Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 1/2-4 stars for another intense flick with Statham
The Mechanic(released Jan/11)is a remake of the original starring Charles Bronson.This time around we have Jason Stathamin the lead role as Aurthur Bishop,Ben Foster as Steve McKenna,Tony Goldwyn as Dean Sanderson,Donald Sutherland as Harry McKenna and others.Statham who has made a quite successful career out of being buffed and playing overly intense characters,is in...
Published 20 months ago by Robert Badgley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hitman with a conscience
I cannot characterize this as one of Statham's best. It was an OK movie.
Statham is an elite assassin. After considerable thought he accepts a hit he executes on his own best friend and mentor. Somehow this seems more compassionate than having the mentor killed by someone else in a more barbaric fashion. Then sometime later - he takes on the mentor's son - as his...
Published 23 months ago by Charles Dimov


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 1/2-4 stars for another intense flick with Statham, Jan. 20 2013
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Mechanic(released Jan/11)is a remake of the original starring Charles Bronson.This time around we have Jason Stathamin the lead role as Aurthur Bishop,Ben Foster as Steve McKenna,Tony Goldwyn as Dean Sanderson,Donald Sutherland as Harry McKenna and others.Statham who has made a quite successful career out of being buffed and playing overly intense characters,is in true form here as The hitman everyone likes to hire but with a twist.Before I get into the film story,let me start by saying that the plot synopsis on the back cover on this DVD has it surprisingly wrong.I have never seen one this off where the main plot point is concerned.It says that Statham's mentor gets murdered and that Statham makes it his business to track down the killer.....riiight.Let us see what really happens.
Statham is a hit man for hire.He returns home after a job and meets up with his long time friend and mentor Sutherland.the two enjoy an amiable conversation and part.A new assignment comes up posted by Sutherland's partner Goldwyyn,whom he has a meeting with.It seems his mentor is the new hit,which doesn't sit well with Statham.Goldwyn says that he lost five good men in South Africa because Sutherland leaked the assignment.So now Statham has agreed to take his mentor out.
Statham gets Sutherland out of his office on a ruse,and caps him in an underground parking lot with Sutherland's own gun.Statham looks up Sutherland's only son,McKenna.His father has left him squat and he is at wits end as to what his next move will be.Statham decides to let him in on his assassins life and ways.He assists McKenna in a couple of a take downs.The last one involving a religious leader goes awry and Statham thinks their best bet is to fly away separately.At the airport Statham spots one of the so called dead men from the "botched" South African job.He follows and confronts the man,who admits that Goldwyn hired him to assassinate his partners and that he knows that Sutherland's death by Statham's hands was also a set up Goldwyn.Statham takes the man out and then heads out to kill Goldwyn with McKenna's help.After it's over McKenna spots his father's gun in Stathams things and realizes who it was who murdered him.At a gas station McKenna manages to blow up the vehicle he thinks Statham is sitting in.However,one doesn't kill Statham that easily and he indeed saw it coming and managed to slip out of the vehicle before it exploded.McKenna returns to Statham's digs and turns on his turntable,which Statham always told him to never touch.He Then goes out into Statham's garage and steals his prize XKE.Mckenna is barely away from Statham's home when he spots a folded piece of paper on the passengers seat.It says if he's reading this he's already dead.In a moment the rigged car explodes killing McKenna and a switch behind the turntable also detonates Statham's house.Statham is seen getting into a truck he had setup near the gas station,and then leaving.
The plot gets to a little meandering about half way through,mostly involving his tutoring of McKenna,but it manages to get back on track in the end.Statham is again at his intense best in this film as a man with a mission.Sutherland has a short role in this one but it is a memorable one.The film has alot of heavy hitting action that will please fans of this genre of film.Watch for New Orleans singer extraordinaire Linnzi Zaorski,who sings "Better off Dead",in a scene where Statham goes into a bar.
Technically speaking the film is in its w/s a/r of 2:35:1 and is clear and crisp.Extras include deleted scene,commentary and a featurette.
All in all a nice action mover courtesy of Jason Statham,who has made a very successful career,so far,playing the intense and buffed characters he has become famous for over the past few years.It's a plot with a bit of a nice twist and lots of action.Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, May 17 2014
By 
A. N. Gagnon (Kearns, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great movie! Specially for Jason Statham. Lots of action and some ups and downs. Great scenes and some not so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ihve been a fan of jasons since i first seen him act, Aug. 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
just love jason
love the action plus hes one of my favourites ha ve a few of his flicks justb waiting for some new releases
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great action movie, Feb. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie hits the road and keeps going. Good twists and turns, and Jason Statham is very easy on the eye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Typical Jason Statham, Dec 30 2012
By 
Clive Jos Chatterton "Clive Chatterton" (Beloeil, QC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mechanic / Le mécano (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This movie is made in the same vein as the Transporter series but with a bit more complex plot. But, typically, with all the action shots we have come to expect from Jason Statham. He never disappoints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hitman with a conscience, Oct. 14 2012
By 
Charles Dimov "Vice President" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I cannot characterize this as one of Statham's best. It was an OK movie.
Statham is an elite assassin. After considerable thought he accepts a hit he executes on his own best friend and mentor. Somehow this seems more compassionate than having the mentor killed by someone else in a more barbaric fashion. Then sometime later - he takes on the mentor's son - as his mentee.

There are some nice twists, and exciting scenes. However, there are many parts that just come across as too fabricated (guards hearing a single bolt fall on the other side of a wall, and immediately concluding that an assassination took place rather than a much more likley O.D.).

The film could have used a bit more character development. The Mentor's son seems very 2D - with psychological problems. Strange for a shoot-em up action film... but it would have helped.

A mediocre effort. Some good action, and suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Different, a movie you watch only once., Sept. 12 2011
This movie had a lot of promise. I simply watched it hoping this was an 'up' movie and not a 'down' movie since Jason Statham has a tendance to go up and down in good or bad movies.

I enjoy the actor ever since watching transporter and the italian job. Crank was entertaining and there was no lack of action for those drunkies out there. The mechanic is intriguing in the sense that you have Jason being a guy that is basically the assassin on call for a top company. One of the contracts just happen to be his close friend. He makes the call, but then he sets out to find out why he was on the 'kill list'. Along the way you have the son of the target that was killed that decides to get more involved to figure out who killed his daddy. Storyline is interesting, and I gotta say the actor who plays the son, nice acting because that guy was a douche bag and well acted! So Jason takes in the son, trains him to be like him, but most of all, the lesson is to be always ahead and not to get emotionally involved.

I enjoyed the movie, it was entertaining and different than I expected (if you are expecting a full out action kick butt movie, this is a pass) This movie is more on the thriller/suspense side in my opinion. When the action is there it is indeed nice.

Try it, as in rent it, because once you have seen it, I doubt you would go watch it again even in a few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Statham at his best, Oct. 20 2011
This review is from: The Mechanic / Le mécano (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great Statham movie. There's a lots of turns and twists you don't expect all along even until the very ending of the movie. Great entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mechanic, Oct. 21 2011
This review is from: The Mechanic / Le mécano (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
For many years I have enjoyed Jason Statham, since The Snatch. As an action star he is great and the movies that he starring in are getting my diverse although he is still an action star. Pure entertainment, plus as action hero I really like him plus what a lovely accent he has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why Jason...Why?, June 17 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mechanic / Le mécano (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Any Joe could have acted in this movie besided Statham - This movie felt like it was the rejected script for the Hitman, which in turn was a rejected script for Transporter 4. Please don't waste your hard earned money on this flick (and the hours of your life - I must add).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mechanic / Le mécano (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 20.99 CDN$ 8.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews