Customer Reviews


294 Reviews
5 star:
 (157)
4 star:
 (62)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rachel rocks
I absolutly adore Rachel Leigh Cook who plays Laney in this movie, I have seen many of her movies, Josie and the pussycats, Tom and Huck, The Babysitters Club, of course She's all that, and more she's just an amazing beautiful and talented actress. She brings such honestly and virtue to all her characters and while being beautiful she's not the kind of beautiful where she...
Published on April 19 2004 by marshmelly

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A totally original awesome movie!
This movie is great! It stars, Freddie Prinze Jr. as, like, the coolest, smartest, most popular guy in school. His girlfriend dumps him in the beginning, so you feel, toooootally sad for him. Like, who is Freddie going to take to the prom? Anyway his girlfriend dumps him for Matthew Lillard playing, Brock Hudson (which is like a totally real sounding name) and he is,...
Published on Sept. 18 2003 by Evan Feral


‹ Previous | 1 2 330 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars This movie and Racheal Leigh Cook are all THAT!!!, Feb. 20 2004
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
Oh oh kiss me benieath the milikings while i lay me under de de you wear those shoes and I will wear that dress oh oh. I love that song while it was overplayed in 1999 it is great now. This movie is about a hunk ( the guy from Scobby doo with the blond hair) who gets dumped by this quasi hot chick and then he take a bet with the guy who i think is fast and furious that he can take any broad and make her the HC Queen. Enter the lovely face and legs of americans 1999 sex pot Racheal Leigh Cook who falls for freedy ( which girl wouldnt) but then finds out that he was using her to win a bet.
A great story about the fact that if your a ugly girl and a hot guy like freedy prince asks you to a dance he prolly is doing it for a bet to win money or an Augie Ojeda jersey or he is suffering from amniesia and thinks your Hilary Duff.
Great cmaeo by the guy who wwas in Scooby, summer catch and Scream you may remember in Scream he says "Stand back, this one a really sceamer."
I obtanined 9wink-wink)a used copy of this movie back in 2000 but i gave it to my friend cuz i thought he would watch it w/ his sister who I was crushing over at the time. Ends up i never got it and i only was with the sister for 3 1/2 months, so iwaish i nbever gave him this movie.
Buy it if you love Freedie (LIKE ME!!) or think that Racheal LEeigh Cook is HOT! (which she is but not anymore just like my friends sister)
Great lesson learned about prom and there is atleast 7 references to Sega which ad the gresatet game ever TEAM USA basketball straing Christian Laettner
Not a must buy like Sum of all fears, ghost ship, cobb, debbie does iowa but damn close
Peace,
G-Skilit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Look at the Cover Photo . . ., Dec 29 2003
By 
Robert Shuler (Friendswood, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
The cover says it all. This is a romantic comedy, a relationship movie about two people. If that's what you are in the market for viewing, you will not be disappointed by the stereotyped portrayal of other characters or annoyed by the cheesy rendering of high school life. These are only plot devices. But because of them I witheld one (only one) star.
Several reviewers note Rachael Leigh Cook's striking talent and charm; I concur. There are few other movies that are written to showcase her as well as this one, but I am hoping some will be made. A few rebuttals are in order to some other comments. There is no skin in the movie, and only one curse word (appropriately uttered). And it will not undermine your preferred sexual orientation.
The plot is a combination of Cinderella and the equally common idea that a social manipulator falls for his own tricks (Cupid pricking himself with his own arrow in Cupid & Psyche). For all the comic intent, the resolution is surprisingly down to earth and satisfying. The very last scene likely would be forbidden in the real world, but it's funny and confirms the characters. Only one aspect of character motivation bothered me. If Zach is so insightful about people and relationships, what was he doing hanging around Taylor in the first place? And where does he get his insight? Not from his father. I guess it would make the movie too long and too serious to explain this, so just suspend disbelief. Laney's character, by comparison, is fully motivated and explained.
There is a music video among the extras which is a gem! "Kiss Me" performed by Sixpence (from their self-titled CD). They are sitting on a bench jammin' and the way the lead singer flirts with the camera, interposed with scenes from the movie and fantasy takeoffs from the movie, interacting with words from the song, unifies the movie with unrevealed childhood. It is a welcome relief from pointless trendy scene-frenzy which is so common. Unfortunately, the rest of Sixpence's music is not so upbeat. They should work for movies more often, maybe appear in one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Beware! this movie will make you gay!, Dec 28 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
when this movie ended i thought i just came out of an acid trip.
i was hypnotized by the movie's horrible acting and plot.
this movie is just another stereotype revolving around the good looking athletic high schoolers, and the notgoodlooking artistic highschoolers. i felt violated and noticed i my intelligence dropped. this is my generation at its prime; MTV spring break, high school and college keg parties, LSD raves and teenage sex. and there you have it
so my advice to anyone who wants to see this film is:
"Shes all that" will make you gay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tired Formula, Dec 4 2003
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
Another one of the many teen flicks where a "Pretty/Ugly Girl" gets rid of her glasses and puts on a red dress. In real life if you get rid of your glasses expect to trip over everything because you can't see 6 inches in front of your face. Prinze is the best actor since Casper Van Dien and Rachel Leigh Cook shows exactly why she is in so few movies.
The hunk falls for the geek, no surprises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, Oct. 6 2003
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
Racheal Leight Cook freddy Prince Jr Did Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Oh God, not another one!, Sept. 30 2003
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
Here is another movie in which a guy makes a bet about girl, falls in love with girl, then girl finds out, etc. There have to have been at least 40 other movies and tv shows with this plot. Honestly, I would advise you to avoid all movies that have Freddie Prinze Jr. as their star. Every one that I have seen is rubbish.
In this movie, popular guy/jock Zack(Freddie Prinze Jr.) gets dumped by his self-absorbed witch of a girlfriend Taylor(how can you like a character who would go out with her?) for a rude self-absorbed tv star named Brock. While reeling from this shocking breakup, he makes a bet with a jerk friend of his(Okay, how did they become friends?) named Dean. The bet is that he can take any girl and make her a prom queen within the eight weeks before the prom. His "friend" picks out Laney, a misfit artist with horn-rimmed glasses and an extremely unbecoming haircut, played by Rachel Leigh Cook. A relative of mine glanced at the cover that features a photo of her and, after hearing a brief plot summary, said, "Oh, yeah right, like she could be a geek."
However, Cook manages it so well at the beginning that I found it difficult not to consider her a freak. Especially after the 'preforming arts' cafe scene. Anyway, Laney ends up flowering into a beautiful girl who gets nominated as prom queen (big surprise, huh?). The other nominee? Zack's old girlfriend Taylor.
Poor Zack begins to fall in love with Laney, but, unfortunately for him, his 'buddy' Dean decides that the new Laney is totally hot and tells her all about the bet. He omits the fact that it was his idea and that he selected her as the victim. Must have slipped his mind. Laney is shocked and hurt. Gee, what will happen? Will Zack be able to win her back? Ooh, that's a tough one. Oh, there is also a milisecond appearance by Sarah Michelle Gellar. This really does nothing to improve the movie. I suggest that you save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars she's all that, July 8 2003
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
I purchased this DVD, not knowing what to expect. But loved it, the chemistry between the two stars was excellent. I would like to see these two together again in more movies. It would be nice to see them in romances to if possible. Thanks again for such a fine movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars hottie, July 8 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
Although she doesn't always look hot, Rachel Leigh Cook is HOT in this movie. Check out the Sixpence video "Kiss Me" if you really want to see her in all her dusky beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ugly Duckling Into A Swan Story . . ., March 18 2003
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
... Except it's more like a swan into a swan story! No one can make Rachael Leigh Cook ugly, or "nerdy". Put a pair of a glasses on her and that's it. Big wow. It worked with Miss Congeniality. Anyway, enough of me moaning about pretty girls. This is one of those films that I love. Still a teenage film, but not a slasher movie. The two main characters don't totally click - I didn't find it anyway - and Freddie Prinz Jnr just gets on my nerves. He plays the same guy in every single film; Down To You, I Still Know, and probably some other films that I've seen but can't remember. Rachael Leigh Cook plays the part of Laney brilliantly. Even underneath the glasses, you can see she can look beautiful, even though wearing a tarty little red dress, and making her enemy into a clown doesn't really make her better. The reason she doesn't wear makeup etc, is cos her MOM died - just to be american! The best thing about this film is the dance sequence at the prom (if you look closely, the actual main characters can't keep in time with the extras!), and the fact that Freddie Prinz Jnr stops being a high school jerk and becomes almost human towards the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh and Fruity!, Feb. 18 2003
By 
T. Hooper "thdizzy" (Osaka, Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: She's All That [Import] (DVD)
She's All That is a modern Cinderella story. Zack, the class president, loses his girlfriend, but he still believes he's hot stuff! To prove it, he bets his friends that he can turn anyone in the school into the next prom queen. His friends take him up on the offer, but boy is he sorry! They choose Laney, the introverted school artist, an impossible case. He works his charm, but without realizing it, he falls in love with this strange flower of a girl. Will she buy it? Watch it and see. Rachel Leigh Cook puts in an excellent performance as Laney. I recommend this one for your video library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 330 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa696121c)

This product

She's All That
CDN$ 16.70
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews