Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Build Quality
It took me a couple of days to decide which charging station or dock to purchase due to the fact that there are so many (each with slightly different features and pricing) available on Amazon.ca.

I decided after researching the slightly more expensive first party Sony DualShock 3 Charging Station that it would be a safer decision (less chance of running into...
Published on July 7 2011 by Sam

versus
2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not compatible with other Sony accesories
Will not fit if you are using Playstation 3 Wireless keypad (also made by Sony)
So you have to choose between charging, or having a keyboard
What were the Sony designers thinking?
Published on Jan. 26 2012 by Gamer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Build Quality, July 7 2011
By 
Sam - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It took me a couple of days to decide which charging station or dock to purchase due to the fact that there are so many (each with slightly different features and pricing) available on Amazon.ca.

I decided after researching the slightly more expensive first party Sony DualShock 3 Charging Station that it would be a safer decision (less chance of running into problems) to purchase this product because it's designed and manufactured by the same company for which console peripheral(s) this product is meant for.

I'm quite happy with this PS3 accessory. It's very well built. The plastic used looks and feels expensive. The unit itself is heavier than you'd expect, so it won't move around easily. The build quality is superb. There are no uneven edges and the design in general is very pretty (it compliments your PS3 setup), especially with 2 DualShock 3 or Sixaxis controllers in each dock.

Included with the charger, is an AC adapter built by Sony with a PlayStation logo engraved into it and a - what looks like - a generic power cord (which connects the AC adapter to your wall socket).

Also included are two clips which are mounted on top of your controllers. They do not block (from view) the small LEDs which show you the controller port number, nor do they block (from view) the blue colored logo indicating that your controller is a DualShock 3 or Sixaxis. They do however block (from view) the Sixaxis logo on the DualShock 3 controller. Once these clips are mounted on top of 2 controllers, they can and probably should (with one exception) be left on there in definitely. The one exception is if you have the Sony KeyPad for your PS3 controller(s).

The controllers cannot be charged with a KeyPad mounted on them, therefore if you're looking for a charging station/dock which can charge your controllers with a KeyPad mounted on there, this product is not for you.

Once the clips are mounted on the controllers, you simply slide them into each groove and you push down lightly until you hear a click and the controller will start flashing (charging). Once you are finished charging, grab a controller and start gaming (no need to remove the clip unless you have a KeyPad). I actually think the clip makes the controller look cooler. Yea I'm a nerd.

Lastly, an instruction pamphlet is also included with this product. Just so you know, it states that it takes approximately 2 hours and 30 minutes for a controller to fully charge from 0% battery life.

One other thing which I should touch base upon is to let you know that this Charging Station has no lights (LED or otherwise) of any kind. The only lights you'll see when charging your controllers are the controller port LED lights (which will be flashing in the same manner as if you were to connect them to your PS3 for them to charge).

If there is one small complaint I have about this product, it's that when the controllers are docked, they feel slightly unstable (you'll know what I mean if you buy yourself one). As I said though, this is a small complaint and it's not really a big deal.

Taking cost, build quality and value into consideration, I'd rate this official Sony DualShock 3 / Sixaxis Charging Station an honest 9/10. Furthermore, I'd definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a PS3 DualShock 3 / Sixaxis charger/dock, especially considering what's available. It's worth the money in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good product, Oct. 5 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PS3 - DualShock3 Charging Station - Standard Edition (Accessory)
Good piece of equipment, makes it really easy to recharge controllers when I don't need to deal with usb cables getting lost or underfoot. Easy to use, though if you want to use the mini-usb slot in your controller, you need to find a place to put the charger extension that the device uses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy charging, May 23 2012
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PS3 - DualShock3 Charging Station - Standard Edition (Accessory)
easy easy to reduce cords and always have a controller completely charged and ready to go. small enough to hide to the side of a counter table whatever nice product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works, Jan. 27 2013
By 
K. Mina (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PS3 - DualShock3 Charging Station - Standard Edition (Accessory)
Not much to say. Works as intended. Got mine for $19.83 last month during a sale. Those who plan to purchase this should wait for a similar sale as I think the regular price is too high for it's function.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, Jan. 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PS3 - DualShock3 Charging Station - Standard Edition (Accessory)
awesome, love it, but only can be used for dualshock controllers. I got mine online for 24.22 included shipping and tax, but later found out that futureshop was selling it for 19.99 + tax. So check locally first before buying it. Otherwise, this product is a must have for ps3 users
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well built and does the job really well, Jan. 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PS3 - DualShock3 Charging Station - Standard Edition (Accessory)
Bought this to free up the USB slots on my PS3 and to leave less cords dangling for my one year old to get a hold of.

This is solidly contructed and works like a treat.

Keep in mind this will only charge controllers. There is an adapter that you put into the USB slot at the top (it's black, looks a little weird on my coloured controllers, but c'est la vie) which then easily connects with the charger. Because of this piece it will not charge the message pad, bluetooth or Move accessories.

Well worth the $20 I paid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great way to keep your controllers charged, March 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PS3 - DualShock3 Charging Station - Standard Edition (Accessory)
Easy set up and waaaaaaay more efficient then plugging into the PS3. All you do is clip on the adapters and click the controllers into the base! Helps make sure that my controllers are always fully charged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As Expected, March 6 2013
By 
Marion Melville (Sudbury, Ontario, CA) - See all my reviews
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PS3 - DualShock3 Charging Station - Standard Edition (Accessory)
Not a gamer and had not used PS3 for over one year. Could not charge the controls on the unit, so I ordered this charger prior to purchasing new units. Worked great and charged very quickly. Very satisfied, as I can now use the PS3 to view my DVDs. Very satisfied with purchase and would recommend for purchase, as it is a much quicker way to charge up both units at once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice option to have, Feb. 25 2013
By 
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PS3 - DualShock3 Charging Station - Standard Edition (Accessory)
The cradle works, nice to have controllers always ready. Actually got 2, maybe a bit excessive but chose the setup for two reasons. First, it cleans up the room, keeps controllers tidy and doesnt look half bad. Second, the controller adapters fit well enough but wouldnt want to test long term results of constantly swapping between controllers.
The adapter on the controller itself looks just alright. The colour is not the greatest and I cant help think they could've made it a bit smaller. The weight and balance work on the controller; it adds a bit of weight but the controllers are a bit light to begin with.
Overall it works, the benefits of the package outweighs the changes to the controllers.
Bit late in the game to buy, controllers confirmed not to work with next gen. Purchase if you want for your collection, nice but not necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not compatible with other Sony accesories, Jan. 26 2012
This review is from: PS3 - DualShock3 Charging Station - Standard Edition (Accessory)
Will not fit if you are using Playstation 3 Wireless keypad (also made by Sony)
So you have to choose between charging, or having a keyboard
What were the Sony designers thinking?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

PS3 - DualShock3 Charging Station - Standard Edition
PS3 - DualShock3 Charging Station - Standard Edition by Sony Computer Entertainment (PlayStation 3)
Used & New from: CDN$ 68.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews