Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sugary Sweet Reissue
You know, it's funny how perspective changes. When I first got this album a few years back, "Sugar Blues" was my least favourite track. Now, it's my favourite. Just listen to that Snowy White guitar solo with headphones on and dig into that driving rhythm.

In general, I enjoy Chinatown a lot more now. There are some strikingly great Thin Lizzy tunes on...
Published on Oct. 2 2011 by LeBrain

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Several hit singles but one of Lizzy's worst albums
This CD contains several hit singles, but I am always disappointed by this album. The style is simpler more pop-rock and less hard rocking/melodic than the earlier albums with Brian Robertson. A respectable album, but this would be at the bottom of my Thin Lizzy shopping list (I own it on vinyl and will not be getting the CD). [Everybody should have a Thin Lizzy...
Published on Sept. 25 2002 by sir_isaac_newton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sugary Sweet Reissue, Oct. 2 2011
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chinatown(2CD) (Audio CD)
You know, it's funny how perspective changes. When I first got this album a few years back, "Sugar Blues" was my least favourite track. Now, it's my favourite. Just listen to that Snowy White guitar solo with headphones on and dig into that driving rhythm.

In general, I enjoy Chinatown a lot more now. There are some strikingly great Thin Lizzy tunes on here, albeit a bit less complex than previous albums. "Killer On The Loose" remains a great heavy metal song with brilliant soloing courtesy of Gorham. "We Will Be Strong", the slightly understated opener, is also a personal favourite. It may not be loaded to the gills with familiar songs, but Chinatown is a perfectly fine Lizzy platter.

"Having A Good Time" is an enjoyable romp (Phil's cheerleading being infectious) with yet another Snowy solo that just sails. It just rides the song beautifully and elevates the whole thing. Personally, I think Snowy's work with Thin Lizzy has been among the most interesting.

Deluxe edition adds a bonus disc of extra goodies that is well worth the price. The B-side "Don't Play Around" is stellar. While the live take of "Sugar Blues" is previously available on the Thin Lizzy box set, "Whiskey In The Jar" is a really interesting version. Performed as a trio by Phil Lynott, Brian Downey and Midge Ure (apparently because Snowy and Scott don't know the song?), it's a very different, simplified version of the song but no less catchy.

5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get Bizzy with the Lizzy, July 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chinatown (Audio CD)
Thin Lizzy has a legendary catalog. Most lean towards Jailbreak and their smash hits still played on the radio today and then forget some of there other amazing Records. Chinatown demonstrates Lizzy getting Bizzy, showing off there twin guitar licks and the bands tight sound. All and all I think its very solid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great CD from Lizzy!, June 28 2011
By 
Stephen Bieth (Mississauga/ Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chinatown(2CD) (Audio CD)
People seem to be really divided on this title. I think it's a great record. I liked it even better then Black Rose (yea I know! I can hear your scream from here). It has really good energy to it and the record is mostly upbeat songs. Strange since two of the key members were using heroin and there seems to be the feeling that Phil Lynott was holding back some songs for his solo record. Gary Moore had also just left. Midge Ure had been replaced by Snowy White (but Ure did appear on the record). So there was a lot going on. I feel that there are a lot of solid songs here and even thow Snowy was not the best on stage (he just kind of stood there) he was amazing in the studio.
As far as this reissue goes. There is a marked improvement in sound. It much fuller sounding and this is the first time a proper remastering job has been done on it. A Bside and lots off BBC material makes the bonus disc worth it.
Even thow Lizzy has stronger CD's I think if you like the band you will like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN OFTEN OVERLOOKED CLASSIC!!!!, June 3 2004
By 
T. Kasuboski (Winneconne, Wisconsin United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chinatown (Audio CD)
Following the brilliance of THIN LIZZY's-"Black Rose" album, it's hard to belive THIN LIZZY was able to create an album dead equal to the classic power of "Black Rose". "Chinatown" featuring post-Gary Moore guitarist Snowy White, is rock solid start to finish. Surrounded in an aura of cocaine imagery, street fights, and dirty sex, "Chinatown" is tragically overlooked by many THIN LIZZY fans. Gorham and White's guitar teamwork sounds like the work of longtime friends, not a first time guitar tagteam. If you love THIN LIZZY, "Chinatown" is undeniably essential, and offers yet another brilliant mountain peak, in the history of one of hard-rock's most legendary acts. Listen for yourself, but make sure not to forget some nose numbing "sugar".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's a Killer on The Loose!, June 1 2011
This review is from: Chinatown (Audio CD)
Great record. Don't miss out on it, there is alot more to Thin Lizzy then The Boys Are Back In Town. Trust me! Chinatown and Killer On The Loose are two instant classics. Didn't I is a very beautifully written romantic song, Having A Good Time is just uplifting and fun to jam out to. Fantastic album. A must listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs Up for Thin Lizzy, July 3 2003
By 
D. Mullen "red rocker dave" (West Jordan, Utah United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chinatown (Audio CD)
The art of twin lead rock guitars has died. Nobody did it better than Thin Lizzy! One of my "classic" favorites. The break in Having a Good Time is great. "Hit me with that drum Brian, hit me as hard as you can!" Phil screams. Goosebumps. Snowy White and Scott Gorham rock. Sugar Blues just rips. China Town is really good. Killer on the Loose is a toon about Jack the Ripper, Very cool. There are some slow ballads here but they have their place too. I miss Thin Lizzy and Phil Lynott.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i hated it..., June 30 2003
By 
This review is from: Chinatown (Audio CD)
i hated this album when it first came out. where were all the moody introspective numbers that lynott's famous for? yes it's a bit shallow and heroin-induced by lizzy standards, but it rocks by any standard and is head and shoulders above most contemporary metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!, Oct. 22 2002
By 
Thomas (SONOMA,CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chinatown (Audio CD)
This cd is excellent! If you like Thin Lizzy you`ll love this one.Of note,Gary Moore is not on this cd like some reviews state.Guitarists are Scott Gorham and Snowy White.Definite classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid cd from thin lizzy, Aug. 24 2002
By 
Kurt A. Ragsdale "krags13" (Afton, Tn) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chinatown (Audio CD)
This is another very good cd from thin lizzy. My favorites on it are We will be strong, Chinatown, Sweethart( great production in sound achieved on this tune), and having a good time. all the songs are good on here. It rates about mid-of the pack as far as lizzy cd's go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great album from TL, June 8 2002
By 
"kaareka" (Copenhagen Denmark) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chinatown (Audio CD)
With Snowy White and Scott Gorham on the guitars there is a good balance in the band. Some of the solo passages sounds almost jazzy. It is well produced and the material is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chinatown(2CD)
Chinatown(2CD) by Thin Lizzy (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews