Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cooler than cool
Some will get it and some won't, but Long Riders is "it"!
Great cast, great direction, and a script that blends history and myth with style.
Great photography and a great soundtrack to boot!
Plus great action, and Western mystique galore.
They don't come much cooler than Long Riders.
A classic.
Published on March 19 2004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long Riders Is Long On Music, But Not On Plot
I saw this movie for the first time a couple of days ago. What hit me about the movie was the amount of music played in the movie. The movie is fair. Not a movie you would want to repeat several times in your lifetime. Maybe watch once and then move on. The cinematography is fine. It seemed to lack grit. I found it difficult to believe David Carradine as Cole Younger...
Published on June 2 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long Riders Is Long On Music, But Not On Plot, June 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Long Riders (DVD)
I saw this movie for the first time a couple of days ago. What hit me about the movie was the amount of music played in the movie. The movie is fair. Not a movie you would want to repeat several times in your lifetime. Maybe watch once and then move on. The cinematography is fine. It seemed to lack grit. I found it difficult to believe David Carradine as Cole Younger. Frank Keach was good as Jesse James, but brother Stacy Keach was passable as Frank James. I think a better rendition of the story of Jesse James and the Younger brothers was in the movie "The Great Northfield Minnesota Raid" made in 1972 as a television film (I believe). Cliff Robertson as Cole Younger and Robert Duvall as Jesse James seemed to be better renditions. The Long Riders is well made, but it seems to be missing something. Just rent it.....and if you really like the movie.....definitely buy it. Investigate the 1972 version with Duvall. Passable to good acting in the Long Riders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Raw Western - realism, May 15 2013
By 
Stuart Bourn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Long Riders [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) [Import] (Blu-ray)
An entertaining movie showing the raw violence of the time, removing some of the glamor put out by the traditional movies. Picture quality is a bit disappointing hence the 3 star rating. Casting is a bit questionable given the kind of super-star qualities we expect from these law-busters of the wild west. For Western buffs like me it is still a valued part of my collection - glad to own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cooler than cool, March 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Long Riders (DVD)
Some will get it and some won't, but Long Riders is "it"!
Great cast, great direction, and a script that blends history and myth with style.
Great photography and a great soundtrack to boot!
Plus great action, and Western mystique galore.
They don't come much cooler than Long Riders.
A classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars above average western with some great gun battles (3.5/5), Sept. 4 2007
This review is from: The Long Riders (DVD)
this is a movie about the James/Younger Gang of the old west and their
exploits.the gang is known for robbing banks and they also rob
trains.it's sort of told from a sympathetic view of the gang.the movie
doesn't really show them as bad men,but rather men who are a product of
their time.David Carradine plays Cole Younger,Keith Carradine plays Jim
Younger and Robert Carradine plays Bob Younger.Stacy Keach plays Frank
James,while James Keach plays Jesse James.Dennis Quaid plays Ed Miller
and Randy Quaid Plays Clell Miller,who also ride with the gang.for
me,this western is above average.there's lots of action and some
intense and(in my opinion)spectacular gunfights.this movie may have the
distinction of being the 1st movie to have real life brothers playing
brothers on screen.i thought the acting was pretty convincing,and the
filmmakers did a good job in making me feel some empathy for the
gang.if you like westerns,you should like this movie.for me,"The Long
Riders" is a 3.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the james and youngers ride again, April 13 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Long Riders (DVD)
This is the Western that out Peckinpahs Pekinpah! A gritty and bloody look at the greatest band of outlaws in American history with perfect casting and Walter Hill makes it look authentic and legendary all at once. Long Riders is a wonderful movie that hits the target and then some. It's a real Western gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, Feb. 27 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Long Riders (DVD)
This is as close to the truth as legends can ever be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, Jan. 6 2004
By 
M. Robertson "Mr Mike" (The Nexus of the Universe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Long Riders (DVD)
This movie is worth one time's watch, but if you want to see a real movie about the James gang, watch the Northfield Minnesota Raid starring Robert Duvall as Jesse James. Duvall really grimes it up in that movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars MANY OF THESE REVIEWS ARE OVER-RATING THIS MOVIE, Nov. 5 2003
By 
poakey (Max from Moseley, Birmingham) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Long Riders (DVD)
Based on the reviews here at this amazon site, I felt it sounded like a movie that I could buy and watch again and again. So I went out and paid the money. When I saw the movie, I returned it to the shop and asked if I could swap it for something else. I think the reviews here are over-rating this movie. Some how it paints the picture of brotherly love and how one brother backs another brother. Well that is trashed very early on, as Quaid junior is left on a limb by all including his older brother for messing up the first hit, not much look out for your brother there then. And what about the Guest brothers, they hardly did anything and their names make the cover of the dvd.
The final hit that the gang undertakes was a good bit of action, but the one thing that I detest is when the gang fire one shot and kill someone, but when other people fire at the gang it takes about 10 bullets hitting different parts of the body and they still don't die - I hate this, I hate this a lot. It seemed the whole village of about 150 people were firing at our gang of about 7 and in the process took about 150 bullets without dieing - what was going on? After the final hit, half turn them selves in and Cole Younger is sitting there in hospital and he looked like nothing happened, when infact he took 11 bullets - what the hell is going on man. A similar thing happened in the Return of the Magnificent Seven, about half a dozen take on a whole army (it also happened in the first of the Magnificent Seven movies, but that was stylish and I liked it), it just looked absolutely ridiculous, not even a 5 year old would buy that.
The score was probably not that good either as I have forgotten it. One of the reviewers reffered to it as one of the top 5 westerns of all time - eh eh, how wrong can you be, it would not even make my top 10 best westerns.
If you want to watch a western or buy one and you do not have or seen any of Clint Eastwoods dollar movies then forget the Long Riders.
PS: When I returned the Long Riders I swapped it for Once Upon a Time in the West, which was nearly 3 times the price but much much much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of best western ever, May 26 2003
By 
This review is from: The Long Riders (DVD)
After 23 years this continues to rank up there with one of the better realistic westerns. Outside of the Sam Starr and Cole Younger knife fight, everything seems to be historically accurate and even that may be true. I can watch this one over and over again. I also like The Wild Bunch, Once Upon a Time in the West and anything Eastwood. I still think the horses going the window scene and bank robbery itself ranks up there with the watch scene from Good, Bad, Ugly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars STYLISH WESTERN, Jan. 26 2003
By 
DAVID L. WOOD (ROCKSPRINGS TEXAS USA.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Long Riders (DVD)
I SAW THIS MOVIE AT THE AGE OF 15 ON THE BIG SCREEN WITH STEREO SOUND AND IT WAS TRULY AN EXPERIENCE.
THIS REALLY ISNT A MOVIE SUITED TO THE SMALL SCREEN AS ITS EXPLOSIVE IMPACT IS CERTINELY COMPROMISED BY WATCHING IT ON THE TUBE. BUT SHORT OF A RE RELEASE I GUESS VIDEO WILL HAVE TO DO.
THE FIRST THING THAT STRIKES THE VIEWER IS THE RUSTIC, WINING ALMOST EERY SOUNTRACK BEAUTFULLY DONE.
THE FACT THAT VARIOUS ACTING BROTHERS PLAY VARIOUS OUTLAW BROTHERS IS AN EXTREMLY UNIQUE AND REALISTICLY NOVEL APPROACH.
BROTHERS LOOK LIKE BROTHERS, SOUND LIKE BROTHERS. I DISAGREE WITH ANOTHER REVIEW OF THIS FILM. I THINK THE CASTING WAS PERFECT AND VERY EFFECTIVE.
AS AN AMETEUR HISTORIAN OF THE OLD WEST, I THINK THE STORYLINE FOLLOWS FACT ABOUT AS WELL AS ANY DRAMATIC REENACTMENT IS GOING TOO.
AND THEN THE DIRECTION IS EXPERTLY DONE BY WALTER HILL WHO MUST BE A PECKINPAH APPRENTICE. THE CLIMACTIC FINALLY OF THE FILM IS THE GANGS BOTCHED BANK ROBBERY IN NORTHFIELD MINNESOTA WHERE YANKEE SQUAREHEADS SHOOT THE GROUP TO RIBBONS. THE SLOW MOTION WAS NOTHING NEW BUT SLOW SOUND WAS. YOU CAN HERE THE ZIPPING OF THE MISSILES JUST PRIOR TO THEIR SPLATTERING IMPACT INTO FLESH.
IF YOU READ THE ACTUAL ACCOUNTING YOU WILL FIND THE MOVIE PLAYS TRUE RIGHT DOWN TO ONE OF THE YOUNGERS GETTING SHOT THROUGH THE JAW.
THE STUNT WORK WAS NOTHING SHORT OF EXCEPTIONAL AND THE EDITOR DESERVES RAVES TOO.
THERE IS A LITTLE BRIEF NUDITY THAT COULD HAVE BEEN LEFT OUT AS IT DOESNT WORK IN A WESTERN, BUT THATS ABOUT MY ONLY COMPLAINT.
THE MUSIC IS WELL WORTH THE PRICE OF ADMISSION BY ITSELF.
TURN THE LIGHTS OFF, LIMIT DISTRACTIONS AND CRANK THE VOLUME. THATS THE ONLY WAY TO WATCH THIS SHOW.
OVERALL IT IS ONE STYLISH WESTERN DESTINED TO BE A TRUE CULT CLASSIC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3e106d8)

This product

Long Riders [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) [Import]
CDN$ 22.46 CDN$ 16.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews