Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't get better;
This movie has been a long time coming and hasn't had an easy time of it. Through the process of not knowing if it would even come to term, to having the release date pushed back, dozens of pre-screening sneak peeks, to most recently fearing about the state of the box office and what that means for futue Serenity-related releases. Strip all the drama away and, even as a...
Published on Nov. 2 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Watch it twice
The first time i saw it i was disappointed, it just wasn't as much fun as the show. But, after watching it again i enjoyed it much more.
Published 3 months ago by corby


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't get better;, Nov. 2 2005
By A Customer
This movie has been a long time coming and hasn't had an easy time of it. Through the process of not knowing if it would even come to term, to having the release date pushed back, dozens of pre-screening sneak peeks, to most recently fearing about the state of the box office and what that means for futue Serenity-related releases. Strip all the drama away and, even as a stand alone, you have one hell of an amazing movie.
Joss Whedon's creativity shines through brilliantly in his amazing theatrical debut. You don't have to be a fan of the unjustly canceled Firefly to enjoy a movie that will tear at your heartstrings and still keep you laughing as you jump in surprise.
The stars of the movie shine just as a brilliantly: relative unknowns (Two Canadians, a ballerina, a comic genius, an old time TV regular, a fake Baldwin.. just to give you an idea) who have more range and ability to emote than most of the high-paying stars of our generation. They have nothing but great futures ahead of them.
Even if you know nothing about the show, or can't recognize any familiar names in the cast, watch the movie. If the genre starts to turn you away, don't. Give it a chance; this movie may be set 500 years in the future but that's not the focus. It's the people. How does one survive in that far off time? It's about connecting when you're deep in the black and all you have are those around you. It's about fighting the oppression, not being afraid to question your government and look beyond, to educate others of the misguided truths that are offered up to the general populace. And at the same time, it's about good ol' ass kicking, big explosions, witty repartee and moments that make your heart stop.
Rent, watch, buy. Whatever you do, be open to loving Serenity. It really can't get any better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars redemption, Dec 31 2005
By A Customer
I am a very new fan of firefly/serenity, but even now, a very loyal and fanatic one. my wife and i decided to see the movie this fall and it is now my faorite of the whole year! it is something sci fi used to be but had certainly lost in the past 20 years: ORIGINAL! there are flaws but most of this movie is so compelling and captivating i am willing to overlook them in my 5 star rating. the music, acting, humor, special effects are all top notch. but you will for once FEEL for these characters and care what happens to them which i didn't even feel about darth vader/ anakin this year. see it. or better yet, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They aim to misbehave, Jan. 3 2006
By 
Wesley Perry (Moncton, Canada) - See all my reviews
Serenity is my top movie for 2005, and I'll tell you why: the characters. It is based on, and in conclusion to, the prematurely cancelled (thank you Fox) TV show Firefly. If you have seen the show before, you probably already love the characters, if not, you will.
Instead of being inexorably drawn by the tides of the universe, even though the main character at one point states that he simply follows the wind, this movie is drawn forward and driven by the characters. Their choices, their emotions, and their relationships are what guide this. Not technology, deus ex machinas, or even their desperate situation (which becomes increasingly so, as in any great sci fi flick).
Yes, the action is great, though not on par with the Matrix as some commercials state for some reason. Yes, the special effects are spectacular, although obviously not created by ILM. And yes, the story and the big twist revelation at the end keep you guessing. But what makes this movie is the characters. Believable, fresh and compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joss Whedon provides some closure to the "Firefly" saga, June 23 2006
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
If you were thinking that Joss Whedon wrote and directed "Serenity" to be the first in a series of movies based on the crew of his late and lamented television series "Firefly," think again. Whedon knows this might be his only bite of the cinematic apple for his creations, so fans will see this being more like the series finales of "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" and "Angel." In other words, not everybody is going to be around for the final credits.

To get everybody on the same page Whedon begins with Simon (Sean Maher) breaking his sister River (Summer Glau) out of the Alliance laboratory where they are busy playing with her brain. River is both a psychic and a living weapon, and it turns out that it is the former that is of the biggest concern to the Alliance because she knows something she should not know. That knowledge, rattling around in her head, is part of the reason that River is mentally unstable, and so the Alliance has sent an Operative (Chiwetel Ejiofor), who has neither a name nor an official position, to bring her back. Then we jump to Serenity and a tracking shot in which the boat's captain, Mal (Nathan Fillion) starts in the cock pit with Wash (Alan Tudyk), and then walks all the way through the crew deck and returns back through the cargo deck, meeting Zoe (Gina Torres), Jayne (Adam Baldwin), and Kaylee (Jewel Statie), along with Simon and River along the way. Inara (Morena Baccarin) and Shepherd Book (Ron Glass) are no longer aboard, but rest assured they will pop up. So, Mal has River and the Alliance wants her, so the Operative is coming to get her and he is coming "sideways."

Mal Reynolds is in the reluctant hero Han Solo/Rick Blaine mold; he and Zoe fought against the Alliance in the war and now his entire world is Serenity. His crew is his top priority and the Alliance is making a big mistake in forcing him to care about larger issues. Besides, he has an ace, or at least a wild card, up his sleeve with River. So the character arc of the captain is certainly a familiar one. But one of Whedon's chief attributes is that he likes to play with established conventions. Every time you think that you are ahead of the characters and that Mal does not know what is about to happen next, you are wrong. So it is nice to play with expectations and Whedon does so, to provide not only humor but some pathos as well (Whedon likes to make you laugh and then give you a reason to suddenly stop laughing).

Yes, those of us familiar with "Firefly" have an advantage in watching "Serenity" because we know the characters, not only in terms of their histories but also their temperaments. That is why we were expecting a lot more cursing in Chinese in this movie. We are also going to be more accepting of attempts to fast forward some of the interpersonal issues that afflict the crew of Serenity, as well as the attempt to suggest what is to come down the road. Whedon could get bogged down in trying to finally untangle the love-hate affair that Mal and Inara have been having, but he rightly keeps the focus on working out the River plotline. Most of the crewmembers of Serenity get their moments, but this film comes down to Mal and River, which is what both the television series and the prologue here have set up. I am perfectly willing to grant that such insider knowledge is worth at least a half-star in terms of rating this film, but that is just the way things break with this movie.

Ultimately, I ended up rounding up on "Serenity" because in the sequences where River goes to town Whedon uses long shots to depict the action. Yes, it could be that he is cutting or morphing together shots of the living weapon at work, but I am so sick and tired of seeing fight sequences reduced to a rapid fire montage of cuts where I can never tell what is going on. It seems that you do not get to see what is really happening in a fight unless it is not really happening because you are using CGI for your fights (a prime example being Spider-man versus Doctor Octopus in "Spider-man 2"). But when River takes her turn we get to see what she is doing and enjoy her whirling ballet of death and one of the joys here is watching Glau turn off the crazy little girl routine and show exactly what the Alliance has created. In other words, Whedon provides the payoff we were denied when "Firefly" was summarily cancelled after only eleven episodes had aired, which is exactly what the mission was here. Final Note: Stick around for the entire credits and you will get to hear the "Fireside" theme song as a nice little acoustic guitar piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Worth Watching, July 28 2014
By 
S. M. (Blackville, New Brunswick Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you love the TV show you have to wath Serenity...at least it answers some of the many questions you would have. If you have never seen the TV show it is still a really great Sci-Fi, action movie and as always the writing, acting, and effects are fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Serenity, June 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this movie and the series that only lasted one season, unfortunately. I finally have the dvd now, thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Complete and Total Awesomeness, June 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity (DVD)
What can I say that hasn't been said a thousand times before. This was a phenomenal character driven series with solid storylines that was ended LONG before it's time. The movie tied up so many loose ends from the TC show but it doesn't feel like that. You can watch this movie without ever seeing an episode of the TV show and love every second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Serenity, June 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It tied up loose ends on a very good sci-fi show that should have continued. Fire Fly was a very interesting show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Serenity, June 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of the best SciFi shows. Realy enjoyed the blueray version. I like Joss Whedon and Nathan Fillion. The rest of the cast is good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well seasoned, June 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
the actors and the script are both well seasoned. Great comedy, acting, story, scenery, villain, conflict, philosophy. Much better than ... star wars. This one is for adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Serenity [Blu-ray]
Serenity [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray - 2005)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 7.56
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews