Customer Reviews


161 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it
I love movies like this little gem. It is a breath of fresh air and will watch again and recommend it to every one
Published 2 months ago by W. Anne Timmins

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute kids movie.
Summary:
The Little family - Frederick (Hugh Laurie), Eleanor (Geena Davis), and George (Jonathan Lipnicki) - want an addition to their family. When Frederick and Eleanor visit the orphanage they end up talking to a mouse who happens to be just the addition to their family they are looking for. When they bring Stuart (Michael J. Fox - voice) home, George seems to...
Published on May 20 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars stuart little, Dec 4 2002
By 
patrick (Chefornak AK, United States) - See all my reviews
he is cool and i liked him because he is a mouse and he is really really cool and he is not grose and he is noe a star but he is cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best family films!, Nov. 26 2002
By 
Stephen Verhaeren (Palos Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stuart Little (Full Screen) (DVD)
Stuart Little is one of the best family films and it is a must in your video or dvd collection. The movie runs at 84 minutes. This is a rare live action movie (with very little swear words), there are about 4 swear words. Now if all the swear words was cut fromn this movie (I believe this movie would have gotten a G rating) in less it is rated PG for something else. And you as a parent would have to cover you child(ren)'s ears. As the movie opens, with Mr. Little (Hugh Laurie) and Mrs. Little (Geena Davis) are about to adopt a younger brother for George Little (Jontathan Lipnicki). They come back with a mouse name Staurt Little (voiced by Michael J. Fox). And the family cat named Snowbell (voiced by Nathan Lane) is embrassed that is new owner is a mouse. And more embrassed if the street cats learn that his new owner is a mouse, so he decides to eat him, but Mr. Little and Mrs. Little make Snowbell drop him, and both warn Snowbell if Stuart Little is harmed, Snowbell will lose his house. George comes home, and gets diappointed to find his new brother is a mouse. Mr. and Mrs. Little threw a party for Stuart and of course other family members are expecting a child and they give presents like a bowling ball and a baseball. Now how is Stuart supposed to throw a baseball or roll a bowling ball.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars If you liked the book, get Stuart 2 and skip this, Nov. 24 2002
By 
Gregg Silk (Gaithersburg, MD) - See all my reviews
Shyamalan rewrote the classic children's book by E.B. White, one the most respected and beloved authors in the English language. And in EBWHite's book, Stuart is NOT an orphan. He is happy and adventurous, and in his travels he charms everyone he meets with his friendly cheerful attitude and his concern for his friends. Shyamalan throws away the entire plot and recasts Stuart as a mopey little rodent looking for his real parents. Also, the book has lots of lively action for the kids while slipping in little verbal absurdities for the adult reader. Shyamalan's dark and lifeless version loses both. Get SL2, which is closer the original book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars M. NIGHT SHLAMANIN IS ... STUART LITTLE, Oct. 24 2002
I'll tell you what made this movie good, the screenwriting. M. Night Shlaminin has made Stuart Little a metaphor for the human condition. The dialogue was to shlaminin for... I swear to god, or rather I swear to M. Night Shlamanin, that he should of written Stuart Little the book as well. He would of made it a cultural phenomenon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars stuart little, Oct. 6 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Stuart Little (VHS Tape)
i think the movie exciting and very funny.i liked the way lee evans acted. i also like the games you can bye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised, Aug. 15 2002
By 
I rented this DVD because I am a huge fan of British actor (and musician, comedian, novelist...) Hugh Laurie, and was very pleasantly surprised.
The animation is outstanding, so much that you don't even notice it, and Michael J. Fox is absolutely perfect as the voice of Stuart. The very colorful, almost-realistic-but-not-quite setting was quite well done, and the group of acting cats must have been a monumental accomplishment. Jonathan Lipnicki is cute as a bug, and Hugh Laurie (great fake accent!) and Geena Davis are perfect storybook parents who finish each other's sentences and eat a lot of meatloaf. Rounding out the talent is Nathan Lane as the voice of Snowbell, the cat who is mortified at having a mouse in the family.
It is fascinating to watch the extra features and to see just how much work went into making Stuart so real. Excellent work! A clean, fun, enjoyable movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I feel cheated by this one..., Aug. 14 2002
By 
Jim Jimson "finglao" (WA (state, not DC...duh!)) - See all my reviews
The movie is fun...but I am not rating the movie. I am rating the DVD product.
Well, I suppose I should have paid closer attention to the fine print on the back of the DVD, but I didn't. I bought this movie *specifically because* it is marketed as the "Deluxe Edition". Sadly, there is no reason for anyone to consider it "Deluxe". Generally speaking you can safely assume that a "Deluxe Edition" DVD is going to be either Wide Screen, or both formats. In fact, this is the very first DVD I've seen which breaks that assumption.
If you prefer the Wide Screen format and if you simply must have this film, then you'll have to settle for something that is nothing special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Movie!, July 17 2002
This review is from: Stuart Little (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is a great movie, including that Stuart can ride a toy car by itself. This even has a good cast: Michael J. Fox, Geena Davis, Hugh Laurie, Nathan Lane, Jonathan Lipnicki, David Alan Grier, and Steve Zahn. Why, all the Littles should be happy about this movie, and all the people who live in New York will love this movie, and there is going to be a sequel "Stuart Little 2" about Stuart and Snowbell saving their best friend from danger, you know they should make a "Stuart Little 3" and this was a great performance by Michael J. Fox and a great performance by Jonathan Lipnicki, including all the cast who made this possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A MISTAKE!, July 2 2002
By 
David F. Colella (SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
DELUXE EDITION? FOR WHO? RELEASING THIS FILM AGAIN BUT NOT MAKING IT A WIDESCREEN RATIO IS A BIG MISTAKE. IF THEIR AIM IS TO PLEASE CHILDREN, I HAVE NEWS FOR THEM. KIDS DON'T EVEN NOTICE THE BLACK BARS WHEN THEY ARE WATCHING WIDESCREEN MOVIES. PARENTS BUY THE MOVIES AND ENJOY THEM ALONG WITH THEIR CHILDREN, EITHER OFFER THE MOVIES WITH BOTH WIDESCREEN AND FULL FRAME VERSIONS AVAILABLE OR SUFFER LOW SALES BECAUSE OF SHORT SIGHTED SALES BLUNDERS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars WHAT? No Letterbox?, June 25 2002
Why on earth would Tristar release a "special edition" DVD and ruin it by only making it available in full screen format? This makes no sense!
Buy the "Stuart Little (Widescreen Edition)" instead. It comes with most of the special features plus a widescreen ANAMORPHIC format.
5 stars for the film.
1 star for the full-screen blunder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stuart Little [Blu-ray + DVD]
CDN$ 26.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews