Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars So you thought you'd might like to go to the show....
With songs like "In the flesh?", "Run Like Hell," and "Another Brick In The Wall pt.2," The Wall just might be Floyd's darkest, hardest album. The lyrics certainly reflect that, telling the story of a disturbed young man whose life becomes so chaotic that he creates a sort of mental barrier between himself and the world, only to have it torn...
Published on July 11 2004 by Erik Samson

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No better than the original CD
Nice packaging.

I have the original CD and compared it with this one. Try as I would I could not detect any difference whatsoever between the two. If anything there might be a bit more brilliance and bite to the original. I can't be sure.
Published on April 16 2012 by Geoff


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No better than the original CD, April 16 2012
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Nice packaging.

I have the original CD and compared it with this one. Try as I would I could not detect any difference whatsoever between the two. If anything there might be a bit more brilliance and bite to the original. I can't be sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So you thought you'd might like to go to the show...., July 11 2004
By 
Erik Samson (San Fransisco, CA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
With songs like "In the flesh?", "Run Like Hell," and "Another Brick In The Wall pt.2," The Wall just might be Floyd's darkest, hardest album. The lyrics certainly reflect that, telling the story of a disturbed young man whose life becomes so chaotic that he creates a sort of mental barrier between himself and the world, only to have it torn down, "exposing him in front of his peers," as the second to last song suggests. Throughout his life, our flawed protagonest deals with the death of his father, vicious teachers, an overbearing mother, the pain of growing up in a harsh world full of war and pain. He has a chaotic marriage ("Day after day, love turns gray..."). He becomes a drug-addicted rock star, and loses all of his privacy to the media and to fans. In the end all of demons come back to confront him in the absolutely stunning climatic song "The Trial." The story is dark, engrossing, and symbolic of our lives, and the trouble we go to in order to seperate ourselves from others. Wall could have made an excellent novel, if you ask me.
But above and beyond the story is the music in which it is contained. While Dark Side Of The Moon featured longer, slower songs which unfolded slowly and bled into one another, the songs on Wall are shorter and louder, more hard rock than progressive. "Young Lust," for example, is a fast paced flat out rocker reminescent of Physical Grafitti era Led Zeppelin. It's driven by a tough as nails guitar riff, a pounding bass line, and an instantly memorable chorus ("oooooooooooh.... I need a dirty woman!")
The album's oppener, "In The Flesh?," is a darkly cynical number that is a bit slower than most of The Wall's songs. It makes up for this with some of David Gilmour's most intense guitar work, as well as some of Waters' snarliest, most bitter and sarcastic lyrics ("Tell me is something eluding you, Sunshine/ Is this not what you expected to see?/ If you want to find out what's behind these cold eyes/ You'll just have to crawl your way through this disguise").
The album does have its softer moments, though. "Mother" is a tuneful accoustic ballad whose lyrics go from refreshingly sweet to darkly disturbing ("Hush my baby, baby don't you cry/ Mamma's gonna make all your nightmares come true/ Mamma will put all her fears into you").
"Comfortably Numb" is a rich and textured song about drug addiction. It's extremely engrossing, and easy to get lost in. Its lush accoustic guitar chords make it sound like a DSOTM cut.
"Hey You" is a seemingly tender cry for help, which contains my favorite lyric on the album: "But it was only fantasy. The wall was too high, as you can see. No matter how he tried he could not break free.... And the worms ate into his brain."
"Run Like Hell" is the darkest, hardest, and most cynical track on the album. It's music sounds like something from a queen album (Which is a good thing), and the lyrics talk about a guy who just can't get any privacy.
And how could I leave out the Wall's most famous feature, the infamous "Happiest Days Of Our Lives/ Another Brick In The Wall pt. 2" medely? The ultamite song of adolescent rebellion, with the immortal line "Hey! Teachers! Leave them kids alone!" That's one of the harder songs on the album, and one of my early favorites. But, as any Floyd fan will tell you, its not the best thing the Wall has to offer.
More than any other Pink Floyd record, the Wall is epic. Its a perfect balance of thought provoking lyrics and great music. Its what makes Floyd great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mother, do you think they'll drop the bomb?, July 4 2004
By 
Ce commentaire est de: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
Well, firstly this album is no bomb. THe line above refers to a line in a song from the album called "MOTHER", it's fantastic. While "The Wall" is not Pink Floyd's best album, it comes close. It features Parts 1, 2 and 3 of "Another brick in the Wall" which is the only way to fully appreciate this song. The radio edit version is good, but not as effective as the album version.
Other standout tracks include:
Comfortably Numb - This song sends shivers up my spine every single time I hear it. If you enjoyed "On the turning away" (from their Momentary Lapse of Reason album) you will love this, they have a similar feel to them.
Run Like Hell - the introduction to this is simply brilliant.
Released in 1979, it was ahead of its time then. Re-released in 1999 as a new digital remaster, it should have stated on the sticker "20 Year Anniversary" but got a "30 Year Anniversary" sticker by mistake. A small detail. The new digital remaster is worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mind Altering, June 27 2004
By 
Ce commentaire est de: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
Every so often a brilliant record will be recorded usually a combination of a perfect environment and talented artists converging...this pushes that beyond any feasible limit..the genius of this record will leave you speechless..pink's descent is even more brilliant than the other masterpiece that springs to mind..Nine Inch Nail's Downward Spiral...Multi Layered and as in depth as could be physically possible..emotion technical perfection..I'm running out of things to compliment this record with..its absolutely timeless and for anybody with a degree of intelligence enough to even begin to understand this piece of art, It will grow more brilliant and perplexing throughout each listen..so to say I'd recommend this to any true music lover..and I mean MUSIC lover hell ART lover..not just prog rock..this transcends genius..simply ungodly need I say more? And just for the record for the pitiful imbecilic fools mr vicious trying to lower it's star count..I..I find it hard to voice the words of contempt and disgust I feel for you..You must be very sad inferior unintelligent inconsequential insects to even let the thought of insulting this album pass through your britney spears comatosed mindset. Regardless this album is the benchmark buy It personally guarantee you will not be let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Why I Like And Don't Like This Album, June 26 2004
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
This album is a very...strange album. I love some songs on here, but others are only like half-songs. I don't think that "Bring The Boys Back Home" even lasts a minute. "Vera" is a very compassionate and again, short song, but truly belongs on his album, not "The Dark Side Of The Moon" or "Wish You Were Here".
Among the songs that I really like are: "Comfortably Numb", "Hey You", "Mother", and "In The Flesh". I like them because they actually last as long as a regular song, not like these new lyrics for Hey You: Hey you, this song is really short oh yeah the end. That is what most of the "songs" on this CD are like.
"Is There Anybody Out There" should have been on a "Scary Halloween Sounds" compilation, but it wasn't. I guess the people who make those tapes in the late '70s didn't listen to Pink Floyd.
But overall, this is a pretty good album, and I have to admit, some short songs sound pretty good, though I probably complained about them sixty thousand times in this review. I give this album four stars, with pride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Roger's magnum opus for Pink Floyd, June 20 2004
By 
Terrence J Reardon "Classic rock guru" (Lake Worth, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
Pink Floyd's The Wall was released in December of 1979 and is a classic and regarded as the band's most ambitious masterwork. This album ranks up there with classic double albums The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway, Tommy, Quadrophenia, The White Album, Physical Graffiti, Electric Ladyland and many others. The concept for The Wall still holds up 25 years after its initial release. The idea came to bassist/vocalist Roger Waters whom was upset with himself after spitting on a fan on the last gig of the Animals tour. In 1978, Roger was writing and recording demos that would become The Wall. Meanwhile, drummer Nick Mason was off producing other acts(The Damned and Steve Hillage) whilst guitarist/vocalist David Gilmour and keyboardist Rick Wright were recording their first solo albums. In late 1978 the band, along with KISS/Alice Cooper/Peter Gabriel/Lou Reed producer Bob Ezrin, began demoing the songs for The Wall at Britannia Row Studios in London. The band properly began recording The Wall in April of 1979 in two studios in France(and later at studios in Los Angeles and New York) with Waters, Gilmour, Ezrin and engineer James Guthrie producing to avoid the crazy English tax laws as the band was almost bankrupt due to their agents stealing the money in a way that they still owed the British tax companies taxes. All of the songs, save four, were written by Roger. The album's three best tracks Young Lust, Comfortably Numb and Run Like Hell were co-written by Gilmour. Then, The Trial was co-written by Ezrin. The Wall was a concept album which told the story of a character named Pink(a composite of Roger Waters and Floyd founder Syd Barrett) whom goes through a traumatic childhood of losing his father in war(The Thin Ice and Another Brick in the Wall pt.1), cruel sarcastic teachers(The Happiest Days of Our Lives, the chart-topping single Another Brick in the Wall(pt.2), an overbearing mother(Mother), groupie troubles(Young Lust, One of My Turns) and many other problems one goes through before walling himself off from the rest of the world. Other highlights on The Wall of course were Hey You, Nobody Home and the two best classics Comfortably Numb and Run Like Hell. Band turmoil during 1979 reached an all-time high and Roger eventually kicked Rick Wright out of the band citing Rick wasn't doing squat when in fact Roger was setting Rick up to fail from the word go. Rick was let go but stayed to finish the album and did The Wall shows in 1980/81 as a paid musician(the other three members lost money from staging the shows). Rick played on half of the album as does Nick whom is not on drums for half the record(Jeff Porcaro played drums on Mother and Jeff's father Joe played snaer drum on Bring the Boys Back Home). Despite the band turmoil, The Wall became Pink Floyd's third US chart-topping album(stayed at #1 for 15 weeks), sold over 23 million in the US alone(third best seller in the US), spawned the greatest rock concerts ever produced(review for Is There Anybody Out There to come soon) and a classic film. The Capitol remaster is basically the 1997 Columbia remaster with improved sonic quality remastered by engineer James Guthrie and Doug Sax whom mastered The Wall originally. The Wall is still a classic today and is highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great if you like Pink Floyd, but otherwise ..., May 24 2004
By 
"popeking" (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
Pink Floyd is one of those "like 'em or hate 'em" bands. Their music is very atmospheric, orchestral, and dark. In other words, it ain't pop. So if you prefer peppy little ditties about dancing and sex, or if you want Christian-rock lite, then stay away.
That said, this is arguably the best Pink Floyd album. Every song seems to be placed perfectly in order and the tracks flow wonderfully. Even "Another Brick In The Wall (Part 2)", which is overplayed, sounds good. "Goodbye Blue Sky" and "The Trial" pull emotions out of you.
The guitar is amazing, the singing is powerful, and the lyrics are slightly disturbing. The subject matter may not win any awards for originality (he hates his mother and war is bad, got it), but it is so much deeper than most other albums released then or now. The songs work much better with the video included (i.e. the movie), but it's still powerful.
This is not party music, house-cleaning music, or anything like that. Opera is meant to be listened to and appreciated. This is rock opera, and it should be given similar appreciation. And unlike many drug-addled bands, this is not a jam band.
If you like Pink Floyd, then you MUST buy this album. If you don't know Pink Floyd, this is a great way to start. If you hate Pink Floyd, then write one bad review and STOP. We don't care if you live in Heaven's Realm, or Sweet Gardens, or whatever. This isn't a message board - it's a review column. State your opinion and move on! Please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MONUMENTAL PIECE OF WORK !!!!, May 18 2004
By 
dave batu (United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
I beieve in all fairness the editorial reviewer summarized it and explained it best. If you want to understand the Pink Floyd you have to have a broad knowledge of history, geography, listened to all their albums, in short have some basic IQ, a little above a CHIMPS !!! Just saying this album sucks, will just make your air head suck !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If you listen to Final Cut album for example you will understand why the Roger Waters is against the war and how his father was killed during the Second World War by a German Tiger Tank for no good reason to keep a bridge for a few minutes for alies that was going to fall anyway. ( Some idiots would think it is a Bengali tiger since the song doesn't mention it is a tank). Don't laugh guys, if you watch Jay Leno shows, you see people on Hollywood Blvd. who think Abraham Lincoln is the current Mayor of NYC !!!!!!
If you are below triple digit , thats OK too, buy Metallica and turn the volume high; if you some moneies left get a few steel rings put on your rings and decorate yourself.
The album is great, songs are subtle, abstract but great. This is a Strong BUY !! the LTD edition is great too; I would also own the "Final Cut"; I think two of them make better sense !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Behind The Wall, April 25 2004
By 
Ce commentaire est de: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
Truth be told, Pink Floyd shares the pain of a child without the cliche of just words. Somehow, as we listen, there is a change in our perception of our own world as we know it. Somewhere in our subconscience we all know how it feels to really hurt. "Pink" Floyd is a child in an abusive household whos anguish has no words. Trauma can never be described in words alone. Verbage will never do justice to it; to know pain is to have felt it firsthand. In the title song "The Wall" part 2 the ending phrase being yelled "If you don't eat your meat, you can't have any pudding! How can you have any pudding if you don't eat your meat!?" only scratches the surface of the verbal abuse he deals with. The outcry earlier in the song "we don't need no education, we don't need no thought control" only further describes the ultimate frustration that he deals with when he screams "HEY! Teacher! Leave them kids alone!" The entire album describes an abused child as he developes into a man and grows into the dysfunctional individual that he eventually becomes. To read down the track titles of the 2 disc set can only verbally describe the horror that he has endured. He has eventually employed every escape tatic that he has in his arsenal to dull the ultimate pain. "Run like Hell" "Comfortably Numb", these songs only lightly, vaguely describe the methods of self preservation that "Pink" employs to keep himself sane, yet at what expense? That, I suppose, is the question that we all have to ask the child in each one of us.
~DJPrimal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars its OK but not always great.. read why, April 1 2004
Ce commentaire est de: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
in my opinion the walls not on my top 5 Pink Floyd list, like the final cut just stretched out and pointed at slightly different matters it was sometimes very boring.The Final Cut is a little better but not much, they both tend to drag on into Roger Waters sad sarcastic,maybe even opera? sounding lyrics where David Gilmour one filled the gaps in their ealier years.The Album unlike the movie features hey you, I do not understand this.It hassome very good songs and we thank roger for them but i think they were better with Gilmour singing more often.TOP FIVE ALBUMS-
1)Animals- Pink at their prime this is the very best,if you are a real fan you'll appreciate these songs more for some reason
2)Darkside of The Moon- this cd is incredible it never had an unperfected moment this is where roger began to step in and be in control more, you can see an example of this in the making of the darkside of the moon.DSOTM marked their newer sound after meddle
3)Wish You Were Here - A great cd,follows same sequence as Animals,came out right next to it A protest to the music industry and blues for syd
4)Pulse(full live Gilmour/Mason/Wright) Darkside performance) plus many Division Bell gems and other great ones all live!!
5)Meddle/Division Bell,- Mddle features 23 minute echoes its worth the price alone,the otehr songs are a nice change from the rest.Division Bell is A GREAT CD aside from what anyone says it was the 90's and he didn't screw it up it sounds like floyd cause it is good job dave a strong cd withour Waters guidance.Division Bell is much better than the Final Cut
The Wall was great but it needed to be more focused on music at some points , OK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wall (Immersion Edition)
The Wall (Immersion Edition) by Pink Floyd (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews