Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ben Hur (The 50th Anniversary Ultimate Collector's Edition) blu ray...an epic with a breathtaking video to behold...
VIDEO:

MGM originally filmed the movie in Camera 65. Video resolution now is 1080p with 2.76:1 aspect ratio. The film has been spread across the set's first two discs (BD-50) with the break coming at the film's intermission. The work on this release began several years ago and has involved a $1 million restoration frame by frame from an 8k scan of the original...
Published on Sept. 28 2011 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars As usual
This is the second time I order a collector's item. The price is good, but the product was damaged although the packing box was fine. Not even a dent. Just like last time. The case which hold the item is broken. The disc and the content are fine inside.
Published 2 months ago by Ka Lai


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great collectors addition, July 6 2014
By 
Mark "viguy" (Victoria, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ben-Hur (50th Anniversary Ultimate Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Great collectors addition. Very pleased with the restored image on Blu-ray! Fantastic to watch this again with such a crisp image on a big screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Collection, June 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ben-Hur (50th Anniversary Ultimate Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I am dumbfounded by this collection. It's absolutely incredible. This in my humble opinion, is the greatest movie ever made and this collection is absolutely beautiful. Well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEN HUR, June 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I LOVE my BEN-HUR {50TH Anniversary Collector's Edition Gift-Box}...I'm a Collector-Of-Things...And...ONE of the THINGS I collect...Is MOVIES...I only wish They had THE-TEN-COMMANDMENTS...In the same Gift-Box...At the same Price...Also Spastics...And OTHER movies like them...

JUST-A-SIMPLE-MAN
FRIEND-TO-ALL

REG SR.
MY-TIME: 3:26am
Calgary, Alberta
CANADA
City-To-The
88 OLYMPICS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars As usual, June 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ben-Hur (50th Anniversary Ultimate Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
This is the second time I order a collector's item. The price is good, but the product was damaged although the packing box was fine. Not even a dent. Just like last time. The case which hold the item is broken. The disc and the content are fine inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, April 21 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ben-Hur (50th Anniversary Ultimate Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Really enjoyed the blu-ray copy of this movie. Well worth the the price. Very nice boxed set. I would pay money to see this at the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Quality!, Jan. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ben-Hur (50th Anniversary Ultimate Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I'll keep it short, as many others have made the same comments, but the picture quality is simply amazing! The colours pop off the screen. You would think the movie was made yesterday. The sound is also excellent, even more amazing when you consider the film is over 50 years old. Some parts of the film have aged better than others. (There are definitely parts that are a little slow by today's standard, and some of the special effects are not so special any more, like the galley battle at sea), but for the chariot race alone it is worth owning, just to wow your friends. Hearing the score by Miklos Rosza in Dolby lossless makes it an even more worthwhile investment. This is a movie you actually want to watch the opening credits every time just to hear the incredible music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heston at his best!, July 1 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ben-Hur (50th Anniversary Ultimate Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Uniquely packaged and worth the money. We have not watched the entire program but this is definitely a beautiful movie that must be seen in HD to really appreciate all the colour and grandeur of this epic story. Charlton Heston is wonderful in this movie as he is in others he has made along this theme. He seemed to be the only one to cast in these strong rolls and I could not imagine anyone else playing these parts. Highly recommend this beatifully packaged Blu-ray Collector's Edition. You will not regret adding this to your collections of other epic movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars genial coleccion, Feb. 19 2012
This review is from: Ben-Hur (50th Anniversary Ultimate Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Esta en español castellano. Presentación impecable, contenido unico y una imagen remasterizada buenisima

Totalmente recomendable para todos los amantes del cine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Information, Dec 25 2011
By 
V. D. V. Christophe (belgique) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ben-Hur (50th Anniversary Ultimate Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Hello, i am interested in this blu ray version but someone CAN tell me if this bluray is region free and contains french language?
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ben Hur-Collector`s version, Jan. 8 2012
This review is from: Ben-Hur (50th Anniversary Ultimate Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Highly recommend this movie as it was remastered to absolute perfection to my delight. Having seen the movie no less than 21 times in the past, I must confess........................you ain`t seen nuthin yet. I have yet (and my wife too) to watch a movie like it or similar...............since 1959! Unfortunately the last 2 generations have NEVER heard of this movie?!?!?! (Truly unbelievable) Sadly enough...........today`s society cannot experience movie productions like that anymore as there is a definte lack of talent or interest. Today`s motto simply is:" A good Audio makes a bad movie better". Just think about that?! Pretty sad, isn`t it?

George Machtans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews