Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British potty humor style with a twist of sci-fi
Two British amateur ufologists Graeme Willy (Simon Pegg) and Clive Gollings (Nick Frost) visit COMICON in the US. Then they are off to the UFO sites in the US. They have a close encounter with a maniac driver. Little did they know they were going to encounter Paul an, an area 51 escapee who just wants to go home. We go along for the ride. There we encounter several...
Published on Sept. 18 2011 by bernie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
ok movie, i will watch it every 5 years or so
Published 18 days ago by polka music best music


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British potty humor style with a twist of sci-fi, Sept. 18 2011
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Paul [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Two British amateur ufologists Graeme Willy (Simon Pegg) and Clive Gollings (Nick Frost) visit COMICON in the US. Then they are off to the UFO sites in the US. They have a close encounter with a maniac driver. Little did they know they were going to encounter Paul an, an area 51 escapee who just wants to go home. We go along for the ride. There we encounter several cultures on the journey.

I first saw the trailer for this movie on TV; the one where Paul brings the bird back to life and then does what comes naturally. That set the tone for the whole film. The film does offend prudes of all types with it British style of humor (however Universal City, CA) if not it would have let someone down. For me it was the excessive potty mouth. However being part of the aggregate it was probably necessary.

A nice side part of the film is that they make fun of or incorporate a tad of quit a few of the major sci-fi movies. Watching the extras we learn that they went out of the way to also incorporate filming stiles of some great movies.

For some sort on inexplicable reason I really enjoyed the film and it made me think of a lesser known film named Out There [VHS] (1995), of which I am still waiting for an official DVR transfer.

Out There [VHS]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Humorous Paul Adventures", Sept. 20 2011
This review is from: Paul (DVD)
"Paul" is a hilarious and quirky science fiction film about two comic book fanatics (Graeme Willy and Clive Gollings) that have an unexpected alien encounter that changes their life. Simon Pegg and Nick Frost play characters that have come all the way from England to attend a Comic-Con event that is held in California. Naturally, they also want to explore other parts of America as well. During their road trip they accidently run into an alien that calls himself Paul (voiced by Seth Rogen). The movie starts out with some good humour, but the chances to laugh really increase once Paul persuasively convinces Graeme and Clive to take him to where he needs to go. Jason Bateman plays a scandalous but crafty government agent who is also determined to capture Paul for his own personal ulterior motives. "Paul" is a great movie to watch for those who enjoy films that contain elements of comedy and/or science fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PAUL [2011] [Blu-ray] [UK Release], Aug. 17 2014
By 
Andrew C. Miller - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Paul [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
PAUL [2011] [Blu-ray] [UK Release] PURE PEGG AND FROST . . . VERY VERY FUNNY!

Simon Pegg and Nick Frost (‘Hot Fuzz’ and ‘Shaun of the Dead’) reunite for the comedy adventure ‘PAUL’ as two sci-fi geeks whose pilgrimage takes them to America’s UFO heartland. While there, they accidentally meet an alien who brings them on an insane road trip that alters their universe forever. For the past 60 years, an alien named Paul (voiced by Seth Rogen) who takes them on an insane road trip. As they struggle to return Paul home, the little green man might just take the outcasts from misfits to intergalactic heroes. From the director of ‘Superbad’ Greg Mottola, and with a stellar supporting cast, including Jason Bateman, Kristen Wiig, Bill Hader, Blythe Danner, Joe Lo Truglio, John Carroll Lynch, David Koechner and Sigourney Weaver. ‘PAUL’ is a must-own Blu-ray comedy adventure, not to be missed! The film contains numerous references to other science fiction films, especially those of Steven Spielberg, as well as to general science fiction fandom. (One of the many taglines was: "Who's up for a close encounter?")

Cast: Mia Stallard, Simon Pegg, Nick Frost, Jeremy Owen, Jeffrey Tambor, David House, Jennifer Granger, Nelson Ascencio, Jane Lynch, David Koechner, Jesse Plemons, Seth Rogen (Paul voice), Jason Bateman, Sigourney Weaver, Bill Hader, Joe Lo Truglio, Mark Sivertsen, Joe Berryman, Kristen Wiig, John Carroll Lynch, Steven Spielberg (voice), Mike Miller, J. Todd Anderson, Diego Deane and Joel Thingvall

Director: Greg Mottola

Producers: Eric Fellner, Nira Park and Tim Bevan

Screenwriters: Simon Pegg and Nick Frost

Composer: David Arnold

Cinematography: Lawrence Sher

Resolution: 1080p

Aspect ratio: 2.35:1

Audio: English: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, English: 2.0 Dolby Digital and English: 2.0 Audio Description Track (only available on the Theatrical Cinema Version)

Subtitles: English SDH

Running Time: 104 minutes

Region: Region B/2

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Universal Pictures UK

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review – The film follows Graeme Willy [Simon Pegg] and Clive Gollings [Nick Frost], two geeky lifetime friends finally embarking on a years-in-the-making journey across America that starts at the San Diego Comic Con and is meant to conclude in Roswell, New Mexico. Before they get there, they witness a car crash, out of which crawls a rather congenial alien named Paul (voiced by Seth Rogen). After some shock and awe at the appearance of a real, live spaceman, Paul explains to the guys that he needs help getting across the country in the hopes of catching a ride back to his planet. As Paul's existence serves as proof that Graeme and Clive have been right about aliens all along, it doesn't take much convincing to get them to help.

Although many of the film's jokes are based around the duo's fish-out-of-water Britishness in the middle of the American mid-west, it's very apparent throughout that ‘PAUL’ has been written with the American audience firmly in mind. And you get lots of in your face "alien anatomical probe" jokes, a hint of slapstick, a mild fascination with adult swearing, and characters repeatedly questioning whether Graeme and Clive are a gay couple. The duo also heap on the references like there's no tomorrow: nods to Close Encounters, E.T., and a bucketful of Star Wars dialogue are tossed in throughout, but few of them pack the as much subtlety or surprise as the ones they've devised in their collaborations with Wright (although a hat-tip to Aliens is perfectly timed). It's as if Paul was in front of cameras on the first draft thanks to Simom Pegg and Nick Frost's reputation.

Still, a Simon Pegg and Nick Frost "first draft" probably still packs a good punch and witty script. Although the guys are probably a bit too old for the roles they've written (the characters read more like 30-somethings than 40-somethings), they're more than able to make Graeme and Clive a likable set of hosts. Even better, they've surrounded themselves with a supporting cast that's comedic fool proof, some of whom may contribute more to Paul's success as a film than the dynamic duo, if only because Graeme and Clive aren't that different from the pair's "usual" roles. Bill Hader and Joe Lo Truglio play a pair of bottom-rung FBI agents, and it's impressive how both actors are both funny and convincing as their characters turn from slapstick to ridiculously bloodthirsty in their desperate attempts to capture Paul before their supervisor, the cold-blooded Agent Zoil ([ason Bateman]. Kristen Wiig and Blythe Danner contribute the funniest female character and most emotional heft, respectively, that Simon Pegg and NickFrost collaboration has seen to date. Most importantly, Seth Rogen nails the role of Paul. On the surface, Seth Rogen is almost too easy a pick for a pot-smoking interstellar party guy, but he finds the right sort of affable attitude that holds the whole movie together. Paired with the visual effects, he's a character worth building a film around, and an integral piece of the film's charm.

As director, Greg Mottola brings a similar "anything goes" attitude as Paul to the table, feeling free to lounge around to whatever joke or setting the script dictates without too much fuss or setup. Sometimes it works (the explosion of a farmhouse seems startlingly large scale) and sometimes it doesn't (the movie often feels like it plays its cards too early, telegraphing jokes and plot developments). Still, ‘PAUL’ is a fun ride: the film may be firmly caught within the grasp of Earth's gravitational pull, but it's still a funny, entertaining trip from one side of the country to the other.

The Unrated Adult Cut: The Unrated Adult Cut of ‘PAUL’ runs about five minutes longer. Extensions include more of Graeme and Clive talking to Adam Shadowchild, an added bit in the hotel that turns a throwaway joke from the theatrical cut into a running joke, the pair waiting for their RV at the valet service with a hilarious one-liner from Bobby Lee, more action for Kristen Wiig in the bar scene, and a longer speech from Tara, plus other new lines here and there. There's also one substitution (the conversation between Haggard and O'Reilly after Clive asks "May I ask what you're searching for?"). All in all, I feel like the two cuts are essentially equal: if you've seen the film in the cinema and you are a massive fan like me, I'd watch the Unrated just to see the additions, but if you're a newcomer, then I whole heartedly recommend you watching the Unrated Version first, as it is much more risqué and if you are feeling generous and in the mood, then go and watch the Theatrical Cut later.

Blu-ray Video Quality – ‘PAUL’ is granted a 2.35:1 aspect ratio with a 1080p encoded transfer that is accurate, and as a result, maybe somewhat less eye-popping than viewers may be expecting. Greg Mottola's film features a light, handsome sheen of film grain and a warm colour palette that limits the amount of depth the image is capable of. However, fine detail is consistently and absolutely exceptional at all times – the interior of Graeme and Clive's RV is a wealth of varied and perfectly-defined textures and an excellent reminder that this is indeed a brand-new high-definition transfer.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – Like the picture, the sound is pretty low-key until the third act, cantered mainly around dialogue. Until then, DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 is mostly used on David Arnold's charming orchestral score, which is nicely spread across the sound field. When the film starts ramping up, the track has no problem with the larger bangs and booms of explosions, helicopters, gunshots and more. Again, not exactly demo material if you've just bought a fancy new system. ‘PAUL’ is trying to play it mostly small-scale, but there's no faulting the mix for accurately reproducing the filmmakers' mostly reserved intentions. An English 2.0 Audio Descriptive track which as I have pointed out, is only available on the Theatrical Cinema Version and English captions for the deaf and hard of hearing are also included.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Extended [Adult] Feature: Includes footage not shown in the Theatrical Cinema Version release.

Theatrical Cinema Release Feature Commentary with Director Greg Mottola, Producer Nira Park and Actors Nick Frost and Simon Pegg: This is the Theatrical cut audio commentary by Greg Mottola, Simon Pegg, Nick Frost, Bill Hader, and producer Nira Park. It may not be an all-time classic, but as is to be expected with this group of commentators, it is a funny, light overview of the film, without significant repetition or carry-over from the documentary and features. The group chats about the development of specific scenes and gags, unused jokes (I like the line they dropped from the bar sequence), collectively eggs on Nira to make more comments, and take turns doing several silly voices

Bloopers Galleries [HD] [11:00] This is pretty much the same type of bloopers you see on numerous other gag reels, but Nick Frost and Simon Pegg kissing each other good night is actually pretty funny.

Between The Lightning Strikes: The Making of Paul [HD] [40:05] It has a shaggy-dog feel in keeping with the feature. Not to sound like I'm criticizing the movie more than I am and it really is an enjoyable and funny film, but it is interesting to see how the film's few flaws (the broader, less-focused style and the built-on qualities of the film) stem from the movie's zig-zagging journey from idea to screen.

Behind-the-Scene Features (8 Separate features) [HD] [1:02:49] Flesh out individual aspects of the production, including the movie's excellent ensemble cast, Greg Mottola's style as a director, the filming of the gigantic farmhouse explosion, and other behind-the-scenes goofiness. Honestly, if you only have time to watch one or two, then I'd go with the features over the documentary, which are funnier and feature more of the cast's behind-the-scenes antics, conveying a better sense of what it was actually like working on the film.

The Evolution of Paul [HD] [15:06] This is set apart from the others as a post-production document about the CGI creation of the film's title character. It's a fascinating look at how much research and development went into making Paul seem like any other actor in the movie, including a years-old effects test that has Pegg and Frost in far more extreme costumes and makeup. With so many films these days hitting theaters with weak or underwhelming CG, it's pleasing to see how much work went into making Paul a convincing creature.

Simon Silly Faces [HD] [1:20] Another gag reel-type featurette, but this time it's just a montage of Simon Pegg pulling funny faces.

Who the Hell is Adam Shadowchild? [HD] [2:09] A funny look at Jeffery Tambor's side character Adam Shadowchild.

Theatrical Trailers: Domestic Trailer; UK Trailer and Red Band Internet Trailer [HD] [7:30]

TV Spots US: Legend; Trouble; Two Grown Men – Alternate; Who is Paul? and Evolved [HD][2:25]

TV Spots UK: Extra; Pedigree; Aliens and Americas Most Wanted [HD] [1:59]

Finally, ‘PAUL’ works toward a combustible climax with various enemies out to nab the alien before he reaches his iconic rendezvous point, speeding toward an unexpected climax of confrontation, not overt comedic accentuation. Simon Pegg and Nick Frost have faith in their plot, and that dedication keeps the film engaging and unpredictable, even while it lovingly pilfers from some of the most famous sci-fi blockbusters around. ‘PAUL’ for me is a totally hilarious funny film, that had me aching with laughter and definitely aimed at people who don’t take things too serious. As it is, I expect fans of Simon Pegg and Nick Frost will want to see this, as will fans of Seth Rogen. It’s certainly worth purchasing, as each time you put the Blu-ray on, you will see something different every time, particularly for the fine high definition transfer and the generous collection of special features. I have read several American critics who have reviewed this film, and obviously they do not understand intelligent British humour, as they obviously prefer crass in your face American humour, that has to be spelt out what is funny, where us Brits can see what Simon Pegg and Nick frost is trying to achieve with brilliant coming humour and has now gone pride of place in my Blu-ray Collection and will give me endless hour of comic genius laughter. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paul Prevails, Sept. 21 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul (DVD)
Paul is an absolutely addictive movie. Just one watching and you are hooked. I think it is the British humour that does it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, April 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul (DVD)
I was strongly encouraged (practically dragged to it) to watch this movie by a friend and had fairly low expectations despite quite enjoying most of work I've seen by Simon Pegg. It was much more funny and entertaining than I expected. Some surprising twists and thoughtfulness I wasn't expecting. I'd recommend this as a gift or a purchase to anyone who enjoys a quirky sense of humour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, Jan. 31 2014
By 
R. Gray "Ridgetown Rick" (Ridgetown, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul (DVD)
I've rented this movie a few times and just had to add it to my collection.
Two British sci-fi buffs go to America to attend Comic-Con. They rent a motorhome and decide to visit Area 51 and a number of other sci-fi sites. After a mishap with a couple of red-necks, they end up on a dark highway where they witness a car crash. If you don't know the rest of the plot, read it on Wikipedia. Or better yet, just buy the movie on spec - you won't be disappointed.
The premise of the film is great. Simon Pegg and Nick Frost are the modern day Abbot and Costello - they play so well off each other. Paul, the computer generated alien that foists himself onto the pair, is hilarious. Sigourney Weaver was a great choice as the "bad guy". There are lots of references to many other sci-fi films for those into the genre, but the film works just as well as a comedy.
One of my favourite flicks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paul is Great!!, Nov. 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent movie. Great duo and I hope they continue to make this type of comedy. Loved the two of them in Shaun of the Dead!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great sci-fi comedy, Aug. 5 2013
By 
Bobby Z (Saint Augustine Florida) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
Lately I have been enjoying crazy comedys and this one hit the spot. Interesting blend of characters along the UFO trail of the southwest. The alien Paul realy knows how to make the best of hanging out on earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect purchase!, July 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
It took hardly any time to arrive and when it did, it was in pristine condition and even has a slip cover on it which is a plus in my books. And this movie is amazing for those who haven't seen it, I'd definitely buy this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must see if you like to laugh., July 28 2013
By 
Darrin Miller "The Seeker" (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
This movie is excellent escapist fun. I enjoyed every minute of this movie. A road movie with a twist. Do yourself a favor and watch this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paul [Blu-ray + DVD]
Paul [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 8.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews