Customer Reviews


340 Reviews
5 star:
 (277)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After A While One Doesn't Notice It Is Animated
It is quite rare for any animated film to be treated with the same respect as any other honored non-animated one. In BEAUTY AND THE BEAST, directors Kirk Wise and Gary Trousdale take the time-worn fairy tale of the outwardly loathsome beast who impossibly enough allows his inner nobility to shine forth sufficiently to cause the beauty to fall in love with him. Robby...
Published on June 17 2004 by Martin Asiner

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Travesty to Disney Heritage
When I bought Disney's Beauty and the Beast "Special Platinum Edition" I was expecting just that, a high quality film with added extras not contained on the original. Instead, what I found myself with was a tampered work of art, a disgraced former masterpiece. The entire movie looks like it has had it's color stripped from it and repainted with bargain bin paints. No...
Published on Jan. 14 2003 by Benjamin R Kneen


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After A While One Doesn't Notice It Is Animated, June 17 2004
By 
Martin Asiner (jersey city, nj United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is quite rare for any animated film to be treated with the same respect as any other honored non-animated one. In BEAUTY AND THE BEAST, directors Kirk Wise and Gary Trousdale take the time-worn fairy tale of the outwardly loathsome beast who impossibly enough allows his inner nobility to shine forth sufficiently to cause the beauty to fall in love with him. Robby Benson is the voice of the Beast and Paige O'Hara is Beauty. Even for those readers familiar with the spoken tale or the revamped music video with Meatloaf as the Beast cannot help but allow themselves to be entranced with the seamless melding of sight to sound. The plot is simplicity itself with the Beast as the archetypal symbol of the rebirth of nobility long hidden by the evil spell of a unnamed wizard. There is nothing childish is the unfolding of the tale of Belle the Beauty who chooses to sacrifice herself in marriage to save the life of her doddering inventor father. Enter the Beast who is initially presented as the roaring brute that his tormenting wizard clearly intended him to be. Yet, as Belle ministers to his psychic wounds of self-loathing and his physical wounds incurred in defending her against a pack of wolves, the viewer can see a competing spell at work, one that is older than time itself--the power of love that the film's many songs allude to and function as as subtext that imbues it with timeless energy. There is, of course, some needed plot complications of unwanted attention heaped on Belle by the handsome but warped Gaston, who plots to snare Belle in marriage as firmly as he would stalk a reindeer for its antlers. As Gaston leads the villagers in an assault on the Beast's manor, one is reminded in reverse of the cliched villagers pounding at the walls of Doctor Frankenstein's castle, but in this case the attack in presented in comic tones that keep the real world of harm at bay.
BEAUTY AND THE BEAST has no down moments, with each fresh plot advancement heralded by stunningly effective animation and song. This film was a deserved nominee for Best Picture in 1991, and with repeated viewings, one may rest assured that the alternately gloomy and resplendent halls of the Beast will eternally resonate with the same cachet that gives Tara, Oz, or Rick's Cafe a ticket that allows the bearer to see just how awesome the human spirit can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty and The Beast blu ray...a magnificent masterpiece in video and audio, Oct. 26 2010
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Video: According to the pamphlet insert, when Disney went back and reexamined the film's master elements, they found that they were covered with "white dirt and water spots,", Disney had to go through "extensive spotting sessions with the film's creators" and restore the elements in order to make them high definition worthy. The final result is simply majestic video, with vivid and vibrant colour that jumps out at you. Fine details are there. Overall, the video is awe-inspiring and magnificent. The scene of the dancing in the ballroom is too beautiful for words. (5/5)

Audio: Disney also went back to the source with original sound mixer Terry Porter, who was nominated for Best Sound in 1999, and created an all new 7.1 mix. The audio is also fantastic, with clear dialogue while the subwoofers also had a good work-out from all the roars. There are also many beautiful songs that one can sing-along. It is seldom that three songs from the same movie were nominated for the Best Original Song in the Academy Award. In this case, "Beauty and The Beast", "Belle" and "Be My Guest" were nominated. And the icing on the cake was that the song "Beauty And The Beast" won the Best Original Song Oscar in 1991. There are two versions in this movie: one by Angela Lansbury, and the pop version at the End-Credit was sung by Celine Dion and Peabo Bryson. By the way, the other movies with 3 songs nominated for Oscars are "Tarzan", "Enchanted" and "Dreamgirls" (5/5)

I am glad that Disney took its time to create such a magnificent masterpiece in "Beauty And The Beast". It is worth the long wait. I am looking forward to Disney's future releases, such as "Bambi" and "The Lion King" next year. Highly recommended and a must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty and the Beast, Dec 7 2010
Although I live neither in a cave nor on Mars, I only saw Beauty for the first time a few weeks ago (2010). I had to have a copy. It's the finest animated feature I've ever seen and one of the best movies of any kind. Walt Disney's goal in the 1930s was to make first-rate movies for the whole family and Beauty is exactly that. The music, animation, screenplay and characters are very close to flawless. Everything fits. Everything works.
It sounds like the best of Broadway, will bring laughs and tears, yet Belle and the Beast have their noble characters very well developed. It's a total joy to watch, regardless of your age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Magic!, July 9 2004
This review is from: Beauty & The Beast (VHS Tape)
Bringing this classic fairy tail to life is one of the best things that Disney has ever done. Every second of this film is full to the brim with wonder and magic. More than ten years after first seeing it, there are still some scenes that make me gasp at their beauty.
The movie provides all of the usual Disney elements of gorgeous animation, skilled voice actors, awesome original songs, and non-stop entertainment, but there's something special in the mix. We get one of the most believable and heart felt romances to ever grace the animated world. As a child every time I read a picture book of this Fairy Tail I found it impossible to believe that a woman could love a beast, but Disney found a way to make it happen. You truly believe that it's possible, and feel her pain when she thinks she's lost him.
In the classic Disney fashion, Beauty and the Beast brings along a message for the kids to learn. We see the value of intelligence and compassion, learn to look beyond the superficial, and discover that love knows no boundaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After A While One Doesn't Notice It Is Animated, June 17 2004
By 
Martin Asiner (jersey city, nj United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is quite rare for any animated film to be treated with the same respect as any other honored non-animated one. In BEAUTY AND THE BEAST, directors Kirk Wise and Gary Trousdale take the time-worn fairy tale of the outwardly loathsome beast who impossibly enough allows his inner nobility to shine forth sufficiently to cause the beauty to fall in love with him. Robby Benson is the voice of the Beast and Paige O'Hara is Beauty. Even for those readers familiar with the spoken tale or the revamped music video with Meatloaf as the Beast cannot help but allow themselves to be entranced with the seamless melding of sight to sound. The plot is simplicity itself with the Beast as the archetypal symbol of the rebirth of nobility long hidden by the evil spell of an unnamed wizard. There is nothing childish in the unfolding of the tale of Belle the Beauty who chooses to sacrifice herself in marriage to save the life of her doddering inventor father. Enter the Beast who is initially presented as the roaring brute that his tormenting wizard clearly intended him to be. Yet, as Belle ministers to his psychic wounds of self-loathing and his physical wounds incurred in defending her against a pack of wolves, the viewer can see a competing spell at work, one that is older than time itself--the power of love that the film's many songs allude to and function as as subtext that imbues it with timeless energy. There is, of course, some needed plot complications of unwanted attention heaped on Belle by the handsome but warped Gaston, who plots to snare Belle in marriage as firmly as he would stalk a reindeer for its antlers. As Gaston leads the villagers in an assault on the Beast's manor, one is reminded in reverse of the cliched villagers pounding at the walls of Doctor Frankenstein's castle, but in this case the attack in presented in comic tones that keep the real world of harm at bay.
BEAUTY AND THE BEAST has no down moments, with each fresh plot advancement heralded by stunningly effective animation and song. This film was a deserved nominee for Best Picture in 1991, and with repeated viewings, one may rest assured that the alternately gloomy and resplendent halls of the Beast will eternally resonate with the same cachet that gives Tara, Oz, or Rick's Cafe a ticket that allows the bearer to see just how awesome the human spirit can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty is only skin deep, April 17 2004
By 
Robin M Goffinet (Richmond, IN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beauty & The Beast (VHS Tape)
When Belle, who lives with her father Maurice, goes into town, she is looked upon as a strange girl who's nose is always stuck in a book. She's also the prettiest girl in town according to the snobish and self absorbed Gaston. So when Maurice gets lost in the woods on the way to an inventors fair, he finds a castle belonging to a beast that had once been a prince. The prince had been a selfish and absorbed jerk too, but was cursed by an enchantress to remain a beast until he could learn to love another and earn her love in return. Anyways, the beast has a major problem with Maurice being there and locks him in the tower. So when Belle finds her father and is confronted by the beast, she takes his place as prisnor and Maurice is released.
At first, Belle is terrified by the beast's temper and hideous appearance. Then she starts to actually get to know him and her opinion of him changes. After a while, the beast finds it in his heart to let her go. She goes home to find out that Gaston is trying to bribe her into marrying him by threatening to throw her father in the loony bin.
All in all, Gaston gets what's coming to him and Belle realizes that she's in love with the beast. She is rewarded by discovering his true identity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 90's Disney Classic, March 3 2004
By A Customer
I'm not one of those people who are impressed with the Pixar animation type films (i.e. "Toy Story", "A Bug's Life" etc.), so it comes very easily to me to praise "Beauty and the Beast". More than a decade after its theatrical debut, it still stands as my favorite Disney film, along with the brilliant "The Little Mermaid". There are not enough words that describe how superior and masterful this film really is. From the lushly detailed animation, to the amazingly structured characters to the award-winning songs to the haunting score. Everything about this film is top-notch. Ever since I watched this film in the theatre in 1992, it holds a special place in my heart. When you mention "Disney" to me, it can only mean "Beauty and the Beast". The thing I most love about this masterpiece is the Broadway-feel the directors gave to it. Songs such as "Belle" (and the reprise), "Be Our Guest" and "The Mob Song" are pure Broadway songs, thanks to the talented Alan Manken and Howard Ashman. But it's also the way the direction. The reprise of "Belle" is the most breathtaking scene in the film. Belle sings about wanting "much more than this provincial life" and the scenery of this song is stunning with Belle seen running in the hills - reminiscent of Julie Andrews in "The Sound Of Music". The film also won 2 Academy Awards in 1992 for best song (the title song) and for its magnificent score. Not to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Travesty to Disney Heritage, Jan. 14 2003
When I bought Disney's Beauty and the Beast "Special Platinum Edition" I was expecting just that, a high quality film with added extras not contained on the original. Instead, what I found myself with was a tampered work of art, a disgraced former masterpiece. The entire movie looks like it has had it's color stripped from it and repainted with bargain bin paints. No longer are there rich colors, sharp contrasts, and beautiful sceney, but now the film looks worse than it's straight to video sequel. The cover looks great, that's what the film used to look like, but the actual DVD is no where near that good looking. Some of the animation looks like it has had some of its detail removed and when I was watching it seemed like some of the frame rate was reduced because of the sluggish movement of the characters mouths when speaking. It is a completely different movie and I have since returned my copy and stuck with my original release. Some of the games and extra features are interesting and entertaining, but that's really like saying a TV show was awful, but there was a funny commercial here and there. I wish Disney would stop messing around with their work and just leave it the way we all saw it and loved it in the theaters. Walt would have never let something like this leave the studio if he were still running it, and that's the bottom line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars call me biased, but..., Nov. 3 2002
I was eight years old when Beauty and the Beast first came out, and I must say, I prefer the old video version to this new DVD. I watched the DVD the other night while I was babysitting. There's a song in it called "Human Again" that wasn't in the first release. I could see why they cut it. Except for the kind of touching little scene with Belle and the Beast reading, that corny song was unnecessary. Also, I dunno if this was due to the TV or not, but the colors seemed too rich, too bright (i tried adjusting the TV, but the colors still didn't look right). I remember the colors being much softer, not so intense. The DVD version of the movie looked too much like a TV cartoon rather than feature film animation. I did like the sound, though. Unless you're a huge fan of the movie and want to see the extras included in the DVD, I suggest searching for the old release of the video (that is in good condition) in a used video store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tale as Old as Time, Feb. 16 2004
By 
J. Ourada "trackdistancerunner" (California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
WIthout a doubt the most lovely Disney movie ever. Actually one of the best movies ever. This newly restored eddition is so wonderful. It has tons of extras that everybody loves, that are also extremely facinating. They have the original music video with Celine Dion singing Beauty and the Beast which is one of the most beautiful songs ever written. The newly restored version of the movie is breathtaking. I remember being mezmerized with it when I was growing up. I thought it was the best movie ever and today I still think it is the best (Well only Sound of Music tops it). This movie is one of the best love stories ever written and there is a reason it was the first animated movie to be nominated for an oscar. If you don't have this you are missing out on the most amazing movies ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews