Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (38)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars la version fracaise de se film est
de France (il parle cucue avec l'accent pointue)
la version nord américaine n'est pas présente
mais si vous pouver doubler le son avec un autres appareil (Dvd ou ordie)
elle est bien s'incroniser avec l'image du bluray
Published 11 months ago by Benoit

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good flick, just needs some characters
I am a SF junkie and will watch just about anything - even if I don't like it. Red Planet - With Carrie Moss, Val Kilmer, Tom Sizemore and Terrance Stamp - isn't in that category but it teeters at times.
The special effects are not bad.
The science IS bad, and inconsistant, but since this is a movie and not a documentary, so I suppose that's allowable.
I...
Published on April 26 2004 by Michael Bond


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good flick, just needs some characters, April 26 2004
By 
Michael Bond (Shawnee, OK United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Planet (Widescreen) (DVD)
I am a SF junkie and will watch just about anything - even if I don't like it. Red Planet - With Carrie Moss, Val Kilmer, Tom Sizemore and Terrance Stamp - isn't in that category but it teeters at times.
The special effects are not bad.
The science IS bad, and inconsistant, but since this is a movie and not a documentary, so I suppose that's allowable.
I would have loved to see more Terrance Stamp.
The relationships between the crew are not well explained and take unexpected turns here and there. The flashback- oh yeah - this happened - scene to explain the Kilmer-Moss relationship irritated me. Why on earth (or Mars) not show it as it happened - then we might all understand the situation. At times, I was wondering "Why are they acting like this?"
Not bad - SF fans will still like it - keep expectations low.
Mike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn...how many more times can they make the same movie?, April 26 2004
By 
Jimmy Lin (Central NJ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Planet (Widescreen) (DVD)
If you've seen any of the following films, then don't waste your time with "Red Planet":
1. Armageddon
2. The Core
3. Apollo 13
4. Independence Day
5. Any "beat the clock & save the planet/city" sci-fi flick made since 1990 that I didn't bother watching.
Out of all of these, "Apollo 13" is the best, simply because it's a true story that was made with emotional honesty and a compelling narrative.
Here's everything you need to know about "Red Planet":
-the best actor (Terrence Stamp) the dies first
-Val Kilmer and Carrie-Ann Moss are in it
-plot of "Apollo 13" + wonky environmental pop-science + visuals from "2001" + Mars + a funky robot who goes all "HAL" = "Red Planet"
Plot synopsis: In an attempt to terraform Mars because Earth is so polluted, the "international community" has been seeding Mars with large algae mats to make its atmosphere more human-friendly. Something goes wrong, and a team is dispatched to Mars to investigate. As they enter Mars' orbit, the ship is exposed to a large solar flare, which fries much of its circuitry. Most of the crew go to the Mars surface, with the pilot staying on-board to try to save the ship. The crew jettisons the landing gear and lands, fatally injuring the surgeon/philosopher. The survivors march to a nearby base previously set up by un-manned missions. The base is kaput. One survivor kills another without the others knowing it. They discover that they can breathe the air. The pilot tells them that if they can get to an old unmanned rover several hours away, they can make it back to the ship. Along the way, one survivor goes nuts and is killed by a damaged robot navigator (jettisoned with the landing gear) and some bugs. The biogeneticist figures out why the air is breathable and kills himself before the bugs can eat him. Meanwhile, the pilot has repaired the ship. The lone survivor gets to the rover, fights the robot, steals its battery, and makes it back to the ship. End of story.
There. In 15 sentences (including "end of story"), I have told you THE WHOLE STUPID MOVIE. That's it. There's nothing else to know about this movie.
The premise of the conflict is wholly absurd and serves as the engine of a barely-mediocre flick. In order to make near-future sci-fi compelling. the science must be relatively sound. So here are the two big science stinkers (leaving aside the whole atmosphere issue) that make this movie wholly implausible:
1. There are things called circuit breakers and other safety devices to prevent power surges from frying stuff. All satellites and space equipment using solar panels have these devices and have survived many many solar flares. Why would they build a ship without these precautions?
2. None of the Mars survivors consumed water once they reached the surface. With demanding physical activity and little-to-no atmospheric moisture, they would have died of dehydration sometime during the second march, if not on the first day.
Don't waste your time with this movie. Rent something good. Heck, if you just have to see bad sci-fi, watch "Jason X" - the visuals are just as good, and you'll be much more entertained.
This movie gets 2 stars for graphical competence and having Terence Stamp utter a few lines.
Can I have my money back?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Spiders... er, roaches of Mars (spoiilers), Feb. 24 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
As far as the movies are concerned, Mars is cursed. Almost every movie set on the red planet has been a complete flop.

Unsurprisingly, "Red Planet" belongs to that pack of awful Mars movies. However, it is somewhat better than the typical bad Mars movie, since it basically follows the typical monster-movie formula with no pretensions of being anything new or special. The only problem is a single, massive plot hole that sucks out the center of the movie... which is oxygen-pooping bugs that literally come from nowhere.

Since Earth is hopelessly overpopulated and polluted, humanity has begun terraforming Mars. For the past twenty years, they have been sending bioengineered algae to Mars -- but then the oxygen levels start dropping, and nobody knows why. So the first manned mission sets off for Mars, led by Commander Kate Bowman (Carrie-Ann Moss) and populated by the usual baffling mix of weirdos, hotheads and a space janitor (Val Kilmer).

But when things predictably go horribly wrong on the ship, most of the crew ends up stranded on the surface of Mars, with dwindling oxygen supplies. Also, their exploratory robot has gone into "battle mode," meaning that it's going to kill then in a few hours. But the greatest threat comes what has been targeting the algae: omnivorous space cockroaches!

You can tell that "Red Planet" is a clunker right from the opening scenes, where Moss' voiceover awkwardly tries to cram all the movie's backstory, setup and characterization into a five-minute monologue. It's as if the opening text crawl of "Star Wars" also included summaries of the important characters ("Han Solo is a rogue with a heart of gold") so it wouldn't be necessary to actually develop them.

And sadly, the rest of the movie is not much better -- it feels less like a finished Hollywood movie than a first draft of the script that somehow got rushed into production. Admittedly, this is better than other bad Mars movies like "Ghosts of Mars" or "Mission to Mars," mainly because it has no illusions about what it is about. This is basically a monster movie set on Mars, and can be brainless fun at times.

But that doesn't mean it doesn't suffer from major problems -- massive continuity errors (so the bugs poop oxygen... and yet oxygen levels are DROPPING?), dropped plot threads and head-slappingly stupid ideas. Seriously, why does an EXPLORATORY ROBOT need a battle simulation mode? And some parts of the story -- like the tortured theological musings or the romance that literally comes out of nowhere -- feel like they were stuck in just to fill up space.

But the biggest flaw in the movie is the Martian insects, which seemed to have simply popped into existence because the plot says so. Nobody ever questions WHERE they came from or WHAT they ate before the algae arrived -- they're just THERE.

All of the characters have just enough depth to blow away in the wind, and the actors are either not trying or misused. Carrie-Ann Moss does little except yell at wall panels and get naked occasionally, and Val Kilmer seems only vaguely interested in what's going on. Most of the other characters are more or less interchangeable, and it's easy to forget which one is which.

The tragedy of "Red Planet" is that, had it been polished, it could have been a decent popcorn flick. But the hideously contrived opening, the massive plot holes and the basic continuity errors make it painful. At least the robot is cool-looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars la version fracaise de se film est, May 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Planet [Blu-ray] (Sous-titres français) [Import] (Blu-ray)
de France (il parle cucue avec l'accent pointue)
la version nord américaine n'est pas présente
mais si vous pouver doubler le son avec un autres appareil (Dvd ou ordie)
elle est bien s'incroniser avec l'image du bluray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mars in HD, April 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Mediocre flick, mucho bad science. The blu ray transfer makes the "cool" scenes look really nice. When you need a scifi fix, it's passable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad!, March 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A lot of people don't like this movie...I thought it wasn't bad. At least it's not as gory as some of them are. And Simon Baker's in it, so that's a plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I simply love it!!, Dec 23 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Planet (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is one of my favorites. I was thrilled to finally get it. I received it in perfect condition and in the time it was supposed to get to me. I'm truly happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars May be too simple and monochromatic for most SF fans., March 20 2002
This review is from: Red Planet (Widescreen) (DVD)
15 years from now, people are going to pick up this movie and wonder why so many people thought it was bad--there's actually very little wrong with it: memorable performances from Sizemore, Stamp and Kilmer, better science than the average Hollywood flick, a nifty mystery, a logical triumph of man over machine (aren't we all a little tired of omnipotent, indestructible robots?), and crisp suspense as the astronauts race the clock to escape the tightening noose of a mission gone awry.
It was promoted as a SF/Horror flick similar to ALIEN, and it really isn't--it's more like Alfred Hitchcock directing THE RIGHT STUFF.
All the SF movie fans I know tend to like byzantine tales, historic in scope, filled with quirky characters roaming rich new landscapes, so this simple tale of a small group of men trying to escape a desolate red planet within a short span of hours might not be rich enough for them. (The SF fanboys won't like it because Carrie-Anne Moss's shower scene is too short and doesn't show enough...er...Moss.)
It's definitely worth a rental, but you won't want to own it unless you're a suspense fan that revels more in how a film is put together than in how it turns out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars There's life on the red planet after all, April 21 2004
By 
J. Botha "claude777" (Melbourne, Australia.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Planet (Widescreen) (DVD)
Val Kilmer (Robby Gallagher) and Carrie-Anne Moss (Cmdr. Kate Bowman)star in this futuristic sci-fi thriller "Red Planet".
When I sat down to watch this Dvd I was not expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. I'm a big fan of Val Kilmer, (at least in the Ghost and the Darkness and I also thought he made an excellent Batman). Red Planet is one of the better sci-fi films of the last few years and held my attention from start to finish.
Red Planet tells the story of astronauts going to Mars in order to collonize it. The adventure really begins when there robot AIMEE goes postal. It's a very entertaining film that also boast some interesting dialogue on philisophical issues. Also stars Benjamin Bratt, Tom Sizemore and the always interesting Terance Stamp. Very good special effects and and interesting screenplay make this a worthwhile movie to watch.
Thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars better than you think, April 18 2004
By 
Joseph W. Hayes "snake" (mobile, alabama United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Planet (Widescreen) (DVD)
Yes,its another mission to mars,everything screws up when we arrive sci-fi flick.But, it is a very good one.The cast is cool,val kilmer,tom sizemore and carrie ann moss who is so much more sexy @ alive here than she was in the matrix trilogy.the co-stars are wasted,because the movie feels cutdown a bit.The crew must escape one hopeless situation after another while being chased by their damaged navigational robot. The DVD has only deleted scenes,no trailers or anything else.of the mars flicks this is my favorite next to ghosts of mars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7604ba0)

This product

Red Planet [Blu-ray] (Sous-titres français) [Import]
CDN$ 16.83 CDN$ 16.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews