Customer Reviews


161 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stuart Little brought to life
This is a marvelous adaptation of E.B. White's tale of the little mouse who found himself a place by the hearth in an all too human family. It is such a wonderful story and the animation brings Stuart Little to life. Hugh Laurie and Geena Davis play the adoptive parents to a tee, and the other members of the family provide excellent support. Jonathan Lipnicki turns in...
Published on Dec 10 2003 by James Ferguson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute kids movie.
Summary:
The Little family - Frederick (Hugh Laurie), Eleanor (Geena Davis), and George (Jonathan Lipnicki) - want an addition to their family. When Frederick and Eleanor visit the orphanage they end up talking to a mouse who happens to be just the addition to their family they are looking for. When they bring Stuart (Michael J. Fox - voice) home, George seems to...
Published on May 20 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Little Family has just gotten bigger in Stuart Little, Feb. 9 2001
By 
Stephen Verhaeren (Palos Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stuart Little (VHS Tape)
When Stuart Little begins, an exited George Little (Jonatahn Lipnicki) runs out for his bedroom and into his parents bedroom saying "It's today." What does he mean by that?
His parents, Mr. and Mrs. Little (Hugh Laurie, Geena Davis) are going to adopt a little brother for George. At the orphanage, they meet and fell in love with a mouse. They adopt the mouse. And name him Stuart Little.
Stuart thinks he is headed for a happy home, but the family cat named Snowbell (Nathan Lane) and George Little are not to happy about this. Snowbell decides to eat Stuart Little, but Mr. and Mrs. Little make him spit him up. The next day, George is still un-happy. Stuart Little ends up in the wisher. And Mrs. Little is too stupid to notice.
So Snowbell askes a cat named Smokey (Chazz Palminteri) to help him get rid of Stuart. There is aslo a boat race (which George Little wins). And Mr. and Mrs. Little throw a party. At the party, is George's Uncle Crenshaw (Jeffrey Jones). By now George has come to love his tiny brother. But a couple of mice show up (Bruno Kirby, Jennifer Tilly, Liar Liar) and take him away.
George and his uncles, aunts, Cousin and grandparents help make posters and put them up around Center Park.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HEARTWARMING, CUTE AND FUNNY!, Jan. 29 2001
This review is from: Stuart Little (Full Screen) (DVD)
He's probably the cutest computer generated mouse ever to be, well, computer generated! Stuart Little will definitely worm his way into your heart. You just can't help but fall in love with the guy! My five year old daughter loves the movie, as well. Okay, so maybe it's a little cheesey, but there's enough humor to entertain adults and enough action to hold a young child's attention, so what more can you ask for in a family film? Bear in mind, when you watch this movie as an adult you must be able to suspend reality for a while (a talking mouse being adopted by humans? Nothing strange about that, right)? But if you can, you're in for a treat, because it really is a very endearing film! Stuart Little is perfect for younger children (if you don't mind a few swearing cats) with a wonderful message woven throughout: THERE'S NOTHING QUITE LIKE BEING PART OF A FAMILY! The extra features on the DVD are great, too! In my opinion, this movie definitely belongs in EVERY family's collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not for Adopted Children, Aug. 15 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Stuart Little (Widescreen) (DVD)
I bought this DVD for my three-year-old, having recently read him the book by E.B. White. I decided to preview it first, and I'm glad I did! This movie should come with a warning label: ADOPTED CHILDREN SHOULD NOT WATCH THIS! Needless to say, the movie plot has little to do with the book. Counting the fact that Stewart is found in an orphanage, he is abandoned by parent figures a total of three times in the course of the movie! Once by his real parents, once by the Littles, and once by some mice posing as his real parents. This is a child's worst nightmare!
If you decide your little darling can get past that small detail, then there are other shortcomings to consider. Snowball the cat is his dasterdly self, but he also engages the help of mafia type alley cats that chase Stewart through Central Park. It's pretty scarey for little tykes.
Technically, it's what one would expect. Gena Davis is very disappointing. She seems to be comatose half the time. None of the characters has any depth.
Personally, I'd say it's not worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A well written movie with a well designed DVD, June 19 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Stuart Little (Widescreen) (DVD)
I think the best part about Stuart Little is not the talented actors, or the dazzling CGI and visual effects. It's the screenplay. When I first heard M. Night Shyamalan, the genius behind 1999's smash hit wonder "The Sixth Sense", cowrote this movie, my jaw hit the floor in disbelief. I saw the movie to check it out, and boy, was I impressed! Hard-core Sixth Sense fans can immediately tell when M. Night Shyamalan sprinkled his fairy dust in this movie, including the realism behind the Little family, Stuart's heartwarming speech at the orphanage, the emotional confession by the Stouts to Stuart that they were threatened into posing as his parents, and the segment immediately following, when Stuart proclaims to the city of Brooklyn that he is Stuart Little. Also, he lend a hand in determining the setting of this movie, which is Brooklyn, because there's something about M. Night Shyamalan that influences him to pick big city locations for his movies (ex. "The Sixth Sense" took place in Philadelphia), and the emotional sequences, like at the moment when the entire Little clan is searching for Stuart, when at the same time Stuart comes back to his real home: the Littles' home, but only comes home to Snowbell, who tells a blatant lie that the Littles were glad he left, and he helped with the ending alley cat sequences that were literally the entire reason this movie was rated PG. Through the movie, you scratch your chin wondering why this movie was rated PG. When these sequences begin near the end, it all becomes clear to you. During these sequences, there are 3 instances of foul language spouted by the very unflattering alley cats, and also there are rude and/or offensive comments by them as well, and through it all, there is suspense a little too great for kids, making the whole ordeal a little thematic for kids. Yet through it all, Stuart still has the fairy-tale like urge to say "Oh, dear...", and when the moment of the movie is out of M. Night Shyamalan's hands, it's good, clean family entertainment brought to you by Greg Brooker. And by the way, this movie isn't terribly along the lines of E.B. White, but it's still a good movie.
Now how 'bout that DVD? If you want it, make your pick: widescreen DVD or fullscreen DVD. They both have the same outstanding array of features made easy by Stuart, and they both have the same price, but I do wish both versions could have been put on ONE disc to make it simpler, because Columbia-Tristar Home Video already proved that possible with the DVD release of "Blue Streak". But, still, the features are impressive, and include a fun game about the movie which you don't need a DVD-ROM drive for, you can play it right on your player with your navigation buttons and your "enter" button. And the disc also has all 3 music videos of the main songs from the soundtrack, commentary by the director, animation supervisor, and visual effects supervisor, a Music-only track, CGI animation samples from effects animators trying out to work on the movie, deleted scenes with optional director commentary, trailers from several Columbia and Tristar movies for kids, including Muppets From Space, Baby Genuises, The Adventures Of Elmo in Grouchland, and, of course, Stuart Little, and many other films as well. AND (I never thought I'd have to say that about a DVD) the original concept reel of the Boat Race constructed of storyboards with commentary by the director, and talent files. And finally, it has an extended blooper reel that is FAR more pleasing than the one included on the VHS tape, and even a visual effects blooper reel, proving that visual effects animators are not just computer-jargin-spouting workacholics, with animated bloopers including a very brief one involving Snowball insisting he's "not strange", then his eyes and tongue bug out in a cartoony way, and a blooper from the scene where Mr. Stout pinches his wife.
So if you like a good movie based on a good book, see Stuart Little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Family sticks together!, June 18 2000
This review is from: Stuart Little (VHS Tape)
This has got to be the cutest and sweetest movie I've ever seen. Michael J. Fox was the perfect voice for the Little mouse. I could almost see Michael J. Fox as Stuart Little held his little hands in front of himself and said, "I'm family."
It took George, the little boy, time to get used to Stuart, but once he did, he was just like a brother.
The cat, Snow Bell, was perfect. All the little bits of dialogue between him and Stuart are priceless. "Can't we be friends?" Stuart asks. "Mmmm,... NO!" Snow Bell sputters. It was perfect. And the part where Stuart doesn't know what to do with a pet: "Can I scratch your belly?" and the cat says, "From the inside?"
E.B. White must be awfully proud of this film, as E.B. White wrote the book. I'm afraid I do not know how old the book is, but I think it is a classic, and the film done it proud.
Any child from three to a hundred and three should watch this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good points, bad points, pointy points, June 18 2000
This review is from: Stuart Little (VHS Tape)
There are good things about the movie, there are bad things about the movie. The four-year-old reviewer didn't like it because, and I quote, "the cats were mean." They were also funny, and the feline antics in this movie were one of its high points. The kid who played George was top-nitch, as well, even if the script he had to work with was a little thin (movies where one cast member's feelings about another go from hate to love in one scene drive me bats, and it happens here twice). Having never read E. B. White's book, I've no idea whether any of this at all was faithful to that, but if so, I need to go back and look at E. B. White with a far more critical eye; I think he's a better writer than this, though. Blame the adaptation.

And the mouse? The animation was good. Could have been better, but then I saw this five days after seeing Toy Story 2, and anyone's animation would pale in comparison to the wonders being churned out twice yearly by Pixar. So I can't really fault them for not spending the extra twenty million or so to come up with the world's best animation.

Now for the humans. First off, no one will be giving makeup Oscars to the person who worked on Geena Davis; had someone hit her with a ruler during the making of this film, it would have sunk in at least to the 6. She moves very slowly throughout the movie, no doubt because she's wearing at least fifty pounds of pancake makeup. The other main human character is Hugh Laurie; I've never been a Fry and Laurie fan, but I must admit he's an engaging sort. Almost as good as the kid.

And then come the cameos. There were so many stars in this movie with less than a minute of screen time I had flashbacks to The Thin Red Line. The always-underrated Kimmy Robertson shows up for a single line; Dabney Coleman gets about fifteen seconds. And so on, and so on. Even Chazz Palminteri (as the voice of the main alley cat) gets more screen time, and he never shows up bodily. Sheesh. (Palminteri, by the way, is a riot.) Even Estelle Getty, who's a many-times-proven comic genius, gets one line. The rest of her screen time is great because she plays a deadpan role better than any other seventy-odd-year-old lady in movies today, but it's still a waste of awe-inspiring talent.

So what do we have? A cute story that could have been scripted better; an excellent cast that could have been used better; and a bunch of really, really good animals. You make the call. If you take into account the fact that I got free parking out of it, I paid $1.25, which is about right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stuart Little DVD Review: A very touching family movie, June 7 2000
This review is from: Stuart Little (Widescreen) (DVD)
I never read the book. I guess I'm so sheltered that I never knew about Stuart Little. Why did I buy this DVD? I read articles of how this DVD is packed with extras on one DVD and they were right. It's loaded with extras! Just for that, I knew I had to check this DVD out.
I must let you know though that this DVD uses the "seamless branching technology" which a few DVD players won't play. My newer player has this problem but fortunately you can access the special features via your "goto" and "title" buttons.
The movie has great colors and the digital 5.1 can be heard in certain areas of the movie which is cool.
The movie itself was great and would be great to show your children. Cat lovers may question the movie and maybe PETA as well.
As for the extras...my when they say it's loaded...it's LOADED! Although the movie is 85 minutes long, they loaded this DVD with perhaps hours of extras. The gag reel is very funny and expect yourself to be watching this DVD for several hours.
I have to say that Stuart Little is one of the best DVD's that children and parents will love. It also features an all-star cast doing the voices of the characters.
The Stuart Little DVD is highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FOR ALL, not just children!, May 31 2000
By 
J. Williams "www.justinwilliams.co.uk" (Mildlands, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stuart Little (Widescreen) (DVD)
Stuart Little is one of those rare films that the entire family can watch and enjoy together. Children will be completely enthralled and adults will alternately laugh uncontrollably and wipe away the odd sentimental tear. The basic plot revolves around the Little family, who adopt Stuart (a mouse) despite warnings to "adopt within your own species." The computer-generated animation is flawless, and those with pet cats or rodents will share a knowing smile or two as the watch their pets' various personalities acted out on the screen. The DVD sound and picture is unbelievably clear and as for the extras - it's what Disney would call a 'special edition' - This is what a DVD should be like as standard. Great menu systems on the DVD and so many added extras. The commentary is much appreciated, as it's lovely to know how such effects were done. A HUGE hit for ALL AGES! I disagree with anyone saying this is just for kids - Imagination isn't confined by age! I'm 21 and love Disney and now, my new friend, Stuart Little!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Stuart Little, May 18 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Stuart Little (VHS Tape)
Stuart Little There have been many movies about mice who can talk and understand people. "Ralph," "Mouse Hunt," and "Witches" are just a few others. "Stuart Little" is definitely worth seeing. In it, Stuart who is a mouse, gets adopted by a human family. His human brother, George, wished for a real brother, and this is one of the things that he had to over come. Things started out rough for the family. In the beginning George wished that Stuart would leave. But eventually the clocks turned, and everything ended okay. Parts of this movie were hard to understand . It definitely was made up. Their house is the only house in the big city, and it is in between two tall skyscrapers. Once, when Stuart fell into a water way, he just "happened" to come up right in front of his house. This movie is rated PG, and I was a little bit surprised when the characters said some swear words. But overall it is a family movie. The main character is Stuart Little whose voice was that of Michael J. Fox, a well known comedian and actor. Stuart is a small mouse with tiny, beady eyes. George, Stuart's brother, is played by Jonathan Lipnicki. The mom is played by Geena Davis while the dad is played by Hugh Laurie. Again, this movie was great, and I would recommend it to people at any age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Mousekeeping, May 14 2000
By 
This review is from: Stuart Little (VHS Tape)
"Stuart Little," from E.B. White's novel of the same name, is a family treat that kids will enjoy that won't bore grownups. Stuart lives at the orphanage but he's different than the other boys and girls; you see, he's . . . little. He's a mouse. And as voiced by Michael J. Fox he's a most charming and beguiling mouse indeed.
When Stuart's parents get him home he has to contend with an indifferent older brother (who wanted a human brother) and a downright hostile house cat, Snowbell (snidely voiced by Nathan Lane). The plot will separate Stuart from his adoptive family, but through pluck and daring Stuart will be reunited with the Littles by picture's end.
The special effects are simply amazing. Everything from the cut of Stuart's sport jacket to the vroom of his Buick roadster come across as absolutely authentic. The audience is treated to a curb's-eye-view of Manhattan like none other; it's impossible not to feel sympathy for the courageous mouse. Let's hear it for computer animation! And for good stories like "Stuart Little"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stuart Little [Blu-ray + DVD]
CDN$ 35.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews