Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Countdown to Cyber Monday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars52
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 17, 2014
A great finale to the ME game experience. The outcomes that play out, as with ME 1 & 2 are driven in a significant measure by one's selection for the actions and responses of the key characters. The graphics qaulity improved beyond what one sees in ME2, which it should have done. It's probably a somewhat dated product in terms of its graphics qualities, at this date, but I personally got a big kick out of the combination of the action, and my having a big influence on the storyling outcomes.
Two star demerits because its really objectionable to have to sign online with Origin, to play ME3; I hate it. Don't care if that is becoming a norm requirement, it still sucks. Going on to that site should be my personal option. It seems like a scheme to get me to buy product at their site, and for them to track players for some reason, like grabbing info for future marketing and possibly selling it to third parties. The game itself is great, I really dislike the compulsary Origin phoopheraa.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2012
I was looking forward to Mass Effect 3. I still remember how excited I was for the first one. In short, Mass Effect is one of those stories that doesn't change who you are, it just strikes a harrowing chord inside of you.

I suppose I first have to mention that yes, unfortunately, the game does require a constant Internet connection, and that yes, you will inevitably have to play multiplayer to get the "best" ending. These are what seem to have become today's common schemes to keep you playing as long as possible and get as much cash out of you as possible. I despise this, and it is the reason for the missing star.

Now, for someone with no experience with Mass Effect, you will surely have fun with the game, since all of its facets are relatively well-made and quite fun. However, at the end, you will probably rate it 3 stars and just move on. For these people, I would suggest reading or doing something you truly enjoy instead of buying this, or at least wait till it's 20 bucks and then buy it for a few fun sittings.

Finally, if through some chance, there are still some of you out there who are on the fence about buying it, having played the rest of the games in the series, but hesitating because of the not-stellar reviews, go ahead and buy it. If you still have your old save games from ME 1 and 2, you will have an amazing time. The invasion of Earth, the efforts of Shepard, the return of many old companions, all of this and more will immerse and delight you. It will truly be a roller-coaster of emotions, often with more low's than high's. But it will make you feel implicated, motivated to guide Shepard on his mission and finish the saga which started with a simple little mission on Eden Prime that went wrong. At the end, you probably won't feel good, but maybe that's not the whole point. Maybe what is important is that you will have lived through so many emotions, just from a video game.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon June 27, 2014
I never played ME 1 or 2 until after I got ME3. It is a bit hard to play the earlier games when their graphics do not match what is seen with ME3 but it is easy to get immersed in this world and want to explore more of it. I have been playing it on an Alienware computer and everything is so smooth and rich. It is not the newest game on the block but it is one that has held my interest for a long time. I bought, this based on input from one of my sons, almost 2 years ago and it is still fun to play. For hardcore gamers, I am sure it is quite passé but for the casual player, you will not get bored and the pricing is quite good on it. I am glad I got it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2014
What more do you want? Lasers in space, super powers, the ability to command two squad mates who've got your back through thick and thin, an engrossing storyline and beautiful visuals. What are you waiting for??

Did I mention online co-op featuring endless hordes of alien cybernetics, humans piloting mechs and mutated biological abominations? Oh there's also hundreds of unlock-able items and weapons using credits you gain per match. Most underrated Wii U game of 2012.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on April 12, 2012
Mass Effect 3 is in many ways the capstone in a wildly successful trio of games. Building upon the graphical maturation seen from 1 -> 2, ME3 is a rich and aesthetically pleasing game that looks more like the real world than the excessively sterile ME1. Game play, including melee combat and multiplayer, add to the overall experience. However, there are many ways in which Bioware ultimately falls flat with this game.

1) 'Manditory' multiplayer - although Bioware promised that it would be an optional component to ME3, it is extremely difficult to build up enough strength for a successful final battle without playing through the online multiplayer. For players that prefer the single RPG format of the previous games, this is a disappointment.

2) Bugs - ME3 is an EA product through and through, plenty of gloss, but no real polish. In many areas of the game, hangs, crashes, and graphical bugs are a distraction. It's a good thing the game autosaves so frequently, since it has a habit of locking up during load screens.

3) Clunky rendering in many cutscenes - normally a cutscene is where a developer can carefully hone graphical performance to ensure the best possible experience for the viewer. However, in many cutscenes, the rendering is jerky, suffers from interpolating artifacts, or poor lighting models.

4) Galaxy at War system - in many ways, the inclusion of online play hampers solo play; waiting for the game to communicate with EA servers before accessing the War Room or the main menu is a real pain. Since the multiplayer score is referenced repeatedly in the single-player mode, performance suffers.

5) The Ending - without spoiling the content of the ending, it would be fair to say that most players have disliked it. In addition to being nonsensical and out of character, the three endings have identical cutscenes with nearly identical outcomes. Despite promising to give players a chance to sculpt the ending to this saga, ME3 pigeonholes players into 3 slight variations on a single theme.

Mass Effect has been a successful franchise up to this point mostly due to the compelling story and immersive gameplay style. However, in ME3 EA and Bioware squander their gains by producing a game that looks good but ultimately fails to deliver on its promises.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2012
The Mass Effect Trilogy is nothing short of spectacular and after getting the Final Hours DLC Mass Effect 3 became an amazing ending to Commander Shepard's tale. Can't wait to see what BioWare does next with the ME Universe
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2014
Quality game with a deep plot. Classic title with an excellent multiplayer experience that keeps you coming back. Once you start playing on multiplayer you forget to finish the story!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2012
I have played mass effect 2 and loved it and now that I have been playing mass effect 3. i like how it has a deeper storyline and like how i can play with my friends
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2014
I have spent hours and hours playing this game and I must say it is one of the most enjoyable gaming experiences I have ever had!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2014
I played the first and really wasn't impressed but this one seems much better. Graphics are great and gameplay is a lot better.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Mass Effect 3 - Xbox 360 Standard Edition
Mass Effect 3 - Xbox 360 Standard Edition by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
CDN$ 22.95

Mass Effect Trilogy (English Only) - Xbox 360
Mass Effect Trilogy (English Only) - Xbox 360 by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
CDN$ 29.99