Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for those who care for criminals' rights!
It's no wonder people who care for rights of criminals more than the rights of victims hate this movie. Imagine that - here's a cop who not only says openly what he thinks of criminals and "civilized judges" but even puts his words into action. The "human rights" (criminal rights, that is) people called this movie "fascist" (it's their...
Published on Dec 15 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Zombie Squad?
When people watch the recent "action" movies that have been released in theaters, they definitely are not getting what film-goers got out of action movies in the 80's. What makes action movies, "Action Movies", is the obvious lack of story, poor acting, and endless amounts of cheese. Cobra has it all...and much, much more! From the group of psychos...
Published on June 16 2004 by MIKE KONEVICH


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for those who care for criminals' rights!, Dec 15 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Cobra (DVD)
It's no wonder people who care for rights of criminals more than the rights of victims hate this movie. Imagine that - here's a cop who not only says openly what he thinks of criminals and "civilized judges" but even puts his words into action. The "human rights" (criminal rights, that is) people called this movie "fascist" (it's their favorite epiteth for anything that's not compatible with their way of "thinking"). Don't listen to that babble - the same people hate "Dirty Harry" and don't bash it only because it's a classic that they, being cowards, don't dare attack. "Cobra" isn't a classic yet (hopefully it will be), so it's a great object for an attack.
I'm not sure about USA these days, but boy, my country could sure use a few Cobras! Buy the movie, buy "Dirty Harry" and don't forget Heinlein's "Starship Troopers" (not the dreadful film by Verhoeven) for a grim - though, admittedly, in "Cobra's" case, often too simplistic and too direct - comment on today's world... One more thing - "Cobra" has a superb soundtrack! A true fantastic voyage to the 1980s... I normally prefer orchestral scores, but Cobra's soundtrack, consisting mostly of songs (and the excellent orchestral opening theme) is one of few so great compilations of such music. Don't forget to get the soundtrack in addition to the DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good movie, March 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
you will love this movie a lot of action.is just you dont have extra,making featurette and a trailer that it.but better quality of video then the dvd but could be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STALLONE!!!!!!, Dec 11 2011
This review is from: Cobra (DVD)
cobra is a very well made movie it has action and suspence if u like rambo totaly see this movie and if your not sure about it you should buy it anyway because the action is as epic as a wii pony
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cobra's bite is lethal!, June 14 2002
This review is from: Cobra (DVD)
This has gotta be Sylvestor Stallone's best action movie in my opinion although some people are gonna say First Blood I&II. I read somewhere that this movie was a flop but I don't know why, it has some of the best action sequences I have ever seen. Standout scenes where he is on the back of a truck and mowing down bad guy bikers with his sub machine gun with laser siding.Another scene is where he throws a handgrenade at a biker and him and his bike get blown up into the air.The car chase in this movie is yet another great action scene as well as the beginning where a man walks into a shopping centre and starts blowing the place apart with his shotgun as well as killing a man for nothing.
The story is a model witnesses a crime and sees the face of the killer and becomes the target of a serial killer. But he isn't on his own. He has a whole army behind him and she is the target. This army likes to kill people,"kill the weak so the strong can survive" so the leader of the army says. A police specialist is assigned to protect the woman and he is nicknamed The Cobra, real name Marion Cobretti.
I love it at the end of the movie when the leader of the gang says the Cobra has gotta arrest him but Sly says, "This is where the law stops, and I start."Classic line. The soundtrack to this film is great too, with "Feel the Heat" probably being the best song.Few stars are all that's available to rate this film but I would give it ten out of five if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rambo With A Toothpick, Dec 7 2001
By 
nix (Wellington, New Zealand (Nicholas Lal)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cobra (DVD)
This film is great! (...) This was like one of the first of Stallone films that I had watched after the Rocky series. Maybe it's a little cheesey, but it's how all movies were made in the 80's. I like the beginning where Stallone comes in to the supermarket. Some dark scenes in the film. Substantial amount of violence, good film. It actually has a good story to it, yep another cop story against the bad guys. Fair Game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Stallone's best action movies, Jan. 22 2001
This review is from: Cobra (DVD)
Like most of Stallone's action movies, "Cobra" is an exciting, action packed movie. Sylvester Stallone stars as Cobra, a cop who is well known for tracking down and killing psychopathic killers who are on the loose killing innocent people. While tracking down these serial killers, Cobra is also protecting a woman (Brigitte Nielsen) from danger by carrying her with him.
"Cobra" might not be one of the Stallone movies that you hear a lot about such as "Rambo" or "Rocky," but that doesn't mean that i's not a great movie. "Cobra" is full of spectacular driving, fighting, and shooting action sequences while Cobra does his action packed job by showing the criminals that Cobra is as deadly as a cobra.
I recommend anybody who likes action movies with tons of exciting action sequences to get "Cobra." It might not get the credit for it, but "Cobra" is one of Sylvester Stallone's best action movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cure of Crime!, May 29 2002
By 
Timotee (Torrance, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cobra (DVD)
Forget Rambo, this bad mother is the ultimate immortal. Marion Cobretti prefers "Cobra" and anything he says, goes! Stallone is a tough cop who is on the search for a serial killer who also happens to be a part of the 'New Order' a cult that sacrifices innocent women. Not nice! Stallone protects a model from being a victim and he unleashes everything he's got. Machine guns and explosions! I can't get enough of it! The car chases are truly spectacular and Stallone is a wizard! Clearly, he is the second immortal to have embraced movie audiences all around the world and he will forever be remembered for this authentic piece of action cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Zombie Squad?, June 16 2004
By 
MIKE KONEVICH (medfield, ma United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cobra (DVD)
When people watch the recent "action" movies that have been released in theaters, they definitely are not getting what film-goers got out of action movies in the 80's. What makes action movies, "Action Movies", is the obvious lack of story, poor acting, and endless amounts of cheese. Cobra has it all...and much, much more! From the group of psychos that are bent on creating "The Way of the New World" to Marion Cobretti, Stallone, and his Zombie Squad, Cobra never lets you forget that it is a terrible movie, which means it is awesome. The Zombie Squad is supposed to be the misfit cops who do the jobs the "real" cops won't do. Stallone heads this rag tag crew, which involves only Poppy from Seinfeld fame, against the dirtiest man alive, who leads...the group of men and women who kill hot chicks. Are you following me? No? Good. Some highlights, the soundtrack...trust me, pure cheese, and the give and take between Cobretti and the Lieutenant who disagrees with Cobra's methods, riveting stuff. The fight at the end between Cobretti and the whole Attractive-Girl Slaughtering Gang deserves an award. I am not sure what award, maybe a bucket of KFC? Any way, this movie is atrocious...so buy it to annoy your friends or your girlfriend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A classic action movie..., May 15 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Cobra (DVD)
This is a classic Sylvester Stallone action movie. It's one of the best he ever made. Cobra was mostly known for the number of people killed during the movie. It far exceeded any previous record for an action movie...bordering on the comical. Some of the things you'll remember... The match he keeps in his mouth. His awesome gun. His Mercury which is painfully destroyed during the movie. And the most memorable moment is when he meets up with "Night Slasher" (Brian Thompson) at the end and gets an earful about the judicial system. "They'll say I'm insane. Won't they...PIG!?" If ever there was a classic piece of film it's this encounter. Me and my friends still joke today about how spittle and sweat comes from his mouth when he says, "PIG!". It's hilarious. That alone is worth owning this movie. In all, it's typical of 80's action films. Sylvester's films always seem to have a fair amount of cheese in them. It's a given. At the same time tho, they don't make films like this anymore. The days of the action hero seem over, but they can be relived with movies like Cobra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A piece of entertainment, March 16 2004
By 
This review is from: Cobra (DVD)
This movie lingers between the lines of being the worst movie ever made, and the funniest.
Don't get me wrong on this, the film is crap, no dought about it, the film is crap, but it will have you in hysterics from beginning to end. It doesn't make a whole lot of sense but you don't really care, it's full of some of the stupidest things I've ever seen (Like when the bad guy dies his hair black. Like it really makes any difference to a guy as hefty as that.He looked exactly the same.)
Basically you can't go on about it for too long but it's worth renting if your looking for a comedy that will really make you laugh out loud.
Saying that I would love to see the directors commentary. He might be as funny as the film itself?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cobra [Blu-ray] (Sous-titres français) [Import]
CDN$ 16.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews