Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, March 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Operation: Doomsday (Audio CD)
Smart, inventive and original. A must for any real hip hop head. If you like J Dilla, Madlib etc then you NEED this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Operation Doomsday, July 10 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Operation: Doomsday (Audio CD)
To Amazon sellers-
Please start selling more of these on amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Debut of the Metal Face Villain, June 19 2004
This review is from: Operation: Doomsday (Audio CD)
You most likely know this already, this is MF Doom's (formerly Zev Love X of KMD)(now, AKA King Geedorah and Viktor Vaughn) first album.
Also, you probably know that MF Doom assumed his character from the comic book character and the Fantastic Four archvillain - Victor von Doom (or Dr. Doom.)
This is a classic hiphop album.
(Probably a 4 3/4 star album, but I had to give it 5 b/c my copy has a cartoon video for "I Hear Voices" on it.)
It comes at you with its grimey production and beats from MF Doom and companion MF Grimm (now GM Grimm/Jet Jaguar), and it's rough in-your-face lyrics.
The album uses samples from the old Fantastic Four cartoon to tell Doom's story.
It also has samples from the classic B-Boy movie - WILD STYLE. (Kick @ss)
This album also has collaborations with the other members of the Monsta Island Czars.
Too bad this album is out of print.
I think it may be b/c of a another lawsuit by the Fantastic Four's artist and creator Stan Lee for copyright infringements for Doom's unathorized use old Lee artwork and audio samples (from the cartoons.)
That was why it was out of print before.
It will also be interesting to see if the re-release will be the same, b/c my album is enhanced and has a awesome cartoon video for "I Hear Voices".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MF Doom is crazy, June 6 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Operation: Doomsday (Audio CD)
I find it sad that nobody knows this guy. He is one of my favorite emcess of all time next to KRS One. His lyrics are genius and his flow are like nothing else. Calling yourself a hip hop head and not knowin Doom is wrong.
Try to get this album quick, copies aint easy to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 3 1/2 *'s, May 27 2004
By 
mikethemeanmole (watching china town) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Operation: Doomsday (Audio CD)
this is the best album to come out in hip hop since its release in 1999.
it's the best album since BLACKSTAR and AQUEMINI.
the production is spectacular, doom doesn't take himself seriously, and his style is fresher than fresh.
if you claim to be a hip hop fan, you need this album.
i'm just going to go through the highlights of the album, as it's 19 tracks long.
"doomsday" has a sade sample for the hook that sounds perfect, dooms voice sounds perfect over his jazzy low-fi production, and the song is complete fun.
"rhymes like dimes" has another great jazzy beat that mf spits goofy lyrics over.
"red and gold" is my favorite doom song. the sample is brilliant, the cut is brilliant, and doom's lyrics are as fun as ever.
this is a must have for hip hop fans, and it's doom's best solo work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pray for re-release, May 26 2004
This review is from: Operation: Doomsday (Audio CD)
this is OOP and hard to find. copies go on ebay for $30 and up. if you can get this somehow -- GET IT. the beats are of the most chilled variety with free flow true hiphop rhymes that just go on and on and on....mf doom could probably flow for an hour straight without taking a breath. the 1st song 'doomsday' is a true classic, i could put it on repeat for days on end. basically everything MF doom has put out is awesome, but this is the original, and this is the best. find a way to get a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Greatest, May 21 2004
By 
Bee Robinson (Frankfort, Ky USA!!!!) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Operation: Doomsday (Audio CD)
Metal Face is so unique...NOBODY can say he's like anyone else. His beats are a breath of fresh air. All these other beats get old after a while. Besides I heard the guy is like 40 years old, if true then even MORE props to him. He always finds the most odd but yet tight samples and loops to use. All you ppl sleepin on MF I don't know what to tell you. Cop this album if not any others!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Early DOOM, May 11 2004
By 
gallipoli (Toronto, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Operation: Doomsday (Audio CD)
This is a hard album to review. Having heard the brilliance that is "Viktor Vaughn is Vaudeville Villain", going back to MF DOOM's origins seems positively dated and low-tech.
Make no mistake, Zev Love / DOOM / Viktor Vaughn / King Geedorah is in his usual top form as an emcee, dropping funny, literate, and off-beat rhymes like they're Mardi Gras doubloons. DOOM's flow is unique in a world of thuggish-ruggish imitators, simultaneously intelligent and mush mouthed; both cool and nerdy at the same time.
What brings this album down is the sheer wackness of the music. Seriously, it sounds like DOOM made this album in his bedroom. While I applaud the depth of his musical library, and his dedication to avoiding obvious samples (his sample of Steely Dan's "Black Cow" is probably the last part of the song I, or most people, would think to rip), there is a reason most people don't use the stuff he uses. It's just not that good to rap to.
The musical formula seems to be a snippet of a known rock album and an off-the-shelf beat, with DOOM and pals rapping over it. The title track - Doomsday - uses almost the entirety of Sade's "Kiss of Life" as background, which is, well, disconcerting. I find it hard to describe the feeling this album gives; it's almost as if DOOM turned his radio on and started rapping over it.
Frankly DOOM could rap over anything, even the off-balance rumble of a washing machine, and probably make it sound good. But the Viktor Vaughn sessions show how much better he is with a real beat chef behind him. If you're all about the lyrics this album is a good buy, but be warned that the music and beats are strictly low-tech.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sickness, Feb. 9 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Operation: Doomsday (Audio CD)
i just bought this album from some buy, sell, and trade music shop for an amazing 3.99.......man this is this best 4 dollars i have ever spent in my 23 years of life. MF doom is truly an original and creative individual. He has composed a Cd that is full of fun and silly beats iced down with some extra whipped-up lyrical frosting. I would have paid 20 for this CD.....GET IT NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MF Doom is taking over!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, Jan. 30 2004
By 
Bijan Shamloo (Miami, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Operation: Doomsday (Audio CD)
This is the weirdest album that I have ever heard. MF Doom definately has mental problems. All his songs are just prolonged loops, not one beat is originally made, his lyrics are weird and don't make any sense, his voice is slurred and sounds drunk and his tempo on his songs changes in the middle of the track ("Tick, Tick"). So why am I giving this album 5 stars, because that's freakin' awesome. This is an excellent album that underground heads are required to have in their inventory. Buy it now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Operation: Doomsday 4 LP Box Set
Operation: Doomsday 4 LP Box Set by MF DOOM (LP Record - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews