Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artistic and Entertaining!
Folks love it or hate it.

I think it mainly depends on whether you can appreciate Tarantino's style. If you are expecting to see your ordinary Hollywood movie, chances are you are going to wind up upset, like some of the negative reviews I've read on here.

The movie can, indeed, be quite gruesome. You'll have to be able to see some artistic quality...
Published on Dec 23 2009 by S. Benders

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bon Bluray
Bon film, on reconnait bien la griffe de Tarrantino (si vous avez aimez Jacky Brown, Pulp Fiction) n'hésitez pas).
Bonus: Pas mal dans l'ensemble hormis le roundtable ennuyeux, anecdote sur les acteurs de la version originale, agréable.
Published on Aug. 14 2012 by YoyoDocks


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artistic and Entertaining!, Dec 23 2009
By 
S. Benders (Edmonton, AB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Folks love it or hate it.

I think it mainly depends on whether you can appreciate Tarantino's style. If you are expecting to see your ordinary Hollywood movie, chances are you are going to wind up upset, like some of the negative reviews I've read on here.

The movie can, indeed, be quite gruesome. You'll have to be able to see some artistic quality in that. I can, even though I do not particularly enjoy it. What I enjoy most, however, is the awesome acting. Christopher Waltz, the German officer-bad guy, carries a conversation for almost half an hour with a farmer who is hiding Jews. It's almost like a verbal battle, with sorties, retreats, tactical reforms, minor victories for both sides, until one side finally manages to get the upper hand.

The impeccable costumes, the humor, the jab at Americans and American culture, the completely unhistoric (and therefore to me, unexpected) climax and the great attention to detail, I think, make this a superb movie for those that can appreciate this quality. If you'd rather see an action-packed run-of-the-mill movie, though, this one might not be for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My New Favorite Tarantino, Dec 8 2009
By 
Paul Corbin "Walnuts" (Westville, Nova Scotia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved this movie-- it was a great spin on a movie genre that has gotten stale due to the over abundance of them. Tarantino has gotten back to his roots and set some amazing scenes that are just pure dialogue that sets the mood immediately. Some scenes will have you on the edge of your seat in suspense (mostly with one character's amazing portrayal of the "Jew Hunter") other scenes may have you smirking or laughing out loud at something that may have horrified you earlier in the movie. I have to say that this is my new favorite Tarantino picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10/10 Masterpiece !, Dec 29 2009
By 
Inglorious Basterds is Tarantino at his all-time best! Perfection is what this movie really is! The storytelling, the script, the comedy, the horror, the drama, the adventure, art, love! The first chapter is as suspensful as a Hitchcock! The dialogue chapter is an amazingly genius build-up! I could go on forever - a must-see entertainment! A spectacular vengeance orchestration! Bloody Epic! This movie aesthetics are mayhem, daringly imaginative. I can't think of any other director that could even conceive a film like this one, let alone execute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
no issues thx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., July 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Super good movie. Brad Pitt does an excellent job in this wartime film Enjoyed watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie, June 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very good movie, I gave this rating because the movie deserve it. Just happy to get it finally in Bluray :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic movie!, Feb. 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you like Tarantino, you'll love this one! A+++
The casting is perfect and the movie is very funny.

A lot of entertainment, highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of his best., Nov. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Masterful stuff. Tarantino's love of film is everywhere here. Superb, joyous film-making. Watch it more than once, you'll get more out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An unusual but gripping tale, Nov. 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Aside from the violence which is necessary for the plot, this kept me glued for two hours, great acting by all characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome., Oct. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love Tarantino films. Pulp fiction is my favourite movie. But for some reason I never watched Inglourious Basterds until now and I regret not seeing it sooner. I think the marketing and trailers for this film made it look like something different than what it actually is. It's marketed as a Brad Pitt semi-comedy war movie, but Brad Pitt is the weakest part of the production and it's much more than a silly comedy.

Forget Brad Pitt. Forget B.J Novak. Christoph Waltz is amazing in this film, and so are several other less-than-famous actors. Inglourious Basterds is pure Tarantino brilliance, in spite of what the trailers made it look like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inglourious Basterds (SteelBook Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 30.99 CDN$ 26.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews