Customer Reviews


236 Reviews
5 star:
 (184)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tops!
Catherine Zeta-Jones looks superb and gives a sterling performance in her role as one half of a vaudeville act with her deceased sister (whom she killed because she caught her sleeping with her husband). Renee Zellweger is captivating as the young wannabe who aspires to be something like what Zeta-Jones is in the movie. They both meet up in jail however, because Zellweger...
Published on June 5 2004 by R. van Tonder

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bob Fosse is turning over in his grave!
I love the show "Chicago"; however this is horrible! Renee cannot sing or dance! Putting men into the number "Cell Block Tango"?! - Fosse didn't and he should know! Also SIX (count 'em) SIX songs were left out. The best thing about this movie was that Marc Calamia (hot!) is in it as a dancer (from the Broadway cast) but all too briefly. Buy or...
Published on March 9 2004 by Elise Godfrey


‹ Previous | 123 24 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars GUYS BEWARE- -mother of all chick flicks, Aug. 31 2003
By A Customer
GUYS- this movie is to be avoided at all costs, unless you love musicals. Any guy who walks into this unsuspecting, as I did, is in for 2 hours of hell. Only one guy gets shot in this movie, no nudity at all, and lots and lots and lots of singing and dancing. No car chases, no explosions, no shootouts... Definitely not a "man's" movie, and nothing you would talk to the guys at work about. You have been warned! Let the woman watch it while you give the lawn a 2 hour mowing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars overrated movie with overrated cast, Sept. 29 2003
By 
J. Tan (San Jose, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This movie completely sucked. For it to win the academy award is beyond me. Kathereen zeta jones who has no talent whatsoever won best supporting actress? Oscar has become a joke. Save yourself the time and watch a football game instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ersatz, March 11 2007
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
"Captain Kirk, the approaching probe will destroy Earth if we do not respond with whale sound!" "O.K., send them some." "The sounds will be real but it will just be gibberish." "Well people watched `Chicago'; what make you think the probe is any more discerning?"

The plot line by (Maurine Dallas Watkins) is a killer; it is all about the whimsical world of killing. Velma Kelly (Catherine Zeta-Jones) killed her husband and sister. Roxie Hart (Renée Zellweger) shoots her boyfriend Fred Cassely (Dominic West) dead. And a whole bevy of sleazy babes that killed their significant others. They kill a few songs. And the plot was never alive.

It is possible that the play may have had some redeeming social value. However by the time it was hacked up for this movie the only thing of value is the fast forward button. And again just because the movie has the appearance of a play does not give it any virtue.

If you do like murder and music then you may prefer "Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street" (1982)

The Phantom of the Opera [Blu-ray]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Um, Nov. 19 2003
There...simply are no words. None at all. Other than there should be a -5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Teen Movie.., Nov. 15 2005
By 
Greg "neurosky" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Excellent music, some of the best I've ever heard. Dumb story, one of the most juvenile I've seen for a while. It's really a stupid teen movie..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Imagine if the gender roles had been reversed..., May 26 2004
By 
Michael J. Austin (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Imagine a musical that glorifies men who kill their wives. That has scenes of men in prison talking about how they shot, stabbed, or poisoned their wives and how the wives deserved it! That glorifies slimebag attorneys who defend these men and who have "never lost a case".
Such a musical wouldn't have a snowball's chance in hell of being produced today, if ever. Everything associated with such a production would be subjected to massive boycotts and PR campaigns by womens' groups, and would be stopped dead in its tracks. In fact, pre-censorship would prevail and the project would never seriously be considered.
Coincidentally, I borrowed this DVD from my local library while I was reading the chapter in Warren Farrell's terrific book, "The Myth of Male Power - Why Men are the Disposable Sex" that discusses how women receive much more lenient sentences for committing the same crimes as men.
The media is literally saturated with anti-male propaganda that women would never tolerate. This film is just one example. Most men are where women were in the 1950s, in terms of their consciousness of their own oppression and of how in so many ways they literally are "the disposable sex". I've been radicalized, and I'm not staying silent any longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 123 24 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NEW Chicago (DVD)
CDN$ 52.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews