Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gate to Pegasus
One of the big arcs of the "Stargate SG-1" series was finding the Lost City of the Ancients, also known as Atlantis.

It also turned into fertile fodder for a spinoff series (come on, you KNEW they had to make one eventually). And though it had a slightly shaky start -- much like its parent series -- the following seasons saw "Stargate: Atlantis" blossom out...
Published on Aug. 25 2011 by E. A Solinas

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad packing cases
I have nothing to say about the series, I am kind of a fan... But the packaging case is horrible. At least two episodes cannot be seen because of small scratches caused at the factory packing. And I think it will worsen as the time goes by, since one has to extract the discs parallel to the surface of the disks instead of perpendicular (hence the risk of scratching them...
Published 17 months ago by M Solano


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gate to Pegasus, Aug. 25 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
One of the big arcs of the "Stargate SG-1" series was finding the Lost City of the Ancients, also known as Atlantis.

It also turned into fertile fodder for a spinoff series (come on, you KNEW they had to make one eventually). And though it had a slightly shaky start -- much like its parent series -- the following seasons saw "Stargate: Atlantis" blossom out into a solid sci-fi series with a legendary series, new alien parasites, and new nasty machines from long ago.

At the Antarctic base, Daniel Jackson (Michael Shanks) has finally figured out the location of Atlantis -- in the Pegasus galaxy. General Jack O'Neill (Richard Dean Anderson) lets an exploratory unit to go to Atlantis -- even though they don't have the power to return back to the Milky Way, and will be stranded there.

So Dr. Elizabeth Weir (Torri Higginson) leads an international group of scientists and military personnel to another galaxy, and arrive in the sunken Ancient city of Atlantis. After some initial problems, the ancient city is secured and has risen above the water -- but unfortunately the military unit, including Major John Sheppard (Joe Flanigan), have run afoul of the parasitic, life-sucking alien Wraith, who destroyed the Pegasus Ancients long ago.

And the Pegasus galaxy has plenty of its own dangers -- nanoviruses, spies, life-sucking bugs, cannibal Wraith, enzyme addicts, whales, an egomaniac baker, weird Ancient devices, Wraiths transformed into humans (and vice versa), "alternate reality drives," Ancient artifacts, crooked businessmen, fear machines, a race of hybrid bug monsters, crystalline nightmare aliens, and a race of ruthless soldiers pretending to be Amish-like farmers.

The Atlantis base regains contact with Earth, but this may not be enough to save them from the Wraith's attempts to gain control of Atlantis, and an Ancient experiment gone horribly wrong. At the same time, Atlantis receives two new commander -- first Colonel Samantha Carter (Amanda Tapping), formerly of SG-1, and then the once-fussy Woolsey (Robert Picardo).

The whole idea was introduced over a few seasons of "Stargate SG-1," some of the characters were also recurring characters, and Tapping was a regular. Teal'c and Daniel even drop in. And while the first season is a bit bland ("The romancing of the alien priestess? It's very 1967 of you," Rodney snipes) the storyline hits its stride in the second season.

And it has plenty of sci-fi staples -- ugly nasty aliens, tightly wound scientists, little tubular ships, explosions, moral quandaries and a bit of classic-style horror (just look at Michael's "experiments"). But it doesn't lose its laid-back style, and the dialogue is pretty great, with lots of one-liners and snappy exchanges, with the occasional pop culture reference ("It's the ultimate answer to the great question of life, the universe and everything!").

Most are from Rodney ("Just once, I would like to be taken prisoner by the sexy alien!"), and Sheppard ("But then I'd be The Man, and who would I have to rage against?"). But there's humor from everyone ("He put his hand in my forehead! How can you resist that?" "Well, I like to close my eyes and think of England"), including the Wraith ("I hope they prove as delicious as the farmers who grew them").

One thing Atlantis does have is a high cast turnover, compared to the relatively unchanging cast of the previous series. But Flanigan has a nice O'Neillian snap to his performance ("I HATE clowns!"), David Hewlett is hilarious as the antisocial, ever-exasperated scientist, Tapping and Wigginson are solid commanders, and Paul McGillion is adorable as a Scottish doctor. And while Rachel Luttrell and Jason Momoa are never quite as endearingly alien as SG-1's Teal'c (who makes a guest appearance), they are quite solid as a psychic martial-artist and a rough-edged warrior.

As for the long-waited blu-ray series release, they FINALLY released details on the extras. It looks like the extras are pretty much the same as in the standard DVDs, with lots of episode commentaries from actors, directors and producers, actor profiles, photo galleries, character introductions, set tours, "mission directives," deleted scenes, and special behind-the-scenes featurettes focusing on unusual situations ("Dr Jackson Goes to Atlantis"). Among others.

"Stargate Atlantis" loses a few too many cast members, but the storylines and aliens add a fresh dimension to the Stargate universe. Definitely worth the while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gate to Atlantis, May 16 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
One of the big arcs of the "Stargate SG-1" series was finding the Lost City of the Ancients, also known as Atlantis.

It also turned into fertile fodder for a spinoff series (come on, you KNEW they had to make one eventually). And though it had a slightly shaky start -- much like its parent series -- the following seasons saw "Stargate: Atlantis" blossom out into a solid sci-fi series with a legendary series, new alien parasites, and new nasty machines from long ago.

At the Antarctic base, Daniel Jackson (Michael Shanks) has finally figured out the location of Atlantis -- in the Pegasus galaxy. General Jack O'Neill (Richard Dean Anderson) lets an exploratory unit to go to Atlantis -- even though they don't have the power to return back to the Milky Way, and will be stranded there.

So Dr. Elizabeth Weir (Torri Higginson) leads an international group of scientists and military personnel to another galaxy, and arrive in the sunken Ancient city of Atlantis. After some initial problems, the ancient city is secured and has risen above the water -- but unfortunately the military unit, including Major John Sheppard (Joe Flanigan), have run afoul of the parasitic, life-sucking alien Wraith, who destroyed the Pegasus Ancients long ago.

And the Pegasus galaxy has plenty of its own dangers -- nanoviruses, spies, life-sucking bugs, cannibal Wraith, enzyme addicts, whales, an egomaniac baker, weird Ancient devices, Wraiths transformed into humans (and vice versa), "alternate reality drives," Ancient artifacts, crooked businessmen, fear machines, a race of hybrid bug monsters, crystalline nightmare aliens, and a race of ruthless soldiers pretending to be Amish-like farmers.

The Atlantis base regains contact with Earth, but this may not be enough to save them from the Wraith's attempts to gain control of Atlantis -- and the only Stargate with Earth's coordinates. To make matters worse, they encounter a planet of what seems to be Ancients, only to find that they are in fact a mechanical experiment gone horribly wrong. And they really, really hate humans -- and an attack of theirs leads to Weir being horribly injured.

At the same time, Atlantis receives two new commander -- first Colonel Samantha Carter (Amanda Tapping), formerly of SG-1, and then the once-fussy Woolsey (Robert Picardo). Not that it's any easier than SG-1 was, as the crew faces a startling pregnancy that attracts unwanted attentions, predictions of doom, and Wraith incursions that are striking a little too close to home -- on the way to Earth.

"Stargate: Atlantis" has an easier introduction than most series, even spinoffs. The whole idea was introduced over a few seasons of "Stargate SG-1," some of the characters (Weir, Woolsey and McKay) were also recurring characters, and Tapping was a regular. Teal'c and Daniel even drop in. And while the first season is a bit bland ("The romancing of the alien priestess? It's very 1967 of you," Rodney snipes) the storyline hits its stride in the second season.

And it has plenty of sci-fi staples -- ugly nasty aliens, tightly wound scientists, little tubular ships, explosions, moral quandaries and a bit of classic-style horror (just look at Michael's "experiments"). But it doesn't lose its laid-back style (Rodney having trouble with a mustached woman who resents being called "sir"), or its human side, such as the handling of certain characters who are lost (some of whom are not really gone for good).

And the dialogue is pretty great, with lots of one-liners and snappy exchanges, with the occasional pop culture reference ("It's the ultimate answer to the great question of life, the universe and everything!"). Most are from Rodney ("Just once, I would like to be taken prisoner by the sexy alien!"), and Sheppard ("But then I'd be The Man, and who would I have to rage against?"). But there's humor from everyone ("He put his hand in my forehead! How can you resist that?" "Well, I like to close my eyes and think of England"), including the Wraith ("I hope they prove as delicious as the farmers who grew them").

One thing Atlantis does have is a high cast turnover, compared to the relatively unchanging cast of the previous series -- Higginson does a pretty good job as the scientist-command but is given too little to do.After season three, she she was replaced by Tapping, who brings a bit of seasoned science-military fusion to the mix, then fusspot Woolsey who manages to actually be a good if befuddled commander ("Monkey? Did you say flying?").

Flanigan has a nice O'Neillian snap to his performance ("I HATE clowns!"), David Hewlett is hilarious as the antisocial, ever-exasperated scientist, and Paul McGillion is adorable as a Scottish doctor. And while Rachel Luttrell and Jason Momoa are never quite as endearingly alien as SG-1's Teal'c (who makes a guest appearance), they are quite solid as a psychic martial-artist and a rough-edged warrior.

"Stargate Atlantis" loses a few too many cast members, but the storylines and aliens add a fresh dimension to the Stargate universe. Definitely worth the while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth the upgrade!, Feb. 2 2012
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I have SGA on DVD already but heard great things about it on BluRay. When a one day deal came in November, I had to jump and buy this! It is well worth it. The sound and picture makes the viewing aspect so much better. It's too bad the series was cut short. It's a show that Gaters can revisit every few years for some adventurous fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another action packed Stargate series, Jan. 13 2012
By 
Jean M. Couture (Lethbridge, AB Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
We are already avid Stargate fans and expected the franchise to be maintained with the Atlantis series. So far with Season One we have not been disappointed. In spite of comments to the contrary, we are finding it to be extremely engaging from the get go. The benefits of Blu-ray technology have also enhanced our viewing pleasure. Certainly worth the money we paid. The villanous Wraiths are on a par with the previous villains, the Goa'uld and the Ori, encountered in the original Stargate series. The producers have assembled an excellent cast to combat the evil forces. Dr. McKay, from occasional appearances in the original series, is at his obstreperous best in Atlantis. Lt. Colonel Sheppard's easy going style and humour keeps up with the Jack O'Neil heritage. We are looking forward to watching the reminder of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ! but..., Dec 24 2011
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The only problem I have with this collection is that the none of the Episodes comes with chapters.
All you get is pretty much 3 chapters.
The first is the intro.
the second is the title credits (so you can skip it if you watch many episodes in a row)
and the last one if the rest of the episode.
So basically if you try to look for a scene you're gonna have to scroll for it.
Pretty annoying.

But It has no ads or trailers at the beginning of each cds !

Great release overall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stargate Atlantis: The Complete Series, May 6 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Stargate Series (all of them!!), together with the complete Babylon 5 series, including the movies, are by far the best Science Fiction series I have ever watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Si-fi series., April 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Top notch series for us si-fi fans. wish it was longer. I would recommend this series for anyone that enjoys si-fi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good from the start, Feb. 8 2013
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I have purchased both Stargate SG-1 and Atlantis. SG-1 started slow, but got better and better as the ten seasons
went on. Stargate Atlantis started much better, with more action and good plots. I'm into the third season of five.
If you like Sci-Fi, I'm sure you'll like this series too. The special effects are movie quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome, Awsome, Awsome, Jan. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have always wanted to have the SGA collection , i would just like to say that i was impressed with the tv show and was disapointed when i was finished, I was worried as i had a bad experience with ordering dvd's from ebay but amazon restored my faith in online ordering, WAY TO GO GUYS, long live amazon. I was impressed with teh price as well becuase i grabbed SG1 complet series, SGA complete series, Mario cart 7 (ads) and rise of the guardians (ads) and was extremily happy with the level of customer service and prompt delivery timeframe.

Thanks Again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, Dec 14 2011
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I couldn't believe the sale price when I saw it and I just had to have it. I love this show. I just wish it didn't end with such a whimper. Seemed like the writers just gave up by the end. But the characters are fantastic and the premise of the show is very good. A very strong and underrated sci fi masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa33262ac)

This product

Stargate Atlantis: The Complete Series [Blu-ray]
Stargate Atlantis: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] by Ken Girotti (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 199.99 CDN$ 129.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews