Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It only...takes a moment..."
Humans left the uninhabitable earth 700 years ago to live in luxury aboard huge space ships. Left alone on the planet was Wall-E, a little robot who still dutifully collects trash, compacts it, and stacks the cubes in sky-high stacks. He finds some interesting things in his job, but every night as he watches the romantic songs from his video of "Hello, Dolly!" he wishes...
Published on Dec 12 2008 by Kona

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I love the movie
Look, I love the movie. Absolutely love it. That is not the reason for the one-star review.

So I finally decided to treat myself to this movie (because lets face it, Disney movies are expensive), only to be severely disappointed with the packaging.

The DVD case is paper, and the insert that you are meant to slide the DVD out of is also paper. Both...
Published 5 months ago by Katherine Holm


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It only...takes a moment...", Dec 12 2008
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wall-E (DVD)
Humans left the uninhabitable earth 700 years ago to live in luxury aboard huge space ships. Left alone on the planet was Wall-E, a little robot who still dutifully collects trash, compacts it, and stacks the cubes in sky-high stacks. He finds some interesting things in his job, but every night as he watches the romantic songs from his video of "Hello, Dolly!" he wishes he could find someone to love.

I wasn't prepared for how moving this wonderful movie would be. The early scenes showing Wall-E painfully alone and longing for love are absolutely heartbreaking. Love does come, in the form of a robot named Eve, but she takes a little convincing, which is adorable, and she eventually saves Wall-E's life.

There's lots of fun and high-speed action aboard a huge spaceship and some guilty insights into the future of mankind (fat, lazy slobs catered to by robots). With humour, romance, thrills, and above all, a loveable trash-compactor named Wall-E, this is a movie all ages can enjoy. (Bring your tissues!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as everyone says it is, Sept. 29 2008
By 
Jack Blatant (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
I absolutely loved this movie. As a father of three, I feel like I've been through more than my fair share of kids' movies, but I went to see this one twice in theatres. At heart, this movie is a love story: simple, sweet, and beautiful.

It is true that this movie has an environmental message, but it is one of simplicity and hope rather than one that is dire and apocalyptic: the earth is ours, our home, and nothing can replace it. We need to take care of it.

In a time period when even kids' movies try to appeal to audiences with a certain jaded cynicism, this movie is honest and fresh, with a wonderfully appealing main character who ties the whole film together. I'll see this movie again, more than once. Maybe the kids will join me, maybe not. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I love the movie, Feb. 19 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wall-E (DVD)
Look, I love the movie. Absolutely love it. That is not the reason for the one-star review.

So I finally decided to treat myself to this movie (because lets face it, Disney movies are expensive), only to be severely disappointed with the packaging.

The DVD case is paper, and the insert that you are meant to slide the DVD out of is also paper. Both with moderately obnoxious inside folds to them, which catch on one another as you attempt to pull the DVD out. This also means that the DVD itself is pressed up against a paper surface while in storage, instead of on plastic tabs like a normal DVD case, to keep the disc from scratching. Also, the image and text printing on the DVD itself is blurry and honestly looks like something printed off your average computer printer, rather then something professionally done. Disney, I expected a lot better.

Great movie.

Useless and frustrating packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Own Blu-Ray Title!, Nov. 23 2008
By 
Nathan Poitras (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
5 Star Film, 5 Star Picture, 5 Star Sound, and a ton of extras (including the very funny 'Presto' animated short) make this the best Blu-Ray release of 2008! If you own a Blu-Ray player and want to show off your home theater, this one simply must be in your collection,it's the reason Hi-def was created in the first place, doesn't hurt that Wall-E was one of the very best movies of the year either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BD/DVD Combo is worth the extra money!, June 3 2013
By 
John Thomas Anderson (Southern Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wall-E [Blu-ray + DVD] (Sous-titres français) (Blu-ray)
Wall E is a sweet little film. In a true 2.39:1 big screen format, it's neither apocalyptic nor is it grim. It's just at heart a pretty little love story of two robots from opposite sides of the track and their quest to bring humanity back to planet earth. One of the better films from Pixar animation.

The main Bluray disc consists of the movie and two animated shorts, one 5 min. long, the other 8 min. long. The main audio is an English 5.1 DTS-HD track plus there are Dolby Digital 5.1 tracks in French and Spanish. It's not the best surround track I've ever heard, but it does the job! There are also two extra commentary tracks including one they call the Geek track.

There is also a second Bluray disc full of extras including arcade games, CG fly throughs of the Axiom, deleted scenes and various robotic profiles. Plus a third standard DVD which has the movie, two shorts and a couple of extras. The DVD audio tracks are in Dolby Digital 5.1 English and French. Being from 2008, there does not appear to be any digital copy.

For the extra five bucks, the BD combo pack is the way to go. You get an entire 2nd BD disc of extras plus with it's slipcover, a much classier looking release to place on your shelves that will perfectly match with Disney's other newer combo collections. Unlike the DVD collection which is in a weird all cardboard package which may eventually scratch the DVD's and doesn't match with any standard DVD cases. Disney must have gotten a lot of complaints about it as they never used it again on any other DVD releases. So do yourself a favour and go for the combo collection for the pitiful little extra money even if you don't currently have a bluray player. You'll be thankful in the long run.

J. A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wall-E, Sept. 7 2012
By 
Scoopriches (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wall-E (DVD)
One of the most daring movies ever made, brought to us by the amazing folks at Pixar, is also on of our most favourite movies of all time. The love story between two robots who are trying to save the world. Welcome to Wall-E!!!

About Wall-E:
In the beginning of this tale, we see that Wall-E is the last lonely little robot who is going about his rather monotonous job of cleaning up all the garbage we have left behind on the face of the Earth. Our plucky hero collects miscellaneous items and objects to entertain his circuits during the down times. And then a rocketship lands...

About EVE:
... And venturing forth from that rocket is EVE, an environmental probe, who at first ignores our little trash compacter robot. After awhile, EVE, who is all business, is finally formally introduced to Wall-E, and her circuits melt. This leads to a rollicking adventure for our two favourite bots as they chase, get chased, hurt, get hurt, fall in love, and most important of all, save the Earth!!

About Earth:
In this far future Earth, all us polluting humans have gone off into space to relax while bots like Wall-E make our planet peachy keen again. EVE's mission is to see if Earth has finally healed from our centuries long abuse. The all-important question by the climax of this wonderful journey is, will Wall-E and EVE be able to save all of humanity and the planet we call home?

Wall-E is filled with a great love story, an important message, lovely humour, and smile-inducing music. Time flies by whenever we watch this classic. And by the way... WALL-EEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!

Scoopriches
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ou comment la terre va être dans quelques générations si on ne fait pas plus attention !, Dec 20 2008
This review is from: Wall-E (DVD)
Un excellent film d'animation qui bien qu'avec un début un peu lent a démarrer fait merveilleusement son travail; c'est à dire nous divertir et nous faire sourire voir rire à l'occasion !

Il est tout de même très rare de voir un film où il n'y a pas un mot de prononcer ou presque durant la première demi-heure et où cela n'enlève rien au film mais fait plutôt rajouter un sentiment plus puissant de désolation et de solitude que vit ce pauvre Wall-e depuis des lustres...

On comprend donc facilement pourquoi dès qu'il voit apparaitre une autre forme de vie dans son environnement qu'il tombe fort vite sous son charme et ne veuille plus la laisser partir...

Notez que deux courtes animations sont présente en bonus: Presto et Burn-e qui sont toutes les deux absolument hilarantes ! Du grand Pixar encore une fois :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wall-E version française [Blu-ray], Feb. 4 2009
By 
La versión francocanadiense de Wall-E es una edición excelente, con audio y subtítulos en Inglés, Francés y Español, ambos discos con extras subtitulados y audiocomentario doblado al Español.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instant Classic!, Nov. 27 2008
By 
Rob G (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Wall-E is easily one of the best movies I've seen in a long time. It's perfect for kids, thought-provoking for older watchers, and hilarious for everybody involved.

Pixar has outdone themselves with their animation, and Wall-E is absolutely gorgeous. The titular robot is more expressive than most actors, and even without words his feelings, emotions, and thoughts are plain to see. The story is wonderful in a classic Disney way.

I can't recommend this movie enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful blu-ray, Nov. 1 2009
By 
Cheryl - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I originally double-dipped on Wall.e (yes, gasp) to justify getting the Pixar story, a superb 90min. documentary - far from being financially disappointed, I'm instead, completely rivetted by the exceptional quality of the film's visuals. Additionally, there are many other extras, but for me it's all about the beauty of Wall.e's artwork - the clarity and detail is astounding. If you love this movie, you'll be even more pleased with the blu-ray quality. (Also, if you have problems getting to all the extras there are teeny down arrows (2nd disc menus) that may be easy to miss.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wall-E [Blu-ray + DVD] (Sous-titres français)
Wall-E [Blu-ray + DVD] (Sous-titres français) by Andrew Stanton (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 26.50 CDN$ 19.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews