Customer Reviews


191 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars finally on blu ray
its too bad it took a mediocre remake to get this classic on ray. Picture is excellent, a few nitpickings being this is 1 min 29 sec. shorter than the last dvd version. I don't know why. The cover is a big disappointment as well, they should have stuck with the original movie poster. More supplements would have been nice but overall i am very excited to have this release...
Published on Aug. 8 2011 by argentoisgod

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Conan? I think not.
I have to agree with the paucity of reviewers who thought the film, 'Conan the Barbarian,' a travesty done to the character created by Robert. E. Howard. The very few who deemed this movie a blasphemy - GOOD FOR YOU. You are the true Conan fans. I will, doubtless, receive negative responses to this, my review of the Collector's Edition of 'Conan,' but I care not. The...
Published on July 12 2001


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars finally on blu ray, Aug. 8 2011
This review is from: Conan the Barbarian [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
its too bad it took a mediocre remake to get this classic on ray. Picture is excellent, a few nitpickings being this is 1 min 29 sec. shorter than the last dvd version. I don't know why. The cover is a big disappointment as well, they should have stuck with the original movie poster. More supplements would have been nice but overall i am very excited to have this release. As far as the destroyer is concerned i can't bear to buy it since i have tried to sit through it several times in the last year and did'nt have the constitution to do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conan, what is best in life?, May 9 2004
By 
J. L. Peppers (TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
To watch Conan the Barbarian, of course! Fantasy movies are generally bad. No other genre is looked down upon more. This is because most sword & sorcery films fall into one or more of the following traps:
1) They are dumbed down and bowdlerized to appeal to kids and their uptight parents (Willow, Red Sonja).
2) They are throwaway drive-in style B-movies which at best are so bad that they only entertain as unintentional comedy (Hawk the Slayer, Dungeons & Dragons, The Sword & The Sorcerer).
3) They are other genres disguised as sword & sorcery films such as Ladyhawke, which is a chick-flick and Dragonslayer which is a costume drama and an allegory for the draft in Vietnam.
4) (...) .
Conan laughs at all these inferior sword & sorcery movies. He crushes them, sees them driven before him and hears the lamentations of their fanboys.
While other fantasy movies are made by and for wimpy comic book nerds and effeminate Englishmen (or wannabe Englishmen), Conan was written by tough-guy Robert Howard from the overly macho panhandle of Texas, a landscape that would chew up quaint little hobbits and elves and spit them out. Conan was adapted for the screen by fellow tough-guy writer Oliver Stone and he-man director John Milius. You can tell already that no sobbing midgets need apply. Conan is for the red-blooded American male who enjoys violent entertainment and appreciates tall, leggy, heavily armed blondes.
Conan (Ahnuld) saw his entire community get Klu Kluxed by Rexor (former Oakland Raider Ben Davidson) and Forgrimm (bodybuilder Sven Ole Thorsen), two burly and scary henchmen for the Atlantean wizard Thulsa Doom (James Earl Jones). Conan sees his father torn to bits by armor-plated Rottweilers and Thulsa Doom even beheads Conan's mom as the seven-year-old watches! He is then sold into slavery. This is much better motivation for a story than magic rings, baby pricesses, flying bladed frisbees and other such nonsense.
For the next twenty years, Conan fights his way through one scrape after another and becomes the most fearsome fighter in the world. Along the way, he meets an archer named Subotai and a Valkyrie-like swordswoman named Valeria. Together they pillage one of Thulsa Doom's temples. But killing Doom's acolytes and stealing his gems isn't enough. When King Osric (Max Von Sydow) recruits Conan and his friends to find his daughter who has been brainwashed into joining Thulsa Doom's cult(a cross between Jonestown and the KKK), the fires of revenge are reignited in Conan. And NOBODY puts the smack down on bad guys like Conan! Heads, limbs, torsos and blood fly everywhere as the barbarian gets payback against Doom and his men.
Although there are such huge amounts of gore (including several highly artistic beheadings), it is strangely beautiful in the way it's filmed. Basil Poledouris' beautiful score is one of the best ever recorded and makes the bloodletting seem operatic.
Ahnuld brings Conan to life. Conan is actually a complex character, and somewhat retro. Too many other fantasy films have sensitive girlie-men getting in touch with their feminine side while swinging a sword. Conan laughs at these sissies! He has no time for such silly romance novel nonsense! The others don't even bother with acting or characters at all. In this case, though Schwarzenegger turns in a good performance -so much so that it's hard to think of anyone else in the role.
The real test for how good a movie is would be the villains. Thulsa Doom, Rexor and Forgrimm are perfectly cast and played. They are genuinely menacing and scary. Watching Ben Davidson who is terrifying in spite of only having three lines as Rexor makes me appreciate the dilemma facing the old AFL quarterbacks who played against him. James Earl Jones lends more than just a menacing Darth Vader voice here. He has real charisma and it doesn't seem so farfetched that he could lead young people into joining a cult and committing all kinds of fiendish acts (including turning the cult's victims into soup!). The villains are the most plausible part of this fantasy movie.
The one drawback is the sound. Buy the score on CD if you can, because mono doesn't do it justice. The cinematography is beautiful and the sets and costumes have a gritty real-world look. The weapons and armor are only slightly outlandish. A special thank you should go to Mother Nature, since she provided Milius with the best special effect in the movie: The Spanish countryside. The sunlight shining through the snowy forest at the beginning looks amazing, as do the the vast plains and bleak deserts.
This movie is more than just entertainment, it's a true work of art and it stands the test of time. Twenty-two years later, no other fantasy movie has even come close. And as Conan says "If you do not listen, then to hell with you!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caveman red meat and testosterone � Arnold IS Conan!, April 20 2004
By A Customer
This is the best and most original sword and sorcery fantasy movie ever made. It has a raw and primal style that is simply not seen anymore on film in today's politically correct world.
Think of all the warrior-hero movies made during and since the 1990's - Dances with Wolves, Last of the Mohicans, Braveheart, Gladiator, Superman, Batman, Spider-man, Scorpion King and of course, the ultimate in feminine heroes - the Lord of the Rings trilogy; in every warrior-hero movie made since Conan the Barbarian, the heroes are afflicted with some degree of feminine sensitivity or other characteristics that mark them as "perfect mates" - sensitive and caring 90's males, in other words. Not so Conan the Barbarian.
Conan sees this woman Valeria, gives her the biggest jewel in the hoard that they've just stolen, and off with their clothes they go. Later, after Valeria pleads with him not to go after Thulsa Doom, he leaves her bed anyways. How's that for being the antithesis of the sensitive and caring 90's male, always thinking of the needs of the women? Valeria cries. She chases after him, rescues him, and swears to always be there for him and fight by his side. In the words of John Milius, what a Valkyrie!
More scenes that we would just not see in movies today - the Opening Sequence - Conan's mother, played by the exotically beautiful Nadiuska, is cornered by Thulsa Doom and his henchmen. For just a moment, Doom turns away and seems to offer her pity and mercy, then, THWACK, he cuts her head off! I think in previous viewings, I must have always had my eyes partly closed during this scene, because, watching this DVD, this is the first time that I've actually seen her head (with the light brown hair) fall to the ground at that moment. And in the next scene, her head and that of her husband are stuck on some pikes! Which we see as little Conan and the other village children are marched away to slavery. That's the first time I've noticed that too, watching this DVD.
Yes, and how about the Breeding scene! Conan in his gladiator days, kept in a cage, has a half naked and very worried looking woman shoved into the cage with him! While Conan's keepers stick around outside the cage, gawking, waiting for the show to start!
Some great quotes: "Conan, what is best in life?!" "To crush your enemies, see them driven before you, and hear the lamentations of their women!" (paraphrasing Genghis Khan).
And Conan's prayer before the final battle - "Crom, I have never prayed to you before. I have no tongue for it. No one, not even you will remember if we were good men or bad, why we fought, or why we died. No, all that matters is that two stood against many, that's what's important. Valor pleases you, Crom, so grant me one request, grant me REVENGE! And if you do not listen, then the hell with you!"
What mainstream director would put stuff like that in a movie today?
The trio of Arnold, Sandahl Bergman, and Gerry Lopez, had just started their acting careers, and made the professional actors in the movie - Mako, Max Von Sydow, and James Earl Jones - look like they were overacting.
But that's the great thing about this expanded DVD. John Milius makes it clear in his commentary that he chose this trio for their physicality and how well their bodies fit into their roles. There was little dialogue - most of the acting was in the way the three main characters fought and carried themselves from scene to scene. The result was much like when Ray Park was chosen to portray Darth Maul in "Phantom Menace" - a spectacular fit.
I knew that Sandahl Bergman was a professional dancer, but the commentaries explain at last why Subotai came across so much like a Southern California surfer dude - Gerry Lopez WAS a Southern Cal surfer dude.
Basil Pouledouris's brilliant, operatic score, without a doubt, was one of the key distinguishing features that set this movie apart from all others. Pouledouris says it best on his website - scoring Conan the Barbarian was like scoring a silent movie - in the first 30 minutes of the movie, 27 minutes had NO DIALOGUE!! He knew that his music had to do the job of the dialogue, and he did perhaps the best work of his career with this movie soundtrack.
There are only a few forgettably bad moments in this classic movie - Valeria's snow bunny/thunder goddess outfit when she saves Conan was just awful. Valeria getting shot by the snake arrow on her RIGHT side, then in the next scene, as she lays dying, Conan pulls out the snake arrow from her LEFT side. The continuity director must have been on drugs that day. Valeria, so fluid and graceful, banging into these chains with her boots as she flips over the balcony right before the fight starts in the orgy chamber. Always wondered why they didn't re-shoot that scene. Valerie Quennessen as the Princess was probably the only miscast character - she comes across as a whiny brat and just has this grim look on her face throughout - couldn't see what Milius was talking about when he cast her because of a "vulnerable" quality about her. But then, she supposedly died in a car accident in 1989, so can't speak too ill of her.
And as we all know now, Arnold IS Conan. Just replace Cimmeria with Austria, and Aquilonia with California...... and, in time, he became a king by his own hand....destined to bear the jeweled crown of Aquilonia upon a troubled brow.....
I watched this movie twice when it first came out in 1982, in my last year of medical school. I didn't realize it at the time, but that would also be the last year that I would be a bachelor with no responsibilities in this world. And so this movie remains forever connected to that time of a carefree existence that no longer exists. Appropriately so, for this is a movie with a raw, carefree attitude that also no longer exists in moviemaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punching a camel in high definition, Sept. 27 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conan the Barbarian [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It always impresses me to see how good an HD version of an old movie can be. While the image isn't as clear as a brand new digital movie that's been made that way, what we get here is a significant gain in image quality as well a better sound it seems. That being said, this release could have brought together a significant amount of bonus material, the original cover or whatever any Conan fan might want but this, instead, is more of a "casual" Blu-ray release and what you get is the classic fantasy movie with a plenty of languages/subtitles.

The movie itself is one of the best fantasy movies ever made and also one of Arnold's best (even if he only says maybe a hundred words in the whole movie). If you already are a Conan (movie) fan, you really should add this to your collection as it fares much better on the new HDTV as the DVD version does and if you're just curious, you should know that this is very inexpensive for an high definition classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An impressive, respectful new lease on life for Conan the Barbarian, Sept. 10 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I'm rather protective of the work of Robert E. Howard, a brilliant writer who died -- by his own hand -- far too young, and I was quite pleased by this cinematic treatment of his famed barbarian hero. Far too often, true fantasy seems to turn into comedy once Hollywood writers get their hands on it, but Conan the Barbarian is a dark, serious film that treats Conan as a man and not some mythical figure. By no means a big-budget production, the film features an impressive cast, some really nice special effects, and a wonderful musical score. I wasn't all that sure about James Earl Jones playing the bad guy, but the man's a great actor and never strays a bit out of character as the ominous Thulsa Doom.

Life wasn't easy back in Conan's day. As a child, he saw his village razed, his father killed, and his mother beheaded before his very eyes, then suffered the life of a slave until early adulthood. Obviously a supreme worker given his natural strength, you'd think his masters would want to keep him around, but eventually he's thrown into a mediaeval fight night challenge to kill or be killed. He wins, of course, then goes on to stomp mud holes in opponent after opponent; he is so good that he is sent to the east to get the best training available -- including the ability to read, yet another skill you don't normally want your potentially dangerous slave to obtain. The big mystery, though, is his master's decision to grant him his freedom. As far as I can tell, the film offers no real explanation for that decision. Now a free man, though, Conan soon picks up a sidekick in Subotai (Gerry Lopez) and a love interest in the form of female warrior Valeria (Sandahl Bergman). They all live it up as daring thieves for awhile, but fate eventually leads Conan to the formidable temple of Thulsa Doom and his serpent cult, thereby pitting our hero against the man who had taken everything from him, including his freedom, all those years ago.

Barbarians, as you know, can't sleep unless they've killed at least one person that day, so expect plenty of violence over the course of the film's two hours. Sharpened steel blades tend to cut right through human flesh, especially when it's the powerful arm of Conan wielding the sword. Along with all the hack and slash, you get at least two decapitations and a couple of unique deaths by snake (that Thulsa Doom has a few dark tricks in his arsenal). A couple of gigantic snakes also put in an appearance, but they don't even try to swallow anybody, which is a little disappointing. All of the blood is realistic and never gratuitous, yet another reason why this is such an impressive film. Arnold Schwarzenegger deserves a lot of credit himself, turning in quite an impressive performance for a relatively unknown body builder. One can only wish that more great characters from the world of fiction were given as respectful a cinematic make-over as Conan the Barbarian received in this 1982 fantasy classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Conan? I think not., July 12 2001
By A Customer
I have to agree with the paucity of reviewers who thought the film, 'Conan the Barbarian,' a travesty done to the character created by Robert. E. Howard. The very few who deemed this movie a blasphemy - GOOD FOR YOU. You are the true Conan fans. I will, doubtless, receive negative responses to this, my review of the Collector's Edition of 'Conan,' but I care not. The real Conan fans - few that there are - will applaud me. John Milius and Oliver Stone wrote the screenplay, and when they did, they decided to do it their own way. The results are evident. Why they did not use Howard's own words as the screenplay defies the imagination. John Milius knows nothing about Howard, let alone the character of Conan. In fact, Ron Cobb - the production designer for the film - was quoted as saying, "Our strength in making this film is that we don't know anything about Conan." There is a movie based on Tolkien's, 'Lord of the Rings' trilogy coming out soon. From what I gather, the director of the film is following the books almost verbatim - the way it should be done. This director knows what he's about; he knows the material, loves Tolkien, and the film will be done well, unlike the 'Conan' movie mockeries. I chuckled with loud mirth when I viewed the commentaries betwixt Schwarzenegger and Milius. Arnold doesn't seem to recall much, and I lost count how many times he said, "Exahhhctly." In the end, 'Conan the Barbarian' is one simple movie. It might have been better if they didn't call it, 'Conan.' One day, one day, mind you, someone is going to make a film called, 'Robert E. Howard's, Conan.' When it happens, all the non-reading imbeciles of the world will experience the real Conan of Cimmeria. One final nail-driving mockery: On the DVD brochure, some boneheads wrote a small paragraph about Howard. I noticed they couldn't even get the year REH died correct; it was written 1906-1935. Howard died in 1936. Well, that tells the whole story doesn't it. Fools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This Movie Is Not That Great, July 5 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Conan the Barbarian (VHS Tape)
After reading many of the reviews, I find it difficult to fathom why so many people love this movie. Even more perplexing is the fact that many of the reviewers are familiar with Robert E. Howard's character. The character in this movie is NOT Robert E. Howard's Conan. How can these so called 'Conan fans' honestly say they love this movie and, at the same time, admire REH's creation? It's truly a mystery. Robert E. Howard's writings have inspired me for a long time. When this movie first hit the screen, I was elated. My elation faded, however, once I viewed the film. Conan resorting to booby traps, as opposed to using his sword? Ridiculous! Conan lying wounded at the feet of his enemy crying, 'You killed my mother, my father, my people..' Where in the hell did that come from?! Conan standing before a king acting like a little kid who just did something bad? Now, that's funny. Oh, and we mustn't forget the dialogue - Girl: 'What do you see?' Conan: 'Uh, eternity.'
Oh, and what about this extravagant wordplay:
'Your not a guard.'
'Neither are you.'
'Do you know what horrors lie behind these walls?'
'No.'
'Then you go first.'
Compare this tripe to the explosive vitality in REH's dialogue and you will fully understand why this movie makes a mockery of Conan and his creator. Yes, the music is good. Yes, the weapons, armor and scenery are cool. Too, the fight scenes are bloodly and violent, but to truly see the light, a true Conan fan looks beyond the surface. Besides depicting a sorry excuse for REH's Conan, I have many problems with this movie. Who in the hell was that wizard? I think he was placed in the cast for comic relief only. What was that thing Conan pushed around and around until he got huge? I mean, what the hell was it? Did it have a purpose? How come the director didn't show our heroes landing in the water when they leaped out of the tower? As viewers, we are just left in mid-air. How does a fortress made entirely of stone become a raging inferno caused by a bowl full of coals? Say, didn't we see a similiar ending in 'Apocalypse Now?' This movie, in my opinion, is overrated. Obviously, it has something - otherwise it wouldn't receive such rave reviews. I like it; I think it entertaining, but, if given a choice, I'll spend two hours reading a Robert E. Howard yarn. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic sword and sorcery, Sept. 2 2003
By 
Slow Rider (Somewhere, FL) - See all my reviews
One of the classic sword and sorcery movies out there. Very well done and entertaining. I've watched it too many times to remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a very good theatrical introduction to Conan, Aug. 31 2007
this is a very good movie.it contains lots of action adventure and
excitement.the acting is pretty decent,although acting isn't really the
focal point of this movie or most in the genre.the movie has a pretty
good story that is fairly simple and easy to follow.it's a good beginning
look at Conan,portrayed well by Arnie.this is probably where he is at
his largest size.for a sword and sorcery epic,this movie is pretty
good,although i admit i haven't seen very many.i like the colourful
cast of characters,which add to the story.the movie is fairly dark in
tone,though there are some fun moments.i thought the movie moved along
at a good speed,without seeming too rushed,thus retaining its epic
quality.for me,"Conan The Barbarian" is a 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldnt have picked a better Conan, June 16 2004
"Conan, what is best in life?"
"To crush your enemies, see them driven before you, and to hear the lamentation of their women!"
The first time you see Arnold Schwarzenegger in the movie, you realize within an instant, that there could have been no better actor to play Conan. Arnie is Conan.
This is one of the best Action/Adventure films of all time, with a great musical score and good directing. The movie, which probably didnt have a huge budget, still comes off with an epic feel to it.
There are few good Sword & Sorcery films out there, this is one of the best. Buy this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Conan the Barbarian [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 11.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews