Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ghost in the Machine
Taken from William Gibson's short story of the same name, Johnny Mneumonic is perhaps the most underrated film of the 90's. Its definately a view more than once film. The flaws (and there are many) stem mainly from the tinkering of Sony who changed the
initial thrust of the film as well as the soundtrack from the
directors and the screenwriters original...
Published on May 10 2004 by jabooth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, But Could Have Been Alot Better
Johhny Mnemonic's biggest enemy wasn't the Yakuza, PharmCom, NAS, or Dolph Lundgren. It was the dreaded bad sci-fi movie script that seems to plauge a large number of otherwise promising films. Someone else mentioned that this movie seems more like live-action anime and I'm tempted to agree with that thought. The sets, visual effects, and costuming are good and help to...
Published on June 26 2002 by Matthew S. Schweitzer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars 'Johnny' Be Comedy, June 21 2002
By 
Timotee (Torrance, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Johnny Mnemonic is a courier of confidential information. You would think he would carry it in a briefcase, but no, he stores it in his head. He's a walking computer and many Japanese gangsters are willing to kill him to get the information. What is he carrying? You'll find out at the end. From Japan to New Jersey, he runs into Henry Rollins (the singer!), Dina Meyer (Starship Trooper) and Ice-T! What a cast! Whoa, I forgot to mention that Keanu Reeves plays the human computer. There are funny scenes with a ninja using a laser string from this thumb. It was comedy how he used it. Dolph Lundgren (underrated deity) plays a psycho preacher who yells, "Halt sinnas!" It was hilarity when Henry Rollins hit him with a big rig. Oh, the streams pouring down my face with laughter! I recommend this cyberpunk science fiction movie to any fan of the comedy genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What's the problem?, June 16 1999
By A Customer
It has to be said that when they open the annals of the worlds most underrated movies this will be at the top of the list. Keanu is well cast as JMn - some would say bereft of personality but I think that's missing the point, he's cool and professional, just as he should be. Ice-T plays the beleagured yet passionate freedom fighter with gusto and Dolph Lundengrundenhousen...en...whatever...is excellent as a twisted cyborg with a religious fixation. Everyone else is more than adequate in their roles. The plot is more subtle than the instant, intense visuals let on (and this is where a lot of people seem to trip up as they do not see past the cheese) and the movie stands up well to multiple viewings which is what you want from a video. All in all, a great package for any sci-fi fan and a must for Gibsonette's. Buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Canada's attempt at the mainstream action genre, May 10 1999
By A Customer
For those worried that Hollywood put this one out, rest assured the movie is purely Canadian. Made by a Canadian studio, with a Canadian star (yeah, Keanu is unfrotunately for me to admit, a Canadian) and it's based (ever so LOOSELY) on a book by a Canadian author. What someone forgot to do was look in on the production and see where it's director was spending the Canadian money, because it wasn't on the movie. The company up here that made it is more used to making some artsy movies (and they never have to worry) than an action flick, and I guess that's why this movie sometimes feels like it's trying to be artsy. But it makes no sense, it's dialogue is bad and it just goes on and on. The only cool thing was that guy with the whip. Even David Cronenberg couldn't have helped this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Don't see the movie, buy the book ..., Oct. 23 1998
A disappointing treatment of a Cyperpunk classic, Johnny Mnemonic tries too hard and in doing so completely fails to impress. The dark, oppresive atmosphere of William Gibson's future comes across rather well only to be spoiled by blunt and unimaginative acting. The special effect sequences suffer the same fate and come across more like a poor advertisement for the land of tomorrow than an accurate depiction of Gibson's view of the Internet of the future. All in all the movie's a real let down and there's more to be gained by reading Gibson's Cyberpunk novels : Neuromancer, Count Zero, Mona Lisa Overdrive and Burning Chrome (the short story collection from which Johnny Mnemonic was taken) END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cyberpunk is here to stay!!, Sept. 26 2001
This is classic sci-fi...
So what it didn't have a huge budget or anything. They did a great job!!
Keanu is great as Johnny ~ the prototype NEO of the future...
It's funny, it's got action and some good quotes and at the end of the day it has WILLIAM GIBSON to thank for the vision of the future.
Keanu Reeves does a good turn and as always, gives his all, simulating the demise of Johnny's looks, getting thinner and thinner as the overload in storage capacity takes it's toll...
Good all round cast with Ice-T giving a great performance.
BUY THIS MOVIE ~ ALSO IT, HAS A CRACKINGLY GOOD SOUNDTRACK SO BUY THAT AS WELL...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars WORST MOVIE EVER, Feb. 19 2004
Words cannot describe the agony I experienced while watching this piece of crap. I would rather have 10 root canals then see ANY part of this junk again. Not only is the acting, plot, dialogue, and directing horrible - but in the end the whole world is run by a FREAKING DOLPHIN!!! A big plastic looking fake dolphin. I want my money back, I want a letter of apology from anyone even remotely involved with this film, and the executives who green lighted this crap should be fired. I wish I could give it a negative rating. This is THE worst movie I have EVER seen. Anyone who likes this movie must be really high or really dumb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Opposed to everyone else I love this movie, Jan. 18 1999
By A Customer
Some may say Keeanu Reeves is the worst actor in Hollywood... I would disagree... he does his spots very well (excepting Dracula) and he does very well in this role. The movie itself is VERY good if you like the Cyberpunk genre. If you have ever played the game Shadow Run then you will enjoy this movie very much. Keeanu as Johnny does a very good job playing a Dekker. If you can't get the movie, this probably is not your genre, but it beats The Net, destroys Hackers, and decimates most of the other competition in this genre for believability (no MAC's or PC's!!!)and plain fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The MATRIX it AIN'T, March 28 2004
By A Customer
I actually liked this film when it came out but seeing it again this past week I was struck by how flat Reeves' performance was. He is so very good in "Speed" and in the "Matrix" films... but in this one, he is really weak and uninteresting... and knowing how good he can be, I can only blame the director. This was a good story, but poorly transcribed for the screen... and though the special effects were good for their day... those are pretty dated by todays standards. See either MATRIX film instead and leave it go at that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Johnny Mnemonic" has a better plot than anything else......, Sept. 25 2003
Don't expect great acting, there isn't any. However this movie does dish up some good parts. The atmosphere of the movie is pretty cool. A very Techno Cyber Electronic Punk feel to the movie. The special effects are really sweet considering when the movie was made. Also the music is really cool. Such bands as "Stabbing Westward" and "KMFDM" really set the mood for the film. If you can look past the terrible acting you'll find an enjoyable movie. Techno-Industrial fans will be pleased. Everyone else, move along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another techno film trashed by the literati., Aug. 15 2003
By 
James E. Vancik "gravityone" (Indianapolis, IN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Like AI Artificial Intelligence and Blade Runner this is yet another film I didn't see at the time of its release because of the critics who don't see much value in and know nothing of the genre of futurist, technology oriented sci-fi. I'm beginning to believe these people parade around with single digit IQs trying to control what triple digits enjoy (I think I'll copywrite that statement). I saw it, I liked it, I bought it. But then I'm not threatened by something that takes me out of myself to another world in another time...hit me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Johnny Mnemonic [Blu-ray] [Import]
CDN$ 19.63
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews