Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canada's Private Ryan - they got it right this time - an American reviewer
I was anxious to see this film, my late father having served in 420 squadron, RCAF. However, whenever I purchase films on the topic of war, especially those written by Canadian or European film makers, I tread very cautiously, being aware of the rampant anti-military sentiment among the film communities in those countries. However, my misgivings were not warranted. The...
Published on Feb. 8 2012 by Samuel B. King

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Pas de piste franšaise!
La seul raison du pourquoi je donne 2 étoile est a cause du titre de larticle... Ceci n'est pas doublé en franšais mais la pochette a belle et bien les 2 langues dessus. Mais pas de piste franšaise seulement sous-titré en franšais. A faire attention
Published 6 days ago by Nicolas


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canada's Private Ryan - they got it right this time - an American reviewer, Feb. 8 2012
By 
Samuel B. King "Sam King" (Concord, NH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Storming Juno / └ l'assaut de Juno (Bilingual) (DVD)
I was anxious to see this film, my late father having served in 420 squadron, RCAF. However, whenever I purchase films on the topic of war, especially those written by Canadian or European film makers, I tread very cautiously, being aware of the rampant anti-military sentiment among the film communities in those countries. However, my misgivings were not warranted. The film is a just celebration of the courage of, not only Canadians who served, but of all allied soldiers who joined to fight the fascism of the 20th century. Canada's veterans, those few WW2 vets remaining (I lost my father last year at 92), deserve to be revered and respected as "heroes". The story follows three soldiers, a member of Canada's Airborne regiment, a commander of a Sherman tank and an infantryman. The action is taught, the dialogue (though stiff at times) is acceptable and the equipment/technology accurate for the period. Stens, Lee Enfields and Tommy guns for the Canadians and accurate portrayals of German weaponry and uniforms. I was pleased to see that they got the Canadian helmets right (Canadians wore distinctive helmets, slightly different from the British, at Normandy for the first time). They also got the airborne equipment right. My only quibble in this respect was the aircraft which delivered the troops (some modified version of a B25 bomber). They should have got it correct (either a Dakota or Halifax - since it was all CGI anyway, they could have gotten that right). The film is a fitting tribute to those who fought in the Normandy campaign - Canada having not been given nearly as much credit as it deserved. God bless the veterans for saving the world and congratulations to the film makers for making such a moving tribute. This film should be seen by anyone interested in history, western heritage and those interested particularly in the war against fascism, either during World War 2 or the current struggle where Canadians, Americans and Brits serve side by side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the canadian part of normandy landings, June 29 2011
This review is from: Storming Juno / └ l'assaut de Juno (Bilingual) (DVD)
storming 'juno' is a very good story about the part that the canadians take place in normandy landings is a part documentery part reenactement (very well in making).it is worth to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! Finally! OUR story on D-Day! We WERE there you know!, June 8 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Storming Juno / └ l'assaut de Juno (Bilingual) (DVD)
I was so impressed with this work! Even more so that my Dad's ship (HMCS Prince David) was featured so prominently at the beginning of this film! Documentary of the Highest Order! I get choked up seeing real stories about Canadians in the World! D-Day was a day of high achievement and high losses in this effort. I highly recommend to anyone - but especially to Canadians! We were VERY good at this awful business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canadian Saving Private Ryan, April 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Storming Juno / └ l'assaut de Juno (Bilingual) (DVD)
Awesome to have the Canadian experience, well crafted with first hand accounts and re-enactments. High quality film, excellent acting, thrilling as well as informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Storming Juno, June 11 2014
By 
K. Anderson "Historian 44" (Winnipeg, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Storming Juno / └ l'assaut de Juno (Bilingual) (DVD)
Finally a D-Day account focusing on Juno Beach, the Canadian beach on D-Day. Lots of action interspersed with interviews with surviving veterans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, Aug. 31 2011
This review is from: Storming Juno / └ l'assaut de Juno (Bilingual) (DVD)
I visited Juno Beach in 2008. This film is really super. I was hoping that some of the soldiers were from the Winnipeg area. Nevertheless I am quite happy with my purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie from Canadian point of view. Not classic like "Saving Private Ryan"., April 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Storming Juno [Import] (DVD)
The movie was good with real-life battle footage mixed in. My American uncle, a WW2 vet, especially liked the interviews with the Canadian vets at the end. I would recommend this movie for all, especially history buffs.
On a personal note, the producers concentrated on the landing of the Regina Rifles, I would have liked to have them at least mention some of the other Canadian regiments that landed on the first wave, like the Queens' Own Rifles of Canada and the Winnipeg Rifles.
They also had high casualties. God Bless all the vets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What defines Canadian Patriotism?, Nov. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Storming Juno / └ l'assaut de Juno (Bilingual) (DVD)
America this is the definitive movie that answers this question and defines who we are.Made at one of the most beautiful beaches in Canada; Sauble Beach.Simply an amazing story brought to the viewer from the detailed stories of three of its soldiers.The comments from its surviving veterans is truly haunting in respect to the freedoms we have today.Hats off to the cast of actors and the documentary footage dispersed through out this film.Don't miss this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. About time Canada's participation is acknowledged, June 27 2011
By 
James Vanier "North of 49" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Storming Juno / └ l'assaut de Juno (Bilingual) (DVD)
With a great deal of courage, Canada did proud on 6 June 1944. It is good to remind the world occasionally that it was not only a British/American affair. Canada had 1 of 5 beaches as an objective and they succeeded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for Canadian history high school students, Aug. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Storming Juno / └ l'assaut de Juno (Bilingual) (DVD)
Use this docu-movie to show my Canadian high school history students. Not quite the "Hollywood" spectacle of Saving Private Ryan but nonetheless engaging to an audience brought up on immediate gratification. The narration is well done and definitely not boring for teenagers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Storming Juno / └ l'assaut de Juno (Bilingual)
Storming Juno / À l'assaut de Juno (Bilingual) by Tim Wolochatiuk (DVD - 2011)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 9.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews