Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who really got punched?
The extent to which this film has been cast aside and misunderstood even within those that makes claims as to having enjoyed it is unparalleled. To begin there is not one ounce of true exploitation in Sucker Punch. Snyder carefully chose his shots, costumes etc as to avoid becoming a T & A film. The point of showing girls wrapped in costumes representative of fetish was...
Published on June 27 2011 by E. Emery

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Started in the marketing department
"Hey, how can we rationalize beautiful young women in their underwear shooting guns?"
I am 95% certain that is how this movie started its life, the rest was filled in to make it happen. The CGI is phenomenal, one does not go wanting for a feast of eye-candy throughout, but what a shallow, shallow premise to make a movie on.
Published 19 months ago by Dan


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who really got punched?, June 27 2011
This review is from: Sucker Punch (Extended Theatrical Cut - SteelBook Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
The extent to which this film has been cast aside and misunderstood even within those that makes claims as to having enjoyed it is unparalleled. To begin there is not one ounce of true exploitation in Sucker Punch. Snyder carefully chose his shots, costumes etc as to avoid becoming a T & A film. The point of showing girls wrapped in costumes representative of fetish was to attract a certain crowd and illustrate a point; fantasy is fun and without consequence if you understand the boundaries of fantasy. If you begin to loose sight of the boundaries of fantasy you begin to apply those concepts to the real world and there are consequences. Hence, no real death in the fantasy world until it leaks into the "real world" and starts to break it down. Movie goers, consumers, etc are obsessed with over-sensualizing teen girls (ie From Annette Funicello to Brooke Shields to Brittany Spears up through Miley Cyrus). By doing this teen girls grow up as prisoners of their own sexuality and are taught to "empower" themselves with it against the brute force of men. A subjective empowerment all women will enact on more than one occasion and that all women will loathe and/or enjoy at one time or another; sometimes both. That is one of the many questions Snyder poses; where is the line and what messages are we sending, specifically in Hollywood where T & A is the name of the game for most starlets.

There is also a lot of criticism for the so-called lack of inspired imagery; orcs, nazis, robots, etc. Again, this was the point. Tired of X-Men 5, Batman 6, Harry Potter 7, reboot, redeux, and remakes? Where something old is made new again? Snyder again was addressing the collapsing of the fibre of Hollywood and admitting, as with the girls, it's all fun but what is the cost? This same point is driven home through the music selection- riddled with remakes, reboots and samples and presented in the most decadent hyper-stylized way. Listen to the dialogue again...Snyder is speaking directly to the audience...even referencing his own contributions to the mess of genre flicks swarming the market. Amazing just how intelligent and brave this film is and how far critics and audiences alike have fallen in their film intellect over the last decade or two. The main flaw of the film is in the unintended feel good ending enlisted by the studio after the original ending was far too challenging for screening audiences. Amusing how the film to which Sucker Punch repeatedly tips it's hat to, Brazil, went through the very same struggles to be heard.

The "Sucker Punch" was the act of making a film with the purpose of baiting the audience with promises of action without consequence, sex without abuse, 2 fun-filled hours without introspection but in turn giving the audience creepy feelings of voyeurism and making the audience uneasy with enjoying the action that turned to violence. Unfortunately it's all worse than Zack Snyder thought; he gave the audience too much credit and they never realized he was taking to them about the state of affairs. Great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mindblowing in its Awesomeness, June 28 2011
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sucker Punch (Extended Theatrical Cut - SteelBook Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Holy crap on a cracker. Alright, so I already dug Watchmen. I'm not too much into modern movies usually, especially ones with a lot of CG, but Watchmen really got me. It was 50% the comic and 50% the style of the movie. So obviously I wanted to see what Snyder would do next and then came Sucker Punch, this time an original story.

Holy crap, I say again! I thought it was going to be all visuals with no worthwhile story. But I was happily wrong on that one. Yes, Sucker Punch is at least 50% there to punch you in the eyeballs and titilate your every dream. Which actually kind of works into the theme of the story. But there's a cool quest storyline as well as some character backstory stuff that all ties together. I mean, this director's cut is 128 minutes long. There's plenty of room there for action, but when it goes back to story, it's just as interesting. In fact, as much as I enjoy the visuals of the action scenes (I'm a total sucker for steampunk) I felt the movie was at its best when concentrating on our five heroines.

One of the biggest criticisms of this movie is the whole exploitation angle. Well, I think any of the five characters in this movie would happily kick your tail for that. Is there an excessive amount of skin? I have to say slightly. But only slightly, because it while it is unnecessary to the plot, it is not excessive. Hell, the movie is so tame that it even silenced an "f" bomb in the dialogue. What movie does that these days?

I also loved the fact that this is a movie with five heroines, kicking butt and taking names. Sure, Scott Glen is there as a guiding figure. But he's more of an Obi-Wan Kenobi, he's not involved in the kicking of butts nor the taking of names. I can't think of any other recent action movies with five heroines and no male heroes.

My biggest beef with this movie is how it feels like a video game when it reverts to the action scenes. From the music to the slow mo to the choreography, it feels way too much like a video game during these scenes. I mean, the train scene...I played a game like that once. Not to mention there's this gamey quest aspect to the story. However before too long it quickly reverts back to another level of reality -- not startlingly so -- and then we're back in a place slightly more rooted in the real world.

But not entirely. The movie feels very much like a painting, whether one of oil or pixels. Every shot seems meticulously composed. Every movement and expression, pre-planned. This isn't a bad thing. It's one thing I liked about Watchmen. And I sure liked Watchmen.

The soundtrack is, once again, brilliant. I dig the fact that we're listening to Bjork in the 1960's. And why the hell not? Another highlight is a modern remake of "White Rabbit". These songs play into the storyline, and recur at key moments like theme songs for each scene. I even liked the Queen medley rap thingy.

I've read reviews of this movie that compared it to Brazil. That's pushing it. They both have lobotomies in them and intense fantasy sequences. But Sucker Punch is not bad. The acting is fine. I mean, Jena Malone's an established actress by now. I don't know anything about the other actresses, except I remember seeing Lemony Snicketts and thinking that girl was really talented. Well that girl plays the lead role of Babydoll here.

By the way, there were no Nazis in this movie...there were no Nazis during WWI, where the scene in question took place. Do kids not know history anymore?

I really liked Sucker Punch, flaws and all. If you think you would too, go for it. I think it's a fun ride that won't rot your brain at the same time.

4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Be prepared!, July 28 2011
This review is from: Sucker Punch (Extended Theatrical Cut - SteelBook Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Fantastic blend of cool imagery, amazing sound and music.
The girls are amazing and the films layers intricately woven by the director.
It's an event.
The blu ray extended version is the one to buy of course as there's more music, action and menace. I'm not happy with the triple disc edition though. Why do I want the shorter version on Dvd? Also, I wouldn't need the shorter version on blu ray either if it weren't for the fact that the animated extras ( and a short soundtrack extra that's not worth watching) do not appear on the extended version! So I have to keep this disc just for them. Why not have both versions on one disc? Also, the maximum movie mode is good but I wanted documentaries separate or the ability to view in full screen!
So the extras are a huge disappointment. Still, the film is awesome so I'll live!
Long live Babydoll!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, June 15 2011
By 
I loved this movie! The action, and fantasy elements in it were awesome. My guy friend and I went to see it twice in IMax at the movie theatre, and we can't wait to see it on DVD, with the special features, and such. A lot of my other friends didn't really like the movie though. I guess it's the type of movie you either really like, or don't. My favourite character was Sweet Pea, and I thought the movie had a cool soundtrack that went perfectly with the action scenes. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU WILL BE UNPREPARED!, July 5 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sucker Punch (Extended Theatrical Cut - SteelBook Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I loved this movie when I saw it in theatres! Extended blu-ray makes this already great movie even better! Money well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Future cult classic, June 28 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sucker Punch (Extended Theatrical Cut - SteelBook Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Where do I start? Multiple cliched genres all in one ball of wax. Beautiful and stunning visuals! Hard hitting soundtrack with an homage to classic rock songs! What's not to like? From a viewers experience it can be cerebral exercise in questioning and altering reality. One can read into it whatever one wants. Or, it can be an heart pounding titillating roller coaster ride. Even at parties this can be put on as a beautiful music video. The only thing to be lamented is that there was not more merchandise marketed for it. That, and the movie could have been a little longer. For all the fanboys they will just have to settle for the excellent DVD release. The making of, outtakes, and blooper reels should be worth the cost of the steel book edition alone. This is a future cult classic in the making. It will set a new precedent for what's to come in movie making. Whether it is considered bubble gum or a decedent dessert either way this movie was meant to be savored and appreciated. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knock out punch, Sept. 15 2011
This review is from: Sucker Punch (Extended Theatrical Cut - SteelBook Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
This is a movie that demands to be watched several times, and after doing so, I have concluded that this is one of the best films I have seen in years. I wont be a spoiler here. There is hardly a scene or word of dialog that isnt vitally important and carefully crafted, to tell the story of a young girls personal tragedy, in which she deals with the events in her life as best she can. After seeing film critics bad reviews of Sucker Punch I had originally had written it off, and I think they are out of touch with todays ideas and will hopefully change their minds, like Ebert did of his original review of Blade Runner. Great story, good acting and characters, fantastic special effects and a rockin soundtrack as well. This is going to be a cult movie for years to come. "And one more thing" as Scott Glen would say, Thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 7 2014
By 
Alan (Landmark, Manitoba Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Sucker Punch (DVD) (DVD)
Love it, love it, love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Buy., June 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sucker Punch (Extended Theatrical Cut - SteelBook Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Fantastic movie. Everything (the soundtrack, the colours, the costumes, the action, the acting, etc.) is amazing and unique. It's a movie that goes so much deeper than just being "eye candy". It's empowering, thought-provoking, and even emotional. That, plus all the fight scenes and explosions, with memorable music, makes a powerful combination. It will have your full attention. And the steelbook is nice to have, with pretty cool art. I can't recommend this movie enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sucker Punch Extended is very worth it, May 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of these spectacularly laid our SGI films that begs to be viewed on Bluray. The titanic samurai, the dragon, and each other sci-fi/fantasy vignette deserves to be seen in 1080p. Treat yourself to this, the extra 17 minutes of this extended cut are well worth it. Zack Snyder should be proud of his directing and vision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sucker Punch (Extended Theatrical Cut - SteelBook Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 22.99 CDN$ 16.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews