Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films in a long while.
A separated 'sort of' boyfriend and 'sort of' girlfriend become all and everything to each other while struggling their way through the devastations of the Civil War. Inman (Jude Law) is a poor carpenter in a small North Carolina mountain town who has a strong mutual attraction to a 'better class' girl named Ada Monroe (Nicole Kidman). Social status dictates and the...
Published on July 19 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "3 1/2 stars actually....Not Quite Best Picture,either"
I bought the DVD of Cold Mountain, "excited" to see a film friends and family "raved" about, I'm glad I own a copy,I enjoyed the extra features,and the movie. I can ,however, understand Hollywood not giving the film "Best Picture"...
I wanted to subtitle this review, "been there, done that!".
Good individual acting...
Published on July 7 2004


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films in a long while., July 19 2004
By A Customer
A separated 'sort of' boyfriend and 'sort of' girlfriend become all and everything to each other while struggling their way through the devastations of the Civil War. Inman (Jude Law) is a poor carpenter in a small North Carolina mountain town who has a strong mutual attraction to a 'better class' girl named Ada Monroe (Nicole Kidman). Social status dictates and the proper decorum of the day prevent them from plunging forth in the direction their hearts want to go, but when Inman leaves for war, they lay bare their passion and agree to correspond during his absence's duration.
Upon her father's death, Ada finds herself alone and penniless in the world, and unable to manage her large farm on her own. In a letter, she asks Inman to return to her, and he, no longer able to tolerate the depressing daily horrors of war, obligingly abandons his post to tramp home on foot. Now a deserter, he is hunted by the law and encounters obstacle after obstacle on his journey toward his 'ain true love'. Back at the farm, a no-nonsense, take-charge young woman, Ruby (Renee Zellweger), has appeared, and is as determined to build helpless Ada up from being a self-sorrowful belle into a self-sufficient survivor as she is to save the farm from ruin with hard work. Ruby becomes Ada's bonded friend and essential helper, while Ada and Inman become each other's goal to live and strive for.
The cast does a flawless job with their roles and the costumes, location shots, and music are all top quality. Phillip Seymour Hoffmann proves yet again that he's the greatest character actor of modern times. He's always brilliantly playing somewhat unsavory fellows with mental issues. And Charlie Hunnam, usually G.Q.-style gorgeous, usually a 'good guy' onscreen, so efficiently turned himself into one of Cold Mountain's most sinister creeps, I didn't even recognize it was him until the ending credits!
This movie reminds me of a contemporary version of 'Gone With the Wind', much more raw and real, and without the soap operatic flourishes. Those with intellectual minds, sentimental streaks, or both, shall not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Renee Zellweger makes it great! AWESOME MOVIE!, July 18 2004
By A Customer
I know this film doesn't normally get high reviews, but I have to say this is my FAVORITE movie of all time! There are many things that make this movie awesome, here are some...
The first would have to be Renee Zellweger. I must admit, if it weren't for Zellweger, I would not love the movie as much as I do now. I still would love it, but she really tops it off. I personally find her character (Ruby Thewes) in this movie hillarious. I didn't even know who Renee was, (no offence) until I saw this film, but I know now! I just wish she were in the movie more than she is!
The second thing that made me love Cold Mountain was the setting. The setting is so beautiful. If you really like country settings, you will like this one. The whole "farm look" and old town style is great. It is some what similar to the setting in the movie The Missing.
I thought the love story in this movie was creative and nice, but I liked everything else better. If you are looking for a real touching love story you should read a book by Nicholas Sparks, but that is besides the point.
Here is some advice, if you are looking for a real war movie, Cold Mountain is probably not the best when it comes to action, it does have action though, but not a lot compared to something like Band of Brothers. You should give it a try though, because it shows what life was like for the people back home during the Civil War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Civil War Odyssey, July 13 2004
By A Customer
Anthony Minghella's tragedy of the weary soldier who only longs to be with his promised love. The theme is a variation on Homer's Odyssey where, after years of surviving the depravities of war, the hero-soldier undertakes a perilous journey home; reuniting with his loved one only after many trials and tribulations. Although the theme isn't new, the script properly grasps the attitudes and mannerisms of the time. The cinematography and editing is top knotch.
Nicole Kidman plays Ada, a preacher's daughter who, in 1860, moves with her father to the rustic bliss of Cold Mountain, North Carolina. Ada falls in love with Inman (Jude Law) but, before their love can be consummated, Inman answers to the call of duty and joins the Confederate Army. Before he leaves, Ada promises to wait for his return and to marry him. By 1864, Inman is a broken man: shocked by the brutal realities of war and seeing no purpose to the carnage. He sees the Confederacy as doomed and, longing for Ada, resigns himself to deserting the army. He begins his long perilous journey from the frontlines to his home. In the meantime, things go from bad to worse in Cold Mountain and Ada is forced to hold the house on her own. Exploiting her fears that Inman may be dead, prospective suitors unwelcomingly court Ada. In the meantime, Ada welcomes a runaway girl named Ruby (Renée Zellweger)to help her with the farm's chores. The climax of the film rises as Inman comes closer to home. Sadly for both Ada and Inman, their reunion is bittersweet.
Again, the story is a thematic variation from the Odyssey. The warrior-hero leaves to face the horrors of war and returns only after a long life-changing journey. The acting is great although I think Nicole Kidman was too well groomed for her role. Even if immaculate and beautiful, women of the 1860s didn't look as if they just came out of a Hollywood beauty salon: especially those who lived and worked in a rural setting. A great romantic tragedy that appeals to both men and women. I strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Civil War Odyssey, July 12 2004
By A Customer
Anthony Minghella's tragedy of the weary soldier who only longs to be with his promised love. The theme is a variation on Homer's Odyssey where, after years of surviving the depravities of war, the hero-soldier undertakes a perilous journey home; reuniting with his loved one only after many trials and tribulations. Although the theme isn't new, the script properly grasps the attitudes and mannerisms of the time. The cinematography and editing is top knotch.
Nicole Kidman plays Ada, a preacher's daughter who, in 1860, moves with her father to the rustic bliss of Cold Mountain, North Carolina. Ada falls in love with Inman (Jude Law) but, before their love can be consummated, Inman answers to the call of duty and joins the Confederate Army. Before he leaves, Ada promises to wait for his return and to marry him. By 1864, Inman is a broken man: shocked by the brutal realities of war and seeing no purpose to the carnage. He sees the Confederacy as doomed and, longing for Ada, resigns himself to deserting the army. He begins his long perilous journey from the frontlines to his home. In the meantime, things go from bad to worse in Cold Mountain and Ada is forced to hold the house on her own. Exploiting her fears that Inman may be dead, prospective suitors unwelcomingly court Ada. In the meantime, Ada welcomes a runaway girl named Ruby (Renée Zellweger)to help her with the farm's chores. The climax of the film rises as Inman comes closer to home. Sadly for both Ada and Inman, their reunion is bittersweet.
Again, the story is a thematic variation from the Odyssey. The warrior-hero leaves to face the horrors of war and returns only after a long life-changing journey. The acting is great although I think Nicole Kidman was too well groomed for her role. Even if immaculate and beautiful, women of the 1860s didn't look as if they just came out of a Hollywood beauty salon: especially those who lived and worked in a rural setting. A great romantic tragedy that appeals to both men and women. I strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A civil war odyssey focusing on the suffering at home, July 9 2004
Cold Mountain is a sad romance about the Civil War that shows us the effects of the war on the home front and the women of the Old South. We all expect that we know what happened to the people who lived and fought at the various fronts of the war with all its direct horrors. There is one spectacular battle scene - The Siege of Petersburg.
Ada Monroe (played beautifully by Nicole Kidman) is a Southern Belle transplanted to rustic surroundings with her father, the Reverend Monroe (handsomely done by Donald Sutherland). She is widely admired, but lives a lonely life. Her special admirer is Inman (the always fine Jude Law) who is man of few words with a strong internal life that is somewhat disconnected from the world around him.
When Ada finds herself on her own she fares terribly and survives only by the kindness of her neighbors. When the war comes and most of the men go off to the war one man that stays behind is named Teague (portrayed with real intensity by Ray Winstone). Ada's friends send Ruby Thews (Ruby Tuesday?) to live with her because Ruby knows how to work the land and survive while Ada is an out of place jewel.
Renee Zellweger's performance as Ruby is powerful and is really the heartbeat of the movie if not the lyric poetry of it. There is a reason Ruby is the character that lingers in the mind vividly. Ruby and Ada thrive together and as the war turns against the south the Home Guard rises in power ostensibly to protect the people behind the lines. Really, they prey on the citizens to advance their own greed and power. Kathy Baker and James Gammon portray Sally and Esco Swanger who help Ada and Ruby and end up suffering terribly at the hands of the predatory protectors.
Inman wends his way home and has many adventures and the love that he and Ada share is powerful and unreasonable. Both of them realize this and do not really understand why their slight experience together binds them so powerfully. Ada is even unsure that Inman is alive except for some visionary hope.
Brendan Gleeson is fine as Ruby's musician father and Philip Seymour Hoffman is indelible as the Reverend Veasey. I don't know how Mr. Hoffman consistently makes his portrayals so memorable, but he always contributes a richness to his roles that he raises the quality of everything I have seen him in.
This movie has a bleakness about it that some may find too cold, and I understand that. However, I enjoyed the quiet depth of feeling between the characters during such amazingly hard times. I especially enjoyed seeing the Civil War's effects on those at home who were nonetheless in the war and paid so deep a price. To see some of that coming from those who were entrusted to protect them is all the more horrifying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "3 1/2 stars actually....Not Quite Best Picture,either", July 7 2004
By A Customer
I bought the DVD of Cold Mountain, "excited" to see a film friends and family "raved" about, I'm glad I own a copy,I enjoyed the extra features,and the movie. I can ,however, understand Hollywood not giving the film "Best Picture"...
I wanted to subtitle this review, "been there, done that!".
Good individual acting performances, especially "Renee Zellwiger"
who made me chuckle several times with her performance as "Ruby".
Nicole Kidman was "good" as usual...I've come to expect that from her, and Jude was "very good" as Inman. They could not rise above the screenplay however, which wasn't so good.
For openers, how many "Teague's" can Hollywood give us? Think of Roots, Gone With the Wind, even "Josey Wales" and "he" is there. How many love stories about doomed lovers? How many preachers gone "bad"? I liked the storyline "basically", and the recreation of the "Battle of the Crater" at Petersburg, Virginia
was "very good",but the rest was almost too predictable,because of all the previous TV movies and theatrical releases we've seen about or based on the Civil War.
I thought the music and costuming was excellant,and the features included with the DVD are great! I only wish the movie was better,and I feel for the actors who tried, but could not overcome the screenplay. If you enjoy watching Nicole and Renee's
work, you won't go wrong getting this DVD,if you are a movie fan,
or collector, you may be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What's with that "tacked on" love scene?, July 6 2004
By 
Stephen P. Lopez "Insane4art" (Hemet, California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really enjoyed "Cold Mountain". At 2 1/2 hours, it was a joy to get lost in....you know, turn off your brain and enjoy the show. I am reminded of Christopher Vogler's books (The Writer's Journey: Mythic Structure for Writers, & The Writer's Journey: Mythic Structure for Storytellers and Screenwriters). Now don't get me wrong, I am not slinging mud in the direction of Charles Frazier's novel (which I haven't read yet), but when I saw the movie, I said "Hmmmmm, smells like Homer to me" (and I don't mean Simpson). But hey....isn't most writing and film making just one formula or another these days, or has it been always that way? Like I said, it was fun getting lost in the story....the acting and visuals are as good as it gets in this day and age, and the dialogue in this movie is at times, quite poetic (thank you Mr. Frazier). My only complaint was the OBVIOUSLY "Tacked On" love scene. Don't get me wrong, I'm not a prude...but hey, this "love scene" looked like a studio decision, not a director's decision to me. Yes, in "Eye's Wide Shut", I loved Nicole Kidman's backside etc., but at least there (no pun intended), her attributes seemed to actually be a part of the story (thank you Mr. Kubrick!). A simple "Fade Out" would have spoke volumes in this movie, instead of that "Joy of Sex" approach they chose. Why didn't "Cold Mountain" get nominated for "Best Picture"? In my opinion, it's the "tacked on" love scene that lost the election. In short: GREAT WORK by Jude Law, Nicole Kidman, Renee Zellweger, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Natalie Portman, Giovanni Ribisi, Jack White, Brendan Gleeson, Donald Sutherland (and the Screenwriter/Director and Crew), but BAD DECISIONS by the STUDIO HEADS, THE PRODUCERS etc. (I won't hold the EDITOR responsible, because when does an editor have the last say anyway?). I hope there will eventually be "The Directors Cut" or "By popular Demand Cut" (minus the cheesey love scene). But for now...fast forwarding on my DVD player makes for an amusing way to bypass that scene (and get on to the rest of a pretty good story).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Romantic Civil War Drama, July 6 2004
By 
Vagabond77 (Tennessee, USA) - See all my reviews
Set during the Civil War, Inma (Jude Law) and Ada (Nicole Kidman) meet briefly, fall in love instantly, and then are seperated as Inamn enlists to fight in the war. Inamn becomes sick of fighting, gets wounded and deserts. Along the rest of the movie is spent with Inman traveling, meeting odd and terrible people. No and then he also meets some (like Philip Seymore Hoffman and Natalie Portman) who are in trouble and assists them. Meanwhile, back in Cold Mountain, N.C., Ada's father (Donald Sutherland) dies and she must fend for herself. She eventually gets help from very fiesty Ruby (Renee Zellwegger). She now must contend with brutal sheriff and his psycho deputys who use finding deserters to reclaim his family's former property. The movie is really good. The acting is all top notch, especially Zellwegger, what a spit-fire. Law gives a quiet, thoughtful performance as sensitive, disillusioned soilder (modeled rather strongly after Odysseus). I have liked Law a lo, and this is his best role so far. Nicole Kidman seems to be ageless. She is as beautiful now as she was in the '80s. Natalie Portman is ok in her brief role. Philip Seymore Hoffman is a funny baffoon who accompanies Inman on some of his travels. If there is a down side it is this; "Cold Mountain" is 2 hours and 30 minutes long. For the most part it isn't that bad. But everynow and then, you start to feel the excessive length. But over all, this is a wonderful romantic Civil War drama; maybe not the classsic of "Gone with the Wind" (also not as soap operaly over melodramtic), but it is great in it's own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worthy of watching, July 6 2004
This is a good movie i can easily see this being nominated and winning best picture of the year. It has a great ending that concludes the whole movie and sets things right. This film is about a young confederate (enmond) played by jude law falls nfor a young lady ada played by nicole kidman. when she is visting her father in the small north carolina town Cold Mountain. He doesnt spenmd too much time with ada before everyone is drafted out into the civil war. He really doesnt want to leave her but he has to. He gets severly injured in a battle of teh trenches and almost dies and then he realizes he cant die without seeing his love ada again.Well back in Cold mountain ada hires ruby played by renae zellweger who is a country girl that knows how to farm and becomes good friends with ada. But enmond has to go through a long perilous journey to try to get back to ada and who knows who he will run into and how will he evoid the yankees plus the watcher who look for runaways and they kill any of them they can find.So will enmond ever reach ada again? Will enmond even survive the journey home to Cold Mountain? Will ada be able to take the long wait for her love enmond to come home ? its a Great movie. At first it is a little slow taht is why im only giving it a 4 star but after about 30 minutes into the movie it all starts coming together an becomes a great tale and also a great novel it is . This is defenately worthy of watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Darn Good, But Not Great, July 5 2004
By A Customer
I really enjoyed this movie in the theatre and eagerly awaited the DVD release. Although I must say, as much as I enjoy movies with war themes, this one is not high on my list of favorites. Nonetheless, I wont think twice in playing it for guests in my home. The cinematography is fabulous and the supporting cast is great. However, what holds this movie back is the stale relationship between the main characters Inman and Ada. The chemistry between Law and Kidman is totally absent, perhaps in-part by a script which never allows them to develop any sense of a true love. If their love is simply an emotional concept that propells the "idea of love", the script fails to deliver any insight within their respective characters to provide a basis for their assumed attachment. Inman lacks any form of appeal which makes Ada's adoration seem impossible. That being said, the movie is entertaining with a very interesting and enjoyable supporting cast. Most noteworthy is Ruby (Zellwegger) who steals each scene in which she appears. My favorite character is the Preacher who is very entertaining despite the brevity of his screen time. And like many of the Amazon reviewers, I agree, the ending basically sucks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NEW Cold Mountain (DVD)
CDN$ 20.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews