Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Debut of the Metal Face Villain, June 19 2004
This review is from: Operation: Doomsday (Audio CD)
You most likely know this already, this is MF Doom's (formerly Zev Love X of KMD)(now, AKA King Geedorah and Viktor Vaughn) first album.
Also, you probably know that MF Doom assumed his character from the comic book character and the Fantastic Four archvillain - Victor von Doom (or Dr. Doom.)
This is a classic hiphop album.
(Probably a 4 3/4 star album, but I had to give it 5 b/c my copy has a cartoon video for "I Hear Voices" on it.)
It comes at you with its grimey production and beats from MF Doom and companion MF Grimm (now GM Grimm/Jet Jaguar), and it's rough in-your-face lyrics.
The album uses samples from the old Fantastic Four cartoon to tell Doom's story.
It also has samples from the classic B-Boy movie - WILD STYLE. (Kick @ss)
This album also has collaborations with the other members of the Monsta Island Czars.
Too bad this album is out of print.
I think it may be b/c of a another lawsuit by the Fantastic Four's artist and creator Stan Lee for copyright infringements for Doom's unathorized use old Lee artwork and audio samples (from the cartoons.)
That was why it was out of print before.
It will also be interesting to see if the re-release will be the same, b/c my album is enhanced and has a awesome cartoon video for "I Hear Voices".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Early DOOM, May 11 2004
By 
gallipoli (Toronto, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Operation: Doomsday (Audio CD)
This is a hard album to review. Having heard the brilliance that is "Viktor Vaughn is Vaudeville Villain", going back to MF DOOM's origins seems positively dated and low-tech.
Make no mistake, Zev Love / DOOM / Viktor Vaughn / King Geedorah is in his usual top form as an emcee, dropping funny, literate, and off-beat rhymes like they're Mardi Gras doubloons. DOOM's flow is unique in a world of thuggish-ruggish imitators, simultaneously intelligent and mush mouthed; both cool and nerdy at the same time.
What brings this album down is the sheer wackness of the music. Seriously, it sounds like DOOM made this album in his bedroom. While I applaud the depth of his musical library, and his dedication to avoiding obvious samples (his sample of Steely Dan's "Black Cow" is probably the last part of the song I, or most people, would think to rip), there is a reason most people don't use the stuff he uses. It's just not that good to rap to.
The musical formula seems to be a snippet of a known rock album and an off-the-shelf beat, with DOOM and pals rapping over it. The title track - Doomsday - uses almost the entirety of Sade's "Kiss of Life" as background, which is, well, disconcerting. I find it hard to describe the feeling this album gives; it's almost as if DOOM turned his radio on and started rapping over it.
Frankly DOOM could rap over anything, even the off-balance rumble of a washing machine, and probably make it sound good. But the Viktor Vaughn sessions show how much better he is with a real beat chef behind him. If you're all about the lyrics this album is a good buy, but be warned that the music and beats are strictly low-tech.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars crazy insane or insane crazy, Jan. 9 2004
By 
deus ex mecca (Miami, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Operation: Doomsday (Audio CD)
mf doom...what can i say...he's mentally ill. take that however you want, good or bad. he is underground when it comes to tone, and sound and basically everything. one copy of his cd is probably covered in dust at your local cd store (unless you're lucky enough to live in n.y. where they got local mom & pop record spots). this album goes at possibly the speed of light and if you're not fast enough, it'll leave you blind. you'll be like "MOMMA I CAN'T SEE." because the type of thing doom shoves (literally shoves) in your head is so profound, you would wanna do like oedipus and rip your eyes to not see the evil of your previous ways...and that would be reality. doom says "shut up and listen" with his voice beats and little interludes, which are all very movie-ish. hell, this album is like a movie for the ears. a non-stop thrill ride says the chinese guy hitting the underground...a la me. why a 4, same reason as king geedorah's cd...if you're not in the circle, it'll be TOO underground for you. your ears need to adjust for this stuff man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ressurection of Hip-Hop's Super-Villain, May 27 2002
By 
Robert J. Parker (Missoula, MT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Operation: Doomsday (Audio CD)
Many moons ago, during the time hip hop was just loosing their baby teeth, KMD came out with a revolutionary album, Black Bastards. However, with the backlash from the political correctness movement, the idea of a cartoon black man getting hung on the front of an album was... unacceptable at best. Yikes! Black Bastards, despite a fast-growing popularity, is pulled from the shelves. Members SubRoc was killed in a car accident and associate Grimm Reaper was shot, putting SubRoc in the grave and Grimm Reaper in a wheelchair for life. Zev Love X disappears, seemingly just as dead as his cohorts.
Now, for the comic geeks - compare the story of Dr. Doom, a gypsy that was hunted as a child, his mother and father killed. His genius shines through and he manages to travel to the US to go to Harvard, despite the odds. As he's working on his doctorate, he designs a device that will allow him to contact the dead, but things go horribly wrong and he's terribly scarred by the accident.
Zev Love X = Dr. Doom. If this album and MF (Metal Face) Doom was just a good concept, though, I certainly wouldn't be writing this review. It's like a Who's Who of underground rappers from New York, like Kurious, MF Grimm (Grimm Reaper returns!), Rodan from the Monster Island Czars and Pebbles the Invisible. If you're a fan of Fondle 'Em or Definite Jux, this is a real treat. If you're not, you're missing out.
Intelligent songwriting, incredible samples and music with messages other than 'bling bling,' yet not disconnected from the street scene. Goofy, underproduced, sometimes angry - but quite possibly the last great hip hop album of last millenium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ill Creative Hip Hop album, June 4 2001
By 
alex panoff (cary, n.c. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Operation: Doomsday (Audio CD)
MF Doom's Operation Doomsday is a good album and is original and creative, Which is hard to find nowadays in rap/hiphip. MF Doom lyrics are tight and well put together. Their story telling lyrics make you think and analyze. The Production is so differant from other albums. MF Doom uses ill samples from the comicbock series Dr Doom and he mixers it together with 80's sounding beats. Hard to get used to at first, but when you sit and analyze the beats you can apperiate the effort and skill they put in to it. This album came out in 1999 as an import and now got remastered and put in stores everywhere. Go cop this joint up if you want to hear something unique and new to hip hop and have an open mind. If you like underground real hip hop you should like this. Some of may Favorite tracks are Doomsday, Rhymes like Dimes, Tick Tick(which is a hard track to figue out with it's change in tempo slow and fast but is a dope song), Who I Think I Am, which some ill guest camoes, Hey, Dead Bent, ?, and newly added bonus track I hear voices part one. Check it out. Peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HIP-HOP THE WAY ITS SUPPOSED TO PLAY, May 3 2001
By 
This review is from: Operation: Doomsday (Audio CD)
classic material from one of the most influential and innovative emcees ever. the combination of an industry and fans asleep and very bad luck has mf doom only now catching fire.
first seen and heard on the video/single for third bass's "gas face", daniel dumile ,aka zev luv x formed kmd (kausin' much damage) back in the early 90's. kmd has some hits like "mr. hood" and was poised to step into the conscious niche then inhabited by tribe called quest and brand nubian. then the trouble - elektra freaked about his "sambo" cover art for the next release "bl_ck b_st_rds", a fight ensued with kmd dropped from the label. 2 days later, zev's twin brother was killed in a car accident.
emerging from that wreckage as mf doom, the super villian, this amazing body of work, operation: doomsday is created. joints such as "?" and "i hear voices" are intelligent standouts. there is a animated video that is dope for the "voices" cut as well.
definately support this record - it possitive, important, fun, bangin' and might just maybe, reclaim hip-hop from the disease of wackness - big ups to sub verse music for recognizing this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Hear Voices....MF Doom takes over Hip-Hop!!, Nov. 28 2001
By 
"nova950" (Ground Zero.....NYC!!!!) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Operation: Doomsday (Audio CD)
All I have to say is that is great to see MF Doom (formerly know as Zev Love X of KMD) back and rhyming again. This album is straight up UNDERGROUND!!! Underground at it's best. I bought the LP on wax earlier before the CD came out. I saw the CD and I had to buy it again!!! The songs that standout the most to me, is "Rhymes like Dimes", "Hey"(with the hot Scooby Doo theme sample!!),"Tick, Tick...w/MF Grimm", and "I Hear Voices" which if you get the CD, it's enhanced. So put it in your CD Rom and you'll see a hot animated video of "I Hear Voices"!!! MF Doom didn't lose a step when it comes to lyrics. With his clever wordplay, and metaphors. His use throughout the CD, with the Fantastic Four cartoon sound bites which mentions Doom. So if you love underground hip-hop, and one third of one of the most underrated groups in Hip-hop (early 90's) KMD, then Operation: Doomsday is for you!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 3 1/2 *'s, May 27 2004
By 
mikethemeanmole (watching china town) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Operation: Doomsday (Audio CD)
this is the best album to come out in hip hop since its release in 1999.
it's the best album since BLACKSTAR and AQUEMINI.
the production is spectacular, doom doesn't take himself seriously, and his style is fresher than fresh.
if you claim to be a hip hop fan, you need this album.
i'm just going to go through the highlights of the album, as it's 19 tracks long.
"doomsday" has a sade sample for the hook that sounds perfect, dooms voice sounds perfect over his jazzy low-fi production, and the song is complete fun.
"rhymes like dimes" has another great jazzy beat that mf spits goofy lyrics over.
"red and gold" is my favorite doom song. the sample is brilliant, the cut is brilliant, and doom's lyrics are as fun as ever.
this is a must have for hip hop fans, and it's doom's best solo work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It Surprisingly Works, Oct. 18 2001
This review is from: Operation: Doomsday (Audio CD)
Operation: Doomsday is an album that could have been botched by many artists, but MF Doom (formerly Zev Luv X of the sickeningly underrated KMD) is able to pull off the album with brilliance. The production uses incredibly cheesy, corny samples, but Doom is able to make them work to great effect. For example, the use of a Sade sample and the bassline to BDP's "Poetry" on "Doomsday" is amazing. Doom does not sound like he did on the mic back in the KMD days, but his lyrics and flow hit hard. Check out the Scooby-Doo sampled "Hey," "Go With The Flow," "Rhyme Like Dimes," and "The M.I.C." Some KMD fans may be scratching their heads wondering what happened to the old Zev, but fans with a yearning for something different and an open mind should find Operation: Doomsday incredibly satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Hip-Hop Classic by any yardstick!, May 29 2001
By 
englishbob (Springfield, VA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Operation: Doomsday (Audio CD)
This album is straight-up hip-hop, like the old days but a little more complex with the beats and the mixing. If you like real hip-hop (such as Masters of Illusion, Mos Def, Hi-Tek) then you are guaranteed to love this. If you find DMX and JZ are generally what bumps in your ride, well, you know where you can go...
This is real rap, like the old days, excellent music, beats, like guys rapping on the corner, this guy sounds like he enjoys his art. The subject matter is not caught up on bling, bling, Moet and hos, but real stuff that matters to real people. Like Dr. Dre said back in the day, MF Doom is an emcee expressing himself. Great sounds that will definitely have you bobbing your head in your ride. I almost crashed my car listening to this stuff. Buy it!
Real Rap is Back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Operation: Doomsday 4 LP Box Set
Operation: Doomsday 4 LP Box Set by MF DOOM (LP Record - 2011)
Click for more info
Sign up to be notified when this item becomes available.
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews