Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great on high speed
The price is great for calling anywhere in the US or Canada with no cost. If your upload speed is slow then the other party will have difficulty hearing you as it breaks up constantly. If your download is poor the person your speaking to will break up as well. Just make sure you have at least a 2mbs download speed minimum and 600 kbs upload to get goog calling...
Published on Feb. 18 2012 by Marky Mark

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you live in Alberta-don't bother
Called Nettalk. Upon "getting started" and choosing a phone number Alberta was not available. Kept saying Unable to process request at this time. Please try again. The rep said I will have to choose another province. Why? Having a Nettalk means my family and friends have to pay long distance to get a hold of me...20 blocks away?

Returned. Will try...
Published 19 months ago by Reverend Knight


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great on high speed, Feb. 18 2012
This review is from: Nettalk Duo Voip Telephone Free Nationwide Canada/USA Calling (Electronics)
The price is great for calling anywhere in the US or Canada with no cost. If your upload speed is slow then the other party will have difficulty hearing you as it breaks up constantly. If your download is poor the person your speaking to will break up as well. Just make sure you have at least a 2mbs download speed minimum and 600 kbs upload to get goog calling features. I like the fact I can plug this into my router rather than into the computer as You don't need to have your computer running all the time to have a phone. The messaging system is good as it will record your incoming voice messages and send to your email. You just have to set up and enable this feature.

Because I am located in nova scotia they assign a standard area code which is 801, which makes all local people who try to call me long distance calls. This device is also good when on the go, as it can be used with my laptop and I can plug in on the go and make calls anywhere in north america. Overall I only use this device for making calls, and for the price, it's worth it. You need good bandwidth to have good reception as well so don't be downloading or streaming at the same time as you may find the clarity will become scatchy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you live in Alberta-don't bother, May 3 2013
By 
Reverend Knight - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nettalk Duo Voip Telephone Free Nationwide Canada/USA Calling (Electronics)
Called Nettalk. Upon "getting started" and choosing a phone number Alberta was not available. Kept saying Unable to process request at this time. Please try again. The rep said I will have to choose another province. Why? Having a Nettalk means my family and friends have to pay long distance to get a hold of me...20 blocks away?

Returned. Will try Magic Jack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Save money while keeping your services, June 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nettalk Duo Voip Telephone Free Nationwide Canada/USA Calling (Electronics)
Works well.
Voice mail, email notice, call display are well worth it.
Some problems connecting to remote numbers in the past but problems are resolved now.
Well worth cutting the cord to use this voip phone service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a OK, May 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nettalk Duo Voip Telephone Free Nationwide Canada/USA Calling (Electronics)
When it is working, it is amazing and cheap way to call free long distance and take it with you almost anywhere...but when it does not work, good luck, Nettalk customer service is horrible and non existant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Customer Service EVER, April 3 2014
This review is from: Nettalk Duo Voip Telephone Free Nationwide Canada/USA Calling (Electronics)
Customer Service is horrendous. Their call center timings are 10am-4pm EST, 4 days a week. If you call it, you get an automated voice mail saying, go to the website and use the Chat service.

If you use the chat service, you will find that you are in a queue with about 15 people in front of you. It does not give you any estimated times or update the number of people ahead of you. Which means you have to stare at the window in case the support person comes on.

If they come on, and you don't answer in 15 seconds, they close the session. So start all over again.

The moment you hand over your money, the service changes. Anything you want to do is a matter of "setup another account and pay for the service again". If you buy this unit and want to exchange it, its not possible, you have to setup another account and pay for your plans again and get a new number.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars All sales are final customer service metality, May 23 2013
This review is from: Nettalk Duo Voip Telephone Free Nationwide Canada/USA Calling (Electronics)
Had this device for over a year. It had a bad USB power cord that caused it to intermittently lose communication and then reboot- causing it give a (re)connection ring (3AM joy- Not). Customer Service (CS)was NO help - I figured out the problem and replaced the cords- worked fine after that -UNTILL. March 2013, Then all incoming Canadian called failed for more than a month. Netalk knew about the system problem but did nothing to notify (email) or fix ongoing problem. . After finding blogs posted about problem I found out I had missed many important calls (doctors, hospitals etc.). Netalk CS was no help, frustration after frustration after condescending indifference with the attitude that it was just a system wide problem that only affected a few - Wrong answer. Was forced to get Magic Jack (works fine)to get an actual working phone. Netalk caused the problem, but would not refund my outstanding balance, saying ALL SALES ARE FINAL. What a crapy attitude! Take away lesion: All Canadian customers should beware of dealings with service providers from another country - particularly Netalk. Tried to deal with Customer Service (?) about refund - all I got was "its not my job/ department" attitude.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars JJ, May 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nettalk Duo Voip Telephone Free Nationwide Canada/USA Calling (Electronics)
The device by itself is not bad. But there are big problems with Nettalk company and its services.
1- They are not honest. They have Canadian web site (with prices that are already 50% more expensive than US website), but when you purchase any service on the Canadian website you will be billed in US$.
2- There is practically no customer service. The incoming calls in Canada has been down for over two weeks and there is no way to reach the Nettalk customer service. Two weeks is enough to build a whole new network and Nettalk fails or doesn't want to do anything. If you're lucky, you will receive an email after two days apologizing for inconvenience.

Before buying any equipment or services from Nettalk,try to talk to the customer service on the phone! Good Luck!

Forget Nettalk and try to negotiate with your existing phone service provider.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Reliable - Avoid, May 2 2013
This review is from: Nettalk Duo Voip Telephone Free Nationwide Canada/USA Calling (Electronics)
We live in London, ON. This is not reliable service. There are times when incoming calls do not connect. We have just had a 3 week disruption for all incoming calls - we get an email today from Nettalk to say that our number has been changed (no prior communication to this effect, no warning, nothing). Outgoing calls are a hit and miss. AVOID.

Email from nettalk duo (changed our phone number without any warning or prior communication) after a long disruption to service: "The fastest and permanent way of restoring your full service is by assigning you with a new phone number, which will allow you to make and receive calls as normal. To see what your new phone number is, please log into your netTALK account manager or see your account information with your new phone number listed below...."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars stopped working, ZERO support, Feb. 6 2014
This review is from: Nettalk Duo Voip Telephone Free Nationwide Canada/USA Calling (Electronics)
It is sad that companies like Nettalk can exist in this world. Why would Amazon.ca, a reputable company that sets standards in excellence, sell their product is beyond me.
There is no price low enough that would justify useless service with pretend customer support.
Spend your money elsewhere.
I used the Duo product for 1.5 years with some issues, however acceptable usability given the low price point and infrequent use.
In last 6 months the product became 100% unusable - most of the time it does not work at all, when it does people on the other side of the line cannot hear me. My internet and router setup did not change since I installed the product.
I tried communicating with the support desk, here is the response, 4 weeks after I logged a ticket #BUZ-872-89814
"I realize this response is delayed, i sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that has been caused on our behalf. Are you still having any issues, questions or comments???????”
Simply avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth cancelling your phone line !, Dec 19 2013
By 
S. Villeneuve (Québec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nettalk Duo Voip Telephone Free Nationwide Canada/USA Calling (Electronics)
I've cancelled and switch my phone number to netTalk about a year ago. No regret at all.
Very good audio quality and very fast response also. Almost no difference with our traditionnal line (except the price of course !)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews