film 5 stars, however due to all of the features that were available on the DVD and then stripped from the Blu-ray, this only gets 3 stars. It's alright it if you don't care about any of the extras, however, I'd recommend either waiting for a better release or sticking with the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star classic!, May 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cowboy Bebop: The Movie [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
Excellent quality! One of the best purchases I made. It only includes the film, no extras other than the language features where it can be watched in English or Japanese. The film holds up well with the series and you should not miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic, Dec 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cowboy Bebop: The Movie [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
If you like anime this is a great movie, more importantly if you like cowboy bebop and if you haven't seen the anime series, watch it before the movie you don't have to but it would be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's not a sequel to the tv series but still Great!, Nov. 3 2013
By 
Kevino K K Kwan (North York, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Yay! More adventures from our wacky space faring bounty hunters!! I have always loved the TV series from the start. Great visuals, hip soundtrack, interesting characters and memorable stories.

Now this movie takes place in between the TV series story arc, so this is not a sequel as led to many people believe.
The movie is pretty much the same so no surprises, just a great watching experience!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived in Perfect condition -FAST!, June 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very quick delivery and as advertised.

I'm not usually an anime viewer, but got interested in the series because of the more-realistic-than-usual depiction of firearms. Drama without being over the top, humor at many different levels, and it's gritty enough not to be a kid's cartoon. I enjoyed the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Technically Brilliant but without a soul, Oct. 4 2003
I was really looking forward to the release of this movie. I was a big fan of the show and when I heard that the movie was essentially a longer TV episode that actually appealed to me. Unfortunately, during the hiatus between the end of the show and the production of the movie, the team forgot what made the show good. The characters seem to be only shadows of their former selves, the plot is not developed and events happen for reasons that are not explained (For example: just why is a character involved in a dogfight with the military for example? The script gave no explanation why this character would be considered an enemy). Essentially it is more interested in looking good than BEING good. I've learned that when it comes to sequels or new productions of an old show in anime, you can't go home again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cowboy in hand, July 8 2009
By 
if your fan of the series then you will love the movie,this action packed movie from the unique hand hand fighting style to the dog fighting did not disappoint me at all the story plot from the beginning made me want to follow it to the end.I recommended to all unless your not use to viewing movies on the small PSP screen then get the DVD a must see movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good movie, June 29 2004
By A Customer
Mind u, i havn't finished the series yet, but i couldn't wait to see the movie when i found out there was one! The movie is excelent! I've divided this movie into 3 parts. The first 30 minutes are cool when we first see all the characters, the middle 10 minutes are ok, but theres alot of talking so sit back and relax, then it picks bak up agian for the last 45 minutes with cool action. the soundtrack is an A+! With new songs and staying true to the cowboy bebop theme it's the best! animation is wonderful, much better and clearer than in the series. so join Edward, Jet, Faye, and Spike as they track down a terrorist who plans to wipe out all the humans on Mars! If you've ever seen at least 3 episodes of the series, u will love this movie! so what does that say for the rest of us who love it? ^^ this is a must-have for any anime fan! Now if they'd jus make an InuYasha movie in english, we'd be set! Agian, at the very least rent it! You won't be dissapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie that compliments a great series., June 19 2004
By 
J. Hayes (AL, United States) - See all my reviews
Cowboy Bebop is the saga of a group of bounty hunters and their lives aboard the Bebop. Spike is the tough, yet laidback main character. His partner is Spike, a former ISSP officer. The two formed a partnership aboard the Bebop. Next came Ein the Welsh Corgi data dog, then Faye Valentine, then Ed the teenage hacker. These characters make up the crew of the Bebop, the best group of bounty hunters in the universe although luck never really is on their side.
So with the background info out of the way, this movie takes place right around episode 24 in the series.(SPOILER**) It begins with Faye going after what should have been a routine bounty pickup, but while out she witnesses a massive explosion. Many people miles away begin to get sick for some strange reason that may be linked to the explosion and a man that Faye saw at the scene of the explosion. What ensues is an action packed movie dealing with the threat of terrorism. Spike and the crew discover that they are dealing with a man named Vincent Volaju that was presumed to have died in a war. But he is alive and he has a plan to take out the human race by the use of nano-bots that can't be seen by the human eye. Can the Bebop crew stop Vincent and save Mars from destruction? Watch to see how this one ends, I wont say.
Overall I love this movie. Maybe I am slightly biased because I am a huge fan of the series. In anime nothing is better than Bebop, at least in my mind. This movie perfectly compliments the series, unlike most movies that take more of your money. For any fan of Bebop you have to own this along with the series. Honestly I think CBTM is as good as any movie of any kind that I have seen in the last few years. It has a believable plot, with the serious topic of terrorism which we now deal with in our world every day. The movie is just under 2 hours I believe, but it never drags. The whole storyline flows smoothly from beginning to end and I never became bored the longer the movie went on. So let us sum this up: great cast of characters, lots of action (specifically the magnificent fight scenes between Vincent and Spike), wonderful animation and lastly it is just plain cool. And I mean everything about it. You can usually find it for a not-too-bad price. There are some cool extras included, but it isnt "loaded" like you would think special edition would be. This is a great movie bottom-line, with a great but complex theme, and features the coolest character in anime, Spike Spiegel. If you have never watched the series that is okay, you will still catch on to the storyline pretty quick. Not much backstory is required to understand what is going on. And if you are not into anime at all, I think this is a movie that can even be enjoyed by you, it is just that good. So check it out if this sounds like your thing. But beware, you may want to buy the whole tv series after seeing this if you don't already have it, because it will leave you wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Faye Valentine man what a girl., June 7 2004
Cowboy Bebop the movie is better than the series. I've been waiting for this movie to come out ever sence the series ended, its been a long wait but it was well worth it. This movie has great animation, good character design, and a pretty good plot but thats not why i got this movie, i got it all because of Faye Valentine and Spike Speigal (but mostly because of Faye she's so fine). Cowboy Bebop the movie is a nice peace of animation, i recomend it to fans of the series and eneyone who love's anime's its a must have movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cowboy Bebop: The Movie [Blu-ray] [Import]
Cowboy Bebop: The Movie [Blu-ray] [Import] by Shinichirô Watanabe (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 19.67
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews