Customer Reviews


383 Reviews
5 star:
 (276)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock-Opera By Pink Floyd
This is so excellent and coherent, it almost hurts. So good.

If you are already familiar with the beauty and genius that is Pink Floyd, why not add this masterpiece to your collection?

Also, newcomers alike. Don't be afraid, this is the way to go, a wonderful place to start your Pink Floyd -journey. (That's how I started, and haven't looked back...
Published on Aug. 2 2006 by Katrina Karell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Purely a sound quality review of the LP
I am not here to debate the quality of the album itslef, that goes without saying. Every music lover Must have a copy of this album in their collection. But as far as the sound quality of the remastered LP... I was a bit disapointed. I'm always cautious about buying a remastered version of an album, but I could not find the reviews I was looking for with this version...
Published on April 1 2012 by Chris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 539 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Why I Like And Don't Like This Album, June 26 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
This album is a very...strange album. I love some songs on here, but others are only like half-songs. I don't think that "Bring The Boys Back Home" even lasts a minute. "Vera" is a very compassionate and again, short song, but truly belongs on his album, not "The Dark Side Of The Moon" or "Wish You Were Here".
Among the songs that I really like are: "Comfortably Numb", "Hey You", "Mother", and "In The Flesh". I like them because they actually last as long as a regular song, not like these new lyrics for Hey You: Hey you, this song is really short oh yeah the end. That is what most of the "songs" on this CD are like.
"Is There Anybody Out There" should have been on a "Scary Halloween Sounds" compilation, but it wasn't. I guess the people who make those tapes in the late '70s didn't listen to Pink Floyd.
But overall, this is a pretty good album, and I have to admit, some short songs sound pretty good, though I probably complained about them sixty thousand times in this review. I give this album four stars, with pride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a masterpiece, June 24 2004
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
the wall was their second best album after the dark side of the moon and was so good that it sold over 22 million copies all over the world on the strengths of songs like comfortably numb,run like hell and another brick in the wall.a must buy for all rock fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rock gods, June 24 2004
By 
R. R Reyes "djray65" (American Super Hero in japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
This was one of the most important albums of my younger years. While not every song on this CD is great, the over all content is out standing. Comfortbly numb is by far the best trak. Although some odvious crazy people will say Britney is better because she sold a few more CD's, how ever I seriously dubt that we will be listing to her in 20 years let alone 10 years.
A great CD by one of rocks greatest bands. There is a reson this album still sells more then 20 years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Roger's magnum opus for Pink Floyd, June 20 2004
By 
Terrence J Reardon "Classic rock guru" (Lake Worth, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
Pink Floyd's The Wall was released in December of 1979 and is a classic and regarded as the band's most ambitious masterwork. This album ranks up there with classic double albums The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway, Tommy, Quadrophenia, The White Album, Physical Graffiti, Electric Ladyland and many others. The concept for The Wall still holds up 25 years after its initial release. The idea came to bassist/vocalist Roger Waters whom was upset with himself after spitting on a fan on the last gig of the Animals tour. In 1978, Roger was writing and recording demos that would become The Wall. Meanwhile, drummer Nick Mason was off producing other acts(The Damned and Steve Hillage) whilst guitarist/vocalist David Gilmour and keyboardist Rick Wright were recording their first solo albums. In late 1978 the band, along with KISS/Alice Cooper/Peter Gabriel/Lou Reed producer Bob Ezrin, began demoing the songs for The Wall at Britannia Row Studios in London. The band properly began recording The Wall in April of 1979 in two studios in France(and later at studios in Los Angeles and New York) with Waters, Gilmour, Ezrin and engineer James Guthrie producing to avoid the crazy English tax laws as the band was almost bankrupt due to their agents stealing the money in a way that they still owed the British tax companies taxes. All of the songs, save four, were written by Roger. The album's three best tracks Young Lust, Comfortably Numb and Run Like Hell were co-written by Gilmour. Then, The Trial was co-written by Ezrin. The Wall was a concept album which told the story of a character named Pink(a composite of Roger Waters and Floyd founder Syd Barrett) whom goes through a traumatic childhood of losing his father in war(The Thin Ice and Another Brick in the Wall pt.1), cruel sarcastic teachers(The Happiest Days of Our Lives, the chart-topping single Another Brick in the Wall(pt.2), an overbearing mother(Mother), groupie troubles(Young Lust, One of My Turns) and many other problems one goes through before walling himself off from the rest of the world. Other highlights on The Wall of course were Hey You, Nobody Home and the two best classics Comfortably Numb and Run Like Hell. Band turmoil during 1979 reached an all-time high and Roger eventually kicked Rick Wright out of the band citing Rick wasn't doing squat when in fact Roger was setting Rick up to fail from the word go. Rick was let go but stayed to finish the album and did The Wall shows in 1980/81 as a paid musician(the other three members lost money from staging the shows). Rick played on half of the album as does Nick whom is not on drums for half the record(Jeff Porcaro played drums on Mother and Jeff's father Joe played snaer drum on Bring the Boys Back Home). Despite the band turmoil, The Wall became Pink Floyd's third US chart-topping album(stayed at #1 for 15 weeks), sold over 23 million in the US alone(third best seller in the US), spawned the greatest rock concerts ever produced(review for Is There Anybody Out There to come soon) and a classic film. The Capitol remaster is basically the 1997 Columbia remaster with improved sonic quality remastered by engineer James Guthrie and Doug Sax whom mastered The Wall originally. The Wall is still a classic today and is highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pink Floyd's Best Album!!!, June 20 2004
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
This album is a great album. It features some of Pink Floyd's most popular songs. There is not one bad song on this cd. I recommend for any fan of Pink Floyd to get this album.
Oh by the way any fan of Brittany Spears or Justin Timberlake should not be writing reviews about Pink Floyd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ignore the girl from earthplane paradise this is great, June 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
i would urge all mature rock fans to disregard the pointless,inarticulate reviews written by the one star reviewer girl from earthplane paradise and buy this great rock album which is one of the best rock albums ever made.five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pink Floyd is THE 1# Band, June 18 2004
By 
"brinkfromflorida" (Naples, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
I'm very imbarrassed that "a music fan from a PITIFUL world" would use MY NAME to speak ill about Pink Floyd. How Can a person live with themselves everyday saying that Pink Floyd is less than a 5 star band...
i like next-to all different types of music; chili peppers, ac/dc, pink floyd, black sabbath, statik-x, tiamat, erase the grey, led zeppelin, i.c.p., nightwish, pantera, the ramones ( fyi, johnny ramone just died. )and a whole lot more. i, usually, can find 1 good band in all different music. ( alot more than 'a music fan' or 'you can't ban me' can say for themselves )
pink floyd is and awesome, balanced band. "the wall" is a cd fit together in the perfect balance of slow and fast beats spreaded beautifully through-out this album. it's a must buy for open-minded music lover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HUH?, June 17 2004
By 
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
Janet Jackson and Timberlake are breathtaking music? You have to be kidding...take a hike. That review should be removed, and then you can remove this one. If that guy hasn't sold his copy of the Wall, someone should take it away from him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended, June 14 2004
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
please disregard the one star reviews on this page.this album is a masterpiece and is very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pink floyd's finest hour, June 13 2004
This review is from: The Wall (Ltd Ed) (Audio CD)
i would highly recommend you this classic containing two discs of the finest music ever made which was one of the largest selling rock albums ever worldwide.this phenomenally selling cd contained the chart topping single another brick in the wall and comfortably numb one of the greatest rock songs ever made.highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 539 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wall 2LP Gatefold Remastered Version
The Wall 2LP Gatefold Remastered Version by Pink Floyd (LP Record - 2012)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews