Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a moral dilemma played out in real life
Based on a true event in Algeria in the mid nineties, we see the interruption of everyday life of nine monks who live a quiet, contemplative life in a secluded mountain village of mostly Muslims. The monks help the villagers with medical aid and everyone interacts peacefully, even joining each other in interfaith celebrations.
However, government forces and local...
Published on Dec 12 2011 by cinesue

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Histoire intéressante
Une histoire qui vous retient jusqu'à la fin mais qui n'est certainement pas susceptible de faire surgir en vous un grand amour pour les islamistes.
Published 23 months ago by Pierre Roy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a moral dilemma played out in real life, Dec 12 2011
Based on a true event in Algeria in the mid nineties, we see the interruption of everyday life of nine monks who live a quiet, contemplative life in a secluded mountain village of mostly Muslims. The monks help the villagers with medical aid and everyone interacts peacefully, even joining each other in interfaith celebrations.
However, government forces and local Muslim terrorists interfere with the peaceful co-existence.
As viewers we get to see the intensely personal struggle each monk goes through to decide whether to leave or to remain in the face of impending doom. The tense moments are interspersed with scenes of quiet religiousity as the monks perform their daily rituals.
A tense and realistic look at a real-life event.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a masterpiece of a film -- AWESOME!, May 29 2011
By 
Hans G. Schulte-albert (Ajax, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Des hommes et des dieux (Of Gods and Men) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I heard about this film in Catholic Insight. Then I ordered a copy from the UK.. on Ebay. Cost me $24. I would have bought it here if I had the chance.
The dialogue is fantastic, and it's one of those films that is rather sad, in some ways -- but beautifully filmed and very well acted. I am part German, part Americanski and totally Canadian EH!! -- but I genuinely liked it. I would recommend it to all my friends. It's inspiring and thoughtful. It's nice to see a film that doesn't put down our priests.
The priesthood is a great challenge as a vocation(NOT just a 'job'). The few that misbehave make the headlines. Here are some Trappists who really gave their lives to the service of a little village in Algiers and were ultimately killed by terrorists. I like it too - because it doesn't target Islam, but the terrorists as the bad guys. It's the right perspective too.
Here are some men who gave their lives for their concern for the poor - the downtrodden. They lived their lives heroically and died in a noble manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, June 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Des hommes et des dieux (Of Gods and Men) (Bilingual) (DVD)
It shows the difficulty of life/death choices with which I identified because of previous missionary experiences. It also gives incite into a Religious Community
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Understatedly brilliant, May 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Des hommes et des dieux (Of Gods and Men) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Beauvois' portrayal of a Trappist monk community in the Atlas mountains of Algeria is strikingly simple in setting and style, and for that reason is so powerful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing disc version., Feb. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Des hommes et des dieux (Of Gods and Men) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I saw this as a movie in a movie theatre. I thought it was one of the best movies I had ever seen, the story of a group of monks, very human beings, facing a life or death decision. I wanted to see it again. This DVD did not come up to my expectations. Maybe seeing it on a small screen took away some of the atmosphere of the story's setting. Maybe the movie has been trimmed to fit the TV screen. I was very disappointed in viewing this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars film, Feb. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Des hommes et des dieux (Of Gods and Men) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Je l'ai offert a une amie . Le film est très bon mais il y a des longueurs . Mon amie en est très satisfaite puisque c'est le film qu'elle désirait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Of Gods and Men, Jan. 31 2013
By 
Don Render (Salmon Arm, BC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Des hommes et des dieux (Of Gods and Men) (Bilingual) (DVD)
A picture of charity and daily giving oneself for others. It also presents the reality of human frailty, fear in the face of certain hostility and finally, acceptance of and submission to death itself at the hands of brutal and unforgiving forces. A very moving and inspiring portrayal of good and evil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Histoire intéressante, Nov. 25 2012
By 
Pierre Roy (Jacksonville, Florida, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Des hommes et des dieux (Of Gods and Men) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Une histoire qui vous retient jusqu'à la fin mais qui n'est certainement pas susceptible de faire surgir en vous un grand amour pour les islamistes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Men of Few Words But Deep Convictions, Sept. 22 2012
By 
Ian Gordon Malcomson (Victoria, BC) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Des hommes et des dieux (Of Gods and Men) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Living in a religious community, Trappist monks are renowned for exercising a vow of silence on any matters that do not relate to their practical existence. Idle talk is thought to detract from holy living and daily chores so is greatly discouraged. This film introduces us to a monastic world where this vow or spiritual pledge is going to be significantly tested by circumstances inside and outside the cloister. It is the 1990s and this order of French monks have been serving in Algeria for over a hundred fifty years in the shadows of the Atlas Mountains. They have blended in with the local Muslim community in such a way that they are regarded as friends and brothers. These old men, a remnant of pieds-noirs who did not return to France in the 1960s, have committed their lives to serving God and helping others in need. The filmmaker and actors do a wonderful job in capturing monastic life in all its simplicity of practice and complexity of values. The stark natural features of surrounding countryside and the cultural richness of local village life offer effective settings in which to view this amazing tale of devotion. When a new crisis occurs, in the form of terrorist attacks and killings, in this normal tranquil environment, the Trappists are forced to make a critical decision that amounts to fight or flight. Like other reviewers, I found that special moment in the film happening when the monks celebrated over a meal - in most untrappist-like fashion - their decision to remain true to their vows of service in spite of mounting danger. God has called them to serve even if it means dying a martyr's death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Of Gods and Men, Aug. 27 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very powerful reflection on the impact of the increasing violence of the world and how this small community choose how to face it. Deeply striking about the struggle of a person when faced with the thread of violence. Captures very well the circumstances that lead up to this real-life tragedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Des hommes et des dieux (Of Gods and Men) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 34.95 CDN$ 31.99
In stock on October 24, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews