Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gate to Pegasus
One of the big arcs of the "Stargate SG-1" series was finding the Lost City of the Ancients, also known as Atlantis.

It also turned into fertile fodder for a spinoff series (come on, you KNEW they had to make one eventually). And though it had a slightly shaky start -- much like its parent series -- the following seasons saw "Stargate: Atlantis" blossom out...
Published on Aug. 25 2011 by E. A Solinas

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT FOR THE SHOW QUALITY!!!!!!!
Great show, everyone should see it. However this dvd box set sucks! They aren't printed correctly and will freeze/skip/not work in your player. Don't be like me and think it won't happen to you cuz it will!!! Get the 5 seasons individually, it's actually cheaper.
Published 1 month ago by C. Deloughery


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gate to Pegasus, Aug. 25 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
One of the big arcs of the "Stargate SG-1" series was finding the Lost City of the Ancients, also known as Atlantis.

It also turned into fertile fodder for a spinoff series (come on, you KNEW they had to make one eventually). And though it had a slightly shaky start -- much like its parent series -- the following seasons saw "Stargate: Atlantis" blossom out into a solid sci-fi series with a legendary series, new alien parasites, and new nasty machines from long ago.

At the Antarctic base, Daniel Jackson (Michael Shanks) has finally figured out the location of Atlantis -- in the Pegasus galaxy. General Jack O'Neill (Richard Dean Anderson) lets an exploratory unit to go to Atlantis -- even though they don't have the power to return back to the Milky Way, and will be stranded there.

So Dr. Elizabeth Weir (Torri Higginson) leads an international group of scientists and military personnel to another galaxy, and arrive in the sunken Ancient city of Atlantis. After some initial problems, the ancient city is secured and has risen above the water -- but unfortunately the military unit, including Major John Sheppard (Joe Flanigan), have run afoul of the parasitic, life-sucking alien Wraith, who destroyed the Pegasus Ancients long ago.

And the Pegasus galaxy has plenty of its own dangers -- nanoviruses, spies, life-sucking bugs, cannibal Wraith, enzyme addicts, whales, an egomaniac baker, weird Ancient devices, Wraiths transformed into humans (and vice versa), "alternate reality drives," Ancient artifacts, crooked businessmen, fear machines, a race of hybrid bug monsters, crystalline nightmare aliens, and a race of ruthless soldiers pretending to be Amish-like farmers.

The Atlantis base regains contact with Earth, but this may not be enough to save them from the Wraith's attempts to gain control of Atlantis, and an Ancient experiment gone horribly wrong. At the same time, Atlantis receives two new commander -- first Colonel Samantha Carter (Amanda Tapping), formerly of SG-1, and then the once-fussy Woolsey (Robert Picardo).

The whole idea was introduced over a few seasons of "Stargate SG-1," some of the characters were also recurring characters, and Tapping was a regular. Teal'c and Daniel even drop in. And while the first season is a bit bland ("The romancing of the alien priestess? It's very 1967 of you," Rodney snipes) the storyline hits its stride in the second season.

And it has plenty of sci-fi staples -- ugly nasty aliens, tightly wound scientists, little tubular ships, explosions, moral quandaries and a bit of classic-style horror (just look at Michael's "experiments"). But it doesn't lose its laid-back style, and the dialogue is pretty great, with lots of one-liners and snappy exchanges, with the occasional pop culture reference ("It's the ultimate answer to the great question of life, the universe and everything!").

Most are from Rodney ("Just once, I would like to be taken prisoner by the sexy alien!"), and Sheppard ("But then I'd be The Man, and who would I have to rage against?"). But there's humor from everyone ("He put his hand in my forehead! How can you resist that?" "Well, I like to close my eyes and think of England"), including the Wraith ("I hope they prove as delicious as the farmers who grew them").

One thing Atlantis does have is a high cast turnover, compared to the relatively unchanging cast of the previous series. But Flanigan has a nice O'Neillian snap to his performance ("I HATE clowns!"), David Hewlett is hilarious as the antisocial, ever-exasperated scientist, Tapping and Wigginson are solid commanders, and Paul McGillion is adorable as a Scottish doctor. And while Rachel Luttrell and Jason Momoa are never quite as endearingly alien as SG-1's Teal'c (who makes a guest appearance), they are quite solid as a psychic martial-artist and a rough-edged warrior.

As for the long-waited blu-ray series release, they FINALLY released details on the extras. It looks like the extras are pretty much the same as in the standard DVDs, with lots of episode commentaries from actors, directors and producers, actor profiles, photo galleries, character introductions, set tours, "mission directives," deleted scenes, and special behind-the-scenes featurettes focusing on unusual situations ("Dr Jackson Goes to Atlantis"). Among others.

"Stargate Atlantis" loses a few too many cast members, but the storylines and aliens add a fresh dimension to the Stargate universe. Definitely worth the while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stargate: Atlantis, June 18 2014
By 
Corey Lidster (Belleville, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This series is one that is definitely worth owning on Blu-ray, not just because of the extras, not just because it has strong visual effects that benefit from the sharper resolution, but because it's one of the few series that drags you back again and again. I'm not certain how many times I've gone through the 100 episodes of Stargate: Atlantis, but if I did, It would probably be so embarrassingly high I wouldn't say. In a lot of ways, this show is a kind of guilty pleasure. It belongs to an entirely different branch on television's evolutionary tree than shows like Breaking Bad, The Wire, Rome, Game of Thrones, and The Sopranos. It was a spinoff of a spinoff, with a modest budget and meager studio expectations. And as much as I love the show, the fact that in the 15 season history of Atlantis and SG-1 they never dealt with the stupidity of every alien in two galaxies speaking English -- when you can't go a city block without running into language problems -- is an indicator of how seriously the producers took the show (to be fair, blame rests with the original showrunners of SG-1; after leaving it unaddressed for the first couple seasons, it was too late. All the writers could do was 'hang a lantern on it' every so often, smile and shrug). But it did have some talented writers, like Martin Gero, whose skill with witty dialogue helped make Dr. Rodney MacKay and Lt.Colonel John Shepherd such memorable characters, and whose scientific knowledge aided with introducing some conceptual vigor to storylines. Carl Binder and SG-1 standouts Joseph Mallozzi and Paul Mullie were also key factors in the show's appeal. And of course, the cast was likely the show's strongest element. Finding Joe Flanigan for the part of John Shepherd was a stroke of luck; his charisma and wry, laid-back sense of humor made him as strong a lead as Richard Dean Anderson was for SG-!. But David Hewlett, bringing his obnoxious, arrogant, but oddly compelling portrayal of MacKay from guest spots on SG-1 to Atlantis, was unquestionably the series' most memorable character, a perfect counterpoint to the whitebread perfection of Samantha Carter. Like Hewlett, Torri Higginson was introduced on SG-1, appearing in season 8 as Dr. Elizabeth Weir, replacing the actress originally picked to play Weir in the season 7 finale. Higginson was excellent in Atlantis, portraying Weir as an intelligent, compassionate, yet effective leader, willing to take good advice, but decisive and always able to make the hard decisions. I personally thought it was a mistake to (kind of) kill off her character in season 4 to make room for Col. Carter as new leader of the Atlantis Expedition, but the move obviously made sense to studio execs looking to ensure SG-1 fans made the jump to the Pegasus Galaxy. Amanda Tapping was fine, but bailed after one season; instead of writing Weir back in, Star Trek: Voyager and Stargate veteran Robert Picardo took over.
There have been many occasions when I've been reminded of how entertaining Atlantis was; while not every episode was great, 9 out of every 10 were at the least enjoyable, a far higher percentage than most series can boast. For me, Stargate: Atlantis stands the test of repeated viewings better than series that are, in most ways, superior. The Sopranos and Breaking Bad were masterpieces, but there's no way I want to watch them again every few months. Atlantis can be returned to in the same way The Simpsons: Season 3 - 10 or Seinfeld can be returned to. And as thoroughly watchable as the original Star Trek and it's followup series can be, at best 6 episodes out of 10 stand up... which makes Atlantis one of the most logical boxset-Bluray purchases around. If only they could have had another couple seasons... oh well, 100 episodes is a mark few shows get to hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gate to Atlantis, May 16 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
One of the big arcs of the "Stargate SG-1" series was finding the Lost City of the Ancients, also known as Atlantis.

It also turned into fertile fodder for a spinoff series (come on, you KNEW they had to make one eventually). And though it had a slightly shaky start -- much like its parent series -- the following seasons saw "Stargate: Atlantis" blossom out into a solid sci-fi series with a legendary series, new alien parasites, and new nasty machines from long ago.

At the Antarctic base, Daniel Jackson (Michael Shanks) has finally figured out the location of Atlantis -- in the Pegasus galaxy. General Jack O'Neill (Richard Dean Anderson) lets an exploratory unit to go to Atlantis -- even though they don't have the power to return back to the Milky Way, and will be stranded there.

So Dr. Elizabeth Weir (Torri Higginson) leads an international group of scientists and military personnel to another galaxy, and arrive in the sunken Ancient city of Atlantis. After some initial problems, the ancient city is secured and has risen above the water -- but unfortunately the military unit, including Major John Sheppard (Joe Flanigan), have run afoul of the parasitic, life-sucking alien Wraith, who destroyed the Pegasus Ancients long ago.

And the Pegasus galaxy has plenty of its own dangers -- nanoviruses, spies, life-sucking bugs, cannibal Wraith, enzyme addicts, whales, an egomaniac baker, weird Ancient devices, Wraiths transformed into humans (and vice versa), "alternate reality drives," Ancient artifacts, crooked businessmen, fear machines, a race of hybrid bug monsters, crystalline nightmare aliens, and a race of ruthless soldiers pretending to be Amish-like farmers.

The Atlantis base regains contact with Earth, but this may not be enough to save them from the Wraith's attempts to gain control of Atlantis -- and the only Stargate with Earth's coordinates. To make matters worse, they encounter a planet of what seems to be Ancients, only to find that they are in fact a mechanical experiment gone horribly wrong. And they really, really hate humans -- and an attack of theirs leads to Weir being horribly injured.

At the same time, Atlantis receives two new commander -- first Colonel Samantha Carter (Amanda Tapping), formerly of SG-1, and then the once-fussy Woolsey (Robert Picardo). Not that it's any easier than SG-1 was, as the crew faces a startling pregnancy that attracts unwanted attentions, predictions of doom, and Wraith incursions that are striking a little too close to home -- on the way to Earth.

"Stargate: Atlantis" has an easier introduction than most series, even spinoffs. The whole idea was introduced over a few seasons of "Stargate SG-1," some of the characters (Weir, Woolsey and McKay) were also recurring characters, and Tapping was a regular. Teal'c and Daniel even drop in. And while the first season is a bit bland ("The romancing of the alien priestess? It's very 1967 of you," Rodney snipes) the storyline hits its stride in the second season.

And it has plenty of sci-fi staples -- ugly nasty aliens, tightly wound scientists, little tubular ships, explosions, moral quandaries and a bit of classic-style horror (just look at Michael's "experiments"). But it doesn't lose its laid-back style (Rodney having trouble with a mustached woman who resents being called "sir"), or its human side, such as the handling of certain characters who are lost (some of whom are not really gone for good).

And the dialogue is pretty great, with lots of one-liners and snappy exchanges, with the occasional pop culture reference ("It's the ultimate answer to the great question of life, the universe and everything!"). Most are from Rodney ("Just once, I would like to be taken prisoner by the sexy alien!"), and Sheppard ("But then I'd be The Man, and who would I have to rage against?"). But there's humor from everyone ("He put his hand in my forehead! How can you resist that?" "Well, I like to close my eyes and think of England"), including the Wraith ("I hope they prove as delicious as the farmers who grew them").

One thing Atlantis does have is a high cast turnover, compared to the relatively unchanging cast of the previous series -- Higginson does a pretty good job as the scientist-command but is given too little to do.After season three, she she was replaced by Tapping, who brings a bit of seasoned science-military fusion to the mix, then fusspot Woolsey who manages to actually be a good if befuddled commander ("Monkey? Did you say flying?").

Flanigan has a nice O'Neillian snap to his performance ("I HATE clowns!"), David Hewlett is hilarious as the antisocial, ever-exasperated scientist, and Paul McGillion is adorable as a Scottish doctor. And while Rachel Luttrell and Jason Momoa are never quite as endearingly alien as SG-1's Teal'c (who makes a guest appearance), they are quite solid as a psychic martial-artist and a rough-edged warrior.

"Stargate Atlantis" loses a few too many cast members, but the storylines and aliens add a fresh dimension to the Stargate universe. Definitely worth the while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT FOR THE SHOW QUALITY!!!!!!!, July 7 2014
By 
C. Deloughery "movieman" (Ont. Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great show, everyone should see it. However this dvd box set sucks! They aren't printed correctly and will freeze/skip/not work in your player. Don't be like me and think it won't happen to you cuz it will!!! Get the 5 seasons individually, it's actually cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stargate Atlantis: The Complete Series, May 6 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Stargate Series (all of them!!), together with the complete Babylon 5 series, including the movies, are by far the best Science Fiction series I have ever watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Si-fi series., April 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Top notch series for us si-fi fans. wish it was longer. I would recommend this series for anyone that enjoys si-fi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good from the start, Feb. 8 2013
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I have purchased both Stargate SG-1 and Atlantis. SG-1 started slow, but got better and better as the ten seasons
went on. Stargate Atlantis started much better, with more action and good plots. I'm into the third season of five.
If you like Sci-Fi, I'm sure you'll like this series too. The special effects are movie quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome, Awsome, Awsome, Jan. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have always wanted to have the SGA collection , i would just like to say that i was impressed with the tv show and was disapointed when i was finished, I was worried as i had a bad experience with ordering dvd's from ebay but amazon restored my faith in online ordering, WAY TO GO GUYS, long live amazon. I was impressed with teh price as well becuase i grabbed SG1 complet series, SGA complete series, Mario cart 7 (ads) and rise of the guardians (ads) and was extremily happy with the level of customer service and prompt delivery timeframe.

Thanks Again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, Dec 14 2011
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I couldn't believe the sale price when I saw it and I just had to have it. I love this show. I just wish it didn't end with such a whimper. Seemed like the writers just gave up by the end. But the characters are fantastic and the premise of the show is very good. A very strong and underrated sci fi masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, Aug. 3 2014
By 
Mark Nelson (Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
multiple disks skipped when I tried playing them, I even tried more than one player with no success
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stargate Atlantis: The Complete Series [Blu-ray]
Stargate Atlantis: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] by Ken Girotti (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 199.99 CDN$ 129.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews