countdown boutiques-francophones vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Learn more Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$16.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews(4 star). Show all reviews
TOP 500 REVIEWERon June 7, 2011
Iron Maiden are truly metal legends, they've been rocking and selling out arenas for decades. The iconic British band is also famous among fans for the many greatest hits compilations albums that they have released over the years. Another greatest hits album, From Fear To Eternity continues where Somewhere Back In Time left in 2008, covering the years 1990-2010. Somewhere Back In Time covered the 1980's, the band's early years and From Fear To Eternity covers the latter (and still quite good) Maiden years. This compilation take its clever title from the song "From Here to Eternity" which was on Fear of the Dark, plus I also have to admit the album cover looks damn good, real good.

Here is what is on From Fear To Eternity. From the band's last albums with Bruce before the reunion, we have three songs from the 1990 album No Prayer for the Dying and three from 1992's Fear of the Dark. The Blaze Bayley years are covered, with two tracks from The X-Factor (1995) and one from Virtual XI (1998). It's interesting how the Blaze Bayley era songs were replaced by live versions sung by Bruce Dickinson, however, with Somewhere Back In Time having the Paul Di'Anno songs replaced by live versions again featuring Bruce. I don't mind this as I really like those versions (especially Sign of the Cross) and to be honest it was kind of expected. The three live Blaze songs are all take from the excellent Rock In Rio album (2001). The version of Fear of the Dark here is from the Rock In Rio live album as well which makes a total of four Rio live songs used. The reunion album Brave New World (2000) has 3 of its songs on From Fear To Eternity. Dance of Death (2003) and A Matter of Life and Death (2006) each have four songs. Last year's The Final Frontier has for its part, three songs on this compilation.

I think what's on here is reflective of the best songs Iron Maiden released 1990 and onward. I personally prefer the band's 1980's era and albums but even judged on what they have released since 1990 Iron Maiden have been a strong band and released some great music and stayed true to themselves. There is an evident focus on the reunion albums, probably has something to do with Maiden's current Final Frontier world tour which focuses on the album from the last decade, the 00's. I for one, feel that Iron Maiden was great in their earlier years and that today they are still a very good band who is constantly amazing live. There are certain songs that I would have chosen over others but I feel that this covers the last 20 years of the band in respectable fashion and features many of the best songs that resulted out of those 20 years.

From Fear To Eternity is an excellent overview of Iron Maiden's post 1980's and latter albums and is a good companion to Somewhere Back In Time. These 23 songs offer a great look at Maiden's latter albums and has without a doubt some great songs. While someone could argue that SBIT has better songs, FFTE is technically a better compilation as it has 23 songs against SBIT's 15 AND is a double disc set. While I don't like the fact that there are so many Iron Maiden compilations out there already, I have to say that this one is good and is a little different in that it covers Maiden's post 1980's career, and does it very well I should add. From Fear To Eternity is nothing new for an old fan, no new song and it is just another compilation but as far as they go this one does exactly what it sets out to do: initiate new fans to Maiden 1990 and upward. 4/5 stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Two things that you need to be aware of before you purchase this comp:
1. If you're a Maiden die-hard, this collection is not for you. This, much like Somewhere Back In Time, is for new fans only. (Although a bone was thrown to us die-hards, more on that later.)
2. While Maiden's fortunes in North America sank in 1988 with the release of Seventh Son, they were never bigger in Europe where all the subsequent albums were hits. Maiden being a global band, there are a lot of great songs here that North American audiences may consider to be duds.

This is a great collection. As a die-hard, the reason I bought it was to complete the collection, and of course the great cover art. The cover pays homage to Maiden album and single covers of the past 20 years. The only one I didn't see represented in some way was The X Factor but see if you can spot a clue.

This collection is a joy to listen to from start to finish. I won't go over the details with a fine-toothed comb, but there are plenty of fan favourites here: "Passchendale", "Benjamin Breeg", "The Clansman"...and these are not short songs, folks! Of course there were the hits, all big in Europe: "Bring Your Daughter", "Wicker Man", "Different World", "Man On The Edge", "Afraid To Shoot Strangers", "Tailgunner". There are also a slew of personal favourites such as "Be Quick or Be Dead", "For The Greater Good of God", and "Where The Wild Wind Blows". Really it is very hard to find fault with this collection, or the running order.

In fact my only beef is the lack of inclusion of the ballad "Wasting Love" which I still have a soft spot for. Also I was surprised that "From Here To Eternity" is not on here, not a personal favourite song, but it did lend its title to this album!

Finally, one touch that I enjoyed was substituting the Blaze Bayley era songs for live versions with Bruce singing. After all, Maiden are out there touring now, and new fans don't need to be confused by a different singer. This means that you'll get the live version of "Sign of The Cross" from the Rock In Rio album. But what's really cool is that the live "Man On The Edge" was only released as a B-side to "The Wicker Man" single, so this is its first album release. A little extra bonus for the Maiden die-hard who may have missed that single a decade or so ago.

I strongly recommend this collection to new Maiden fans, as there is really not a bad song in the bunch, and it's a great listen from front to back. For die-hards, you already have (most of) these songs, so if you feel like picking it up for the cover art like I did, it's still an enjoyable listen.

4 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse