Customer Reviews


265 Reviews
5 star:
 (198)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unforgettable Disney Classic!
Those people that are saying Lion King was a rip-off of Kimba the Lion are only jaded anime otakus that seem to think American animation is always ripping off Japan.
Not true. In fact, The Lion King was an adaption of the famous Shakespearian play Hamlet where the main character(which the play is titled off of)'s father, the King, is killed by his jealous brother...
Published on July 25 2002 by Elaine Roche

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Premium Pricing for an Old Product
For a movie that's almost 20 years old, Disney is crazy charging so much! New releases are cheaper and they at least include a Digital Copy.
Published 11 months ago by IsStickel


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unforgettable Disney Classic!, July 25 2002
By 
Elaine Roche "Bunny" (Whitmore Lake, MI United States) - See all my reviews
Those people that are saying Lion King was a rip-off of Kimba the Lion are only jaded anime otakus that seem to think American animation is always ripping off Japan.
Not true. In fact, The Lion King was an adaption of the famous Shakespearian play Hamlet where the main character(which the play is titled off of)'s father, the King, is killed by his jealous brother. Told by his father's ghost to avenge his death, Hamlet does so, the similarity ends with Disney's trademark happy ending (in Hamlet, everyone dies at the end).
This movie, though not my favorite of all the Disney animated features (that title belonging to The Hunchback of Notre Dame), is superbly made and has earned it's recognition as one of the greatest animated features of all time very easily. I'd go as far to say that if Walt were alive when it was released, he would have been proud.
The music, acting, animation and overall story are all blended together seamlessly into a movie you have to be completely abnormal not to love.
Buy this movie, you won't regret it, even after the upteenth viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest movies of all time., Oct. 18 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What is there to say about The Lion King that has not been said. it is one of the greatest movies of all time and will always be a classic and also one of the, if not the best, Disney movies since 1928. Really if you have any thoughts about not buying this discard them RIGHT AWAY the only reason you should not buy this is if you dont have the money at the moment because this is a movie that should be enjoyed by all and continue being one of the best for generations to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., Jan. 9 2012
This review is from: The Lion King (VHS Tape)
This is my sister's favorite movie, and I must say it's in my top ten, too. There's just something about Disney. The animation and the soundtrack come together to make this another superb addition to any VHS/DVD/blu-ray collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney Classic, Nov. 13 2011
By 
Loved it the first time around; now being older I enjoy it still just as much. Since I don't have any Blu-ray devices I enjoy that this pack still comes with the regular DVD as well. This is one of Disney's Classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Last Great Disney Features (spoilers included), June 27 2004
By 
J. A Hayes (Montgomery, AL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Lion King debuted in 1994 and at the time became the highest grossing animated movie of all-time. Why? Because it had everything a Disney animated feature should have: a hero, great songs, beautiful animation and most importantly, charm. It is the story of Simba, who is born to Mufasa and one day will become king of the pridelands. In the beginning we see the strong bond between father and son, as Mufasa teaches Simba the things he needs to know to survive. Mufasa has a brother, Scar, who is jealous of Simba and feels like he is the rightful heir to the throne. Scar sets up Mufasa to be killed and then convinces Simba to run away by persuading him that his father's death was his fault. Simba runs away and is befriended by Timon and Pumba who help to raise the cub. So all the while Simba is growing up, Scar is ruling the pridelands just the way it should not be ruled. The land has become dry and the herds of animals once plentiful have migrated elsewhere. The kingdom is in disarray and the lions, with the exception of Scar, are suffering. Once Simba is grown he comes to realize what is going on at home and he is faced with the decision of taking his place as king or not going back.
This Platinum dvd edition presents a fully loaded 2-disc set, wih some interesting commentaries, deleted scenes and art galleries which are always fun. In some ways I felt like the set was targeted at kids rather than the true Disney fans, due to the inclusion of the virual games and music videos. That is a silly complaint on my part though, as I am proud to own a dvd quality copy of the Lion King. It is so amazing to be able to see the best picture possible with all the bright colors, and to hear this on the surround system. You really couldn't ask for more in a dvd. The only one true complaint is the inclusion of the Morning Report song into the film. It does not fit and it was so hard finding the original version without the song. In fact the whole layout on here is difficult to navigate and can be aggravating. Once you figure it out though I am sure you will be completely satisfied with the dvd that Disney has given us.
Although I can't personally say The Lion King is my favorite Disney animated movie, it certainly is near the top of my list and I recommend seeing it if you have not. Chances are you have seen it, but there are those who haven't. Great songs, smooth animation, loveable characters make this movie a true Disney classic, and in my opinion one of the last great Disney features (Lilo and Stitch is also a good one), and it is a shame that Disney doesn't seem to want to put more heart and effort into their movies these days. But if you like the movie pick this one up as it will go out of print next year, and I also recommend the other titles in the Platinum line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Gift, Feb. 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My son enjoyed this movie very much. My son watches it over and over. A great gift for any child or adult too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Disney, Jan. 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lion King (Bilingual) (DVD)
I watched Disney classics on VHS when my children were young. I am now replacing them with digital (DVD or Blu-ray) versions, so we can watch them into the future with our grand-children. They never get 'old' and it's wonderful to relive days of times gone by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very satisfied customer!, Jan. 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lion King (Bilingual) (DVD)
I was very happy with my purchase and I got it on time for a gift for my daughter!! Thank you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 3D rare copy, Jan. 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
you wont find this movie in stores for another 5yrs. Found a copy on Amazon and it is incredible what they have done to the original. hard to believe there isn't CGI in this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lion King, Jan. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An epic children's animated movie that is sure to tug at your heart strings. It delivers adventure, life lessons and some sadness. The host of characters are humorous, sinister and/or just plain delightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbfa9a888)

This product

The Lion King (Diamond Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD) (Sous-titres français)
CDN$ 69.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews