march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars1,274
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$188.35+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is a unreal sounding SACD, if you ever want to impress your friends with your system, this is the one to do it! Great sound, it goes from back to front, and also all the way spinning the room. You feel like your in a Imax theater, love it, clear sound the bells sound so good, this cd has to be played loud, just make sure no ones sleeping or your neighbours are not home! With my 9 channel 6 sub system, this sounded unreal, a real treat to have. So just don't stand there get your fingers moving order this one, you will not regret it. Even if your system sucks or your speakers are lousy, this is one everyone should have, just buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2016
Well what can you say about such an iconic album as this. The sound on this recording is pretty much as it should be. Having said that I think the depth and soundstage could have been expanded just a tad more to give it that real wow factor. The vinyl on this reissue is very good, not much surface noise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2015
I've heard Pink Floyd's 'Time' a million times and, quite frankly, was tired of it. But when it came on from the SACD, I felt like I had been transported from watching reruns of a concert on TV, to being AT the actual concert. Every clock hung in the air in different depths and heights, and the chimes resonate into you. Truly spectacular. The production value present here is on par with Dire Straits - Brothers in Arms SACD.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2014
The audiophile remastering of this disk is truly something to enjoy!
I could not believe the improvement the sound quality in this remastered disk is compared to the original!
If you want the best sound money can buy, this is a purchase I highly recommend!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2003
This is one of the releases I was waiting for with baited breath. I am a major Floyd Fanatic. And since getting stuff on SACD, I couldn't wait for some Floyd titles to come out. That being said...here's the review.
This is probably one of the best SACD transfers yet. The sounds are crisp and clear. The seperation of the channels is fantastic. And the music is great.
The heartbeat on Speak to Me/Breathe gets you in the right mood. It sounds like it is coming from your body. Then you get to On The Run. Songs like this are the reason we have surround sound. You can hear the guy running around the room. The helicoptor seems to circle around the room. And the air rushes around. Then you get to Time. The Alarm clocks sound like they are right in the room. You can hear the resonance on the grandfather bell. Then you get to Great Gig in the Sky and you can hear the range of Clare Torrey's voice. Then on money, you can hear the change circling from speaker to speaker. Everything about this CD is fantastic. It seems that Pink Floyd were ahead of their time when they made this one.
It's really a shame that Amazon only has 5 stars because this one rates a 10.
One more thing. Since I think Wish You Were Here and Animals were both recorded in Quadrophonic, it would be nice if they would do those next. Those are another pair of albums that would lend themselves to 5.1
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2005
I bought this album having no idea what to expect other than the fact that it was made in 1973 and the artist Pink Floyd was a progressive rock group.
42 minutes and 10 seconds later I was left speechless, blown away, and in utter amazement. This album left me almost with a whole new outlook on life. The lyrics, vocals, instruments, performances......mindblowing. Track 3 "Time" in my opinion may just be the absolute single greatest recording I have ever heard. 7:06 of musical brilliance and genius.
Upon first listen for me, this CD blew away Black Sabbath, Metallica, AC/DC, Van Halen, Guns N Roses, Nirvana, Soundgarden, and every other "rock" group I'd ever heard other then Led Zeppelin and thats. And if I had to choose between Floyd or Zeppelin upon their careers the edge undoubtedly goes to Floyd. Zeppelin could never match this CD. "Stairway To Heaven" is vastly overrated and cant match up with "Time".
"Dark Side Of The Moon" is not just a rock CD. Name a musical genre other than pop, rap and the hard core punk/metal which should not even be considered music when you have people lipsinking and the amazingly awful American Idol. DSOTM is rock, blues, and jazz depending on which song you are playing. And did I mention the sound production??? Outstanding.
In conclusion, "Dark Side Of The Moon" is to music what "The Godfather" is to movies. An epic, timeless, must-have CD.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2004
I own several versions of this (on LP & CD) but I believe this is my favorite. The packaging is unique, with a deluxe booklet containing lyrics, photos, and artwork; 5 very cool cards; and, a nice black box that houses it all. As far as the sound is concerned, there's always been different opinions among floydians regarding the various editions, but I would rank this at least the equal to any of the other versions. The 20th Anniversary Edition was lovingly remastered by engineer Doug Sax. Not many people are aware that the original release was several generations removed from the master tapes, according to David Gilmour, so this is a big improvement. One caution: if you buy this CD used, make sure the outer box is not beat up, if such things matter to you, as it tends to show wear very easily.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2006
very few albums have stood the test of time like dark side of the moon. it was a "new thing " when it was first released. i don't consider myself a true pink floyd fanatic but i do know great works of art and this album is one of them. there are no highs and no lows on it. even the cover is great. it just seems to flow along at a pace thats very mid tempo and is very easy on the ears. that said the opening of money does seem to grab you and insist you listen. time is another one. from the opening tick tock to the bells ringing to the bass coming in.the song quite simply makes you sit up and listen. from start to finish it's a great album. breathe, us and them,the great gig in the sky all great ,great songs. a must have. 33 years after it's release it still sounds great and i've never tired of it.if by chance you're new to the "FLOYD" make this your first purchase and see what all the talk is about. 5 BIG STARS *****
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2012
For older folks, if stereo sound systems was the thing to have when you were
young...well, this one for you;
Remastering! the absolute heaven to hi-fidelity...well, I don't know if that's true
when you play with the old analogue tape master after 40 years! they degrade too with time...!same for Pink Floyd; Dark side of the moon or Jethro Tull; Aqualung...
I have to admit that this one is very good and more loud(in a good way).I have 4 versions 1986 Japan, 1990 CND, 2003 SACD and now 2011 pressing, they are all good and specialy the 2nd cd live 1974 version that's is the new key feature here ...but prime price is once again ask by the records cie!
the music business with the cd (and super rock group like PF)is over and the mp3 download is hi-infidelity if you have a very good sound system...well, each "my generation" as is thing... enjoy DSOTM and a whisky, while you can...Cheers!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2011
Of the 6 discs in this set, i'll maybe use half. The Blu-Ray is awesome, the Live album great, and the extra tracks interesting. But packaging is awkward and unfortunate, and the gift items seem cheap and silly. There are 'vintage' ticket stubs and items/writings presented in such a way that they feel wholly artificial and mass-produced. I was into the idea of some cool DSOTM 'marbles' - but they're just cheap glass beads with (poorly-applied) stickers on em. Multi-format nonsense means lots of duplication across the discs. Perhaps a great set for some but at this price i am disappoint.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse