countdown Learn more scflyout Furniture All-New Kindle boutiques-francophones Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
244
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$159.59+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 16, 2003
This is the best picture I have ever seen in the last months. A must have. Buy it.
It is a classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2003
It is the best movie and dvd ever! Couldn't ask for beter!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2015
Love musicals and I had to add this to my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2015
If you like musicals you will like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2015
Movie to watch over and over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2015
fast shipping! perfect!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2003
Musicals used to portray a world so benevolent, an existence so happy, that people would spontaneously break out into cheerful, happy tunes. Now, at the start of a new century, the musical is back--but gone is the very "sense of life" that made the genre wonderful to watch. In its place is a cynical, malevolent world inhabited by seedy characters one finds a hard time respecting, much less keeping interest in. _Chicago_ is perhaps the most famous of the new type of musical and, as one would expect from the above, I found it painful to watch.
The movie's main character is Roxie Hart: a confused little girl who desires fame first and then freedom--a freedom she hardly deserves having killed the guy she was sleeping on her husband with. Another is Billy Flynn: a media-hungry lawyer who desires only fame and money--both of which he recieves in the movie by the detestable means of freeing murderers. A character called Velma rounds off this group. She is a singer who starts off the movie's plot by killing her sister and husband in a jealous fit of excitement.
What could be worse? A lot. The inter-action of this pathetic, immoral group of gutter-trash proceeds with a host of songs not celebrating life--but damning it. At one point a number is sung where a ton of prison-girls sing "he had it coming". These are not the villains of the movie, but the people the audience is supposed to be connecting with. Let me be clear: if you buy the movie being discussed and watch it you will be entering a world where you're supposed to sympathize with killers and with those who set them free. As such, one's personal response to a movie like this is telling.
The reviews shown here, and throughout America, seem to suggest that this is a good movie (if not "the greatest of all time"), a movie that they like immensely. Well, to those who like this movie, to those who enjoy watching such filth, let me say the following: Speak for yourself, brother. There are still some people left who detest killers and their advocates--there still exist some who would rather watch heroes tap-dancing to raised champagne glasses than villains frolicking around to raised fists. I am one of those people and, as such, I think _Chicago_ is horrible. Simply and dreadfully horrible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2003
GUYS- this movie is to be avoided at all costs, unless you love musicals. Any guy who walks into this unsuspecting, as I did, is in for 2 hours of hell. Only one guy gets shot in this movie, no nudity at all, and lots and lots and lots of singing and dancing. No car chases, no explosions, no shootouts... Definitely not a "man's" movie, and nothing you would talk to the guys at work about. You have been warned! Let the woman watch it while you give the lawn a 2 hour mowing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2014
belle musique
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2003
This movie completely sucked. For it to win the academy award is beyond me. Kathereen zeta jones who has no talent whatsoever won best supporting actress? Oscar has become a joke. Save yourself the time and watch a football game instead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse