Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British potty humor style with a twist of sci-fi
Two British amateur ufologists Graeme Willy (Simon Pegg) and Clive Gollings (Nick Frost) visit COMICON in the US. Then they are off to the UFO sites in the US. They have a close encounter with a maniac driver. Little did they know they were going to encounter Paul an, an area 51 escapee who just wants to go home. We go along for the ride. There we encounter several...
Published on Sept. 18 2011 by bernie

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware - Digital download no longer available
Digital download no longer availableon-line from Universal as of 2012-Feb-20 ... possibly as long ago as Jan-27. Amazon does not mention this ... so be sure you're happy to pay this price for just Blur-Ray and DVD.

That aside ... movie is GREAT!
Published on Feb. 20 2012 by Doug Banks


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British potty humor style with a twist of sci-fi, Sept. 18 2011
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Paul [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Two British amateur ufologists Graeme Willy (Simon Pegg) and Clive Gollings (Nick Frost) visit COMICON in the US. Then they are off to the UFO sites in the US. They have a close encounter with a maniac driver. Little did they know they were going to encounter Paul an, an area 51 escapee who just wants to go home. We go along for the ride. There we encounter several cultures on the journey.

I first saw the trailer for this movie on TV; the one where Paul brings the bird back to life and then does what comes naturally. That set the tone for the whole film. The film does offend prudes of all types with it British style of humor (however Universal City, CA) if not it would have let someone down. For me it was the excessive potty mouth. However being part of the aggregate it was probably necessary.

A nice side part of the film is that they make fun of or incorporate a tad of quit a few of the major sci-fi movies. Watching the extras we learn that they went out of the way to also incorporate filming stiles of some great movies.

For some sort on inexplicable reason I really enjoyed the film and it made me think of a lesser known film named Out There [VHS] (1995), of which I am still waiting for an official DVR transfer.

Out There [VHS]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Humorous Paul Adventures", Sept. 20 2011
By 
Stella Carrier "joyfulwoman2078" - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paul (DVD)
"Paul" is a hilarious and quirky science fiction film about two comic book fanatics (Graeme Willy and Clive Gollings) that have an unexpected alien encounter that changes their life. Simon Pegg and Nick Frost play characters that have come all the way from England to attend a Comic-Con event that is held in California. Naturally, they also want to explore other parts of America as well. During their road trip they accidently run into an alien that calls himself Paul (voiced by Seth Rogen). The movie starts out with some good humour, but the chances to laugh really increase once Paul persuasively convinces Graeme and Clive to take him to where he needs to go. Jason Bateman plays a scandalous but crafty government agent who is also determined to capture Paul for his own personal ulterior motives. "Paul" is a great movie to watch for those who enjoy films that contain elements of comedy and/or science fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paul Prevails, Sept. 21 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul (DVD)
Paul is an absolutely addictive movie. Just one watching and you are hooked. I think it is the British humour that does it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, Jan. 31 2014
By 
R. Gray "Ridgetown Rick" (Ridgetown, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul (DVD)
I've rented this movie a few times and just had to add it to my collection.
Two British sci-fi buffs go to America to attend Comic-Con. They rent a motorhome and decide to visit Area 51 and a number of other sci-fi sites. After a mishap with a couple of red-necks, they end up on a dark highway where they witness a car crash. If you don't know the rest of the plot, read it on Wikipedia. Or better yet, just buy the movie on spec - you won't be disappointed.
The premise of the film is great. Simon Pegg and Nick Frost are the modern day Abbot and Costello - they play so well off each other. Paul, the computer generated alien that foists himself onto the pair, is hilarious. Sigourney Weaver was a great choice as the "bad guy". There are lots of references to many other sci-fi films for those into the genre, but the film works just as well as a comedy.
One of my favourite flicks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paul is Great!!, Nov. 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent movie. Great duo and I hope they continue to make this type of comedy. Loved the two of them in Shaun of the Dead!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great sci-fi comedy, Aug. 5 2013
By 
Bobby Z (Saint Augustine Florida) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
Lately I have been enjoying crazy comedys and this one hit the spot. Interesting blend of characters along the UFO trail of the southwest. The alien Paul realy knows how to make the best of hanging out on earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect purchase!, July 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
It took hardly any time to arrive and when it did, it was in pristine condition and even has a slip cover on it which is a plus in my books. And this movie is amazing for those who haven't seen it, I'd definitely buy this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must see if you like to laugh., July 28 2013
By 
Darrin Miller "The Seeker" (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
This movie is excellent escapist fun. I enjoyed every minute of this movie. A road movie with a twist. Do yourself a favor and watch this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pegg and Frost fan, May 18 2013
By 
Cattieluver (Ottawa, Ontario) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I am a fan of Pegg and Frost so pretty well anything they do is funny to me. This movie is not their funniest but it stands well on its own and is good for many laughs. I have watched it several times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this movie!, Jan. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
Paul is a great romp! Writing is well done, lots of silly fun and the acting is spot on. I'm not big on re-watching movies I've already seen, but "Paul" is an exception to that rule. If you are looking for something to make you laugh this is a great movie! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1adc54c)

This product

Paul [Blu-ray + DVD]
Paul [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 9.49
In stock on April 22, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews