Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars This isn't camp. This is hip.
Who wants to be a millionaire? Don't answer trivia questions. Just kill 10 people before they can kill you! This is one of the few movies I know that perfectly evokes the era of the mid-1960s (despite the fact it is set at some undefined future date). I have loved it since first seeing it thirty or more years ago. Yes, this is where Mike Meyers stole the gun bra joke...
Published on Aug. 9 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars RUNNING (WO-)MAN
A curiosity has just popped out of the cellar of Anchor Bay : THE 10th VICTIM, an italian movie directed in 1965 by Elio Petri. Adapted from a short novel of Robert Sheckley by the well-known screenplay writer Tonino Guerra, THE 10th VICTIM presents a Marcello Mastroianni with blond hair and an Ursula Andress with blond skin. Amusing.
The action takes place in a near...
Published on Aug. 6 2001 by Daniel S.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better Bond-era relics...., May 16 2003
By 
Photoscribe "semi-renaissance man" (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 10th Victim, the (VHS Tape)
This movie was made on the VERY cheap, but a lot was made from that cheap! Marcello Mastroanni and Ursula Andress star in this sly satire on violence and population control. Their characters live in a 21st century world where an international game of cowboys and indians using real bullets and lethal devices has been authorized by the world government. The story focuses on them as Marcello tries to avoid being killed by Ursula in a game that trades off hunter and victim roles in a series of ten alternating runs, where the winner is awarded one million dollars.
Marcello plays a laid-back pauper in the game with nowhere near the resources of his hunter, a jetset-style adventuress played by Andress. It's a comedy of errors and sixities fad satire as repo men come to exact a pound of flesh for the money Marcello owes them from past hunts, and he pleads with them not to take his priceless comic book collection.
The climax of the movie takes place on the set of a commercial orchestrated by the Andress character, Caroline, AND Marcello, (same name as his character,) where Marcello is to pitch "Ming Tea" to the masses as he nails Caroline, seemingly, on the set of the show SHE put together, assuming her OWN victory!
The movie has one of the coolest jazz scores you'll ever hear, scat sung by a woman named Mina, accompanied by that typical, modern, Felliniesque pop organ. Elio Petri directs the two international stars and manages to make Rome look like it is, indeed, in the 21st century without spending a cent on special effects. (The killer bra Andress uses to kill her ninth victim is about it on that score, as a matter of fact!)
Marcello plays his role VERY tongue in cheek and a scene where he conducts a sun worshipping ceremony is one of the funniest you'll see in a sixties film...the scene has a LOT of relevance to the faddish religious mindset of of 70s, 80s and 90s California culture. Ursula is existential window-dressing, and it's the SUPPORTING players that add a lot to this flick: The moon worshippers, Marcello's old trainer, Elsa Martinelli as Marcello's mistress and the fellow playing Marcello's agent being prime examples.
A fine film that shows what you can do with a small amount of money and a lot of talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THE 10th VICTIM, Jan. 20 2003
By 
documentia (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The 10th Victim (Widescreen) (DVD)
An early forerunner in the futuristic "legalized-killing-as-TV-entertainment" genre, The 10th Victim lays the groundwork for many subsequent films including Roller Ball, The Running Man, and most recently Daniel Minahan's Series 7: The Contenders. Briefly summarized: in the 21st Century Marcello Mastroianni and Ursula Andress are two all-star assassins pitted against each other in "The Big Hunt," an international game of legalized murder in which a score of 10-kills awards the victor a prize of one million dollars. What sets this film apart from the others is not so much the plot (as while it may be the original in concept, its followers certainly succeed better in overall craft and more pointed satire) as the permanent aesthetic time/date-stamp of 1960's camp. The 10th Victim is a 60's version of the future, in the very best sense. It's a future full of awesome color schemes, ultra-cool music, great furniture, swanky pads, and characters that just ooze with sexual energy. The gem of this film is an opening sequence in which Andress dances around her ninth victim in a hipster club, fashionably slapping the men in the audience with cool and choreographed abandon before mowing down her adversary with bullets fired from a gun hidden in her bra (a gimmick later ripped for the Fembots in Austin Powers). And while the film offers a couple of other moments that approach the brilliance of this opening, its full potential is never realized -- things are not pushed nearly far enough. My biggest complaint: the alligator death chair catapult gizmo is never put to full effect, though perhaps I'm just yearning for the very thing this film means to comment on - more bloody spectacle. All in all it's definitely worth seeing, though you might supplement it with a healthy dose of Mario Bava's Danger Diabolik for good measure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This isn't camp. This is hip., Aug. 9 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The 10th Victim (Widescreen) (DVD)
Who wants to be a millionaire? Don't answer trivia questions. Just kill 10 people before they can kill you! This is one of the few movies I know that perfectly evokes the era of the mid-1960s (despite the fact it is set at some undefined future date). I have loved it since first seeing it thirty or more years ago. Yes, this is where Mike Meyers stole the gun bra joke for Austin Powers, but this is social satire not pop culture sendups. (Literacy is evidenced by collecting rare comic books. In Italy people still believe in family enough not to turn their parents in for disposal. There's no shooting in restaurants.) At the same time as it is laugh out loud funny, it is also very very hip, in the best 60s sense. And am I the only one who has never been able to get the theme song from this film out of his head? Finally, I'm very pleased to see this film in Italian, even if my Italian doesn't extend beyond a few Paolo Conte songs. The old dubbed version (the only version I've previously encountered) did away with at least a couple lines of dialogue (if the subtitles are to be trusted) that I suppose the censors didn't like, plus no end of other dialogue just because that's how they dub movies. The hunt game computer in the Italian version speaks in a voice both so menacing and goofy that it reminded me why I once hated computers. And there is also at least one in-joke about Marcello Mastroianni clearly expunged from the dubbed version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars RUNNING (WO-)MAN, Aug. 6 2001
By 
Daniel S. "Daniel" (Geneva, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The 10th Victim (Widescreen) (DVD)
A curiosity has just popped out of the cellar of Anchor Bay : THE 10th VICTIM, an italian movie directed in 1965 by Elio Petri. Adapted from a short novel of Robert Sheckley by the well-known screenplay writer Tonino Guerra, THE 10th VICTIM presents a Marcello Mastroianni with blond hair and an Ursula Andress with blond skin. Amusing.
The action takes place in a near future in Rome, Italy. In order to prevent wars, governments have invented " The Big Hunting ". The players must win 10 times to gain the right to leave with a million dollars prize. In this game, to win means to kill the hunted if you are the hunter or to discover and kill the hunter if you're the hunted. A slight pre-RUNNING MAN flavour, isn't it ?
THE 10th VICTIM is more a parodical and satirical comedy than an action movie and presents at least one scene deserving to stay in our memories, the first scene involving a masked Ursula Andress dancing and slapping the faces of the "Masoch Club" male audience before killing her adversary in a very stylish manner.
If you like italian comedies or a smart satire of the television, religion or our political institutions, the movie is certainly worth a look. If, like me, you are an amateur of B movies of the sixties, THE 10th VICTIM is a must have.
Bonus features include an english dubbed version, the italian version with optional english subtitles, the theatrical trailer and an incomplete filmography of Marcello Mastroianni and Ursula Andress. Great images and sound.
A DVD zone discovery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rich and bored is not boring, or is it?, March 27 2002
By 
This review is from: 10th Victim, the (VHS Tape)
In a deadly 10 round spectator sport participants alternate between being hunters and hunted. Naturally, the huntress falls in love with the "victim" of her final round in this highly stylized Italian 60's parody.
Until recently The 10th Victim has been worth seeing due to its strong futuristic aestetic value and black humor. However, now the theme of this movie can be seen in a new light. Today audiences - who are bored with staged nastyness - want to see the real thing. This they can find on a host of survival shows, where participants are encouraged to humiliate one another and themselves in various ways. One of the factors that has contributed to paving the way for such Reality TV are the many movies that predicted this form of entertainment. The 10th Victim is an early example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rich and bored is not boring, or is it?, March 27 2002
By 
This review is from: 10th Victim, the (VHS Tape)
In a deadly 10 round spectator sport participants alternate between being hunters and hunted. Naturally, the huntress falls in love with the "victim" of her final round in this highly stylized Italian 60's parody.
Until recently The 10th Victim has been worth seeing due to its strong futuristic aestetic value and black humor. However, now the theme of this movie can be seen in a new light. Today audiences - who are bored with staged nastyness - want to see the real thing. This they can find on a host of survival shows, where participants are encouraged to humiliate one another and themselves in various ways. One of the factors that has contributed to paving the way for such Reality TV are the many movies that predicted this form of entertainment. The 10th Victim is an early example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC MONDO-ITALO-MODERNO SATIRE, Sept. 19 2002
By 
L. S. Slaughter "silvanus" (Chapel Hill, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 10th Victim, the (VHS Tape)
... Saw this great, snazzy, jazzy, production-designed-heaven back in '76 on a double bill ... and was never able to forget it. So thrilled it's on video. OK, a bit dated here and there, but in ways it is still ahead of its time, and its got that great Piero Piccioni space-jazz score with Mina doing scat vocals, AND its got Marcello at his most suave-cool since "La Dolce Vita", AND its got Ursula Andress shooting bullets from her bra!
... As always, gli italiani were way ahead of us in style and attitude, and it's evidenced herein.
Only weak point of the film is the wrap-up, but such capers tended towards the flip in that day. The 10th Victim and director Pietro Germi was certainly prescient ...
Soundtrack on EASY TEMPO records is also highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite films of all., Oct. 9 2001
By 
inframan (the lower depths) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The 10th Victim (Widescreen) (DVD)
A brilliant movie based on a superb story by Robert Sheckley. This is sci-fi as it should be: depicting the future as theme & variation on today's manias & rituals. From the "legalized hunt" which has replaced traditional warfare to the "Club Masoch" to the roadside "sex & relaxation" parlors to the parents hidden from the state behind a false wall to the dress & music & settings, this movie not only rings penetratingly true but is boggling in its inventiveness. I first saw it in 1965 (in Oakland California) & I have to say that it was my first "1960s consciousness-raising experience". All these years I've treasured my two VHS copies, one to lend out, one for safety, so I'm really pleased that it is finally back in print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ballistic Bossoms, March 9 2003
By 
KSG "ksgnyc" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The 10th Victim (Widescreen) (DVD)
The Italians really did 1960's camp the best. I mean, what is campier than Ursula Andress chasing a man around in a lavender, backless pant suit, while brandishing a pistol? A killer bikini top? A rest, relax and sex stop on the side of the highway? A cult of sunset worshipers in caftans on the beach? The cinematography and locations are so stylish. Rooftop jazz bars in the blaring sun, minimalist interiors decorated with giant, blinking eyeballs, New York's financial district, pre-World Trade Center and Rome and the Vatican shot from a helicopter. Death and fear, what could be funnier?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 10th Victim, Feb. 27 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The 10th Victim (Widescreen) (DVD)
This movie is what I call one of my "guilty pleasures" and when I discovered it had come out on DVD I had to get it. I first saw this in 1966 and although time has marched on it still is a joy to watch. Sometimes it's not because a DVD has 5 stars and excellent audio/video but because it's a personal favorite. If you agree go ahead,indulge yourself-oh,yea, try watching with the english subtitles on for subtle differences. Now let's see if the powers-that-be can manage the release of "Blow-Up"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 10th Victim [Blu-ray]
The 10th Victim [Blu-ray] by Elio Petri (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 36.99 CDN$ 25.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews