Customer Reviews


345 Reviews
5 star:
 (297)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Vinyl Release.
I'm certainly not one of those people who claim that "everything sounds better on vinyl, just because it's vinyl". I have been disappointed on several occasions upon receiving reissued and/or remastered versions of some of my favourite albums. Everything from poor sound quality to extreme surface noise to awful quality control (when you're spending upwards of $25, I...
Published on Nov. 15 2011 by D. Argento

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half a deal... not okay with me.
I received this box set about two weeks ago and I'm surprised that there aren't more complaints coming in. When ordering a box set I expect too be visually and aurally satisfied for the amount of money spent. I really don't have any complaints about the sound at all- both the Quad & 5.1 mixes on the Blu-ray are outstanding and the Cd's are great also. The problem comes...
Published on Feb. 9 2012 by BRIAN BOYLE, Thunder Bay, Ont


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Vinyl Release., Nov. 15 2011
By 
D. Argento (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm certainly not one of those people who claim that "everything sounds better on vinyl, just because it's vinyl". I have been disappointed on several occasions upon receiving reissued and/or remastered versions of some of my favourite albums. Everything from poor sound quality to extreme surface noise to awful quality control (when you're spending upwards of $25, I wouldn't expect to receive records with scuffs, scratches and the center hole not completely punched through). That being said, I wouldn't give out a five star rating too easily.
So I love Pink Floyd and when this album became available, I held my breath and ordered it. I'm glad I did. It's awesome in every respect. Sound quality, quality control and the packaging are all superb. Most other manufacturers could learn a few things from this exceptional release. If you like Floyd, get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an essential album for music lovers, Dec 12 2005
By 
MJB (MONTREAL, QUEBEC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wish You Were Here (Audio CD)
Pink Floyd's follow up to the titanic selling "Dark Side of the Moon" is the often overlooked "Wish you Where Here". Once noted as keyboadist Richard Wrights favorite Pink Floyd album, this body of work demonstrates and highlights the band's musical skill over the often noted Roger Waters lyrical skill. Sharing musical writing duties, (the hidden strength of the group) is evident all over this album. With contributions from Waters, Gilmour, and Wright. Classics include the title track, as well as other gems like "Have a Cigar", "Welcome to the Machine", and a fan favorite "Shine on you Crazy Diamond". Written against the backdrop of original member Syd Barrett's dive into mental illness and alienation, this album will not dissapoint any music lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why this is Pink Floyd's best album, Oct. 15 2003
By 
This review is from: Wish You Were Here (Audio CD)
Yes, I said best. It's not as influential as Darkside or as cynical as Animals (2nd best). It's not as experimental like Umagumma, or as grandiose as The Wall. In many respects it is similar to Meddle in it's laid back smoothness, but Meddle lacks the deep lyrical brilliance. What Wish You Were Here is, is musical bliss. Shine on...is an emotionial reverance for longtime friend and former PF frontman, Syd Barrett. Barrett's descent into drugs and madness is well documented in Pink Floyd's classic, Darkside Of The Moon. The next song, Welcome To The Machine, is a musical mantra and lyrical tyrade about the music business' exploitation of young artists. Another shot in eye to the music biz follows with Have A Cigar. Guest vocals by Roy Harper makes this comic shot a classic. The title track is probably one of the best songs ever recorded, and it's the complete musical package. The denouement, more Shine on...revisits old themes, while bringing the album full circle. Pink Floyd has put out a multitude of great albums, but this one makes me laugh and cry in a close your eyes, bob your head and sway type of way. It's that good....buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars For The Record, Three For The Box Set., Nov. 13 2011
By 
Stephen Bieth (Mississauga/ Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wish You Were Here (Immersion Edition) (Audio CD)
Well I still don't know what everybody got bent out of shape about the Dark Side Of The Moon box set. Yes there was lots of crap in the box besides the CD's and DVD's but you did get 3cd's, 2 DVD's and a Blu ray for $100.00 which is not a bad deal. However the same can't be said for Wish You Were Here. The WYWH box set comes with the remastered album and one bonus CD with a couple of live tracks and a couple of alt. takes. A DVD that containd 5.1 mixes and one that says it's for the visuals but the only thing it has is the screen films used on the tour. Then a Blu ray with the same content as the DVD's but at a higher sampling rate. So basicly what you get is two CD's and a couple of 5.1 mixes plus all the stuff you don't need in the box set. So in this case not a very good deal. I don't know why they didn't just give us a live CD from the tour.
That being said the 5.1 Blu ray sounds beautiful. You have not heard this album until you hear it in 5.1. The only thing that sucks is that you have to buy the box set to get it. By the way EMI fixed the disc problem that TDSOTH box set had with the disc's coming lose when it's shipped. They now have all the discs in envelops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half a deal... not okay with me., Feb. 9 2012
This review is from: Wish You Were Here (Immersion Edition) (Audio CD)
I received this box set about two weeks ago and I'm surprised that there aren't more complaints coming in. When ordering a box set I expect too be visually and aurally satisfied for the amount of money spent. I really don't have any complaints about the sound at all- both the Quad & 5.1 mixes on the Blu-ray are outstanding and the Cd's are great also. The problem comes with the Dvd's- one having the Blu-Ray material duplicated, but at a lower resolution. I could understand this being done a few years ago when Blu-Ray players were fairly expensive and not to many people owned them, but now they can be bought for well under a hundred dollars. I can't see myself playing the Dolby Digital compressed version when I have the better version at hand. I suppose for the few people who have 5.1 in there vehicles the Dvd would come in handy. The real complaint is for the second Dvd that is supposed too have 75 minutes of video content on it, when in fact it has only 25 minutes of pictures and animation. I can't believe that there wasn't any live material shot during the 70's that could have been included. Several years ago there was a 30th anniversary Steve Miller-Fly like an eagle package that came out with the remixed and remastered disc in 5.1 & extra songs, interviews and a full concert included. The extras in floyd Disc set are of no real interest too me, so really the cd's and Blu-ray are the only value here and I learned an expensive lesson and won't repeat it with the other immersion sets.

When I bought several Dvd Audio discs I realized there would be only a small amount of video included on the disc but I was fine with that fact. I was bying the disc for the great sound in surround, but when I put out over a hundred dollars I expect the full package deal. I guess I will have too wait for DSOTM & the WALL too come out on Blu-ray in 5.1 and buy them separately. I own DSOTM on sacd, but would still like the Bluray version also & especially the Quad mix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth rebuying if only for disc 2, Nov. 22 2011
By 
I don't usually buy the reeditions of compact discs I already have. In the case of this "Wish You Were Here" experience Edition, disc 2 caught my attention and this was a great way to get the bonus tracks without buying the expensive Immersion boxset.
See, this official release now features the pre-Animals tracks Raving and Drooling (Sheep)and You've Got to be Crazy (Dogs) live, but I'll get back to it.

The Wish You Were here album itself sounds very clear and is a big improvement over the original 1980's cd. The sound is slightly louder, but it's much more defined. Beautiful remastering!

Disc 2 starts with a live version of "Shine On You Crazy Diamond" which features the best parts of the song. "Raving and Drooling" and "You've Got to be Crazy" are very good versions of tunes that would feature on the Animals album. "Raving" has a synthsizer solo from Rick Wright which was left out or transformed on Sheep. I have preferred this song over Sheep since I heard it. "Crazy" is not totally as polished as Dogs, but the barebone is there and Roger Waters sings beautifully on his part "and when you lose control...". I own a bootleg called "Dogs ans Sheeps" which is a similar concert from USA. Let me tell you that the sound on the Experience release is much better. The performance is also a notch superior with David Gilmour in top shape voice.

Still on disc 2, "Wines Glasses" sounds like the intro of "Shine On". "Have a Cigar" features Roger and David on vocals and Roy Harper only in the chorus. "Wish you Were Here" has a different guitar intro, excellent sound and violonist Stephane Grappelli provides the end solo. I don't think it fits as good as David's scat vocals over acoustic guitar, but that's a nice version.

The artwork looks very good with high definition pictures. A tremendous improvement over the original cd. Everything is there: flaming man shaking hand, business man on sand dune, flying sheets, crawler in the sand and the 3-fold sleeve has the diver. Booklet includes photos of the band in studio and also Harper.

Quite happy with this purchase. Do you self a pleasure and buy it again. You love it, you'll enjoy it a bit more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tribute To A Dear Friend, July 27 2006
This review is from: Wish You Were Here (Audio CD)
Stunningly beautiful, haunting, mesmerizing. Almost achingly touching.

Altough contains more than tribute songs to former band member, Pink Floyd's founder Syd Barret, when you stop listening to this album you are left with serenity surrounding you. You feel good.

Buy this, listen to this and have a silent moment. For both, appreciating this masterpiece and remembering Syd, who shall remain greatly missed.

Keep shining, you masterpiece of an diamond.

Nothing less than five stars, for both.

-Katrina
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How... how I Wish You Were Here..., May 13 2006
This review is from: Wish You Were Here (Audio CD)
Man... this must be the best album ever put out by a band! It is absolutely stunning and I am amazed at how a band can even concieve such a great CD. The first time I listened to this I was blown away.

SHINE ON YOU CRAZY DIAMOND PT. 1- A great beginning to the album. Most of it's musical, but, heh, it's 14 minutes long. The lyrics are great, good beat. 9/10

WELCOME TO THE MACHINE- Sort of depressing, but it has some good lyrics and instruments are good. Heh, if you've listened to the Wall, you know 'sort of depressing!' 7.5/10

HAVE A CIGAR- Cool. This has some pretty good lyrics and I know that Pink Floyd enjoyed doing this one. I really like it because of the instuments and the singing, Roger Waters can sing and he handled this one very, very well. 10/10

WISH YOU WERE HERE- Best song on the album, by far. I really, really enjoyed this song and it really deserves all the credit it can get. The best lyrics I've ever heard on a song, some good music, in fact, some very good music. I believe this song should get some awards, becuase, well, it is an amazing song! 11/10

SHINE ON YOU CRAZY DIAMOND PT. 2- A good ending to a great album. What can I say??? 8/10

All in all, this's a CD that must belong to every collection in order for it be complete. This is a CD that changed music, Pink Floyd themselves changed music!

Great, great, great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant sonic experience., July 15 2004
By 
Erik Samson (San Fransisco, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wish You Were Here (Audio CD)
An indescribable sort of passion fills the air, a minute suggestion that becomes a gentle roar. More than anything, Wish You Were Here is a progression, a slow and laboured rise from a dim electronic hum to an epic, symphonic blast of impassioned rock music. It, like most Floyd albums, is not a collection of songs but a single work, and to look at it as anything else would be to completely miss out on what Pink Floyd was trying to do in the first place.
Think of the saxophone at the end of "Shine On You Crazy Diamond pt. 1." It sounds beautiful, alive, tuneful, lilting, free, a bird perched on a mile-high gust of wind. And suddenly, behind it, there is the deep, ominous, downright horrific hum that signals the beginning of "Welcome to the Machine," and suddenly, the sax sounds weak and pitiful against it, and slowly fades away into the distance, and all you're left with is that hum, and "Welcome to the Machine" begins, in all its cynical, deep seated, and world-weary glory. "Welcome to the Machine" Is a song about growing up, how the world can destroy your youthful ideals, take your big dreams and shatter them. Or, it could be interpreted as a song about former bandleader Syd Barret's descent into madness. That's the great thing about Floyd's lyrics, deep seated double meanings, the fractured view it creates.
"Have A Cigar" is a grimly funny song about a smooth-talking record producer, with that immortal line: "And by the way, which one's Pink?"
The title track is a sweet ballad of regret, a story of one man's lonliness after the loss of a dear friend. It also happens to be my favorite track on the album, so rich and textured, with a beautiful acoustic guitar and Roger Waters' best lyrics ("We're just two lost souls swimming in a fish bowl, year after year.")
These three tracks are bookended by the album's two epics, "Shine On You Crazy Diamond" parts 1 and 2. These are, by any strech of imagination, some of the best work that Pink Floyd has ever done. Part 1 starts of slow and tuneful, with someexcillent guitar work on David Gilmour's part. It's first eight minutes are a haunting instrumental, with echoey guitars, crashing symbols, and a slow, rythmic bass line. The after the instrumental portion, Waters begins to sing, a sad, mournful tribute to Syd Barett (The entire concept of Wish You Were Here is that it is a tribute to Barett).
Part 2 is faster, with a more rock edge, but closely resembles its prediscesor. It has a darker edge to it, but still retains a kind of beauty.
All in all, WYW is a beautiful, symphonic listening experience, on par with Dark Side of the Moon and Wall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pink Floyd - Wish You Were Here, July 4 2004
This review is from: Wish You Were Here (Audio CD)
Pink Floyd. Words can't describe the myth, the majesty, the power of Floyd's music. Their astrounding musicianship combined with their curt, meaningful and deep lyrics are the perfect package for an excellent band. Which is exactly what Floyd is, an excellent band. And 'WYWH' happens to be one of their best albums. The album, in whole, is dedicated to Floyd founder and original guitarist/vocalist/songwriter Syd Barrett, who went crazy after a heavy LSD trip.
Shine On You Crazy Diamond pt.1-5 - This track starts off with distant keyboards, and then guitarist David Gilmour goes into an epic jazzesque solo. The lyrics are actually quite sad, but it is a great tune.
Welcome to the Machine - The 2nd best song on the album. The lyrics are very deep and dark, and this is a rather keyboard heavy track, with some somber chords from Gilmour, and the stranied voice of Roger Waters, whose lyrics shine on this track.
Have A Cigar - A very interesting track, with cool riffs and excellent basswork. The lyrics are basically a rip-in into the world of music business. Great song.
Wish You Were Here - The best song on the album. A great, catchy riff, but slow and sad at the same time. Excellent musicianship, and the lyrics really come off as 'empty'.
Wish You Were Here pt.6-9 - Basically a reprise of 1-5, but still excellent.
All in all, WYWH is one of Pink Floyds best works, which says alot considering the astounding catalouge of Pink Floyd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wish You Were Here (Immersion Edition)
Wish You Were Here (Immersion Edition) by Pink Floyd (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews