Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNDER A PERFECT SKY, ONE CAN FIGHT FOREVER (*)
The ELDER SCROLLS series has given us a number of masterpieces over the years. Morrowind will always remain etched on my brain whereas Oblivion has offered a vast world I found myself immersed into for hours at no end. Following up on footsteps of such giants is never easy. And yet the 5th installment of the series, SKYRIM, still managed to impress and ensnare me...
Published on Nov. 11 2011 by NeuroSplicer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong game
I ordered the PC version of the game.
But once the game was released, Amazon sent the PS3 version.
Upon returning, I was told they had no more PC version.
Very bad service.
Published 4 months ago by Philippe Busque


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNDER A PERFECT SKY, ONE CAN FIGHT FOREVER (*), Nov. 11 2011
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Elder Scrolls 5: Skyrim Collector's Edition (Video Game)
The ELDER SCROLLS series has given us a number of masterpieces over the years. Morrowind will always remain etched on my brain whereas Oblivion has offered a vast world I found myself immersed into for hours at no end. Following up on footsteps of such giants is never easy. And yet the 5th installment of the series, SKYRIM, still managed to impress and ensnare me.

INFINITE. INFINITE IN ALL DIRECTIONS.
For SKYRIM, Bethesda will only take up 6GB on your HDD and with that the game designers created a literally endless world, with extremely long drawing distances, high mountains, passing clouds, dark forests, foliage moving to the wind and water trickling in streams. Everything you see in the horizon is actually accessible. Now, compare that to the ...21GB Rage takes up for a much, much more small and visually limited world to realize what was accomplished with SKYRIM. The world is absolutely huge - and it feels real.
The graphics are gorgeous, almost realistic. Sure, I could do with somewhat more detailed textures when it comes to clothing (they look much better in the inventory than when worn) as well as a more bold color palette (besides grasses, there are also colorful wildflowers, Bethesda); however, the imaginative design of the items and equipment, the natural movements of the characters and the way light and shadows play with each other all the time more than make up for these shortcomings. The game is as beautiful as it is deep and endless.

ALL SCHOOLS OF FIGHTING ARE WELCOME
Each hand has its own menu. You can go with sword and shield or spell and weapon, dual weapons or dual spells (yes, spells can be combined - and the spell effects are very impressive, especially the frost and thermal ones!). Ana always keep in mind: some Words have power beyond any comprehension.
The camera is very accommodating and both First-Person and Third-Person views are available. It will take some time before you settle into your own fighting style but once that is done the game mechanics will feel like second nature to you. Yes, the finishing moves reminded me of Fallout 3 however, it would not be fair to claim that SKYRIM is the mere cross between FALLOUT 3 and OBLIVION.
SKYRIM was much anticipated and its gameplay does not disappoint in any way.

USE OR LOSE IT
This is true to all living things and it also true in SKYRIM. In the beginning of the game you only get to choose what your hero looks like. How you then play the game will determine what class and what abilities your hero will acquire.
The skills you use the most are the ones you are actually getting better at. You can also increase your skills by skill training and reading a skill book. Leveling up heals your hero (health and magicka) and you can unlock a skill perk and increase one attribute reserve (health, stamina or magicka) by 10 points. Both the enemies you encounter and the loot you find level up with you, however there are areas designed to be almost impossible to lower level heroes. A word of advice: until you are powerful enough, avoid going up into the mountains. I had to learn this the hard way!
There are Achievement you earn but this is what I found beautiful: as you progress the game creates constellations corresponding to your skills and perks and, so, you can see your character make its mark, well, in the sky of SKYRIM.

KEEP YOUR EARS OPEN. IT PAYS
I usually do not pay attention to the sounds of a game. The less I notice them, the more natural they usually are. In SKYRIM both the ambient and action sounds are so well made that they stand out at first. After a while you take them form granted and blend into the background - yet they keep adding greatly to the total immersion. Draw a sword, deflect an arrow with your shield or walk in a narrow corridor and you will see what I mean.
Moreover, the background music, whenever cued, is also epic and majestic, like a medieval liturgy choir chanting about your deeds. One name should describe its impact: Jeremy Soule.
The towns are alive with people going about their daily chores; however, I have to admit that I found The Witcher II to be much better in this aspect. Nevertheless, paying attention to what NPCs have to say has its own rewards. Not only can you get lore and valuable information and even quests but you can even gain skill improvements out of this. Care has been taken to create a great number of NPC phrases in order to avoid having to endure the same phrase repeated over and over. Well, although not very pronounced, after some hours of gameplay this has not been avoided entirely. A minor annoyance. I can understand how town talk is much harder to run through the Creation Engine than items and quests.

HOW MUCH OF A COLLECTOR DO YOU FEEL?
What do you get for almost three times the price of the game? Well, you get a beautiful tin box containing a PVC 12" statue of Alduin, a 200-pages (9 3/8" x 12 1/8") Art book and a Making-of/Behind-the-scenes DVD. There are no in-game bonuses. I guess it is up to each one of us to decide if the price is right.

THERE IS STEAM COMING OUT OF YOUR ARMOR
Recently we have all seen how bad a Digital Distribution system can be ([coughs!] ORIGIN!) so STEAM may seem pretty benign to some by now. Nevertheless, let's not loose perspective. This is still an OnLine DRM scheme. I usually deduct a full star from any game that withholds ownership of our games by tying it to a unique online account. So far I had made a single exception, with Shogun II. I decided SKYRIM to be the second.
I still have to warn the gamers who are careful what DRM schemes they will allow to their computers since the game does require STEAM to run (yes, even the retail version). An informed decision can now be made. However, I could not bring myself to give this masterpiece anything less than a perfect score.

SKYRIM is a game that will draw you in its world, enchant you with its beauty, mesmerize you with its endless horizons, offer you a huge number of ever branching quests and, yet, leave you wanting for more. Each time you play it is unique and the paths not taken will keep bringing you back again and again. Even if they are uphill and narrow.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

___________________________________________________________________________________
(*) Ended relationships not included. May induce expulsion to couch for an indefinite period of time. Real gamers do not use skooma.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely the best game of the year, Dec 6 2011
By 
Stephen (Toronto, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Elder Scrolls 5: Skyrim Collector's Edition (Video Game)
This is, hands down, the bast game of the year.

The collector's edition is amazing. I normally do not get collector editions but when I heard they were including a dragon statue, my mouse couldn't click fast enough to pre-order this. The dragon is a large model mounted on a base that looks like the ones in the game (where you learn your dragon words).

It also includes one of the best art books ever. It is a true coffee table book, covering all the graphic details of the game. From Wildhelm to Solitude, it shows the concept art that went into creating these places. The pictures are beautiful, full colour and capture the epic quality of the game. It also details the monsters and main characters you run into the game and gives an explanation on their thought processes when they were creating these models ingame.

The game itself is simple wonderful. Forget everything you know about open world gaming. Skyrim nails it, and nails it hard. There is simply too much to say about it. You will never lack for something to do. I have yet to go into a random dungeon twice. They all feel different and new. The sense of exploration is just awesome in this game. Like previous Elder Scroll games, the main quest is optional. Its more like a main side quest that you can do (like you do for the different factions in the game).

The combat is good too. The spell system is quick and simple as well as the melee. The fact that you can combine two of the same spell for double power is great. Melee is good too. They didn't change too much from the previous iteration which I find is a good thing.

If there is one thing that does bother me (and not that much to be honest) is the interface. It is plain to see that it was designed for a console. I would reccomend that if you can, play with an xbox controller. There is a bit too much mouse clicking in the interface for my liking. Good thing that the game auto-pauses when you do go into your inventory or spell selection.

And yes there are bugs. I have crashed to desktop a couple of times. And seen a dragon flying backwards. But that's it. No broken quests yet (which is amazing considering the number of quests you get). And I found a fix for the crash to desktop. There is a mod that allows Skyrim to access 4 GB ram. I haven't crashed since I applied that mod.

Overall, it is an amazing product. Currently at 77 hrs in and it still feels fresh to me. New quests are constantly popping up. I could see myself playing this game forever. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyment, Dec 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls Skyrim (Video Game)
The game arrived on time,and in mint condition.it was packaged with care.Skyrim is a great game that actually makes you feel like your in the enviroment.With changing weathers and seasons,and the day's going from day to night.night to day.It feels like your actually traveling through this fantastic fictional land.The graphics are good as well,and i love that there are a variety of races to choose from,and you can be skilled in many things.You dont have to just be a warrior.You can be a warrior and mage at the same time.A thief,but a hero.An archer and a swordsmen.A heavy armor or light armor.A very enjoyable game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, Nov. 3 2013
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls Skyrim (Video Game)
This is a simply amazing game, that many should buy and enjoy for hours, and hours, and hours. Because I have played A LOT of this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, April 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls Skyrim (Video Game)
It showed up on time and exactly as disclosed. It even showed up 2 days early! Thanks for a great purchase experience!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Why Not?, April 2 2013
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls Skyrim (Video Game)
Great new edition to the elder scrolls series and is one of the best games I've played in a while. Game sometimes freezes on loading screens and requires you to shut down console.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, just awesome, Jan. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls Skyrim (Video Game)
Fantastic game, great price. The best part is that it cost only about 38, and the disc looks brand new. I was also pleased that the original cover, skyrim map poster, and even the game instructions were included and in great shape. This is definitely not the last time I purchase something from this user.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon... Is cruel!, Nov. 14 2011
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls 5: Skyrim Collector's Edition (Video Game)
Game gets 5 stars, I'm enjoying it very much.

I was so happy to finally, finally! Get the game. I preordered a collectors edition. It arrived and I was all like omg! Look at the statue, look at the art book! Must download NOW! Opened the case... Ps3 version of the game! I ordered the window 7 for PC. I doubled checked and triple checked, I ordered the PC version and they sent the wrong one. Oh the grief... So cruel Amazon!

However, someone I know bought the game off of me, not the dragon model and art book, map bling, just the disc and bonus disk and I used the cash to buy a direct download copy of Skyrim. So it's all good, it's cool.

Just, so mean... Naughty Amazon! You should be spanked with a paddle. :p
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best!, Nov. 16 2011
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
I'll be upfront! This is by far the best game I have ever played in my life! Of course, this is my opinion! I am a sucker for magic and RPG games!

I don't really want to write a big review..... just watch some videos of gameplays and trailers from youtube and judge for yourself!

Anyway, as for the collectors edition:

To be honest, I was worried that I was paying too much for this edition! I mean c'mon 150 dollars for a dragon? lol But when I got it on Monday, I was surprised! The dragon is actually made with some cool expensive material. The material is not plastic ( I think ). It almost seems like its made out of metal! Also, the dragon display is actually big ( at least bigger than I expected ). The artbook is amazing! The map is cool! I haven't watched the behind the scenes dvd yet ( too busy playing the game and going to school ) .... stupid school! lol!

I love this game! I don't mind spending money on it. Every cent I spend on this game is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong game, Nov. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls 5: Skyrim Collector's Edition (Video Game)
I ordered the PC version of the game.
But once the game was released, Amazon sent the PS3 version.
Upon returning, I was told they had no more PC version.
Very bad service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xba556f6c)

This product

Elder Scrolls 5: Skyrim Collector's Edition
Elder Scrolls 5: Skyrim Collector's Edition by Bethesda Softworks (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
Used & New from: CDN$ 399.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews