Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Mnemonic dvd Bilingual import
j'ai tout lue les commentaire avant d'acheter
et ce n'ai pas vrai qu'il n'y a pas de 16:9 dans cet copie du film
les personnes qui non pas d'autres format que 4:3
devrais revoir leur configuration de leur DVD ou Bluray et choisir
le format 16:9 et non sur l'automatique choix fait par l'appareil
Published 9 months ago by Benoit

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warning about this DVD
A Warning for those looking for a widescreen copy of this film: THIS DISC IS FULL FRAME. I know the amazon listing here states that it is in widescreen, but this is wrong, and it will not allow for a change to the specs without a url to back up the claim (although they could just check the product themselves to confirm).
Published on Jan. 19 2011 by noyer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars "Johnny Mnemonic" has a better plot than anything else......, Sept. 25 2003
Don't expect great acting, there isn't any. However this movie does dish up some good parts. The atmosphere of the movie is pretty cool. A very Techno Cyber Electronic Punk feel to the movie. The special effects are really sweet considering when the movie was made. Also the music is really cool. Such bands as "Stabbing Westward" and "KMFDM" really set the mood for the film. If you can look past the terrible acting you'll find an enjoyable movie. Techno-Industrial fans will be pleased. Everyone else, move along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Cyber-Thriller"?... Definately Techno-Thriller..., Aug. 31 2003
By 
Glenn "Computer Programmer" (Quincy, MA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This movie is a very good one, if your looking to get into the Gibson style of "Cyberpunk", stories and movies. After all William Gibson started it. Though the future is sure to turn out differently, this movie could be considered a forewarning of what melding men and machine will do. Especially when wealth and power is stuck in-between.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another techno film trashed by the literati., Aug. 15 2003
By 
James E. Vancik "gravityone" (Indianapolis, IN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Like AI Artificial Intelligence and Blade Runner this is yet another film I didn't see at the time of its release because of the critics who don't see much value in and know nothing of the genre of futurist, technology oriented sci-fi. I'm beginning to believe these people parade around with single digit IQs trying to control what triple digits enjoy (I think I'll copywrite that statement). I saw it, I liked it, I bought it. But then I'm not threatened by something that takes me out of myself to another world in another time...hit me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, But Could Have Been Alot Better, June 26 2002
By 
Matthew S. Schweitzer "zohoe" (Columbus, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Johhny Mnemonic's biggest enemy wasn't the Yakuza, PharmCom, NAS, or Dolph Lundgren. It was the dreaded bad sci-fi movie script that seems to plauge a large number of otherwise promising films. Someone else mentioned that this movie seems more like live-action anime and I'm tempted to agree with that thought. The sets, visual effects, and costuming are good and help to create a genuinely interesting Gibsonian cyberpunk atmosphere. But cyberpunk is more than flashy futuristic effects and run-down city cores...and that is where this film gets lost. It is all the more disappointing when one realizes that William Gibson himself wrote the screenplay.
Keanu Reeves plays Johnny, a cold, unhappy, robot-like data courier who wants to quit the business and have his long-term memory, which he had to dump in order to store data in his wet-wired brain implant, restored. But in order to get the cash for such an operation, he must make one last Big Job. After being setup by his "agent", Johnny finds that he cannot get the 80GB of data out of his head and if he doesn't do so in time, bad things will happen to his brain. Along the way he fights yakuza hitmen and crazed robotic street preachers, and is helped by rock star back alley doctors, hot female body guards, a gutter punk rapper, and a Super-Intelligent Dolphin.
Johnny isn't as unbelievably horrible as many other critics have claimed, but it certainly isn't going to win any awards. As it is, it is a fairly engaging sci-fi adventure with some serious handicaps. It's at least worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'Johnny' Be Comedy, June 21 2002
By 
Timotee (Torrance, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Johnny Mnemonic is a courier of confidential information. You would think he would carry it in a briefcase, but no, he stores it in his head. He's a walking computer and many Japanese gangsters are willing to kill him to get the information. What is he carrying? You'll find out at the end. From Japan to New Jersey, he runs into Henry Rollins (the singer!), Dina Meyer (Starship Trooper) and Ice-T! What a cast! Whoa, I forgot to mention that Keanu Reeves plays the human computer. There are funny scenes with a ninja using a laser string from this thumb. It was comedy how he used it. Dolph Lundgren (underrated deity) plays a psycho preacher who yells, "Halt sinnas!" It was hilarity when Henry Rollins hit him with a big rig. Oh, the streams pouring down my face with laughter! I recommend this cyberpunk science fiction movie to any fan of the comedy genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Quite cheesy, April 26 2002
By 
S. J. Meyer (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I went to see this movie in the theatre when it first came out. At the time I was "in love" with Keanu Reeves. But even to me, a "love" blinded 13 year old, this movie was awful. the story line is kind of cool, but the acting is bad, and the movie doesn't flow. It has some gross gory parts, like a dude getting sliced diagonally across his body and his torso slides sideways to the floor. Blech! I don't reccomend this movie to any normal people. :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Johnny Whoops Johnny, Oct. 24 2001
By 
Christopher J. Jarmick "Word Lover" (Seattle, Wa. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This JUST RELEASED SPECIAL SUPERBIT version of this film (10/09/01), means that all available disc space is used to present the film supposedly at the very finest visual quality possible. The disc space is devoted to improving the resolution of the film. That means no extras, no bells and whistles, behind the scenes documentaries, commentaries, nothing, nada. Perhaps an extra disc of extra's would have been nice. . . but this release is not geared to please everyone, only the pickiest DVDophiles amongst us.
If you like the film and you want to see and hear it better than you have ever been able to hear it before, this DVD is worth getting. There are no extras as all of the disc space is utilized in giving the highest possible bit rate possible. I hope some truly classic films will offered using the Superbit process in the future. I would also like to see an additional disc of extra material being offered for those films that have available extras.
Johnny Mnemonic should have been a delightful camp-fest with some remarkable sequences full of colorful digital effects. An excellent pop-artist Robert Longo directed the film, and it's all based on famed cyber-punk/ science fiction writer William Gibson's short story. He even adapted it for the screen.
The film to me is about as much fun as getting dumped off the internet just as your finishing writing a long e-mail you've not saved. I'd have to strain quite a bit to tell you something that is worthwhile in the film. The cast might look promising on paper, (Keanu, Dina Meyer, Ice-T, Takeshi (BEAT)Kitano, Henry Rollins, and Udo Kier) but nobody is particularly good in the film.
There's a pretty interesting sequence when Johnny quite literally surfs the internet. It's got some dazzling visuals for a few minutes. Well, that's about all I can come up with.
The plot sets up one long chase scene. Keanu Reeves plays Johnny, a human computer information courier. The safest way to transport corporate information from computer to computer is by implanting the information into a chip inside a human couriers brain. Johnny wants to retire from the courier business so he takes on a more dangerous than usual assignment which also means he needs to complete his assignment in 48 hours or his brain shorts out and he becomes a vegetable. There's some good guys who help him try get to where he needs to go, and there's the bad guys who want to download the information from him.
Most of the futuristic sets look too cheap to be convincing. The dialogue stops just short of being hilariously bad, which means it isn't quite bad enough to be fun. The film doesn't have the right tone or pace to be a fun, guilty-pleasure type camp-fest either. There's quite a few similarities to TRON , and the far superior The Matrix that might be of some interest to completists.
Still someone out there likes this thing. One of them obviously works within the studio and decided this was a good film to give the full SUPERBIT treatment to. I'm not sure exactly why…. But they have done it.
The DVD Image
SUPERBIT TITLES are produced by a team of Sony Pictures Digital video, sound and mastering technicians and engineers. Superbit DVDs are encoded at twice their normal bit rate which improves video resolution and gives you a choice of both Dolby 5.1 and DTS audio. They are fully compatible with region 1 DVD players already in use.
Utilizing more space on the disc for bit-rates improves the over-all picture resolution. It's not a dramatic difference but the image will look a little sharper and there will be additional detail in low light situations. It also means there is less compression of detail being used which should cut down on visible edge enhancement, what is called mosquito noise, haloing,artifacting, and color pinging or shifting. This also means grain and other imperfections on the film stock might be somewhat amplified as well. The disc type is a DVD-9 (a single sided and double-layered disc with a capacity of 7.95 gigabits).
Once again, it appears the digitally stored transfer that was used to create the previous edition of Johnny Mnemonic seems to be used. There are some blemishes on the print, and when it was originally transferred the black levels were not adjusted to the levels they should have been which resulted in some blacks appearing grayish. This results in selected scenes being robber of some added visual dynamics they would have had since the Superbit process increases the details over all.
The film looks very good, but if a new corrected film transfer had also been done, the results could have improved even more.
It's even more noticeable on this version, that not a lot of creativity went into the sound mix on this film. Brad Fiedel's electronic score utilizes the surround capabilities of a good home theater system much better than any of the sound effects in the film do. The center speakers are the primary focus of most of the sound and dialogue in the film. There is not much punch to any of the explosions or low bass effects used in the film. All of the sound (unless intentionally distorted) is clear and well separated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cyberpunk is here to stay!!, Sept. 26 2001
This is classic sci-fi...
So what it didn't have a huge budget or anything. They did a great job!!
Keanu is great as Johnny ~ the prototype NEO of the future...
It's funny, it's got action and some good quotes and at the end of the day it has WILLIAM GIBSON to thank for the vision of the future.
Keanu Reeves does a good turn and as always, gives his all, simulating the demise of Johnny's looks, getting thinner and thinner as the overload in storage capacity takes it's toll...
Good all round cast with Ice-T giving a great performance.
BUY THIS MOVIE ~ ALSO IT, HAS A CRACKINGLY GOOD SOUNDTRACK SO BUY THAT AS WELL...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Matrix - lovers, May 21 2001
By 
Lawrence C. Thurman Jr. (Marysville, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you liked the Matrix - you Will LIKE this movie - notice I didn't say love. Usual scenario - good looking guy takes a risk gets in trouble and has to make friends and fight his way to save the world - Ice cube - as always plays a pretty good part.
worth at least renting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Prelude to the Matrix, April 11 2001
By 
Andrew D. Dixon Jr. (Jacksonville, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
That's what this film is, the prelude to the Matrix. Johnny is almost campy. Tolerable and sometimes engaging. Henry Rollins actually turns in one of the best performances. Eh, I didn't return the DVD, which is more than I can say for some other films. A little Road Warrior tinge to it as well. Overall, not horrible. I'd have given it two-and-a-half stars if I could have figured out how to enter a half star. -Drew Dixon, 4-11-01
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Johnny Mnemonic [Blu-ray] [Import]
CDN$ 19.67
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews