Customer Reviews


1,213 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,003)
4 star:
 (78)
3 star:
 (54)
2 star:
 (38)
1 star:
 (40)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000 stars
I bought this album having no idea what to expect other than the fact that it was made in 1973 and the artist Pink Floyd was a progressive rock group.
42 minutes and 10 seconds later I was left speechless, blown away, and in utter amazement. This album left me almost with a whole new outlook on life. The lyrics, vocals, instruments, performances......mindblowing...
Published on April 2 2005 by no1metalfan

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not fully impressed
Like others, the music is great.

Like others the packaging isn't.

They included multiple versions on DVD and duplicated everything on the 2 DVDs to the blue-ray. A bit overkill but fine. What I found odfd was that the live CD and the extras/demos we not on the DVD and blu-ray? The DVD is almost 3/4s empty in space.

As mentioned elsewhere,...
Published on Oct. 11 2011 by Gis A. Bun


‹ Previous | 1 2122 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not fully impressed, Oct. 11 2011
By 
Gis A. Bun (Montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Like others, the music is great.

Like others the packaging isn't.

They included multiple versions on DVD and duplicated everything on the 2 DVDs to the blue-ray. A bit overkill but fine. What I found odfd was that the live CD and the extras/demos we not on the DVD and blu-ray? The DVD is almost 3/4s empty in space.

As mentioned elsewhere, the 4 discs at the bottom popped out [well 2 of mine] but mine weren't scratched. 2 others came in cardboard sleeves. Why sleeves?

Why bother with some of the extras. Marbes? Scarf is cheap and small.

What gets worse is that the next two box sets will probably contain similar extras and less music - even possibly no blu-ray for The Wall. If a blu-ray is included on this one, why not the others?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000 stars, April 2 2005
This review is from: Dark Side Of The Moon (Audio CD)
I bought this album having no idea what to expect other than the fact that it was made in 1973 and the artist Pink Floyd was a progressive rock group.
42 minutes and 10 seconds later I was left speechless, blown away, and in utter amazement. This album left me almost with a whole new outlook on life. The lyrics, vocals, instruments, performances......mindblowing. Track 3 "Time" in my opinion may just be the absolute single greatest recording I have ever heard. 7:06 of musical brilliance and genius.
Upon first listen for me, this CD blew away Black Sabbath, Metallica, AC/DC, Van Halen, Guns N Roses, Nirvana, Soundgarden, and every other "rock" group I'd ever heard other then Led Zeppelin and thats. And if I had to choose between Floyd or Zeppelin upon their careers the edge undoubtedly goes to Floyd. Zeppelin could never match this CD. "Stairway To Heaven" is vastly overrated and cant match up with "Time".
"Dark Side Of The Moon" is not just a rock CD. Name a musical genre other than pop, rap and the hard core punk/metal which should not even be considered music when you have people lipsinking and the amazingly awful American Idol. DSOTM is rock, blues, and jazz depending on which song you are playing. And did I mention the sound production??? Outstanding.
In conclusion, "Dark Side Of The Moon" is to music what "The Godfather" is to movies. An epic, timeless, must-have CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Looks like was handled by vice grips, Jan. 23 2012
This review is from: Dark Side of the Moon 1 LP Gatefold (2011 remastered version) (LP Record)
The packaging is beautiful and the music is too. However the surface of the record looked like it had been handled with vice-grips before it was inserted in the record sleeve. The sound quality was very good where the rub marks, scratches and gouges were not present. I returned the record for a replacement.
The replacement arrived quickly. I opened the box to find the replacement had a hole punched right through the record jacket into the record. I didn't even open it. I returned this one as well. Amazon sent me an email stating "It seems that there is a widespread problem with "Dark Side of the Moon 1 LP Gatefold (2011 remastered version)" They will not be sending me a second replacement because it might be no better than the original (or the first replacement). Checking on Amazon.com it looks like the reviews are 5 star or 1 star (more 1 star reviews than 5 star) depending on which product you recieve. I sure hope that the record company gets its act together soon, because I would really like a copy. I don't know how Amazon is going to let me know when "good" copies will be in stock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one they made SACD for...., March 25 2003
By 
Ken Bailey "mikoyan" (Ypsilanti, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This is one of the releases I was waiting for with baited breath. I am a major Floyd Fanatic. And since getting stuff on SACD, I couldn't wait for some Floyd titles to come out. That being said...here's the review.
This is probably one of the best SACD transfers yet. The sounds are crisp and clear. The seperation of the channels is fantastic. And the music is great.
The heartbeat on Speak to Me/Breathe gets you in the right mood. It sounds like it is coming from your body. Then you get to On The Run. Songs like this are the reason we have surround sound. You can hear the guy running around the room. The helicoptor seems to circle around the room. And the air rushes around. Then you get to Time. The Alarm clocks sound like they are right in the room. You can hear the resonance on the grandfather bell. Then you get to Great Gig in the Sky and you can hear the range of Clare Torrey's voice. Then on money, you can hear the change circling from speaker to speaker. Everything about this CD is fantastic. It seems that Pink Floyd were ahead of their time when they made this one.
It's really a shame that Amazon only has 5 stars because this one rates a 10.
One more thing. Since I think Wish You Were Here and Animals were both recorded in Quadrophonic, it would be nice if they would do those next. Those are another pair of albums that would lend themselves to 5.1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply a classic., June 23 2006
By 
David G. Wood (kelowna, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Side Of The Moon (Audio CD)
very few albums have stood the test of time like dark side of the moon. it was a "new thing " when it was first released. i don't consider myself a true pink floyd fanatic but i do know great works of art and this album is one of them. there are no highs and no lows on it. even the cover is great. it just seems to flow along at a pace thats very mid tempo and is very easy on the ears. that said the opening of money does seem to grab you and insist you listen. time is another one. from the opening tick tock to the bells ringing to the bass coming in.the song quite simply makes you sit up and listen. from start to finish it's a great album. breathe, us and them,the great gig in the sky all great ,great songs. a must have. 33 years after it's release it still sounds great and i've never tired of it.if by chance you're new to the "FLOYD" make this your first purchase and see what all the talk is about. 5 BIG STARS *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Repackaging Of A Classic, June 30 2004
By A Customer
I own several versions of this (on LP & CD) but I believe this is my favorite. The packaging is unique, with a deluxe booklet containing lyrics, photos, and artwork; 5 very cool cards; and, a nice black box that houses it all. As far as the sound is concerned, there's always been different opinions among floydians regarding the various editions, but I would rank this at least the equal to any of the other versions. The 20th Anniversary Edition was lovingly remastered by engineer Doug Sax. Not many people are aware that the original release was several generations removed from the master tapes, according to David Gilmour, so this is a big improvement. One caution: if you buy this CD used, make sure the outer box is not beat up, if such things matter to you, as it tends to show wear very easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sound of Silence, the Absence of Light, the Feel of Song, June 1 2004
By 
Paul K. Goode III (Redmond, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Side Of The Moon (Audio CD)
Perspective buyers, you are viewing the greatest album of all time and one of the world's greatest works of art; Roger Water's and Pink Floyd's magnum opus, Dark Side of the Moon. Just over two years ago, I was almost entirely unaware of Pink Floyd and knew nothing of their incredible legacy. I had heard of "the Dark Side," but I had never listened to it. And then, I finally bought it. Dark Side of the Moon was the most important purchase of my life. There is no album in the world that is so touchingly beautiful, or so mind-bendingly powerful as Dark Side of the Moon and it will never fail to amaze you.
The sound of a heartbeat resonates through the speakers, confused noise and, finally, cries erupt in a startling crescendo that leads into the ethereal beauty of Breathe and then to the frantic, constant motion of On the Run. As time runs by, with its powerful solo and poignant lyrics, you will find yourself in a reprise and then fall gently into the soundscapes and primal screams of the Great Gig in the Sky. Even if you are not familiar with the album, it is more than likely that you know the next track, Money, which has occupied a position of high standing on FM radio for decades. Us and Them is simply beautiful, no matter how you cut it, and is so wonderfully humanitarian. Any Colour You Like is a delight and the album is then closed with the touching power of the ever-so-sympathetic Brain Damage, wonderful homage to former frontman, Syd Barrett, and seamlessly flows into the great final cry of Eclipse.
My life has been made better and more beautiful by this album. After every listening of Dark Side of the Moon, I am left feeling fulfilled and enriched. So many important facets of human life are addressed in such a compassionate and thoughtful manner that it will leave you feeling that, for that point in time, everything in the world has come together, to resonate as one, just like that mysterious and strangely beautiful heartbeat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 60 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Imitation Dark Side of the Moon, April 17 2003
By 
Kenneth Stuart (Central California Coast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Being a Pink Floyd fan, I have purchased every version of this album since it was released 30 years ago.
By far the best version is the SQ Quadraphonic LP version, but as far as the stereo mix goes, the original UK Harvest CD (made in Japan) is still the high point.
Ten years ago, the fine engineer Doug Sax made a valiant effort, but it is clear listening to that XXth Aniversary Edition CD that the original tapes no longer have the same dynamics they originally had (magnetic analog storage slowly loses it quality).
Nevertheless, I decided to give this new 30th Anniversary CD a try. I should mention here that this is only a review of the standard stereo tracks - I don't yet have an SACD-capable player.
However this release doesn't make me want to run out and buy one. My worst fears have been realized as once again, the overall mix of the album has been lost in favor of "resolving power", ie the ability to hear little details. The problem is that after applying techniques to bring out such details, the engineers have done nothing to restore the original mix of the album.
The result is like a starving artist's copy of a Rembrandt painting - it sounds something like Dark Side of the Moon, but when you hear the real thing, you realize that it is only a faded imitation.
The problem is that few people these days have access to what it actually sounds like. Almost no one listens to their LP versions, and only a handful of people are lucky enough to own the original UK Harvest CD. Furthermore, it seems clear that the engineers of this 30th Anniversary Edition haven't listened to the original, either.
Interestingly, the original engineer, Alan Parsons, asked to be involved in this 30th Anniversary Edition project, but was shut out. It would seem that future listeners suffer as a result.
PS My qualifications: I am a California state certified Studio Recording Engineer. One of my instructors was the original engineer for the drum recordings for "Dark Side of the Moon". I compared the 30th Anniversary Edition, XXth Anniversary Edition, and UK Harvest CDs using AKG K240 Studio Monitor headphones (as used in many studio recording situations over the past 20-30 years).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, Feb. 22 2006
This review is from: Dark Side Of The Moon (Audio CD)
Right from the first track of Dark Side of the Moon i knew that this album was going to be incredible. It is amazing in every sence of the word. Lyrically it is incredibly insightfull and can change the way you think about life and the world, it sure did for me. The production level of the song is in a league of its own compared to anything else i've heard, every single song transitions seamlessly into the next and both of the instrumental songs sound incredible. The variety and changes in the music are another aspect that i was amazed with, somehow they managed to go from ausom rock solo's to beautifull vocals accompanied by piano to wild, trippy sound effects and everywhere in between. In my oppinion this album has everything you could want in music and so much more. From the first heartbeat to the last one this album can take you places you've never imagined existed. I strongly recomend anyone who'se likes interested in Pink Floyd to check this out and you'll be in for an incredible experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A prog-rock classic., Nov. 14 2005
By 
momo_adachi (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
Is it pretentious? Is it genius? Is it the story of whacked-out childbirth or the slow rise to a climax of deep, unstable insanity? There are so many debatable questions surrounding this amazing album. And this is one of the many reasons as to why Pink Floyd's most famous, most talked-about album is still, 30 years after its first release, a classic that spans generations of music fans. A timeless, slow-tempo, emotional, deep rock record, 'Dark Side of the Moon' is a haunting, strange, un-effected piece of work. Almost everyone who has heard and loves this album can attach a particular meaning to it at the point in their lives when they first heard it, no matter how old they are. I'm 19 and some of my peers remember listening to it while getting ready for the prom, or after they broke up with their first boyfriend. To me, 'Dark Side of the Moon' is composed of something unworldly; it contains everything good about music (classic production, GREAT instrumentation, fabulously passionate vocals, heartfelt lyrics) all in one album. For those few that are not familiar with 'Dark Side of the Moon', it's time to see the light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2122 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews