Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bon film., May 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Être avocat et avoir son bureau dans son char avec tout ce que ça peut amener comme situations. Très bon film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Lawyer Movie, April 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lincoln Lawyer (DVD)
Great story, which is well done, and definitely worth getting and watching. You won't be dissapointed. Get iit and enoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars as good as Chandler's LA noir tales, Feb. 8 2012
By 
Brian Maitland (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
First of all, I'll be upfront about this movie. I never got the title until I saw the extras. The extras explain that Matthew McConaghey's lawyer character works out of his Lincoln Continental car. Maybe I'm slow on the uptake but if the whole setup was this lawyer found it more convenient to work from his car, then I missed that. Even though there are lots of scenes of him going to and from court to wherever driven by his chauffeur, I just thought the open briefcase, the talking on the cell phone and the meeting up with the Hell's Angels clients on the road were all they were.

In another scene you see McConaghey going through old files in his garage so I just assumed he worked out of his home. Anyway, that's where I'm coming from.

The extras also pointed out by the book's author upon which the movie is based that the action occurs in this one justice area in Van Nuys, California, that houses various buildings such as a holding jail, courthouse and various bail bonds offices. In the movie I never figured that out as when they cut from scenes in each of these places you never really see McConaghey walk from one building to the next.

So in this sense despite a terrific movie that has great characters, tremendous twists and turns, great supporting cast (Marisa Tomei and John Leguizamo are among the "names") a very evil Ryan Philippe, I don't think the director who converted the book to screen if it took the extras (which are all pretty terrific) really was able to give us a sense that much of the courtroom and prisoner-lawyer scenes were all within virtually the same block.

The extras (and sorry to go on about them more than the actual movie but they really are terrific) also had the author Michael Connelly (a former LA Times crime reporter)take us on a drive around the LA of the Lincoln lawyer which was endlessly fascinating and very much Raymond Chandler-esque.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Matthew McConaughey perfect as Haller, April 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I do hope McConaughey will be recruited to play the role in subsequent adaptations, as he fits my mental image from the book to a T. Droll, understated and clever dialogue make for a captivating performance. A great story/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE LINCOLN LAWYER, Dec 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
MATTHEW MCCONAUGHEY IS THE GREATEST AND MADE THIS MOVIE COULDN'T HAVE BEEN MORE HAPPIER WITH THIS MOVIE THANKS AGAIN SUSANNE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the novel, Nov. 9 2013
By 
One singular sensation... "One singular sensa... (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It isn't "Witness for the Prosecution", but it is in a league with "The Paradine Case" and makes some of the John Grisham films look pretty pale by comparison. Also, it is the clearest sign that Matthew McConaughy has more acting talent than almost anyone in films today.
The plot is almost spellbinding, but seasoned with enough humour to prevent it from getting bogged down with court ritual. You may know what is going to happen, but the getting there is most of the pleasure, and unexpected turns are frequent.
The film isn't a classic...yet. Give it a few years to season and it will be one of those great films that everyone wonders why it wasn't immediately recognized as fabulously entertaining...sort of like "Casablanca" or "Wizard of Oz", both initially thought to be bombs.
If you...when you...buy it, it won't sit on a shelf for long before it gets taken out for another viewing, and then another....and then...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For the Fans of Mathew McConaughey., Sept. 9 2013
By 
Inge Pohle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is fun , uncomplicated and typically American . If you like Mathew McConaughey ,you will love the movie for that reason .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Punch lined not given away, Dec 21 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lincoln Lawyer (Blu-Ray + DVD) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Story is good and you find out the punch line near the end
Good story
and good actors
I recommend this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie!!!!!, July 3 2012
Nothing but praise for The Lincoln Lawyer. However I bought the Blu-Ray + DVD + Digital Download from Amazon US. Warning if you live in Canada you will not get the digital download as it is for iTunes US store only. Lionsgate Films responded to my concerns but Alliance films in Canada said "tough luck" no download.
BUY the movie - just don't expect the digital download. The Lincoln Lawyer in the US $20 with all three options - BUT in Canada you pay $30 for only the disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie!, Aug. 6 2011
By 
Ed (Burnaby, BC) - See all my reviews
There were so many twists and turns in the Lincoln Lawyer yet it was easy to follow and very interesting. One of the more entertaining movies I've seen over the last couple of years. A stellar cast and great acting make this movie worth seeing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lincoln Lawyer (Blu-Ray + DVD) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 10.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews