Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Maybe there is a Starfighter left."
Hot on the heels of the then-defunct Star Wars franchise came The Last Starfighter. There had been other copycat films before (see: Battlestar Galactica) but none were as successful as The Last Starfighter. The theme that they both have in common was the young boy, stuck in the doldrums of his daily life, aching to get away and make something of himself. The Last...
Published on Sept. 8 2010 by LeBrain

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star - fighter
This film is populated by stock characters. The hero, a senior teen, wants to get away from the trailer park where he lives with his mother and is the de facto handyman. His girlfriend is a sweet person whose chief concern besides the the hero is her "granny". The hero's little brother about age eleven has a collection of Playboy magazines and is kept in line by the...
Published on March 27 2012 by A. K. Andrew


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Maybe there is a Starfighter left.", Sept. 8 2010
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Hot on the heels of the then-defunct Star Wars franchise came The Last Starfighter. There had been other copycat films before (see: Battlestar Galactica) but none were as successful as The Last Starfighter. The theme that they both have in common was the young boy, stuck in the doldrums of his daily life, aching to get away and make something of himself. The Last Starfighter wore its theme on its sleeve. Like Otis says in the opening scenes, "When life gives you a chance, you gotta grab on with both hands and hang on tight!"

I recently re-watched my old DVD and was shocked to see how bad that 1998 release looked. Certain frames had sections that were washed out, I could see a hair on the film, and there were plenty of scratches that begged for digital restoration. I immediately went out and bought the blu-ray. Suddenly, everything was crisp and clear in glorious 1080p hi-def. All the defects I noticed before had been cleaned up. The film looks great!

Alex Rogan (Lance Guest) is your average American teen living somewhere in the southern states (Arizona? New Mexico?) in a trailer park. His application for a loan has been rejected and it looks like he's going to be stuck going to city college with the locals. His dream of finally getting out has been quashed. However, Alex has a talent -- more accurately, "the gift" -- to be a Starfighter. Only he doesn't know it yet. All he knows is that he just scored 1,000,000 points on a video game called "Starfighter".

Light years away, the peaceful planet of Rylos is about to be invaded by the traitor Xur, who has declared himself Emperor (Star Wars?), and the deadly Kodan armada. Rylos' best hope are the Starfighters: an elite group of fighters who have mastered the gunnary station aboard the powerful Gunstar starships. And that video game was more than a game. It was simulator, planted there by the alien Centauri (Robert Preston in his final role), and designed to find someone with "the gift" to be a Starfighter.

In short order, Centauri appears, as a 70 year old man in a (then) futuristic car. He whisks Alex away across the lightyears to Rylos where the whole situation is explained to him. One problem though: Alex doesn't want to go. He doesn't want to die for a war he'd never heard of before, far from home. Will he eventually remember Otis' advice? Will he grab hold of this chance with both hands and hold on tight?

What made The Last Starfighter unique was that it had a dual plot. While Alex has been swept away to the stars, he has been replaced back home with a Beta unit that looks exactly like him. These scenes ground the movie and provide much of the comedy relief, as Beta tries to understand Alex's girlfriend Maggie (Mary Catherine Stewart). Beta also doubles as a a target, a decoy. Once Xur learns that there might be a Starfighter on Earth, he sends a (really cool looking) Zandozan assassin to eliminate him.

Humour, action, cool looking aliens and fascinating early CG animation all make The Last Starfighter an interesting viewing. Although now it looks horribly dated, it is easy to overlook the primitive CG and just get into the story and characters. The only way this movie could work, then and now, is if you can suspend your disbelief and get into the characters. Thankfully, some stellar performances make that easy to do.

Bonus features are excellent. The original DVD documentary from the 90's is included, as well as a brand new one in 1080i hi-def. Both Lance Guest and Mary Catherine Stewart appear and provide fascinating insight. As a kid, I always suspected that the Beta version of Guest was wearing a wig as the hair never looked right. Guest confirms this: Many of the Beta scenes were added as an afterthought, and he had already cut his hair. Stewart is good humoured about her awful Michael Bay moment ("I love you Alex Rogan").

The Last Starfighter, while looking dated, is still a timeless story and it should still grab the imaginations of kids today. It certainly still holds mine.

5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
very happy customer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love It!, April 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Starfighter (25th Anniversary Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD) (Sous-titres français) (Blu-ray)
This is one of my favourite movies while growing up. Watched it more times than I can count. I got to share the movie with my 13 year old niece. After she got over the shock that I actually watched this when I was a kid (I'm only 44), she really got into it and is now a fan. Often wondered why they never made a sequel; however sometimes, it's just best to leave things as they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just a Fun Movie, Jan. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Starfighter (DVD)
This movie may be a bit hoke, but it is a fun movie.
If you like SiFi you will like this. It's ok for kids to watch as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars classic, Jan. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Starfighter (DVD)
this is a classic. still enjoy every moment. will always have a following in each generation. great for the kids
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love, Oct. 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Starfighter (25th Anniversary Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD) (Sous-titres français) (Blu-ray)
I love the moive it reminded me of when I was a kids at the moives would love to buy more good moives
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the last starfighter, Aug. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
everything was in perfect standing order.this a great movie i love very much..and i love answer about movie and good in my collection..

thank's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great 80's Flick, June 18 2013
By 
Steve J. Berry "Steve" (London ON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Starfighter (25th Anniversary Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD) (Sous-titres français) (Blu-ray)
Love this classic film! I ordered on Saturday and got it on the Monday I don't know how they did it but Wow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars buy me, April 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Starfighter (DVD)
yes very good cast and thrilling with comedy thrown in with the story. amazing movie for all people of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Last Starfighter, Jan. 17 2013
By 
Red the Wonderer - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Starfighter (DVD)
Nostalgia makes me like this movie more than it probably deserves. I'm puzzled by the absence of a funny line, when Lewis comes into the yard, wearing his helmet and says 'Bacon, bacon, bacon'. Where did it go?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Starfighter (25th Anniversary Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD) (Sous-titres français)
CDN$ 13.99
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews