Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sci-fi with a romantic twist or vice versa?
The Adjustment Bureau is a fun, stylish film that manages to blend a sci-fi premise with a Mad Men-like aesthetic (even including John Slattery of the popular TV series in its cast). Based on a short story by Philip K Dick, The Adjustment Bureau is miles away from other movies based on the author's work. Unlike Blade Runner, Total Recall, and Minority Report (based on...
Published on July 13 2011 by Andre Farant

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 1-trick pony
Disappointing. Whereas I can re-watch Damon's Jason Bourne series time and again, this film is strictly 'one-and-done'. It does feature a fresh approach in telling sci-fi, but lacks the complexity and action of even the most recent Star Trek offerings. If I had seen it at the cheapie theater, I would have been content, but I don't see the value in adding it to a...
Published 11 months ago by Canuck Teach


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sci-fi with a romantic twist or vice versa?, July 13 2011
By 
Andre Farant (Ottawa, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The Adjustment Bureau is a fun, stylish film that manages to blend a sci-fi premise with a Mad Men-like aesthetic (even including John Slattery of the popular TV series in its cast). Based on a short story by Philip K Dick, The Adjustment Bureau is miles away from other movies based on the author's work. Unlike Blade Runner, Total Recall, and Minority Report (based on Dick's "Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep", "We'll Remember It for You Wholesale", and "The Minority Report" respectively), this film focuses primarily on the relationship between the two main characters rather than action sequences and the fantastic new world in which those sequences take place. In fact, The Adjustment Bureau takes place in a contemporary setting, with only a few sartorial details (like an unusual number of black fedoras) to indicate that things aren't entirely what they seem.

The story is of a young, up-and-coming (or flash in the pan?) politician named David and played by Matt Damon, who meets a young dancer named Elise and played by Emily Blunt. They are attracted to each other, almost despite themselves, but, as they initiate a relationship, mysterious forces in the guise of suited, hat-wearing men in black conspire to keep them apart.

I haven't read the source material, titled "The Adjustment Team", so I can't say if the focus on character rather than premise is present in the original or entirely the work of writer-director George Nolfi. Either way, it is a nice touch. The chemistry between Damon and Blunt is perfect and we find ourselves wanting to spend more time with them, sci-fi premise be damned. It's good that this is the case, not only because it makes the movie a pleasure to watch, but because it is absolutely integral to the plot that we, the audience, believe and agree that these two belong together, even if they've only met a few times and have barely even had a proper date.

Personally, I think it worked, and the more fantastic elements of the movie manage to inject what would be a pleasant but unoriginal love story with a little new blood, turning into what could be viewed as a sort of techno-fairy tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshingly original, Aug. 4 2011
By 
W. H. Boudreau "SpecSpiFan" (Halifax, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When the previews appeared for this film, I was uncertain what to make of it..sci-fi is often improperly handled in our present time...where Transformer-esque films are prevalent. Complexity often obtains no reward save in DVD sales with hardcore fans of such a genre..in this case...the Philip K. Dick story is extrapolated into a truly relatable film with likeable characters...both Matt Damon's David and Emily Blunt's Elise have unquestionable chemistry which is a definite must for a film on free will vs. choice re: romance and lifelong love. The film is tightly shot, the cinematography allows New York to become as much a part of the film as the actors... The story as a simple story of consequences of daily actions toward our eventual aspirations/goals is strong enough to keep the viewers attention; be it David's burgeoning political career or Elise's meteoric rise as a world class dancer...the addition of these mysterious figures known as the Adjustment Bureau take this film to a new level, making it a creative sci-fi opus rather than a straightforward romance/drama...the action is taut, the tale gripping and overall a great yarn worthy of the viewers time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The special effects are awesome!", Jan. 20 2012
This review is from: Adjustment Bureau (Blu-ray)
Adjustment Bureau [Blu-ray] Blu-ray Edition, A movie of the week club I belong to purchased this movie for us to watch. We so enjoyed it! Make sure you buy this product and you can thank my movie club later.

This story was based on a story by Philip K. Dick. "The Adjustment Bureau" exposes those (both) human and nonhuman who are controlling fate, that is until David Norris and Emily Blunt fall for each other time and again messing up the best laid plans of the Chairman the entity in charge of the Adjustment Bureau.

The movie is fast-pace, exciting, and far from the 'same old,' 'same old,' of the films out today in this genre. I, for one, enjoy most any movie with Matt Damon. He's alwsys plays such believe characters and the storylines he chooses to play in seem so realistic. He is a wonderful actor.

The special effects in "The Litigators" are awesome! This is one flick that I happily give 2 thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 1-trick pony, April 6 2014
By 
Canuck Teach "canuck_teach (-: :-)" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Disappointing. Whereas I can re-watch Damon's Jason Bourne series time and again, this film is strictly 'one-and-done'. It does feature a fresh approach in telling sci-fi, but lacks the complexity and action of even the most recent Star Trek offerings. If I had seen it at the cheapie theater, I would have been content, but I don't see the value in adding it to a home-video library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great film adaptation of Philip K. Dick's short stories., Sept. 7 2011
By 
Andrew in Calgary - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Start with an amazing concept, then add a great romance and a major dilemma. Then get a great cast and fine director who is also an excellent screenwriter. The result is a wonderful movie, and you'll notice that the timing and delivery of lines by every actor is amazing.

John Slattery as Richardson is probably my favorite, but everybody performs well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars cool drama, thriller, tensish thing...movie, Nov. 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Fun Phillip K. Dick movie. Quality is excellent nothing visually breathtaking in here though. But quality is good sound is too. Great story about ...destiny?
Seller shipped and arrived on time- in perfect condition and no issues with disc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Destiny calling?, April 7 2014
Based on the Philip K Dick short story, the film does pose an original an idea. What if we are being guided or influenced all our lives... what if THEY are already among us?

When Matt Damon accidently sees beneath the skin of the world he must fight to save a love that does not yet exist, and maintain his own sanity. There are some great moments in this movie; I love it when the "adjustment team" complain that they are chronically understaffed.

But there are some clunky parts too: everyone seems to assume that the adjustment team are benevolent. Couldn't they equally be devils or aliens working against humanity.

There are some novel ideas in this film (and it is interesting to see it's influence today, particularly in stories like the amazing [[[...]]]) but ultimately they are not explored to their fullest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Romantic Sci-Fi? You Bet!, July 7 2013
By 
Andrew Salmon (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really enjoyed this movie. The trailers for the film tried to pass it off as either a romantic film or an action jaunt. Well, it's both and I believe it does both genres very well.

The sci-fi element, the Adjustment Bureau, is very well presented and fittingly creepy while also thought provoking as all good sci-fi should be. The key here is that the romance/love interest is not just tacked on to try to lure the female audience in but is essential to the plot. The romance is the plot. And that makes all the difference.

Well acted, well-written, well shot with some very nicely done effects, The Adjustment Bureau does not merely straddle the line between action movie/romance, but, rather, becomes almost a genre unto itself.

The movie is very entertaining. Damon and Blunt give us characters we root for and the end of the film satisfies. Put this one under Lost Gems. A very, very good movie. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what if there was a predetermined plan mapped out for your life?, May 19 2011
By 
falcon "disdressed12" (canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
i enjoyed this film based on the short story by Philip K. Dick.the premise is that we are not in control of our destiny,that their is a plan for our lives.if we deviate from that plan,there is a small group of men who are sent to get us back on track,and following the predetermined plan.if we refuse to accept the plan and continue to deviate,the consequences can be dire both on an individual level and on a larger scale.This is what happens to David Norris(Matt Damon)who wants more than what fate has planed for him,and so he gets a visit from The Adjustment Bureau.i won't go any further into the plot.you'll have to watch the film to find out more.suffice to say,the movie is entertaining,thought provoking and compelling.for me,The Adjustment Bureau is a 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars This is not a very good movie from Matt Damon even though the story line ..., Jan. 10 2015
By 
CP (Montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is not a very good movie from Matt Damon even though the story line is unique for a sci-fi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adjustment Bureau
Adjustment Bureau by Matt Damon (Blu-ray)
CDN$ 27.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews