Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good follow up but not as good as the 1st!
Let me start off by saying that I loved creepshow, I was somewhat dissapointed with this one. I bought a box set called 3 from the mind of Stephen King, just for this one. But I figured out that the other two (children of the corn and maximum overdrive) where alot better! anyways, the first story starts of with a wooden indian coming to life and seeking revenge. this...
Published on March 16 2004 by Zacc

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh...
I am a big fan of the first Creepshow and was so excited to watch this. When I watched it I suppose my hopes were a little high but I have to say this movie bares little resemblance of what made the first Creepshow so great. Instead of the 5 stories from the first you get three. It had it's moments of awesome but I deeply felt that it failed to carry it's way all the way...
Published on May 18 2010 by Doc Transit


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh..., May 18 2010
This review is from: Creepshow 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
I am a big fan of the first Creepshow and was so excited to watch this. When I watched it I suppose my hopes were a little high but I have to say this movie bares little resemblance of what made the first Creepshow so great. Instead of the 5 stories from the first you get three. It had it's moments of awesome but I deeply felt that it failed to carry it's way all the way through. The first story is called Old Chief Wooden Head. It was okay, not great. The second story is base on Stephen King's short story 'The Raft'. Not the greatest adaptation of his works but it translates nice to the movie. The last story was entitled The Hitchhiker. Out of all the movies this one had my favorite parts. Pretty crazy.
Don't get me wrong this movie wasn't terrible. It just wasn't great. If you really liked Creepshow you might get a kick out of this, but be warned do not expect the same thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good follow up but not as good as the 1st!, March 16 2004
This review is from: Creepshow 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
Let me start off by saying that I loved creepshow, I was somewhat dissapointed with this one. I bought a box set called 3 from the mind of Stephen King, just for this one. But I figured out that the other two (children of the corn and maximum overdrive) where alot better! anyways, the first story starts of with a wooden indian coming to life and seeking revenge. this story is called Ol' chief woodenhead. then next story is "the raft" this one is probably my favorite one of them all. its about four friends whose vacation to a lake turns into a nightmare! and the last story is about a lady who runs over a hitchiker and he comes back to life and haunts her. and by the way the creep looks nothing like he did in the first! Rated R for horror violence, language, and some nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A dissapointing show of a movie, Feb. 17 2004
This review is from: Creepshow 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
I'm a fan of the original CREEPSHOW; it was fun, scary, good music, and was smartly directed by horror master George Romero. This uninexusable sequel doesn't even cut the first act; there is hardly any enjoyment, flatly directed and acted, the music sounds like something from a 70's porn movie, and there is only three stories! The first CREEPSHOW had five stories!
CREEPSHOW 2 is not terrible, or even bad, it's just uninspired. The (only) three tales helped proved this theory. The narrator is The Creeper, who looks more like a comedian then a scary host in the first one.
Anyway, the first tale is OL' CHIEF WOODENHEAD. A revenge tale with a wooden Indian coming to life to kill the thugs who murdered his beloved owners. It has its moments, but none that stand out. Not really scary, but I was glad the wooden Indian got payback. It's not even the best story.
The second tale is better, but still has some flaws. THE RAFT has four teenagers visiting a secluded lake for some fun. But the fun turns into a nightmare when one by one all fall victim to a large, oily-like substance in the lake. It sounds like a very scary campfire story to tell, but director Michael Gornick does a poor job at following George Romero's footsteps by building a pretty good written story to life. He doesn't even have the actors motivated in this tale, because they're acting is terrible. It does has some scary moments. It could be the best tale, if the film was good.
The last story is pretty suddled at best. THE HITCHHIKER, who many consider to be the best tale, should't even belong in a CREEPSHOW film because it's too simple. Simple is a understatement, as a cheating wife accidently runs over a hitchhiker. Her self-concerned state foolishly has her leaving the scene. Her mistake has her being stalked by the ghoulish man, but she can't help by shaking him off! The only highlight is the line by the dead hitchhiker: "Thanks for the ride lady!" But everything else is dull. Oh yeah, watch for Stephen King as a truck driver in this one!
I was pretty dissapointed by CREEPSHOW 2. All the hair-raising fun from the original is non-existent here. Even though Romero wrote the unstirring screenplay, he was badly needed as director to bring a real comic-book atmosphere like he did for the original. There's hardly any here except for a animated segment involving a boy and his gigantic venus flytrap. Pretty standard stuff, as was the film.
I reccomend the first CREEPSHOW ten times more then this one. Although, it's essential to view if you like the first movie. Just beware!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good transfer, great value, Jan. 13 2004
By 
This review is from: Creepshow 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
The MOVIE
Taking a different direction than it's 1982 predecessor, this fairly standard, but fondly remembered horror compilation makes up for it's lack of frights with pure entertainment. Lacking much of the E.C. Comics style of the first movie (except for the rather poor animated intermissions) initially takes away some of the charm, but it saves the best for last.
"Ol' Chief WoodenHead", unanimously agreed to be the weakest of the three stories on offer, is almost saved by a charming yet sad performance by George Kennedy. This is a typical revenge story with not a single interesting or unpredictable twist. Most of the violence takes place off camera, and it is actually a bit of chore to sit through.
"The Raft" is one of the foremost guilty pleasures in horror. Four friends are stalked by a man(and duck)-eating blob in an off-limits lake. Who will survive? Those familiar with these sorts of moral tales will hardly be surprised by the ending, but will not be any less amused with it's abrupt simplicity.
In "The Hitchhiker" an annoying, unfaithful woman gets her just desserts, though at the expense of an innocent life. By the end of this story I am always a little bored, probably because the colorful, perfectly-lengthed "The Raft" precedes it, but it is still my favourite. In my opinion it features the most interesting gore effects, and will always be remembered for the hitchhikers immortal, extremely quotable single line of dialogue.
The DVD
As for the DVD itself - this is no special edition, but it's as much as we can expect from a movie such as this. Frankly, we should be grateful it is on DVD at all, and has not been forgotten in the dusty vaults of VHS where it probably belongs. Surprisingly, the widescreen enhanced transfer on offer is extremely clear and mostly scratch-free for a movie of it's age and budget.
The mono sound track on offer is not so impressive, but once again, it could be a lot worse. A movie such as this does not need a 5.1 mix; there are very few opportunities for surround usage - the whole thing is basically dialogue with occasional music to suit the mood.
The extras are basically non-existent, with only a trailer and photo gallery, but at the price this DVD is going at, nobody is really in a position to complain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Second issue lacks charm, wit, and style of the first., Jan. 5 2004
By 
Chadwick H. Saxelid "Bookworm" (Concord, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Creepshow 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
Although Stephen King (who authored the source stories and appears briefly in an episode) and George A. Romero (who wrote the script) are hyped in the advertising, neither contributed much to this latter day sequel (made five years after Creepshow did modest business in theaters and on video), and it shows. Three stories and a wrap around (instead of five) are offered. Old Chief Woodenhead has an old school cigar store Indian going on a vengeful rampage, The Raft is a variant of The Blob, and the whole thing is almost saved by The Hitchiker, where a hit and run driver is menaced by the unstoppable spectre of the man she swatted with her car (it was this story that Romero had to fall back on if the They're Creeping Up On You episode in Creepshow 1 had proved to be unfilmmable). Each story (save for the last one) is a passable tale of the macabre far better suited to Laurel's then running Tales from the Darkside television program. Romero's longtime cinematographer Michael Gornick directed this after cutting his teeth on said TV show, and it shows. The stories seemed paced with commercial breaks in mind. While not a complete failure, it is far removed from the fun of the first movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sequel, where is Creepshow 3???, July 31 2003
This review is from: Creepshow 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
3 stories of terror introduced by the Creep (in animation form) who appears to have the same sense of macabre humor as the Crypt Keeper from Tales from the Crypt. The stories even begin the same way as match shots from comic-book to film. The first story is called "Old Chief Woodenhead". George Kennedy stars as an old convenience store owner who is robbed and killed by a bunch of 80's punks. His Indian statue comes alive and avenges his death. This story is probably the least entertaining and takes a while to get going.
Story number 2 is called "The Raft" focuses on 4 teenagers out to have a good time at a secluded lake. But a huge sludge monster is out to eat them all up. This is probably the best story as it is very fast-paced and engaging.
The last, and longest story is "The Hitchhiker" in which a rich, cheater (Lois Chiles) runs over the titular character and is haunted by his corpse all the way home until she loses her mind. This is quite a cool story with some interesting direction. Stephen King has a cameo as a trucker. Tom Savini (seriously) appears as the live action Creep and the beginning and end of the movie.
Image and Sound The 1.85:1 anamorphic picture is surprisingly beautiful and free of anything remotely resembling dirt, artifacts or pixalization. Black levels and fleshtones are suspiciously natural and color fidelity is superb. One wonders how such and old, and little seen, film can look so good. And although the soundtrack is plain and simple Mono it had me fooled a couple of times. The sound is clear and crisp and is free of hiss or distortion. Kudos to Anchor Bay on this transfer.
The Extras We get a non-anamorphic trailer and a photo gallery with shots of behind the scenes activity. Nothing is really too interesting apart from a couple of shots of the actor who played the Hitchhiker having his make-up applied. The menus are animated (literally) and are fun to watch when selecting a new page.
A must have for horror fans and Steven King affectionados. Even if you haven't seen the first film (like me) this is still a must have and a definite keeper. Very few people are likely to feel shortchanged after watching this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as much 'Creep', and a lot less 'Show' than the first..., July 29 2003
This review is from: Creepshow 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
I was a little disappointed in this sequel to the first Creepshow movie. In the first movie, there was around five segments, while here we only get three. If it were three really great stories, I could let it slide, but that's not the case.
The first story, titled Old Chief Woodenhead, stars George Kennedy as an owner of a general store in a town that has seen better days. His wife thinks it's time to close the store and retire, but George feels a sort of obligation to the town that's supported him and his family over the years, and feels he needs to give a little back. The title of the story refers to a wooden Indian in front of the store, which comes to life and exacts revenge on the gang of punks after they rob and kill George and his wife. Pretty standard stuff, not really scary, and no real surprises.
The next story is called The Raft and is easily the best of the three. It's about four high school kids that go swimming in a lake with a raft. The swimming season is over, but the raft hasn't been removed from the lake, so they are getting in one last swim. While on the raft, they encounter a strange, gooey blob like mass floating in the water. They also discover the hard way that it has an appetite. There are some fairly gory scenes in this short, along with some nudity. The ending is quite good, and almost make up for the lameness of the other two stories.
The third story is the weakest of the bunch. The HitchHiker involves a woman driving home from an extramarital affair, and she accidentally hits and kills a hitchhiker. She has a moment of indecision, but then flees the scene. Along the way home, she does wrestle with what happened, try to justify to herself leaving the scene of the accident, when the hitch-hiker starts appearing on the road even though she knows that couldn't be possible. She starts to lose it, and begins to attack the man with her car. This goes on for awhile, and the shocking ending isn't really all that shocking. I just thought this was a really poor story to end the movie on. One thing I found kind of funny was no matter how mess up the hitchhiker got, he would always repeat the same line, "Thanks for the ride, lady." I found myself saying that to friends for awhile. Also, watch for Stephen King with a small role as a truck driver in this segment.
There is a story interspersed between three stories, like in the first movie. It involves a boy, some bullies, and a man eating Venus flytrap. The segments are mostly animated, and it's sort of fun.
As I stated in the beginning, I think we were a little short changed on this movie. Two lame segments and one good one do not make a great movie. The first Creepshow was much more fun, and had a much more comic book feel, which reminded me of the great EC comics of the past. There was a little of that here, but not enough. And something else I noticed was there were a lot more recognizable actors in the first movie than in this movie. I bought this DVD as I am sort of a completist, and I really like the second story, but interested viewers would probably be better served purchasing the first and renting this one.
Cookieman108
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Creepshow 2 review, July 21 2003
By 
Crazy Jim (Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Creepshow 2 (VHS Tape)
Not nearly as good as its chilling precursor, a collection of short horror films based on the works of Stephen King, this sequel contains about half as many "terror tales" as the original and as a result, seems to come up short.
CREEPSHOW 2 is not an awful movie by any means as it tells three stories (and also features a short cartoon) presented as a take on the old EC comic series.
The first story is a simple revenge tale featuring a Native American statue that exacts vengeance on a group of hoodlums who murder an antique store owner and his wife. The story is by-the-numbers but is presented pretty well. Our second tale finds a group of oversexed pot-smoking teen swimmers trying to get away from some type of man-eating human waste in the pond. This one is pretty creepy with some "stay out of the water" horror mixed with some humor. The last one plays on that classic concept of the sinner trying to cover up their mistakes but not being able to bury them properly as a cheating housewife runs down a hitchiker who just won't stay dead.
If you enjoyed the first film, this is pretty much more of the same. Unfortunately, where the first film was a gripping collaboration between horror masters, Stephen King and George Romero that had fun playing with the many common phobias in American culture, this sequel just feels like a bunch of old Tales From The Crypt re-runs played one after another. Not a bad movie if you're looking for a few good scares.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Creepshow 3", anyone?, July 19 2003
By 
Cryptic Critic "Kevin" (Central Florida, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Creepshow 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
I liked this movie for many reasons. One, the first one was terrifyingly scary (I was 8 when I first saw it). Two, it was written by horror master Stephen King. The first story, "Old Chief Woodenhead," about a cigar store Indian who avenges the murders of his kindly shop owners, was creepy enough. Only really scary if you are easily creeped out or if you watch it at night with the lights off. The second story, "The Raft," about four college students who go to a secluded lake and unwittingly become sitting ducks to a carnivorous oil slick-like blob was particularly scary. My second favorite out of the three stories in the movie. The last of the three and by far the simplist and most scariest was "The Hitchkiker." About a cheating wife driving home from a rendevous with her lover and runs down some poor guy. She flees the scene only to be haunted by his undead spirit. Makeup effects by master Tom Savini were awesome. The complaints I have about the movie are minor ones. Why were there only three stories instead of five like in the first one? Also, what was up with the animated wraparound story? Yes, the first
"Creepshow" featured animated in-betweens before and after each story, but it did not have any cartoonish interaction between characters in its prologue or epilogue. Also the score wasn't nearly as scary as it was in the first movie. The fillmmakers should have tried to get the same composer to return as well as director George A. Romero. The DVD doesn't have that many special features on it. The trailer and a behind-the-scenes photo gallery montage are about it. I would have liked to at least have a commentary by the director if not a couple of the cast members. Last but not least, when will there be a "Creepshow 3"? It's never too late for another sequel. Hello, Hollywood is sequel-crazy these days. Now is the time to strike. Overall, a decent pick if you're looking for a fright ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not As Good As The Original, "Creepshow 2" Still Entertains, Dec 22 2002
By 
M. Jarrett "SoundgardenFanForLife" (New England, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Creepshow 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
While the first CREEPSHOW was deliciously delightful and was a fright-fest in and of itself, the same cannot be said of CREEPSHOW 2. While still it's three stories are fun and entertaining, and even scary at times, it lacks the punch that the first CREEPSHOW really gave us with its five stories. And I think that's where the main problem lies with CREEPSHOW 2...while running about 90 minutes, something still is amiss.
"Ol' Chief Woodenhead"-This first of the three tales gets things going on an interesting note. It's a tale of revenge done by the Indian statue guarding a little convenience store in the middle of a desolate town. After the owners (played nicely by Dorothy Lamour and George Kennedy) are murdered by a couple of robbers, "Ol' Chief Woodenhead" has his revenge and kills all three of them. An interesting and entertaining first short tale, but not a less-terrifying one either...just quietly terrifying in its own merits.
"The Raft"-This short tale is a little more livelier than the first, and kind of reminds you of "The Blob" with the murderous oil slick in a lake that terrorizes four friends who go for a swim in. One by one, the oil blob envelops them, until by tale's end, none are left (you know they weren't about to let Randy get away...he came so close). I'll tell you one thing--Laverne is a very cute girl...too bad the oil slick got her! Terrifying yes; quirky and kind of funny a little too.
"The Hitchhiker"-Actually, this one is very entertaining and offers chills despite being a little bit silly. I think Lois Chiles is just tasty as Annie, the hooker/cheating wife who finds out that when you hit someone who just wants a ride, no matter how many times you try to hit them or outrun them, they'll catch up with you in the end. This is a delightful tale and brings CREEPSHOW 2 to a nice conclusion...not discounting, of course, the short and brief Billy segment with the giant Venus fly-traps.
Overall, though, CREEPSHOW 2 would've been much better if there were two more stories. While it lacks the strength and scares of the first CREEPSHOW, it still manages to entertain based on its own scares, charms, and that is enough to make CREEPSHOW 2 a pretty good sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Creepshow 2
Creepshow 2 (DVD - 2011)
CDN$ 12.99 CDN$ 11.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews