Customer Reviews


236 Reviews
5 star:
 (184)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed with talent
A great piece of musical theatre put to the big screen. Richard Geere is a surprise in the movie, who knew he could sing and dance his way through a film with such great success.
The story of Roxie is a reflection of our culture and our obsession with celebrity. Rene Zellwigger is a convincing "victim" of the celebrity obssessed time. The screen lights up...
Published on June 16 2004 by Barbara P. Eckstein

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie but disappointing image quality for a diamond edition
Love this movie. I thought the quality would be better than the dvd I already owned, so I purchased this special edition. The cover is sparkly and beautiful, but the image quality is no better than the previous blu-ray that was released years ago. It's hardly better than the dvd.
Published 5 months ago by Isabel Larocque


‹ Previous | 123 24 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars overrated movie with overrated cast, Sept. 29 2003
By 
J. Tan (San Jose, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This movie completely sucked. For it to win the academy award is beyond me. Kathereen zeta jones who has no talent whatsoever won best supporting actress? Oscar has become a joke. Save yourself the time and watch a football game instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars GUYS BEWARE- -mother of all chick flicks, Aug. 31 2003
By A Customer
GUYS- this movie is to be avoided at all costs, unless you love musicals. Any guy who walks into this unsuspecting, as I did, is in for 2 hours of hell. Only one guy gets shot in this movie, no nudity at all, and lots and lots and lots of singing and dancing. No car chases, no explosions, no shootouts... Definitely not a "man's" movie, and nothing you would talk to the guys at work about. You have been warned! Let the woman watch it while you give the lawn a 2 hour mowing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible. Simply Horrible., June 5 2003
This review is from: Chicago (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
Musicals used to portray a world so benevolent, an existence so happy, that people would spontaneously break out into cheerful, happy tunes. Now, at the start of a new century, the musical is back--but gone is the very "sense of life" that made the genre wonderful to watch. In its place is a cynical, malevolent world inhabited by seedy characters one finds a hard time respecting, much less keeping interest in. _Chicago_ is perhaps the most famous of the new type of musical and, as one would expect from the above, I found it painful to watch.
The movie's main character is Roxie Hart: a confused little girl who desires fame first and then freedom--a freedom she hardly deserves having killed the guy she was sleeping on her husband with. Another is Billy Flynn: a media-hungry lawyer who desires only fame and money--both of which he recieves in the movie by the detestable means of freeing murderers. A character called Velma rounds off this group. She is a singer who starts off the movie's plot by killing her sister and husband in a jealous fit of excitement.
What could be worse? A lot. The inter-action of this pathetic, immoral group of gutter-trash proceeds with a host of songs not celebrating life--but damning it. At one point a number is sung where a ton of prison-girls sing "he had it coming". These are not the villains of the movie, but the people the audience is supposed to be connecting with. Let me be clear: if you buy the movie being discussed and watch it you will be entering a world where you're supposed to sympathize with killers and with those who set them free. As such, one's personal response to a movie like this is telling.
The reviews shown here, and throughout America, seem to suggest that this is a good movie (if not "the greatest of all time"), a movie that they like immensely. Well, to those who like this movie, to those who enjoy watching such filth, let me say the following: Speak for yourself, brother. There are still some people left who detest killers and their advocates--there still exist some who would rather watch heroes tap-dancing to raised champagne glasses than villains frolicking around to raised fists. I am one of those people and, as such, I think _Chicago_ is horrible. Simply and dreadfully horrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Um, Nov. 19 2003
There...simply are no words. None at all. Other than there should be a -5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Teen Movie.., Nov. 15 2005
By 
Greg "neurosky" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Excellent music, some of the best I've ever heard. Dumb story, one of the most juvenile I've seen for a while. It's really a stupid teen movie..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Imagine if the gender roles had been reversed..., May 26 2004
By 
Michael J. Austin (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Imagine a musical that glorifies men who kill their wives. That has scenes of men in prison talking about how they shot, stabbed, or poisoned their wives and how the wives deserved it! That glorifies slimebag attorneys who defend these men and who have "never lost a case".
Such a musical wouldn't have a snowball's chance in hell of being produced today, if ever. Everything associated with such a production would be subjected to massive boycotts and PR campaigns by womens' groups, and would be stopped dead in its tracks. In fact, pre-censorship would prevail and the project would never seriously be considered.
Coincidentally, I borrowed this DVD from my local library while I was reading the chapter in Warren Farrell's terrific book, "The Myth of Male Power - Why Men are the Disposable Sex" that discusses how women receive much more lenient sentences for committing the same crimes as men.
The media is literally saturated with anti-male propaganda that women would never tolerate. This film is just one example. Most men are where women were in the 1950s, in terms of their consciousness of their own oppression and of how in so many ways they literally are "the disposable sex". I've been radicalized, and I'm not staying silent any longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 123 24 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NEW Chicago (DVD)
CDN$ 30.81
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews