Customer Reviews


498 Reviews
5 star:
 (310)
4 star:
 (102)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blade
This is a great bluray movie.Clarity is there and the sound is amazing. the aspect ratio listed on this website is incorrect, it is 1.78.1
Published on June 28 2009 by Ernest M. Freeman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good...Not Great....
Based on the Marvel comic character of the same name, Blade is a vampire hunter who himself was born to a mother who was bitten by a vampire. Blade staves off becoming a bloodsucker himself through home-grown drug injections. Unlike other Vamps, Blade can travel by day and has all the strengh and speed of other vampires.
The plot is bit of drivel about Vampires...
Published on Oct. 9 2003 by Tim Janson


‹ Previous | 1 250 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blade, June 28 2009
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Blade [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a great bluray movie.Clarity is there and the sound is amazing. the aspect ratio listed on this website is incorrect, it is 1.78.1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a very well executed vampire film, Oct. 20 2007
By 
falcon "disdressed12" (canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: Blade (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Blade is the first in the Blade trilogy(Blade,Blade2,Blade:Trinity)It
stars Wesley Snipes in the title role as a human vampire hybrid,who has
(almost)none of the vampires' weaknesses and all their strengths.Blade
has made it his mission to hunt down and destroy the evil vampires.His
one weakness is his thirst for human blood.Blade is aided in his quest
by Abraham Whistler,Played by Kris Kristofferson,who has developed a
serum to curb Blade's blood lust and to keep his vampire side in
check.Stephen Dorrf plays Deacon Frost,the main baddie and Blade's
adversary.Snipes is very convincing as an action hero,he is
athletic,charismatic,and the camera loves him.Kristofferson is cast
well in the supporting role of Whistler.Dorrf is also very convincing
as the villain.he too,is very charismatic.Stephen Norrington directed
the film.his previous directing experience was 1995's Death Machine.he
also directed"The League of Extraordinary Gentleman"(2003).his other
credit include special effects work on films such as
"Hardware,Aliens,and the Exorcist:the Beginning,as well as makeup
effects for Hellraiser:Bloodline.David S Goyer wrote the script for
"Blade".he previously wrote the script for The Crow:City of Angels,as
well Blade 2 and Blade:Trinity.He also wrote the screenplay and story
for Batman Begins,as well as the story for its sequel,2008's Dark
Knight.anyway,back to Blade.the film moves along at a brisk pace,is
well directed and well written,with good dialogue.the film is also well
photographed,is visually very appealing.the tone of the film is
dark,without being oppressive and the music is appropriate.there is a
lot of graphic vampire violence(the film is quite blood soaked at
times)and some language.and obviously there are many action
sequences,sometimes over the top,but this is no criticism.it works well
with this movie.finally, the special effects are plentiful and
generally well done.overall,a very well executed movie in the vampire
genre.a strong 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This movie kicks ass!, June 4 2004
By 
Eric (El Sobrante, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Blade (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Blade is cool. Ok...the movie is about Blade (Wesley Snipes) who is a part-human part vampire who has all of the vampire strengts and none of their weaknesses; he can walk into sunlight, but he's got their thirst. He is helped by Whisler (Kris something, sorry the last name is just too hard to spell) who hunt vampires. Blade's mother was bitten by a vampire when she was in labor with Blade. So now, Blade hunts down vampires and is looking for the man who made him.
Then he meet's Karen, a doctor who is bitten by one of the vampires who he sets on fire Quinn (Donald Lowe). So now as he hunt's vampires, Karen tries to find a cure for herself since she is slowing becoming a vampire herself. Blade's mission is to kill Decon Frost (Stephen Dorf) who is slowly rising in the vampire ranks and is on the hunt for La Migra (blood God). Karen is then put as bait to hunt down's Frost's follwers who is a NYPD cop who is dropping off blood to Frost. Blade then gets into some trouble, but he makes it out thanks to Whisler.
Then Karen and Whisler are found by Frost which Whisler is killed and Karen is taken by Frost. So now Frost then breaks the code for La Mirga and he get's the high members of the vampire ranks. Blade is then caught and he reunited with his mother; but she is not his mother because she is now a vampire. It is then he finds out that Frost bit his mother and Frost is the man who created Blade. Blade has to be used for La Migra because he is the 'day walker' and for La Migra to happen, Blade is used. Eventually Karen escapes from a pit where her ex-boyfriend turn into a zombie instead of a vampire. As she escapes, she rescue's Blade and now the fight is on. Blade and Frost get into a fight but now Frost is now the blood God.
He is then killed and now Blade heads to Russia where he hunts down more vampires. Except this time he is looking for Whisler which happens in Blade 2.
The movie kicks ass because the story is fresh, and the acting is great. Blade 2 had better fight scenes, but still Blade still rules!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Move over Buffy, April 17 2004
By 
R. J Rey (Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Blade (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Wesley Snipes is every vampire's worst nightmare in the fantastic comic book actioner "Blade". Legendary "Day-Walker" Blade (Wesley Snipes) uses his lethal skills in his quest to exterminate the vampire underworld from the face of the earth. When the rogue vampire Deacon Frost (Stephen Dorff) plots a vampire uprising against all humans, humanity's only hope for survival lies in the tortured vampire hunter Blade. Based on the Marvel Comics hero, "Blade" is an exciting, action-packed comic book film that contains extreme action and rich characters. The storyline moves quite fast and the action sequences are fierce and quite dazzling. Wesley Snipes and Stephen Dorff deliver some wildly effective performances. The cast also includes N'Bushe Wright, Donal Logue, Udo Keir, Traci Lords and Kris Kristofferson.
New Line gives "Blade" an outstanding "Platinum Edition" presentation. The film is presented in its original 2.35:1 widescreen format. The DVD has a fine video transfer with rich colors and excellent sharpness. The 5.1 Dolby Digital sound is truly clear with amazing surround effects. Its supplemental features include a detailed audio commentary by cast and crew, deleted scenes, behind-the-scene featurettes, production designs and DVD-ROM extras. With such winning presentation and great supplements, "Blade" earns a solid "B+".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slick Stylish Vampire Flick, Feb. 13 2004
By 
Timothy Michael Resh (Roswell, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Blade (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
OK, so maybe I am a sucker for dark, comic book heroes, but Blade definitely works in the context of a popcorn movie. Sure, it's somewhat predictable and definitely relies on style more than substance, but when Blade decides he's going to kill some vampires, it's just plain fun to watch. We're not talking about high art here, just a good, American action movie. The action sequences are brilliantly choreographed and really showcase Wesley Snipes' talents in the martial arts. When Blade wields his samurai-style sword, silver stakes, and monster handgun, you can bet that a bunch of vampires will be reduced to CG dust in a hurry.
The area in which the otherwise good film is weakest is its casting. Apart from Snipes as Blade and Kris Kristofferson as a suitably crusty Whistler with a profane remark for every occasion, the rest of the casting is somewhat uninspired.
N'Bushe Wright just doesn't seem to fit the largely underdeveloped lead female role, and Stephen Dorff is unintentionally comedic as a scrawny vampire with aspirations of becoming a god. In listening to the commentary track, one gets the sense that Dorff also did not get along well with Snipes, and that could be the reason that their on-screen chemistry doesn't always work. Donal Logue adds some intentional comic relief, however, and Traci Lords makes a brief appearance in the introductory sequence before being reduced to dust by Blade.
The special effects are above average except for a few poorly done green screen composites, and the disc contains some interesting special features, including a partially completed alternate ending.
Sadly, New Line released the film and features on disc in one of those god-awful cases that are out of proportion with the keep cases that the rest of the civilized world uses.
Again, though, this viewer is willing to overlook many of these shortcomings because of the way the movie so seamlessly meshes a believable vampire subculture with the origin story of a heroic yet flawed protagonist with ample action to satisfy most any horror/action guilty pleasure seekers. Definitely a bit of dark fun for those who can stand the profuse blood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The First Comic Book Adaptation to Get It Right, Dec 6 2003
By 
T. Sparks (Leesville, LA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Blade (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
I know that some people will point to "Superman" and "Batman" as good comic book adaptations; that they are, but the subsequent attempts fell flat on their face. I believe that "Blade" paved the way for the current "comic book adaptation renaissance" that we're enjoying right now (apart from the Hulk, anyway.)
For starters, Blade stays far away from the entire "secret identity/pulling cats out of trees" cliches that are normally associated with superheroes. Blade is dirty, Blade is nasty, and Blade isn't afraid to kill; in short, the makes the movie much better suited for modern audiences.
Another thing I like about "Blade" is that it keeps the character's origin as a backstory; it's explained, yes, but does not make up the bulk of the action. This prevents long-time Marvel readers from being bored and gives more time to devote to the action.
I've dinged the DVD a star for a couple of reasons; first, the special effects aren't very good in some places (like when Frost regenerates his hand.) I know the movie was made on a shoe-string, so maybe I'm being a bit unfair, but I still feel that they could have done a little better. Also, you have to sit through commentary during the deleated scenes, which I would have preferred to have been a seperate option (at least they got rid of the original ending, though; that, in itself, would have made Blade a much worse movie.)
Great movie for vampire/horror/action movie fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the coolest still!, Nov. 22 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Blade (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
I still love this movie. I remember renting the DVD and asking myself why I didn't see this movie in theatres.
Basically Blade rules. He fights Vampires with more new-age weapons. He has an awesome sword, and some high-tech weaponry(kinda like Batman). Anyways, Blade has to fight these vampires. He is a vampire himself and is basically better than every vampire out there. Its cool now though because the hero is the stongest, and not the villian.
The movie is great. I can't really describe how awesome Blade makes the vampire genre. I mean cmon, who here can honestly say that they watched Dracula 2000 happily? I stopped watching it because it was stupid. In this movie, Blade has to fight this one dude called Frost. The names are cool, and im not being sarcastic. Anyways, Frost wants to unlock the powers of these mysterious scriptures. Blade kinda meets Frost and you know it's going to be awesome. Theres no wooden stake crap in this one...
Blade keeps you going. Hes got alot of action, and when a vampire dies they basically dissinegrate in the coolest way possible. I would buy the movie, and see Wesley Snipes cut guys up with swords, boomerangs, explosives, and guns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really redefines the genre, Nov. 6 2003
By 
Lawrence Louis (Houston, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Blade (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Vampirism, since the time Bram Stoker penned his classic, has gone through innumerable incarnations. Whether it be in the form of teenage angst in the mid 80s flick "The Lost Boys" or in more reflective works such as Anne Rice's "Interview With A Vampire", the bloodsucker genre is as varied and as colorful as American culture.
However, the success of one movie caricature of the undead over another, is its ability to do more than revel in vile mayhem and brutal gore. What makes a successful vampire movie, like all other myths, is the degree to which it speaks to the inner workings of contemporary culture and the emotional disposition of the audience. What made "Interview With A Vampire" a piece that will forever be etched in to cinematic history was its ability to elucidate some aspect of the human condition, and what caused the "The Lost Boys" to be perceived as a B rated horror film was its reluctance to dig into such issues and instead descend into vacuous bloodletting.
"Blade", fortunately, stands as a film that, much like "Interview With A Vampire", seeks to use vampirism to articulate more than "let me suck your blood". Granted, it has enough of violence and bloodshed to satisfy even the most masochistic of us. It is a visually stunning film, and much ink could be spilled on its deft use of martial arts, amazing visual effects (the precursor to the now famous Matrix bullet time effects), and mood establishing set design. But, far from being just eye candy and a belligerent cathartic release, "Blade" will reach at least cult iconic status for having endearing characters and an intricate story - one so rich with themes that it would take an entire series of sequels to explore them.
"Blade", being an adaptation from the comic book character of the same name, starts where any good comic book story would start, with a tragedy. Blade's mother is shown in the opening sequence bleeding to death from a bite wound. She was pregnant at the time, and the byproduct of her contact with a vampire and pregnancy was Blade, or as his enemies euphemistically refer to him as, "the daywalker". He shares the best of both worlds. He has the superhuman strength, speed, and agility of a vampire, and yet does not share their weakness of bursting into flames if he comes into contact with daylight. One drawback though: he shares their insatiable appetite for blood, and must periodically be drugged in order to keep from having to resort to consuming human blood himself. Because of what happened to his mother, Blade with the help of his human sidekick Whistler, spends his life in the relentless pursuit of vampires, and his ultimate goal is to eradicate them from the face of the earth.
The vampire world, just like our own, is a diverse one. On one side you have the established elite, the pure bloods, a race of vampires who are who they are by right of birth and can therefore trace their lineage back for centuries. They, over time, have forged an underground alliance with humans that have made them quite prosperous, while also allowing them to live in anonymity, thus shielding them from those who seek to destroy them. On the other side there are those who were not pure blood, those for one reason or another started off human and were turned into vampires by other vampires. They, for the most part, are comprised of the young and destitute. Being the downtrodden they naturally would seek any means necessary to better their station in life, but they need an aggressive leader to usurp the affluent vampire establishment. Thus enters Deacon Frost, a ruthless no holds barred vampire who is disgruntled with the pure bloods, and seeks to galvanize his ilk in a plan to overthrow the elitists. He quickly takes the helm of the vampire community and coerces the elitists into a plan that would unleash a demon spirit that would allow his kind the ability to walk in the daylight without becoming combustible. Hence, they would become a formidable threat to the human race, not to mention to Blade himself. Frost however, needs the blood of a daywalker, and the only one known to exist is Blade. This sets up a crash course between Frost and Blade.
The plot and characters are interesting in that they seem to embody a virtual cornucopia of societal ills. Many things are addressed from addiction, class struggle, racial based hegemony, and generational strife - things that are very much a part of our existence today. Given that it is done through the garb of a vampirism, one doesn't readily notice these themes, until one reflects upon the film and its deeper implications.
This is not to say that "Blade" is a serious endeavor at social commentary. Hardly. It is first and foremost an action film with an interesting plot, one that near its conclusion, throws in a twist that you will never see coming. The issues raised are mere points that help enrich the narrative, they in no way shape or form make "Blade" into some sort of preachy film.
The martial arts choreography is some of the best I have seen from a film that was not produced in Asia. Since "Blade" was shot before "The Matrix", the ubiquitous use of wire tricks to embellish the martial arts action in most films, is not employed here. Hence, what you have is something that looks far more realistic, and attests to the adroitness of actors like Wesley Snipes. The martial arts style used is a cross between the gracefulness and fluidity of Bruce Lee to the rough street fighting style of Krav Maga (Israeli martial arts style).
"Blade", having such as a good story, well-developed characters, and breathtaking martial arts is definitely a must have for vampire or just plain action film enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blade is a Classic, Oct. 31 2003
By 
Amir Mulaganovic "amirxx" (South America) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Blade (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Blade with W.Snipes the original with Stephen Dorff had something of the Blade Runner aura about it . In fact I nearly rate Blade the original up there with "Blade Runner" (with Harrison Ford) which is my favorite Sci -Fi movie of all time . Blade has a dark , cyberpunk European strip (for US readers "Comic book") feel to it that Blade II just does not come even close to (even though it's set in Europe !).Blade had distinctive original coolness that was amazing . Several scenes come to mind but I will not get into them . Sadly I think that the terrible Blade II has pretty much locked up the franchise and destroyed the mystery about it just like what the Matrix Reloaded did to the original Matrix(well at least for me) After having high expectations and getting all exited about getting to see a follow up of the original Blade I LITERALLY fell asleep at Blade II . I think that it's the change of directors that did it and the Mexican director of the sequel is most probably the one to be saddled with the blame for killing off of the series.
One thing I cannot understand is why Snipes would agree to so drasticly change the feel of the Blade character which so WORKED in the original Blade .Just to please the warped demands of the makers of Blade II ? Gone is the cool cold calculating angry and quiet Blade from the original , we now have a touchy-feely politically correct blabbermouth Blade in the sequel. Sheesh !Snipes must have KNOWN that it was a wrong move .I would have thought that a mega-star such as Snipes who had some authority to put a stamp on a character that HE created and he alone can play would have rebelled . I hope I am wrong , I hope they go out of their way to make Blade III , I would just LOVE to see a WORTHY followup to the dismal travesty of Blade II but I figure that they would have to go begging on their knees to the crew that made Blade the original .
It could work out like the Exorsist series. The original Exorsist was a Classic and ... well you know what I mean .Exorcist II - The Heretic was a disaster of epic proportions and everybody forgot about the series . Then Exorsist III came along with George C. Scott and Brad Dourif (what a performance!!!)For me Ex.III was even better then the original and the probably best horror movie ever made . I hope I get to see a turnaround like this in the Blade series . I really do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good...Not Great...., Oct. 9 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Blade (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Based on the Marvel comic character of the same name, Blade is a vampire hunter who himself was born to a mother who was bitten by a vampire. Blade staves off becoming a bloodsucker himself through home-grown drug injections. Unlike other Vamps, Blade can travel by day and has all the strengh and speed of other vampires.
The plot is bit of drivel about Vampires trying to read and decode some ancient text about taking over the world or some such nonsense. Filmakers always seem to go a bit overboard needlessly on their plotting...
Blade is an exciting movie. Wesley Snipes is perfectly cast as the no nonsense butt-kicking hero, who slices and dices his way through scores of vamps.
In particular, the opening moments in the nightclub is fantastic as vampires are dusted at an extraordinary rate.
I wasn't crazy about Steven Dorff as the villian however. He just seem ill-suited to the role. A little too pretty boy for my tastes.
The movie did well enough to spawn a sequel and I hear a third will be made as well. A fun entertainment piece but not too deep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 250 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blade (SteelBook Edition Blu-ray + DVD Combo) [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 30.99 CDN$ 21.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews