Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ratatouille en francais
Beautiful disc, like-new quality, all the usual inserts intact, delivered quickly and well-packaged.
It had been impossible to find this disc in French in the US. The cost of shipping was well worth the aggravation it saved me in further searching.
Published on Nov. 25 2011 by LaVonne Davis-Schenck

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING!!!!! 3D Version Does Not Exist
THIS REVIEW PERTAINS TO THE 3D VERSION ON SALE NOT ANY OTHER VERSIONS

I found this but wasn't sure as it came out in 2007. So I did some research on google and found that there is no 3D version. But an announcement was made in March 2014 that Pixar was re-releasing Ratatouille and The Incredibles in 3D in theatres, but no release time was announced. The...
Published 3 days ago by Barry Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ratatouille en francais, Nov. 25 2011
By 
Beautiful disc, like-new quality, all the usual inserts intact, delivered quickly and well-packaged.
It had been impossible to find this disc in French in the US. The cost of shipping was well worth the aggravation it saved me in further searching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The friendliest rat you'll ever meet, June 24 2011
By 
Steven Aldersley (Oshawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ratatouille [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Ratatouille (animation, comedy, family)
Directed by Brad Bird and Jan Pinkava
Starring the voices of Patton Oswalt, Lou Romano, Ian Holm and Janeane Garofalo

Disney / Buena Vista | 2007 | 111 min | Rated G | Released Nov 06, 2007

Video:
Video codec: MPEG-4 AVC
Video resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 2.39:1

Audio:
English: LPCM 5.1
English: Dolby Digital 5.1
French: Dolby Digital 5.1
Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1

Subtitles:
English SDH, French, Spanish

Disc:
Single 50GB Blu-ray Disc

The Film 5/5

Remy (Oswalt) is a young rat with an enhanced sense of taste and smell. When he saves his dad from eating food laced with poison, he's given a job as food tester for the whole colony. Remy quickly becomes bored with the job and dreams of better things. After seeing a TV cooking show, he decides that he would like to be a chef. Unfortunately, he's almost killed by the TVs owner and the entire colony is discovered and forced to leave her house.

Remy is separated from his family and talks to an illustration of Gusteau, the TV chef, because he's alone and there's nobody else to talk to. When he discovers Gusteau's restaurant, he finds that he knows the function of every member of the staff. Remy gets into trouble when entering the kitchen, but he adds ingredients to the soup and the customers love it. He's discovered when trying to leave and Linguini (Romano), the kitchen boy, is told to kill him. But the worried look on Remy's face stops Linguini in his tracks and he realizes that Remy fixed the soup. The two decide to work together.

Although Remy can be understood by other rats, that's not the case with humans. Instead, he uses gestures to communicate and is very expressive. His tiny shrugs and nods are easy to understand. Quite by accident, Remy discovers that he can control Linguini by pulling at strands of his hair. The two practice at home and come up with a plan to do the same at the restaurant. He hides under Linguini's hat and continues to prepare food by controlling him.

The story is well thought out and quite complex in places for an animated film. The 111-minute running time is necessary to show everything in detail. The streets of Paris look real and it's clear that the Pixar team researched the setting thoroughly.

Linguini is trained by Colette (Garofalo) and starts to develop feelings for her, but it's Remy's skill that wins the approval of the restaurant's customers. Linguini is deeply resented by the Head Chef (Holm), who knows that Linguini is Gusteau's son and the restaurant's rightful owner. The problem is, Linguini doesn't know that.

The film is full of peril, chase scenes and humor, and has a little action. The characters are well developed and Remy is easy to like. It's challenging to make a rat appear friendly and lovable, but Pixar somehow pulls it off. Remy is always happy and smiling and chooses to walk upright on two feet. I think that was done to make him appear more like a human and less like a rat. He's also very particular about cleanliness and washes his paws before preparing any food.

The restaurant eventually captures the attention of food critics and is visited by Anton Ego (Peter O'Toole), who is the most famous critic of them all. He's hard to impress and had written off Gusteau's as insignificant years ago, but decides to see why it's become relevant again. One of my favorite scenes happens in the restaurant when Ego takes his first bite of food, but I'll let you discover what happens for yourself.

The film has a lot of important messages. It shows us that it's wrong to steal and that family is important. But most of all, it's about following your dreams. Remy is a rat. How can he possibly become a chef? Even if he did, how could he succeed? I imagine that children watching the film could be inspired by Remy's achievements. Maybe a few will grow up wanting to be chefs, and they are rarely out of work.

I can't watch the film without thinking about Hans Landa's speech in Inglourious Basterds where he asks Perrier LaPadite what his reaction would be if a rat entered his home. How would that differ if a squirrel were to enter? It's true that humans often have a problem with rats, and many of us actually fear them. It's quite an achievement to invent a rat that we like and root for as he attempts to live out his dream.

All of Pixar's movies are worth owning, but Ratatouille just edges out Up as my favorite. If they ever decide to do another sequel, I hope that we get another story about Remy. It's aimed at older audiences more than the likes of Cars and A Bug's Life, but children will still be able to enjoy it.

Well done, Pixar.

Video Quality 5/5
Ratatouille looks fantastic on Blu-ray. You can see the individual hairs in Remy's fur and the way it beads when he gets wet. The colors are striking and the sheer amount of detail in background scenes tells you all you need to know. This is a reference quality presentation that's ideal for showing off your home theater.

Audio Quality 5/5
The lossless LPCM 5.1 track is full of subtle detail and delivers well during all of the louder scenes. Although there's very little traditional action, your system will receive a full workout during chase scenes and when Remy is trying to avoid being captured. The sound has good depth and you'll hear the surrounds highlight quieter effects such as vegetables being chopped or background conversation in the restaurant. Dialogue is crisp and clear throughout and there's really nothing that falls short of perfection.

Special Features 3.5/5

Lifted (5:02, HD) - One of my favorite short films from Pixar.

Your Friend the Rat (11:16, HD) - Remy and Emil talk about the history of rats in an amusing way.

Gusteau's Gourmet Game - Control Linguini and help him meet incoming orders.

Fine Food and Film (13:54, HD) - Director Brad Bird and chef Thomas Keller talk about some of their ideas for the film.

Animation Briefings

Documentary Shorts

Deleted Scenes (15:06) - Three scenes that were removed before they were finished.

Deleted Shots R.I.P. (3:12)

The Will (2:48) - With composer Michael Giacchino, featuring an alternate score for one of the scenes.

Remembering Dan Lee (3:00)

There are also five Easter eggs. Press the left button on your control while in the main menu. It works for the top or bottom item.

Ro-Dead Commercial (0:12, HD)

Yes! Shots (1:06)

How to Pronounce Ratatouille (0:55)

L'ecole Culinaire D'Pixar (1:02)

Producer Plays Trombone (0:50)

Pixar has produced some wonderful films and all are worth owning. The Blu-ray presentations are all just about perfect and Ratatouille is no exception. The film has heart and warmth and is a fun place to visit. It doesn't have the constant action of some titles, but the story is gripping throughout. Adults will be pleasantly surprised at the depth of the story, although very small children may lose interest. That would be a shame, because I rank it as Pixar's best, and that's saying a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ratatouille Rocks!, Jan. 10 2011
By 
Bill Wilkat "Golfnut" (QC. Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love animated films, and this one is sensationally done--great animation, great story, and funny as can be--well performed by the actors doing the voices, and synced so well with the animated expressions, etc. Simply excellent entertainment for all ages--how can you ask for more? I never tire of Disney films, and this one Rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delicious movie for children and adults alike, Sept. 27 2007
By 
Jenny J.J.I. "A New Yorker" (That Lives in Carolinas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ratatouille (Widescreen) (DVD)
If you love quality films and think Pixar is leading the industry in innovation and storytelling, you owe it to yourself to see "Ratatouille." Pixar will only maintain creative control over its product so long as they are earning money for Disney. Unlike its predecessors Cars, The Incredibles, Finding Nemo, and Monsters, Inc., Ratatouille failed to earn even $50 million in its opening weekend. A lot of money, yes, but not a good sign for the investors.

Money aside, Pixar has proved once again that they can do what no one else can: create fully realized CG worlds that are only secondary to the story being told. The CG here is simply marvelous. Paris comes to life, the food is so realistic you want to reach out and eat it, and the rats move with a delicate grace that is at the same time cartoonish and believable. But what truly sets Pixar apart from every other animation studio is that they can walk that line between animated reality and cartoon absurdity. The key, here, is the people that inhabit the worlds they've created. They don't look remotely realistic. They look, in fact, much like the humans in The Incredibles. Overlarge heads, exaggerated limbs, and a fluidity of movement that can only be recreated in a movie. Unlike Shrek, or Ice Age, or any other CG movie, Ratatouille allows it's humans be to be cartoons, but they surround them with the most realistic world imaginable. This effect isn't disconcerting, it frees the viewer to sit back and simply absorb everything.

Like their previous efforts, the story is everything. Remy is a rat who loves to cook and he befriends a young man who can't cook, but works in the kitchen of a famous restaurant. The story is both hilarious and exciting. It never falls into melodramatic traps, and the characters act in believable ways - they don't simply do what the writers think they should do to advance the plot to a happy conclusion.

In short, this is not a formulaic film. It balances ingenuity, wit, and skill, and produces one of the finest films in it's category. I don't know if this is the best Pixar film yet, but it's at least the equal of Finding Nemo, Monsters, Inc, Toy Story, and The Incredibles. In fifty years, we'll all be looking back on Pixar as the finest example of a creative force in Hollywood. Let's hope Disney allows them to continue making films their way.

At the end of the day, the family and I have no problem with "Ratatouille". And I can find fault with just about every movie I see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING!!!!! 3D Version Does Not Exist, Aug. 18 2014
By 
Barry Wilson (Toronto , ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ratatouille [Blu-ray 3D] (Blu-ray)
THIS REVIEW PERTAINS TO THE 3D VERSION ON SALE NOT ANY OTHER VERSIONS

I found this but wasn't sure as it came out in 2007. So I did some research on google and found that there is no 3D version. But an announcement was made in March 2014 that Pixar was re-releasing Ratatouille and The Incredibles in 3D in theatres, but no release time was announced. The company Real Deal is committing Fraud. Their description says
Please note the Blu-ray 3D disc is Region Free
So they must know there is no 3D disc. The same product has been suspended on Amazon UK as it is being investigated.
The positive reviews are for the movie not this particular copy. I did see one review that talks about the quality of the 3D. Which makes me wonder about the reviewer as anyone Can Google Ratatouille 3D and find there is no 3D version at this time.
Don't buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, March 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My son watched this movie over and over again. Love hearing him giggle as he watched it. Cute and suitable for adults and kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and well done family film., Nov. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I use this in my French class.Even though I have seen it many times, I love the animation, characters, story, message, and I still enjoy it, every time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exceptional blu-ray quality, Nov. 1 2009
By 
Cheryl - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ratatouille [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The blu-ray visuals on Ratatouille are astounding - the clarity and colour scheme details really bring the picture alive. Also the audio is uncompressed! If you like this film, I highly recommend the blu-ray - it truly showcases this film's artwork. I also like the cine-explore feature (which is often a pop-up pic-in-pic with deleted scenes and featurettes) - it's very entertaining. There is also a beat-the-clock type game involving many recipes, for any aspiring chefs. For me however, it's all about how fantastic this film looks on blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good allegorical fun for everyone, July 31 2014
This review is from: Ratatouille (Widescreen) (DVD)
Hello, interworld! RATATOUILLE is a revealing allegorical film from Pixar that compares their success in computer animated films and in taking over Disney with the success of a bunch of rats in cooking French cuisine and in taking over the restaurant that they are infesting. Good allegorical fun for everyone! A must for the collection of everyone who enjoys allegorical art!:>)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Fun for All Ages, Feb. 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ratatouille [Blu-ray + DVD] (Sous-titres français) (Blu-ray)
Your kids will love this movie and ask to watch it over and over again. And adults will find the story entertaining as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ratatouille [Blu-ray + DVD] (Sous-titres français)
CDN$ 26.50 CDN$ 15.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews