Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The girl in a bleak world
The late Stieg Larsson's Millennium Trilogy was all about cruelty towards women -- and the movie adaptations don't hold back either. These are bleak, dark thrillers filled with razor-sharp social commentary, bloody action and conspiracies -- and brilliant performances by Michael Nyqvist and Noomi Rapace.

In "The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo," take-no-prisoners...
Published on Aug. 25 2011 by EA Solinas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Stieg Larsson's Dragon Tattoo Trilogy
Hang on to your seat! You're in for a scary ride! Violent, twisted & bazaar, at times you wish you were not watching.....but you have to see what's going to happen!! I'm not a fan of sub-titles & they only give you seconds to read them, but the story was so dramatic it kept us going. Not a movie for the faint of heart.
Published on March 18 2012 by Lady Di


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The girl in a bleak world, Aug. 25 2011
By 
EA Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stieg Larsson's Dragon Tattoo Trilogy (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo / The Girl Who Played with Fire / The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest) (Blu-ray)
The late Stieg Larsson's Millennium Trilogy was all about cruelty towards women -- and the movie adaptations don't hold back either. These are bleak, dark thrillers filled with razor-sharp social commentary, bloody action and conspiracies -- and brilliant performances by Michael Nyqvist and Noomi Rapace.

In "The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo," take-no-prisoners journalist Mikael Blomkvist (Michael Nyqvist) has just lost his reputation, his savings and his freedom (hello, jail sentence!) after a nasty libel suit from an executive named Wennerström.

Then he's unexpectedly contacted by aged industrialist Henrik Vanger, to discover what happened to the guy's grandniece. He's offering evidence on Wennerström, so Mikael has no choice but to accept -- and as he investigates the sinister Vanger family, he joins forces with Lisbeth Salander (Noomi Rapace), an eccentric, abused computer hacker. And as Mikael unearths the clues to Harriet's disappearance, he also finds some skeletons long kept buried.

"The Girl Who Played With Fire" finds Mikael investigating sex trafficking in his own country, and young girls who are sold into it. Unknown to him, Lisbeth is keeping very close tabs on his work -- especially since she was abused as a child, and now plots revenge on the sex traffickers. But when she's accused of murder and ends up on the run, Mikael must discover what lies at the core of these crimes...

And finally, "The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets' Nest": Lisbeth has been shot in the head, her malevolent father Zalachenko is in the same hospital claiming that she tried to kill him, and some nasty government forces want her locked away, as she was as a child. Her only hope lies in Mikael, who must unravel a government conspiracy formed around the young hacker...

"The Stieg Larsson Trilogy" takes the usual mystery/thriller plots and promptly turns them on their heads. They take place in a dark, dangerous, unfair world where the truth is quashed and women are treated horribly -- and no one more so than the eccentric, angry "girl with the dragon tattoo."

And the movies translate Larsson's novels beautifully. Niels Arden Oplev gives a raw, bone-chilling power to the first movie; Daniel Alfredson doesn't have quite the same kinetic touch, but both men do brilliant jobs with their films. And they weave in some horribly disturbing scenes (the ghastly, helpless rape of Lisbeth by her corrupt "guardian" -- followed by a gleefully horrific scene where she gets her revenge).

And Mikael and Salander make an intriguing odd couple -- Nyquist's journalist starts world-weary and demoralized that he seems to care about nothing, but regains his passion for the truth. And Rapace is absolutely electric as Lisbeth, who is one of the most devastatingly brilliant characters in modern cinema -- she's a wild, bleeding creature hiding her bruises behind a mask of piercings and jet-dyed hair, and whose torn-up heart begins to heal when she meets Mikael.

"The Steig Larsson Trilogy" is a powerful trio of movies that never stops hitting you in the gut when you least expect it. Absolutely brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Movies With Wow, Dec 10 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had read the books and then learned that this trilogy was available. My husband (who had not read the books)and I watched them, one each night and became very immersed in the story. The movies are very close to the book, which is an unusual happening in Hollywood. There was the additional element of the powerful Swedish dramatic cinematic delivery that has held true from Bergman to today.
A bonus was the fact that we could choose either Swedish vocals with English subtitles or in English only. We watched the first two in Swedish and the last movie in English. I prefer hearing the Swedish language (it becomes natural to read the subtitles); my husband preferred the movies in English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dragon Tattoo With A Vengeance, Dec 20 2011
This review is from: Stieg Larsson's Dragon Tattoo Trilogy (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo / The Girl Who Played with Fire / The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest) (Blu-ray)
The trilogy, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo is IN-credible...............beautifully, professionally, artistically presented.............Nonstop action which means those subtitles whirl past with lightening speed..........trust me, you don't want to take your eyes off the screen.........can't wait to see how the original film(s) and the soon-to-be-released American version compare.............I'd bet the original will win.....................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oustanding, July 31 2011
By 
Elizabeth Prinsloo "Fantasy fanatic" (Carman MB Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These movies are outstanding! I read all the books and naturally wanted to watch the movies as well. I was not disappointed at all. The story was exactly true to the books and the actors did a wonderful job to bring the characters to life. I watched it in the original Swedish with english subtitles. I preferred it that way because for me it made it more believable. I can really recommend it to anybody!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great trilogy, May 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I found the trilogy to be compact and easy to view. It had subtitle options for English which I used. The movies themselves are very good and enjoyable (I had already read the books). I suppose certain scenes can seem random and odd if one has not read the books but overall quite enjoyable and well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Dragon Trilogy, Oct. 10 2012
Haven't seen all of the episodes but from what I've seen already this series appears to be well paced, which creates much more tension than the Hollywood version. I'm watching with English dialogue, which takes some getting used to. The overall effect is one of cheesiness and unmatched voices, however I intend on going back and viewing it in Swedish with English subtitles. The casting so far, (episode one disc one) has been strong and nothing seems to have been distorted from the novel...that's all for now folks...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Millenium Trilogy, April 19 2012
By 
This review is from: Stieg Larsson's Dragon Tattoo Trilogy (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo / The Girl Who Played with Fire / The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest) (Blu-ray)
I watched all three in one sitting. On the edge of my seat the whole time. Then I read the books. I was surprised at how true to the story the two directors stayed. Unlike most Hollywood movies made from novels. I also watched The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Hollywood version. Kind of a pale copy. I can't help wondering why Hollywood steals ideas from the filmmakers from other countries, then makes a bad copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movies, Oct. 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved the books for the Dragon Tattoo Trilogy and decided to see how the movies were in comparison to the books. Most of my family had read the books so we all looked forward to viewing the DVD's. We all loved them. Would highly recommend to anyone even though they are dubbed in English. Thoroughly enjoyed all 3 of the movies. Actually we liked the first one better the english version that came out last year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars STIEG LARSSON'S DRAGON TATTOO TRILOGY, Jan. 6 2012
This review is from: Stieg Larsson's Dragon Tattoo Trilogy (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo / The Girl Who Played with Fire / The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest) (Blu-ray)
I will recommend this trilogy to anyone who loves a mixture of drama , action and mystery. It is entertaining and will keep you on your seat the whole time. I learned that the author died and saddened by this. Quite hoping that there will be another book for a future movie sequel..I did not read the book and only watched the movies but friends of mine claimed that the book was really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie to watch, Jan. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This original set of movies was much better than I had anticipated. You really got into the movie even though you had to read the subtitles. It is far better than the English version made later. All 3 movies lead into each other and it makes it hard not to see the next part right away. I will watch it several times to see what I missed the last time I watched it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews