Customer Reviews


425 Reviews
5 star:
 (282)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (38)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock-Opera By Pink Floyd
This is so excellent and coherent, it almost hurts. So good.

If you are already familiar with the beauty and genius that is Pink Floyd, why not add this masterpiece to your collection?

Also, newcomers alike. Don't be afraid, this is the way to go, a wonderful place to start your Pink Floyd -journey. (That's how I started, and haven't looked back...
Published on Aug. 2 2006 by Katrina Karell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No better than the original CD
Nice packaging.

I have the original CD and compared it with this one. Try as I would I could not detect any difference whatsoever between the two. If anything there might be a bit more brilliance and bite to the original. I can't be sure.
Published 24 months ago by Geoff


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 543 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars So you thought you'd might like to go to the show...., July 11 2004
By 
Erik Samson (San Fransisco, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
With songs like "In the flesh?", "Run Like Hell," and "Another Brick In The Wall pt.2," The Wall just might be Floyd's darkest, hardest album. The lyrics certainly reflect that, telling the story of a disturbed young man whose life becomes so chaotic that he creates a sort of mental barrier between himself and the world, only to have it torn down, "exposing him in front of his peers," as the second to last song suggests. Throughout his life, our flawed protagonest deals with the death of his father, vicious teachers, an overbearing mother, the pain of growing up in a harsh world full of war and pain. He has a chaotic marriage ("Day after day, love turns gray..."). He becomes a drug-addicted rock star, and loses all of his privacy to the media and to fans. In the end all of demons come back to confront him in the absolutely stunning climatic song "The Trial." The story is dark, engrossing, and symbolic of our lives, and the trouble we go to in order to seperate ourselves from others. Wall could have made an excellent novel, if you ask me.
But above and beyond the story is the music in which it is contained. While Dark Side Of The Moon featured longer, slower songs which unfolded slowly and bled into one another, the songs on Wall are shorter and louder, more hard rock than progressive. "Young Lust," for example, is a fast paced flat out rocker reminescent of Physical Grafitti era Led Zeppelin. It's driven by a tough as nails guitar riff, a pounding bass line, and an instantly memorable chorus ("oooooooooooh.... I need a dirty woman!")
The album's oppener, "In The Flesh?," is a darkly cynical number that is a bit slower than most of The Wall's songs. It makes up for this with some of David Gilmour's most intense guitar work, as well as some of Waters' snarliest, most bitter and sarcastic lyrics ("Tell me is something eluding you, Sunshine/ Is this not what you expected to see?/ If you want to find out what's behind these cold eyes/ You'll just have to crawl your way through this disguise").
The album does have its softer moments, though. "Mother" is a tuneful accoustic ballad whose lyrics go from refreshingly sweet to darkly disturbing ("Hush my baby, baby don't you cry/ Mamma's gonna make all your nightmares come true/ Mamma will put all her fears into you").
"Comfortably Numb" is a rich and textured song about drug addiction. It's extremely engrossing, and easy to get lost in. Its lush accoustic guitar chords make it sound like a DSOTM cut.
"Hey You" is a seemingly tender cry for help, which contains my favorite lyric on the album: "But it was only fantasy. The wall was too high, as you can see. No matter how he tried he could not break free.... And the worms ate into his brain."
"Run Like Hell" is the darkest, hardest, and most cynical track on the album. It's music sounds like something from a queen album (Which is a good thing), and the lyrics talk about a guy who just can't get any privacy.
And how could I leave out the Wall's most famous feature, the infamous "Happiest Days Of Our Lives/ Another Brick In The Wall pt. 2" medely? The ultamite song of adolescent rebellion, with the immortal line "Hey! Teachers! Leave them kids alone!" That's one of the harder songs on the album, and one of my early favorites. But, as any Floyd fan will tell you, its not the best thing the Wall has to offer.
More than any other Pink Floyd record, the Wall is epic. Its a perfect balance of thought provoking lyrics and great music. Its what makes Floyd great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars if you rate this 1 stars you don't have ears, July 11 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
This Cd is one of the greatest of all times. If you don't like it then it might be benificial for you to pick up a joint, smoke it,sit down and relax and then put the CD in the CD player. Pink Floyd is one of the all time classics and it's a shame that they aren't together anymore even though Roger Waters is still doing some great stuff. If you don't like them then you are in the vast minority. At least we still have one of the next best things today, Radiohead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best cd's ever, July 6 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
please ignore the one star reviews on this page which appear to be written by the same person under different names.this album contains two cd's of the finest music ever made and this album is one of the best albums ever recorded.buy it today from this web site.highly recommended.five star always
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a classic, July 6 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
please ignore the one star reviews of a certain one star reviewer on this page who seems to have too much time on her hands to slam this great band everyday in her meaningless and thouroughly biased reviews written under a number of names.this is one of the best records ever made.buy it!!!!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the second best floyd cd, July 6 2004
By 
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
the wall was the second best floydian album after the dark side of the moon and contained fantastic songs like comfortably numb and another brick in the wall very highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mother, do you think they'll drop the bomb?, July 4 2004
By 
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
Well, firstly this album is no bomb. THe line above refers to a line in a song from the album called "MOTHER", it's fantastic. While "The Wall" is not Pink Floyd's best album, it comes close. It features Parts 1, 2 and 3 of "Another brick in the Wall" which is the only way to fully appreciate this song. The radio edit version is good, but not as effective as the album version.
Other standout tracks include:
Comfortably Numb - This song sends shivers up my spine every single time I hear it. If you enjoyed "On the turning away" (from their Momentary Lapse of Reason album) you will love this, they have a similar feel to them.
Run Like Hell - the introduction to this is simply brilliant.
Released in 1979, it was ahead of its time then. Re-released in 1999 as a new digital remaster, it should have stated on the sticker "20 Year Anniversary" but got a "30 Year Anniversary" sticker by mistake. A small detail. The new digital remaster is worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a classic, July 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
please ignore the one star reviews for this great album with two discs of the finest music ever made by any artist.very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars five stars forever and ever, June 30 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
no arguments this is one of the best albums ever made and certainly better than any of the lousy albums made by recent pop artists that we get to hear these days.get it today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars,5 stars,5 stars, June 30 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
a warning this album will be very addictive for any listener as it is so good.highly recommended.a masterpiece.buy,buy,buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars without a doubt a masterpiece, June 30 2004
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
please ignore all the one star reviews on this page for this timeless classic of an album.you would find it difficult to find a better album than this so buy this album now.very highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 543 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaca6421c)

This product

The Wall 2LP Gatefold Remastered Version
The Wall 2LP Gatefold Remastered Version by Pink Floyd (LP Record - 2012)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews