Customer Reviews


411 Reviews
5 star:
 (296)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Their Best Work
I've got to say, this is my faveorite post-60's work by Pink Floyd. I'm not a fan of Dark Side of the Moon, I feel that is a very stale and drawn out album. Usually I'm not a fan of these "Rock Operas" or "Concept Albums", and I don't listen to this for the story. But the way it is weaved together, along with the story itsself (seeing the movie might help) and the music,...
Published on Dec 21 2006 by J

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No better than the original CD
Nice packaging.

I have the original CD and compared it with this one. Try as I would I could not detect any difference whatsoever between the two. If anything there might be a bit more brilliance and bite to the original. I can't be sure.
Published on April 16 2012 by Geoff


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No better than the original CD, April 16 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Nice packaging.

I have the original CD and compared it with this one. Try as I would I could not detect any difference whatsoever between the two. If anything there might be a bit more brilliance and bite to the original. I can't be sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Their Best Work, Dec 21 2006
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
I've got to say, this is my faveorite post-60's work by Pink Floyd. I'm not a fan of Dark Side of the Moon, I feel that is a very stale and drawn out album. Usually I'm not a fan of these "Rock Operas" or "Concept Albums", and I don't listen to this for the story. But the way it is weaved together, along with the story itsself (seeing the movie might help) and the music, makes this a superb effort. It begins with the end of the very last track on the album, and unexpectedley blasts into "In the Flesh?". In the film, the scenes of war really emphasize this music. The verses in this song are astounding. We then go into some standards, the "Another Brick in the Wall" tracks which I'm not a big fan of, and eventually towards the end of the album.

I've read reviews that said the first disc could be marketed as an album on its own, but not the 2nd one. I've got to disagree. Personally, I perfer the 2nd disc (although the whole Facist thing doesn't seem to come from or go anywhere, and "Run Like Hell" is a really terrible song). But the first half of the second disc, as well as the closing, is really incredible. "Hey You" is, of course, a classic rock radio staple, and we all know it. "Is Anybody Out there?" is a nice classical guitar piece, nothing special. But here we get into one of the best lineups of songs every put on album, from "Nobody Home" to "In the Flesh". "Nobody Home" is just incredible, in my opinion the best song Roger Waters has ever written. "Vera" is similarily beutiful. "Bring The Boys back Home" really has this manic, fevered, climactic feel; for all of this theatrical drama going on in the disturbed emotions of one man is really felt with this song (A note: I tend to get extremely involved with what I listen to or read). "Comfortably Numb" is, of course, Comfortably Numb. For some reason, I really, really enjoy "The Show Must go On", It may be the opening vocals, or the closing vocals, but it just appeals to me. The 2nd "In the Flesh" is longer and more epic than the first. I won't discuss the tracks after this, other than "The Trial". Some people hate the fact that this album is ended with a "Cartoonish-song", but I find it the perfect closing statement. In an album about insanity, madness, and isolation, this song really rings true with the feeling and mood of a lost-mind, someone so far out of their own mind that these delusions manifest themselves as they do.

In closing, I do reccomend this to a fan of Pink Floyd (although every fan already owns it). If you are new to Pink Floyd and you have heard Dark Side of the Moon or Meddle, don't expect this to be anything like it. ANYTHING like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rock-Opera By Pink Floyd, Aug. 2 2006
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
This is so excellent and coherent, it almost hurts. So good.

If you are already familiar with the beauty and genius that is Pink Floyd, why not add this masterpiece to your collection?

Also, newcomers alike. Don't be afraid, this is the way to go, a wonderful place to start your Pink Floyd -journey. (That's how I started, and haven't looked back since..)

Although this is a rock-opera, hence tells a story and is a concept-album like many other Pink Floyd -albums, that doesn't mean you can't remove the songs out of the context.

Though I strongly recommend you to listen to this through several times, to get the story straight and to be amazed by the aching beauty of this work. But do feel free jump to your favourites after that, if you want to.

I do so, but I also listen to the whole album from time to time.

This is one of my all-time favourites!

My highlights include: Comfortably Numb, Hey You, Goodbye Blue Sky, Another Brick In The Wall ( all three parts, but especially part I), Thin Thin Ice and Young Lust.

Oh, did I already say, that this is ReCoMMenDeD... :oD ( Very warmly and highly)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant meets over-blown, July 12 2004
By 
Brad Stewart (Wake Co, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
Roger Waters constructed The Wall, a narcissistic, double-album rock opera about an emotionally crippled rock star who spits on an audience member daring to cheer during an acoustic song. Given its origins, it's little wonder that The Wall paints such an unsympathetic portrait of the rock star, cleverly named "Pink," who blames everyone - particularly women - for his neuroses. Such lyrical and thematic shortcomings may have been forgivable if the album had a killer batch of songs, but Waters took his operatic inclinations to heart, constructing the album as a series of fragments that are held together by larger numbers like "Comfortably Numb" and "Hey You." Generally, the fully developed songs are among the finest of Pink Floyd's later work, but The Wall is primarily a triumph of production: Its seamless surface, blending melodic fragments and sound effects, makes the musical shortcomings and questionable lyrics easy to ignore. But if The Wall is examined in depth, it falls apart, since it doesn't offer enough great songs to support its ambition, and its self-serving message and shiny production seem like relics of the late-'70s Me Generation. very polarized stuff. brilliant songs standing beside mediocraties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So you thought you'd might like to go to the show...., July 11 2004
By 
Erik Samson (San Fransisco, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
With songs like "In the flesh?", "Run Like Hell," and "Another Brick In The Wall pt.2," The Wall just might be Floyd's darkest, hardest album. The lyrics certainly reflect that, telling the story of a disturbed young man whose life becomes so chaotic that he creates a sort of mental barrier between himself and the world, only to have it torn down, "exposing him in front of his peers," as the second to last song suggests. Throughout his life, our flawed protagonest deals with the death of his father, vicious teachers, an overbearing mother, the pain of growing up in a harsh world full of war and pain. He has a chaotic marriage ("Day after day, love turns gray..."). He becomes a drug-addicted rock star, and loses all of his privacy to the media and to fans. In the end all of demons come back to confront him in the absolutely stunning climatic song "The Trial." The story is dark, engrossing, and symbolic of our lives, and the trouble we go to in order to seperate ourselves from others. Wall could have made an excellent novel, if you ask me.
But above and beyond the story is the music in which it is contained. While Dark Side Of The Moon featured longer, slower songs which unfolded slowly and bled into one another, the songs on Wall are shorter and louder, more hard rock than progressive. "Young Lust," for example, is a fast paced flat out rocker reminescent of Physical Grafitti era Led Zeppelin. It's driven by a tough as nails guitar riff, a pounding bass line, and an instantly memorable chorus ("oooooooooooh.... I need a dirty woman!")
The album's oppener, "In The Flesh?," is a darkly cynical number that is a bit slower than most of The Wall's songs. It makes up for this with some of David Gilmour's most intense guitar work, as well as some of Waters' snarliest, most bitter and sarcastic lyrics ("Tell me is something eluding you, Sunshine/ Is this not what you expected to see?/ If you want to find out what's behind these cold eyes/ You'll just have to crawl your way through this disguise").
The album does have its softer moments, though. "Mother" is a tuneful accoustic ballad whose lyrics go from refreshingly sweet to darkly disturbing ("Hush my baby, baby don't you cry/ Mamma's gonna make all your nightmares come true/ Mamma will put all her fears into you").
"Comfortably Numb" is a rich and textured song about drug addiction. It's extremely engrossing, and easy to get lost in. Its lush accoustic guitar chords make it sound like a DSOTM cut.
"Hey You" is a seemingly tender cry for help, which contains my favorite lyric on the album: "But it was only fantasy. The wall was too high, as you can see. No matter how he tried he could not break free.... And the worms ate into his brain."
"Run Like Hell" is the darkest, hardest, and most cynical track on the album. It's music sounds like something from a queen album (Which is a good thing), and the lyrics talk about a guy who just can't get any privacy.
And how could I leave out the Wall's most famous feature, the infamous "Happiest Days Of Our Lives/ Another Brick In The Wall pt. 2" medely? The ultamite song of adolescent rebellion, with the immortal line "Hey! Teachers! Leave them kids alone!" That's one of the harder songs on the album, and one of my early favorites. But, as any Floyd fan will tell you, its not the best thing the Wall has to offer.
More than any other Pink Floyd record, the Wall is epic. Its a perfect balance of thought provoking lyrics and great music. Its what makes Floyd great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mother, do you think they'll drop the bomb?, July 4 2004
By 
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
Well, firstly this album is no bomb. THe line above refers to a line in a song from the album called "MOTHER", it's fantastic. While "The Wall" is not Pink Floyd's best album, it comes close. It features Parts 1, 2 and 3 of "Another brick in the Wall" which is the only way to fully appreciate this song. The radio edit version is good, but not as effective as the album version.
Other standout tracks include:
Comfortably Numb - This song sends shivers up my spine every single time I hear it. If you enjoyed "On the turning away" (from their Momentary Lapse of Reason album) you will love this, they have a similar feel to them.
Run Like Hell - the introduction to this is simply brilliant.
Released in 1979, it was ahead of its time then. Re-released in 1999 as a new digital remaster, it should have stated on the sticker "20 Year Anniversary" but got a "30 Year Anniversary" sticker by mistake. A small detail. The new digital remaster is worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mind Altering, June 27 2004
By 
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
Every so often a brilliant record will be recorded usually a combination of a perfect environment and talented artists converging...this pushes that beyond any feasible limit..the genius of this record will leave you speechless..pink's descent is even more brilliant than the other masterpiece that springs to mind..Nine Inch Nail's Downward Spiral...Multi Layered and as in depth as could be physically possible..emotion technical perfection..I'm running out of things to compliment this record with..its absolutely timeless and for anybody with a degree of intelligence enough to even begin to understand this piece of art, It will grow more brilliant and perplexing throughout each listen..so to say I'd recommend this to any true music lover..and I mean MUSIC lover hell ART lover..not just prog rock..this transcends genius..simply ungodly need I say more? And just for the record for the pitiful imbecilic fools mr vicious trying to lower it's star count..I..I find it hard to voice the words of contempt and disgust I feel for you..You must be very sad inferior unintelligent inconsequential insects to even let the thought of insulting this album pass through your britney spears comatosed mindset. Regardless this album is the benchmark buy It personally guarantee you will not be let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Why I Like And Don't Like This Album, June 26 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
This album is a very...strange album. I love some songs on here, but others are only like half-songs. I don't think that "Bring The Boys Back Home" even lasts a minute. "Vera" is a very compassionate and again, short song, but truly belongs on his album, not "The Dark Side Of The Moon" or "Wish You Were Here".
Among the songs that I really like are: "Comfortably Numb", "Hey You", "Mother", and "In The Flesh". I like them because they actually last as long as a regular song, not like these new lyrics for Hey You: Hey you, this song is really short oh yeah the end. That is what most of the "songs" on this CD are like.
"Is There Anybody Out There" should have been on a "Scary Halloween Sounds" compilation, but it wasn't. I guess the people who make those tapes in the late '70s didn't listen to Pink Floyd.
But overall, this is a pretty good album, and I have to admit, some short songs sound pretty good, though I probably complained about them sixty thousand times in this review. I give this album four stars, with pride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Roger's magnum opus for Pink Floyd, June 20 2004
By 
Terrence J Reardon "Classic rock guru" (Lake Worth, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
Pink Floyd's The Wall was released in December of 1979 and is a classic and regarded as the band's most ambitious masterwork. This album ranks up there with classic double albums The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway, Tommy, Quadrophenia, The White Album, Physical Graffiti, Electric Ladyland and many others. The concept for The Wall still holds up 25 years after its initial release. The idea came to bassist/vocalist Roger Waters whom was upset with himself after spitting on a fan on the last gig of the Animals tour. In 1978, Roger was writing and recording demos that would become The Wall. Meanwhile, drummer Nick Mason was off producing other acts(The Damned and Steve Hillage) whilst guitarist/vocalist David Gilmour and keyboardist Rick Wright were recording their first solo albums. In late 1978 the band, along with KISS/Alice Cooper/Peter Gabriel/Lou Reed producer Bob Ezrin, began demoing the songs for The Wall at Britannia Row Studios in London. The band properly began recording The Wall in April of 1979 in two studios in France(and later at studios in Los Angeles and New York) with Waters, Gilmour, Ezrin and engineer James Guthrie producing to avoid the crazy English tax laws as the band was almost bankrupt due to their agents stealing the money in a way that they still owed the British tax companies taxes. All of the songs, save four, were written by Roger. The album's three best tracks Young Lust, Comfortably Numb and Run Like Hell were co-written by Gilmour. Then, The Trial was co-written by Ezrin. The Wall was a concept album which told the story of a character named Pink(a composite of Roger Waters and Floyd founder Syd Barrett) whom goes through a traumatic childhood of losing his father in war(The Thin Ice and Another Brick in the Wall pt.1), cruel sarcastic teachers(The Happiest Days of Our Lives, the chart-topping single Another Brick in the Wall(pt.2), an overbearing mother(Mother), groupie troubles(Young Lust, One of My Turns) and many other problems one goes through before walling himself off from the rest of the world. Other highlights on The Wall of course were Hey You, Nobody Home and the two best classics Comfortably Numb and Run Like Hell. Band turmoil during 1979 reached an all-time high and Roger eventually kicked Rick Wright out of the band citing Rick wasn't doing squat when in fact Roger was setting Rick up to fail from the word go. Rick was let go but stayed to finish the album and did The Wall shows in 1980/81 as a paid musician(the other three members lost money from staging the shows). Rick played on half of the album as does Nick whom is not on drums for half the record(Jeff Porcaro played drums on Mother and Jeff's father Joe played snaer drum on Bring the Boys Back Home). Despite the band turmoil, The Wall became Pink Floyd's third US chart-topping album(stayed at #1 for 15 weeks), sold over 23 million in the US alone(third best seller in the US), spawned the greatest rock concerts ever produced(review for Is There Anybody Out There to come soon) and a classic film. The Capitol remaster is basically the 1997 Columbia remaster with improved sonic quality remastered by engineer James Guthrie and Doug Sax whom mastered The Wall originally. The Wall is still a classic today and is highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great if you like Pink Floyd, but otherwise ..., May 24 2004
By 
"popeking" (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
Pink Floyd is one of those "like 'em or hate 'em" bands. Their music is very atmospheric, orchestral, and dark. In other words, it ain't pop. So if you prefer peppy little ditties about dancing and sex, or if you want Christian-rock lite, then stay away.
That said, this is arguably the best Pink Floyd album. Every song seems to be placed perfectly in order and the tracks flow wonderfully. Even "Another Brick In The Wall (Part 2)", which is overplayed, sounds good. "Goodbye Blue Sky" and "The Trial" pull emotions out of you.
The guitar is amazing, the singing is powerful, and the lyrics are slightly disturbing. The subject matter may not win any awards for originality (he hates his mother and war is bad, got it), but it is so much deeper than most other albums released then or now. The songs work much better with the video included (i.e. the movie), but it's still powerful.
This is not party music, house-cleaning music, or anything like that. Opera is meant to be listened to and appreciated. This is rock opera, and it should be given similar appreciation. And unlike many drug-addled bands, this is not a jam band.
If you like Pink Floyd, then you MUST buy this album. If you don't know Pink Floyd, this is a great way to start. If you hate Pink Floyd, then write one bad review and STOP. We don't care if you live in Heaven's Realm, or Sweet Gardens, or whatever. This isn't a message board - it's a review column. State your opinion and move on! Please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wall (Immersion Edition)
The Wall (Immersion Edition) by Pink Floyd (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews