Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Parker Straight is a good starter!
I've been using straight razors for about 4 years now, and amassed a small but high quality collection including Dovo, Thiers-Issard, Soligen. This little razor is a great starter or travel razor . Straight's are not for everyone and there is definitely a learning curve, this little razor would be great for someone thinking about getting into shaving with a Straight Razor...
Published on Aug. 23 2011 by Mr.MR

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mmmmmm ok
I'm using this razor as a stepping stone to straight razor shaving - with the replaceable blades it is less maintenance. As other reviews have noted, the construction is fairly poor especially the rivets that hold the scales together look like they were beat by an unskilled hammersmith. Otherwise it does the the job its meant to do. The Shark super stainless blades are...
Published 19 months ago by New to DE shaving


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Parker Straight is a good starter!, Aug. 23 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Parker SR1 Stainless Steel Straight Edge Razor and 5 Shark Super Stainless blades
I've been using straight razors for about 4 years now, and amassed a small but high quality collection including Dovo, Thiers-Issard, Soligen. This little razor is a great starter or travel razor . Straight's are not for everyone and there is definitely a learning curve, this little razor would be great for someone thinking about getting into shaving with a Straight Razor for a moderate price. Cheers MR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars works, Feb. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Parker SR1 Stainless Steel Straight Edge Razor and 5 Shark Super Stainless blades
It is a good begginer razor and it is a good price. I can not complain it allowed me to try out a straight and is pretty cheap but will hold up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing value, Feb. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Parker SR1 Stainless Steel Straight Edge Razor and 5 Shark Super Stainless blades
This is my first straight edge razor and purchased the Parker SR1 because I figured if I didn't like shaving this way, I would not have spent too much money on it. The initial 10 times were full of trial and error and cuts and lots of time wasted. Then I did more research on YouTube and have since become quite proficient with it.

The actual product itself is fairly light and sturdy as it is stainless steel. I find it extremely easy to change blades every time as well as manoeuvre it with ease. The blade retracts snugly back and will not unfold by itself. The product is made in India, but this should not serve as a deterrent. The only reason I am giving this 4/5 stars is because in my opinion the handle is too light.

Overall great product especially if this is your first straight edge razor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars razor, Nov. 22 2011
This review is from: Parker SR1 Stainless Steel Straight Edge Razor and 5 Shark Super Stainless blades
shaving with the straight razor is the best. a closer shave and an experiance. this product works well.changing the blade is a no hassel situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great tool to begin shavette shaving, Aug. 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Parker SR1 Stainless Steel Straight Edge Razor and 5 Shark Super Stainless blades
This is a great way to initiate yourself into shavette shaving. If you are new to this type of razor you need to approach it with respect. Use a good lather - a little wetter than for cartridge shaving. Use a shallow angle, short strokes and absolutely no pressure to begin with (the blade will do the work). Practice using the razor without a blade to train yourself to hold it and to practice stretching the skin when shaving (plenty of videos on Youtube).
I found the Shark blades a little harsh and found using Astra SP blades a bit more forgiving (break the blades in the wax wrapper). You will cut yourself in the beginning but it will get better (tell people you were challenged to a duel). Have a styptic pencil on hand and remember you are reviving a skill that is largely forgotten in the general population.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great starter, Jan. 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Parker SR1 Stainless Steel Straight Edge Razor and 5 Shark Super Stainless blades
Great affordable razor to get into straight edge shaving. Ideal started and a surprisingly close shave for the price. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mmmmmm ok, Feb. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Parker SR1 Stainless Steel Straight Edge Razor and 5 Shark Super Stainless blades
I'm using this razor as a stepping stone to straight razor shaving - with the replaceable blades it is less maintenance. As other reviews have noted, the construction is fairly poor especially the rivets that hold the scales together look like they were beat by an unskilled hammersmith. Otherwise it does the the job its meant to do. The Shark super stainless blades are quite good (better than Derby that I've snapped in half myself).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A really good starting razor., July 20 2014
By 
Andres Consumer (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Parker SR1 Stainless Steel Straight Edge Razor and 5 Shark Super Stainless blades
I've had it for 2 years now and it's still going strong. Holds the blade in place with no problem and it feels extremely sturdy.

This is the perfect razor for someone looking into getting into straight razors but doesn't want to spend a fortune on an expensive one. If it only lasts the two years I've had it then it's still worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Ouch, May 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Parker SR1 Stainless Steel Straight Edge Razor and 5 Shark Super Stainless blades
After nicking my face quite a few times even when being extremely careful, I did some research and discovered these replaceable blade type straights can reportedly be trickier to wield than the real ones.

I would spend the extra cash for a proper straight if you're a beginner like I was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Feel like a real barber, March 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Parker SR1 Stainless Steel Straight Edge Razor and 5 Shark Super Stainless blades
I bought this in order to shave properly... Boy! does it shave! It's a must to all men in my opinion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Parker SR1 Stainless Steel Straight Edge Razor and 5 Shark Super Stainless blades
CDN$ 37.45 CDN$ 27.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews