Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Die Hard Alice Cooper Group Fans
Originally over priced at over $200, but the repackaged $40 is a good investment...

But being a complete ACG diehard fan, I bought the awesomely packaged $200 version. Being a diehard fan, I loved listening to Ezrin talk with the giggling kids for the School's Out single, wish there was more of this on the box set.

If you are a fanatical Alice fan,...
Published 14 months ago by Tommy Stooge

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous to behold, musically very poor
This might be the last time I compulsively buy one of these crazy expensive box sets. With fresh memories of how beautiful the AC/DC Backtracks Deluxe box set was, I eagerly placed my preorder. I mean, Alice Cooper 1964-1974! The golden years! The orginal Alice Cooper Band! When it finally arrived I was blown away by the packaging, bonus goodies, and other...
Published on July 3 2011 by LeBrain


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous to behold, musically very poor, July 3 2011
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Old School (1964-1974): The Alice Cooper Box Set (4 CD/DVD/LP/7" SINGLE & BOOK) (Audio CD)
This might be the last time I compulsively buy one of these crazy expensive box sets. With fresh memories of how beautiful the AC/DC Backtracks Deluxe box set was, I eagerly placed my preorder. I mean, Alice Cooper 1964-1974! The golden years! The orginal Alice Cooper Band! When it finally arrived I was blown away by the packaging, bonus goodies, and other finds.

However, musically, this is almost not even worth owning. You have to be a massive, massive, die hard Cooper fan to want to hear a whole five minutes of Bob Ezrin's kids giggling and singing during the "School's Out" sessions. You have to be a masocist to want to hear that horrible loud feedback that just goes on forever during a seven minute run through the same song. The radio ads are nice, but hardly what we as collectors want out of a box set of this stature. Sprinkled in with this junk are the odd good live takes, such as "Under My Wheels" in New York 1973. Unfortunately there are just as many early tracks from the Zappa years that aren't nearly as good, nor recorded that well. Everything on the first two odds n' sods discs are either live, rough sketches or demos, studio sessions, or radio ads. Lots of repeat too -- there are three takes of "Muscle Of Love", you will hear "School's Out" three times in different forms, and "I'm Eighteen" three times as well.

The third CD is, disappointingly an interview disc. It's a shame to spend this much money and only get three CDs worth of music (the fourth CD is a live one). I did enjoy hearing Alice discuss Muscle of Love and the end of the original band. The other surviving band members, and Ezrin, participate in the discussion.

The only real treasure here musically is the fourth CD, a 10 song set from the Killers tour in 1971. This set is duplicated on a 180 gram vinyl enclosed within. It is from bootleg sources, but where sound quality suffers, the band makes up for it in youth. Lots of static and noise but the band is absolutely on fire in a way that they are not on the first two CDs. I also like that they duplicated the look of 70's bootleg vinyl with the packaging.

Finally, there is a 7" single, heavy vinyl, a replica of Cooper's first single from 1967 as Nazz. The tracks are "Wonder Who's Loving Her Now?" and "Lay Down And Die Goodbye".

There is a documentary DVD included as well, which although containing lots of fun vintage clips, is very poor value for the money. You are treated to -- for the second time now! -- the same interview that you just finished listening to! And not only that, but they chose to shoot the interview with the original band in a noisy maintenance room. Why?

Now, packaging wise, this box set is a whole other beast!

The box itself is shaped like a kid's school desk. The old wooden kind that they had in the 50's, with the top that opens up and the ink well. It's hinged and it opens where the school desk would. It is very sturdy and the hinge is metal. Inside are:

The 12" vinyl of a live 1971 show.
The 7" single reproduction.
1 DVD, Old School 1964-1974
4 CDs, Old School 1964-1974

There is a yearbook, with the whole story told by multiple sources. However, a few things are brushed over, such as the alcohol problems that were setting in. Alice was a full blown alcoholic, a 2 beer first thing in the morning kind of guy. His guitar player Glen Buxton was so wasted that they had him onstage with his guitar turned down to 0, and having a guest guitarist play way off to the side. So none of this is in the yearbook. Great photos though, particular of Alice's own yearbook. The entire band were a highschool band. All five guys. Lots of great photos from this era, and on to the mid-70's.

There is a booklet, inside of which is a reproduction concert ticket from 1972 for Wembley. (£1.00 admission back then apparently, imagine that today!) There is also a 1971 tour book (Killers tour), a complete reproduction, and a whole bunch of 8 1/2 x 11 poster reproductions. Lastly there is a replica setlist, which is nothing special. The thing I don't like about this booklet is that you have to be very careful when you put items back into it, or when you fold everything back together you'll dogear something.

As I said in the beginning, I think this is the last time I buy one of these box sets compulsively. I knew the music was likely to be iffy and it was. I probably should have saved my money, although the box is a beautiful conversation piece.

2 stars, regrettably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh Alice, July 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Expected something different. Not what I thought it would sound like. But it's Alice and that's all that counts, man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced: For The Super-Fans Only, Dec 3 2011
By 
Kasey G (Toronto, ON) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Old School (1964-1974): The Alice Cooper Box Set (4 CD/DVD/LP/7" SINGLE & BOOK) (Audio CD)
An extravagant set for the diehard super-fan, "Old School" is very overpriced for the more casual Alice Cooper fan and would have been better received had they scaled it down a bit.

I worked overtime for several weeks to afford this thing, and while there are parts of it I really enjoy, there are others for which I have no use. For instance, I haven't owned a turntable in over 20 years so the vinyl bootleg album of the Killer Tour and the 7" Nazz single are of no use to me. The Killer repro tour program, while ok, is obviously not as good quality as an original, if you wanted to seek out one of those.

Where this release succeeds is in the CD and DVD department. The CD of the Killer Tour for me is the highlight, as well as the In Their Own Words CD, which features Alice, Mike Bruce, Dennis Dunaway, Neal Smith and Bob Ezrin waxing nostalgic about the glory days (the CD also opens with a short 1971 interview). The DVD is an edited version of the spoken-word CD featuring the guys reminiscing. We also get vintage performances of "Levity Ball" and "Elected" (both 1969) as well as "Eighteen", "Black Juju" and "Is It My Body" from Detroit Tubeworks in 1971. The quality of these is what you'd expect from VHS dubs. The DVD and In Their Own Words CD are a must-have for fans of the original group. The Treasures CDs feature promotional spots, rough demos, and studio takes and are ok but nothing I'd listen to on a regular basis.

This set would have been better had they gone for a $75-100 price point using the yearbook format with cut-outs inside the front and back covers to house the CDs and DVD. The elaborate school-desk packaging is probably what accounts for much of the high price tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Die Hard Alice Cooper Group Fans, Sept. 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Originally over priced at over $200, but the repackaged $40 is a good investment...

But being a complete ACG diehard fan, I bought the awesomely packaged $200 version. Being a diehard fan, I loved listening to Ezrin talk with the giggling kids for the School's Out single, wish there was more of this on the box set.

If you are a fanatical Alice fan, this is for you...if you are a casual fan, buy the other boxset, The Life and Crimes Of Alice Cooper, it will have what you are looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretties for Rotten, Dec 8 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I waited in anticipation for this "Old School" 4 CD set! Being a HUGE "Alice Cooper" fan...,this had to be without a doubt the biggest disappointment yet! If you haven't bought it yet DON'T...you will be dissapointed! Alot of RARE stuff just might be worth the purchase but YOU decide!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Alice, Aug. 19 2011
This review is from: Old School (1964-1974): The Alice Cooper Box Set (4 CD/DVD/LP/7" SINGLE & BOOK) (Audio CD)
Outstanding set, especially for the die hard fan. It reminded me of the power of the original bands music as well as their artistry with the packaging of the product itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews