Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Feels more like the original
The Pirates of the Caribbean sequels felt forced, somehow, after the surprisingly entertaining Curse of the Black Pearl. They were too long, and lost some of the adventure somehow.

On Stranger Tides loses Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightly, and you probably won't even notice. Depp is joined by Salma Hayek's less busty friend and Ian McShane, and naturally...
Published on March 25 2013 by ErikG

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worst in the series
I thought "At World's End" was the worst until I watched this one. This movie felt dull and boring from start to finish. The new characters didn't feel as compelling as in the previous films. As for Blackbeard, I had hoped he'd be more brutal and menacing. I couldn't help but feel he was just a grumpy old man in a pirate costume. He just wasn't as memorable as...
Published 10 months ago by john


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worst in the series, Oct. 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I thought "At World's End" was the worst until I watched this one. This movie felt dull and boring from start to finish. The new characters didn't feel as compelling as in the previous films. As for Blackbeard, I had hoped he'd be more brutal and menacing. I couldn't help but feel he was just a grumpy old man in a pirate costume. He just wasn't as memorable as Davy Jones or Barbossa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Feels more like the original, March 25 2013
By 
ErikG - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Pirates of the Caribbean sequels felt forced, somehow, after the surprisingly entertaining Curse of the Black Pearl. They were too long, and lost some of the adventure somehow.

On Stranger Tides loses Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightly, and you probably won't even notice. Depp is joined by Salma Hayek's less busty friend and Ian McShane, and naturally Geoffrey Rush is still around. As one single narrative the movie moves along at a fairly brisk pace, the corny humour is intact and the trademark music swells and exclaims when it should.

If it has a flaw it's that McShane almost feels underutilized and there is relatively little on-ship stuff - the majority of the movie takes place on land. There's also a painfully awkward mermaid story beat, but it doesn't account for an awful lot of screen time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Of course, it's about Jack Sparrow, March 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not as high quality as Oblivion. Still it is a strong movie, a good one in the series, wich is an especially reliable source of entertainment. We miss E. Swan and W. Turner anyway. The idea behind the story is not very realistic, as usual, but all what happens is interesting and funny. There is plenty of action, as expected. And as always, Jack Sparrow is the character that defines the movie. I bought it for my 13 year old son who was complaining that his tetralogy was incomplete. I will certainly be watching this one again in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A solid entry, Feb. 2 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This film goes back to the roots of the franchise and is a fun movie about pirates. The story will not amaze you, and the villain is fairly generic. But it does have Jack Sparrow being awesome, and have some exciting fight scenes. This is a solid family film and should not be skipped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Pirate"s review, Feb. 26 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Pirates is a visually enjoyable movie, with fairly good acting - the plot is rather thin, and the strange way of drawling voices makes it difficult at times to follow the dialogue. This Blue Ray version is a definite improvement over non HD views.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps the series going strong., July 10 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Shipped fast! Perfect Hi-Def. I won't post a full review of the movie, as that would be very subjective. Suffice it to say that it is a well-written Disney summer blockbuster. Ian McShane is brilliant in this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jack Sparrow and friends, April 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like the series, but this episode was not my favorite. I prefer the first and second film; maybe I have lost interest in the Pirates of the Caribbean films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love It!, April 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I just love this story concept, Johnny Depp is excellent in this role. I missed the other leading lady, however this was a new and interesting turn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!, Feb. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides 3D (Limited Edition) [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Blu-ray)
It's Cap'n Jack at his finest!! Pure entertainment for me/us. Johnny Depp brings his own unique style and flair to the part he plays....drunk....almost?!?! It was an amazing cast of awesome actors all around!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Value for 5 DVDs, Feb. 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides 3D (Limited Edition) [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Blu-ray)
The movie is nice and the value was great. I got it under $20 with shipping. Great movie to collect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews