Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best RPG Ever made...
Let`s start off with the over the top comments first. It really is the best western RPG ever made. I say western because Japanese RPGs have a radically different sensibility and fighting style and this may not appeal to those fans but even Japanese gaming mag Famitsu rated Skyrim a 40 out of 40 - a first for a western game it that mag.

I am reviewing for the...
Published on Dec 8 2011 by Peter Cantelon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not really my kind of game....
bought this game because a friend recommended it. But this game isnt my style. That being said, its still a really good game with really detailed character customization. and special quests that will challenge gamers of all experience levels
Published 5 months ago by Cupcake


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best RPG Ever made..., Dec 8 2011
By 
Peter Cantelon (Morden, Manitoba, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Xbox 360 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Let`s start off with the over the top comments first. It really is the best western RPG ever made. I say western because Japanese RPGs have a radically different sensibility and fighting style and this may not appeal to those fans but even Japanese gaming mag Famitsu rated Skyrim a 40 out of 40 - a first for a western game it that mag.

I am reviewing for the Xbox 360.

I played through the entire main quest and have completed many side missions along the way. The first thing you notice is that the graphics are supreme compared to previous RPGs. The open world is still here like it was in Oblivion and your character starts out as a prisoner like all previous Elder Scrolls games.

It is truly a majestic game with sweeping mountain ranges, rivers, waterfalls, loads of different plants and animals, NPCs that are actually reasonably intelligent and endless quests beyond the main. Of course the first time you encounter a dragon will be an unforgettable experience as well.

The menu and leveling system has been completely revamped and in my mind simplified and improved. Very intuitive and easy to use. You can dual wield weapons or magic or both if you choose.

I have not encountered any real lags although it can take a moment when you open the menu for the system to respond. There really is no limit to the degree to which you can explore and adventure which makes this game a phenomenal buy for the money.

Do I recommend the game? Heck yeah!! I believe even people who are not fans of RPGs will actually buy into this one. This game is how things should be done...the attention to detail throughout is spectacular and thoroughly enriches the experience.

When you do buy it make sure you take a few days off because you are not going to want to stop playing once you start. Truly an amazing feat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Two Cents..., Nov. 12 2011
By 
Adam (Saskatoon, SK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Xbox 360 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Skyrim is Amazing!
This is a must have game for any RPG gamer! As the sequel (sort of) to Oblivion, the standards are set pretty high, but Skyrim does not disappoint.
Graphically, Skyrim has an attention to detail that is simply stunning. If Oblivion was good, Skyrim is great. There is a grittiness to the characters and the world they inhabit that was missing from Oblivion. The details are just out of this world... or should I say accurately represent this world. Like the flowing water and the salmon jumping up stream. Simply incredible.
The possibilities are endless. This is a game where you can personalize your character to accurately represent whomever you desire (yourself or something completely other). You can do just about anything. In addition to quests and adventures, the developers at Bethesda even make it possible for you to pick up such mundane tasks as smithing which can help improve your weapons and armor.
Skyrim is a stand alone game. By that, I mean that you don't necessarily need to have played Oblivion to understand what is going on. There are elements in the back story that you might recognize, but if you are new to the series, jump right on in. Even the controls have changed enough since Oblivion that you would need to relearn the finer points such as how to navigate through the items menus.

There are only a few drawbacks to this game. The first is that my XBox has had some lag issues trying to keep up with the graphics. It's been a couple of hiccups in smoothness where it might freeze for a second or two. I've even had it freeze up completely once during a loading screen.
Second, I find the text size (everything from the menu to subtitles) to be a bit too small to comfortably read. Perhaps an HDTV or large screen TV would be better for this.

This is an amazing game and I give it a hearty thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best...Game...Ever, Dec 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Xbox 360 Standard Edition (Video Game)
This game is really lose a couple of hours with. It can be annoying when you fill your bags and start walking but this game is good times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, Nov. 18 2012
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Xbox 360 Standard Edition (Video Game)
The game is incredible, the massive open environment coupled with the abundant dungeons and locations make it one of the most engaging game environments ever created. There are enough side quests to keep you busy for days, only later remembering there is a main story arc. The ability to customize almost every aspect of game play has made Skyrim a must have for any person who enjoys RPG style games.

On a similar note, my wife and kids have been wondering where I have been for a few days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Game, Dec 30 2011
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Xbox 360 Standard Edition (Video Game)
I'm writing on behalf of my son...he couldn't wait to get his hands on this game and was hoping to get it for Christmas. I don't think I will see him til the Spring he is enjoying it so much. For entertainment value he is thoroughly enjoying it! If you are looking for a great game, go for this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best RPG ever, Sept. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Xbox 360 Standard Edition (Video Game)
If you've played this series before I won't bore you with explanations or superlatives. If you haven't ask anyone who has.The scope is much expanded in this version with many more locations, story lines, & formidable foes to take on. As long as Bethesda makes them, I will be buying them. This game is quite simply beyond compare. Nothing else comes close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She loves it, March 11 2012
By 
snowstorm (British Columbia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Xbox 360 Standard Edition (Video Game)
I bought this game for my 15 year old daughter. She loves it, playing for hours at a time. With no preset storyline, she travels as she pleases through wild beautiful scenery, visiting places and villages, meeting people, overcoming dangers and obstacles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent excellent game!!, June 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Xbox 360 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Mu husband absolutely LOVES this game! It lasts FOREVER! You can play this game so many different ways that it never ends! You can re-play this game over and over and over again! This is the new revolution of video games - same game played multiple ways!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just based on delivery - NOT ON THE GAME, March 16 2014
By 
Jay Bugden (Fall River, Nova Scotia Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Xbox 360 Standard Edition (Video Game)
I received this game ahead of when I expected it. I look forward to playing this game based on other's recommendations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not really my kind of game...., Feb. 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Xbox 360 Standard Edition (Video Game)
bought this game because a friend recommended it. But this game isnt my style. That being said, its still a really good game with really detailed character customization. and special quests that will challenge gamers of all experience levels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Xbox 360 Standard Edition
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 19.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews