Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Source Code (blu ray)...a very enjoyable thriller with good video/audio!
VIDEO:

Source Code arrives at blu ray with AVC 1080p 1.78:1 encode. The video is glistened with details, like the close-up details of Gyllenhaal's face. Pores are clearly visible, as is every piece of hero-stubble adorning his face. The aerial scene of Chicago was also full of details, with crisp images. Overall, a very enjoyable video presentation...
Published on Feb. 20 2012 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent concept, not entirely well executed
Interesting check your brain at the door techno thriller. Kind of falls apart at the end. Good buy on sale.
Published 9 months ago by Ian Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Source Code (blu ray)...a very enjoyable thriller with good video/audio!, Feb. 20 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Source Code / Source Code (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
VIDEO:

Source Code arrives at blu ray with AVC 1080p 1.78:1 encode. The video is glistened with details, like the close-up details of Gyllenhaal's face. Pores are clearly visible, as is every piece of hero-stubble adorning his face. The aerial scene of Chicago was also full of details, with crisp images. Overall, a very enjoyable video presentation. (4.5/5)

AUDIO:

The English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 tracks have great directional audio that draws one into the illusion of the film. Ambient train sounds, announcements, explosions, and every other sound complete the illusion of being there with Captain Stevens. Thankfully, the soundtrack rarely, if ever, interferes with audibility of dialogue. (4/5)

TRIVIA:

Source Code has a budget of $32 million, but did make $123 million worldwide.

GOOF:

The PA system at the Glenbrook station announces a train destined for Skokie, north of Chicago. The train is repeatedly shown approaching Chicago from the south, making it impossible to get to Skokie from Glenbrook.

FINAL THOUGHT:

Source Code is expertly crafted and executed. It's a proficient thriller that packs in its complicated tale into a brisk 93 minutes. It doesn't require you to shut off your brain to enjoy it, either. This is a thinking man's thriller full of action, suspense, and smart science fiction. It was also nice to see our own Russell Peters in the film, acting as a comedian, of course. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A smart, fun thriller, July 27 2011
By 
Andre Farant (Ottawa, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Take a Groudhog Day chassis, fit it with a Twelve Monkeys interior, then drop a 24 engine into that bad boy, and you'll come up with something that looks a lot like Source Code; a sleek thriller that fires on all cylinders without hammering you with unnecessary bombast. In the driver's seat is one Duncan Jones who previously helmed the excellent Moon.

In Source Code, Captain Colter Stevens, played by Jake Gyllenhaal, finds himself on a train headed for Chicago. He does not know how he got there or who the young lady seated before him, talking, might be. He is told, however, that there is a bomb on the train. He is not expected to defuse the bomb or otherwise halt what he is assured is an inevitable explosion. Rather, he has eight minutes to figure out the identity of the bomber. If he fails, millions could die.

Source Code, along with the recent and equally good Adjustment Bureau, is a sci-fi film in which the high concept is treated as secondary, and the film is all the stronger for it. Instead of spending countless scenes expounding on their nifty new toy, the filmmakers focus on the characters and on simply telling a good story. These are movies that not only make you widen your eyes appreciatively, not only utter the requisite oohs and aahs, they also give you a sense of satisfaction, in having shared in the story rather simply than having been entertained.

I loved Moon, enjoyed Source Code, and look forward to more from Duncan Jones. I also look forward to more movies that entertain without sacrificing story and character, movies like Source Code and The Adjustment Bureau, movies worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bon film de fiction!, Oct. 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Source Code / Source Code (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Bon film de fiction! J'ai aimé le fait d'aller dans le temps afin de modifier le passé! Mission difficile pour ce jeune combattant pris au piège pour survivre et redécouvrir l'amour dans ce passé inexistant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent concept, not entirely well executed, May 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Source Code / Source Code (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Interesting check your brain at the door techno thriller. Kind of falls apart at the end. Good buy on sale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars decent flick, Oct. 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Source Code / Source Code (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Enjoyed this movie tho some of the logic didn't carry through the film, but it was good enough to forgive the inconsistencies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I really liked this movie., Dec 15 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Source Code / Source Code (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a good movie. I really enjoyed watching it at the movies and again at home. Glad I bought it. I will watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great mystery unravels. Clever story and premise, Oct. 14 2012
By 
Charles Dimov "Vice President" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fascinating story that starts off with confusion, and unravels after time. Interesting premise with some elements of modern physics theory about multiple universes. Fresh story from that perspective.

As another reviewer notes, it does remind the watcher of Ground Hog day - with a more serious spin and equally happy ending.

Nice circularity that the writer put on the movie (which you will understand at the end if you watch it ;-)).

Exciting movie. Great fresh perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars This is not a very good movie, it's like a nightmare or a computer ..., Jan. 10 2015
By 
CP (Montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is not a very good movie, it's like a nightmare or a computer game where the same situations keeps happening again and again with different reactions but the end result is the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Dec 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Source Code / Source Code (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Très bon film à avoir dans une collection.,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Groundhog Day meets Quantum Leap, July 24 2011
By 
Steven Aldersley (Oshawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Source Code / Source Code (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Source Code (Thriller, Sci-Fi)
Directed by Duncan Jones
Starring Jake Gyllenhaal, Vera Farmiga, Michelle Monaghan and Jeffrey Wright

Summit Entertainment | 2011 | 93 min | Rated PG-13 | Released Jul 26, 2011

Video:
Video codec: MPEG-4 AVC
Video resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 1.78:1

Audio:
English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1
Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1

Subtitles:
English SDH, Spanish

Disc:
Single 50GB Blu-ray Disc
Bonus View (PiP)

The Movie 4/5

Director Duncan Jones has had an impressive start to his career. Moon (2009) saw Sam Rockwell turn in a very good performance and Source Code has built on that success. Jones has attracted a wonderful cast and the $32 million budget allows for a more spectacular presentation. Moon reminded me of older classics such as 2001: A Space Odyssey, but Source Code feels like a modern story.

The movie is a thriller with a strong science fiction element, but it also plays like a mystery. The opening scene shows Captain Colter Stevens (Gyllenhaal) on a train in Chicago. When he sees his reflection in the window of the train, it's not him. Christina (Monaghan), the woman in the opposite seat, calls him Sean. A few minutes later we see the train explode and Stevens wakes up alone in a chamber of some kind.

Jones shows us everything from the viewpoint of Stevens, so we only gradually come to understand the situation. Stevens is part of an experimental project which enables him to inhabit the body of somebody else. The project is led by Dr. Rutledge (Wright) and Colleen Goodwin (Farmiga).

They can only communicate with Stevens by using a camera and a computer screen. He's told that he must find out where the bomb is and uncover the person responsible for planting it. He can't avoid the explosion, but the information could prevent a future disaster involving the bomber. He can only inhabit the body of Sean for eight minutes at a time. So we see Stevens trying to gather information. Each time the train explodes, the pattern resets and he tries again. It's like a blend of Groundhog Day and Quantum Leap.

We have a race against the clock to prevent further terrorism and that keeps us on the edge of our seats. There's also the chance of romance between Sean and Christina, as well as great special effects. Comedian Russell Peters provides most of the comic relief. This package has plenty to keep us hooked. At the outset I expected one of the twists to be that Sean turns out to be the bomber, but I was wrong. Couldn't Stevens simply take over the body of the bomber on his next visit once he found out who it was, or does the technology only allow you to access people who are "compatible" with you?

Put yourself in that position for a moment. If you were a train passenger tasked with uncovering the identity of a bomber, how would you proceed? Would you be polite to total strangers as you questioned them? How about contacting the guard and explaining the situation? Whatever course of action you choose, the train will explode in eight minutes (unless you locate and disarm the bomb). That allows Jones to break the established rules somewhat. If the pattern resets each time, he can do anything. Sean can be rude, engage in criminal activity, or follow incredibly dangerous courses of action. He could even kill or be killed. That makes the movie less predictable than most.

I won't reveal what does happen, but hopefully I've described the situation well enough for you to know whether you'll like the movie.

The movie raises some serious themes such as how the line between right and wrong can become blurred. In a sense it also deals with the issue of slavery, just as Moon did.

Jones has produced another interesting idea and turned it into a thrilling story. The four main actors turned in good performances and the whole thing worked well for me. I'm a fan of the whole Groundhog Day concept and enjoy Run Lola Run for the same reason. There have also been episodes of The X-Files and Star Trek Next Generation dealing with the same concept.

Video Quality 4.5/5
I detected slight aliasing on a couple of overhead shots of the city, but it's only there for a second or two. Colors look bright and clear, although red tint is slightly enhanced in facial shots. Detail is strong throughout, especially in close-ups. This is a pleasing transfer and exactly what you would expect from a recent release.

Audio Quality 4.5/5
There's a lot going on in Source Code and the English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 track handles everything well. The explosions carry real weight and the ambient effects, such as coffee spilling, are easy to detect. The dialogue is clear throughout and the score adds to the atmosphere of the movie.

Special Features 2.5/5

Audio Commentary with Director Duncan Jones, Writer James Ripley and Actor Jake Gyllenhaal.

Access Source Code - A PiP feature including comments from cast and crew as well as trivia and expert comments on time travel. While the navigation was a little annoying, the features offer plenty of information once accessed.

I don't think it matters whether the plot is airtight; it's a piece of entertainment. This is a movie that can be enjoyed as an action thriller, but it could attract others due to the science fiction or romantic elements. For those that like to think, the science fiction elements definitely provide food for thought. I enjoyed Source Code in the theater and am happy to finally have it in my collection. The Blu-ray presentation is worthy of the excellent story.

Overall score 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Source Code  / Source Code (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 9.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews